DETAILED ACTION
The addition or removal of prior art does not suggest or imply that amendments have overcome prior art in any/ instances, but to remove duplicative or overlapping art.
Response to Amendment
Claim 20 has been amended.
Claim 29 has been cancelled.
There are no new claims.
Claims 20-28 and 30-39 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is an after non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 23, 25, 27, 29, 35, and 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 20190111801 A1) in view of Botts (US 20200130511 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Moon discloses, a motor configured to supply a driving force for the vehicle (Moon: [FIG. 1(30)]); a first battery configured to supply first power to the motor (Moon: [0021] until the first battery module is discharged to the preset reference value, whereby energy stored in the second battery module is provided to a driving motor of the vehicle), the first battery comprising first battery cells of a first cell type (Moon: [0026] a battery assembly including at least one first battery module and at least one second battery module that have different capacities from each other); a second battery configured to supply second power to the motor (Moon: [0021] until the first battery module is discharged to the preset reference value, whereby energy stored in the second battery module is provided to a driving motor of the vehicle), the second battery comprising second battery cells of a second cell type (Moon: [0026] a battery assembly including at least one first battery module and at least one second battery module that have different capacities from each other); and a controller (Moon: [FIG. 1(100)]; [0051] a battery manager 100 controlling states) configured to control the supply of the power from the first battery or the second battery (Moon: [0051] a battery manager 100 controlling states of the relays R1 to R4 based on a state of the vehicle), wherein the first cell type comprises a first cathode material (Moon: [0026] a battery assembly including at least one first battery module and at least one second battery module that have different capacities from each other) and the second cell type comprises a second cathode material (Moon: [0026] a battery assembly including at least one first battery module and at least one second battery module that have different capacities from each other) different from the first cathode material (Moon: [0026] a battery assembly including at least one first battery module and at least one second battery module that have different capacities from each other), and wherein the controller is further configured to supply the first power or the second power to the motor (Moon: [0051] a battery manager 100 controlling states of the relays R1 to R4 based on a state of the vehicle; [0084] the battery manager 100 may control the state of charge (SOC) of the battery assembly 100 based on a battery module being used to supply power to the driving motor).
Moon does not explicitly disclose “based on a driving situation in which the motor drives the vehicle”. The examiner respectfully submits, Moon does disclose first and second battery of different types. However, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (mpep 2144.01). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation … a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent” … It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions (mpep 2144.05.II.A).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Botts discloses, wherein the first cell type comprises a first cathode material (Botts: [ABS] Multiple chemistry battery systems and methods for using such systems in electric vehicles are disclosed. In one embodiment, an example electric vehicle may include a drive motor configured to impart motion to one or more wheels of the electric vehicle, a plurality of batteries configured to power the drive motor, and one or more controllers. The plurality of batteries may include a first battery including a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery including a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry. The one or more controllers may be configured to cause the first battery and the second battery to power the drive motor, and to cause the drive motor to charge the first battery and the second battery; [0032] Various types of battery systems may be used to power electric vehicles or other electric drive systems; [0034] certain battery systems for electric vehicles may use lithium-ion (Li-ion) cells throughout the system, while other battery systems may rely solely on nickel-metal hydride (NiMH) cells, nickel cadmium (NiCd) cells, or cells having another type of battery chemistry) and the second cell type comprises a second cathode material (Botts: [ABS] Multiple chemistry battery systems and methods for using such systems in electric vehicles are disclosed. In one embodiment, an example electric vehicle may include a drive motor configured to impart motion to one or more wheels of the electric vehicle, a plurality of batteries configured to power the drive motor, and one or more controllers. The plurality of batteries may include a first battery including a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery including a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry. The one or more controllers may be configured to cause the first battery and the second battery to power the drive motor, and to cause the drive motor to charge the first battery and the second battery; [0032] Various types of battery systems may be used to power electric vehicles or other electric drive systems; [0034] certain battery systems for electric vehicles may use lithium-ion (Li-ion) cells throughout the system, while other battery systems may rely solely on nickel-metal hydride (NiMH) cells, nickel cadmium (NiCd) cells, or cells having another type of battery chemistry) different from the first cathode material (Botts: [ABS] Multiple chemistry battery systems and methods for using such systems in electric vehicles are disclosed. In one embodiment, an example electric vehicle may include a drive motor configured to impart motion to one or more wheels of the electric vehicle, a plurality of batteries configured to power the drive motor, and one or more controllers. The plurality of batteries may include a first battery including a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery including a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry. The one or more controllers may be configured to cause the first battery and the second battery to power the drive motor, and to cause the drive motor to charge the first battery and the second battery; [0032] Various types of battery systems may be used to power electric vehicles or other electric drive systems; [0034] certain battery systems for electric vehicles may use lithium-ion (Li-ion) cells throughout the system, while other battery systems may rely solely on nickel-metal hydride (NiMH) cells, nickel cadmium (NiCd) cells, or cells having another type of battery chemistry), and wherein the controller is further configured to supply the first power or the second power to the motor based on a driving situation in which the motor drives the vehicle (Botts: [0103] an electric load on a plurality of batteries of an electric vehicle or electric drive system may be determined. For example, computer-executable instructions of a controller or processor of an electric drive system may be executed to determine an electric load on a plurality of batteries of the electric vehicle. The electric load may be an amount of power output or electric current flowing from the batteries and/or an amount of electric current requested and/or required to operate the electric vehicle under current operating conditions. For example, using an air conditioner system of the electric vehicle may increase the electric load on the batteries, as may heavy acceleration. In contrast, relatively slow acceleration or driving on a downhill surface may reduce an electric load on the batteries; [0117] At block 394 of the process flow 390, a second electric load on the plurality of batteries may be determined. For example, computer-executable instructions of a controller or processor of an electric drive system may be executed to determine a second electric load on the plurality of batteries. The second electric load may be an amount of power output or electric current flowing from the batteries and/or an amount of electric current requested and/or required to operate the electric vehicle under current operating conditions at a second time different from the first time ... the second time may be after the first time ... the second time may be before the first time; [0127] The electric load may be an amount of power output or electric current flowing from the batteries and/or an amount of electric current requested and/or required to operate the electric vehicle under current operating conditions), for the benefit of improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Moon to include relay switches that can switch from parallel to series to sperate to batteries of difference chemistry based on power out needs including heavy acceleration and hill driving taught by Botts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 20. Further, Moon also discloses, a first energy capacity of the first battery is different from a second energy capacity of the second battery (Moon: [0013] a capacity of the first battery module may be larger than a capacity of the second battery module).
REGARDING CLAIM 25, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 20. Further, Moon also discloses, a first voltage of the first battery is different from a second voltage of the second battery (Moon: [0071] the first battery module 110 included in the battery assembly 10 is operated as a high voltage battery with the second battery modules 121 to 123, and is also operated as a low voltage battery for low voltage electronic loads; [0083] the first battery module 110 is unable to serve as a part of a high voltage battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 27, Moon remains as applied above to claim 20. Further, Moon also discloses, sequentially supply the first power and the second power to the motor (Moon: [0051] a battery manager 100 controlling states of the relays R1 to R4 based on a state of the vehicle; [0084] the battery manager 100 may control the state of charge (SOC) of the battery assembly 100 based on a battery module being used to supply power to the driving motor).
Alternatively and in the same field of endeavor, Botts discloses, sequentially supply the first power and the second power to the motor (Botts: [0036] a first drive motor configured to impart motion to one or more wheels of the electric vehicle, a plurality of batteries configured to power the first drive motor, and one or more controllers. The plurality of batteries may include a first battery comprising a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery comprising a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry. The one or more controllers may be configured to cause the first battery and the second battery to power the first drive motor, and to cause the first drive motor to charge the first battery and the second battery; [0112] the first battery 232 may power the first drive motor 222, and the second drive motor 224 may charge the second battery 234. Alternatively, the first drive motor 222 may charge the first battery 232, and the second battery 234 may power the second drive motor), for the benefit of improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle disclosed by Moon to include alternating batteries taught by Botts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
REGARDING CLAIM 29, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 20. Further, Moon also discloses, supply the first power or the second power to the motor based on a driving situation (Moon: [0051] a battery manager 100 controlling states of the relays R1 to R4 based on a state of the vehicle; [0084] the battery manager 100 may control the state of charge (SOC) of the battery assembly 100 based on a battery module being used to supply power to the driving motor).
REGARDING CLAIM 35, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 20. Further, Moon also discloses, a DC-DC converter configured to convert voltage between the first battery and the second battery (Moon: [0060] and may be called a low voltage DC-DC converter (LDC); [ABS] a first relay being closed/opened between a first node and one of a first end of the first battery module and a first end of the second battery module being connected to a second end of the first battery module; a second relay being closed/opened between a second node and a second end of the second battery module; a converter converting a voltage between the nodes).
REGARDING CLAIM 37, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 35. Further, Moon also discloses, the DC-DC converter comprises a boost converter (Moon: [0060] and may be called a low voltage DC-DC converter (LDC); [ABS] a first relay being closed/opened between a first node and one of a first end of the first battery module and a first end of the second battery module being connected to a second end of the first battery module; a second relay being closed/opened between a second node and a second end of the second battery module; a converter converting a voltage between the nodes).
REGARDING CLAIM 38, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 35. Further, Moon also discloses, determine the charging based on a state of charge (SOC) or a temperature of the first battery (Moon: [0014] the battery manager may operate the converter to charge the first battery module by using energy stored in the second battery module such that the energy storage amount of the first battery module reaches a preset reference value).
REGARDING CLAIM 39, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 20. Further, Moon also discloses, determine an abnormal state in either the first battery or the second battery (Moon: [0014] the battery manager may operate the converter to charge the first battery module by using energy stored in the second battery module such that the energy storage amount of the first battery module reaches a preset reference value) and supply power from the other battery to the motor (Moon: [0034] when charging power is supplied from outside through the first node and the second node, the battery manager may control the first to fourth relays to be closed, and may operate the converter to charge the first battery module by using energy stored in the battery assembly).
Claim(s) 21-22, 24, 26, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 20190111801 A1) in view of Botts (US 20200130511 A1) as applied to claim 20 above, or in the alternate, in view of Le (WO 2015016965 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 20. Further, Moon also discloses, the first cell type comprises a cell type of a lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cathode (Moon: Moon: [0036] a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery comprising a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry).
The examiner respectfully submits, routine customization or optimization within the prior art conditions or through routine experimentations is typically not considered an inventive concept when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. It is well within the scope of customary practices for one of ordinary skill in the art to customize an electric vehicle with a plurality of battery combinations.
However, alternatively and in the same field of endeavor, Botts discloses, the first cell type comprises a cell type of a lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cathode (Botts: [ABS] Multiple chemistry battery systems and methods for using such systems in electric vehicles are disclosed. In one embodiment, an example electric vehicle may include a drive motor configured to impart motion to one or more wheels of the electric vehicle, a plurality of batteries configured to power the drive motor, and one or more controllers. The plurality of batteries may include a first battery including a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery including a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry. The one or more controllers may be configured to cause the first battery and the second battery to power the drive motor, and to cause the drive motor to charge the first battery and the second battery; [0032] Various types of battery systems may be used to power electric vehicles or other electric drive systems; [0034] certain battery systems for electric vehicles may use lithium-ion (Li-ion) cells throughout the system, while other battery systems may rely solely on nickel-metal hydride (NiMH) cells, nickel cadmium (NiCd) cells, or cells having another type of battery chemistry), for the benefit of improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Moon to include relay switches that can switch from parallel to series to sperate to batteries of difference chemistry based on power out needs including heavy acceleration and hill driving taught by Botts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
The examiner respectfully submits, Moon and Botts discloses different cathodes or chemistries (see above).
However, alternatively and in the same field of endeavor, Le discloses, the first cell type comprises a cell type of a lithium iron phosphate (LFP) cathode (Le: [0064] Examples of various chemistries that may be utilized for the first battery 30 and second battery 32 are described in Table 1 below. Table 1 is merely illustrative and is not intended as an exhaustive list of battery chemistries. Other battery chemistries that exhibit similar characteristics may also be utilized for the techniques described herein. [0065] Table 1 describes the characteristics of a single lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (NMC), lithium-titanate/lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LTO/NMC), lithium-titanate/lithium manganese oxide (LTO/LMO), nickel-metal hydride (NiMH), nickel-zinc (NiZn), lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells. More specifically, NMC battery chemistry refers to a graphite anode with a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide cathode, the LTO/NMC battery chemistry refers to a lithium-titanate anode with a lithium manganese oxide cathode, the LTO/LMO battery chemistry refers to a lithium-titanate anode with a lithium manganese oxide cathode, and the LFP battery chemistry refers to a graphite anode with a lithium iron phosphate cathode. Additionally, Table 1 describes the characteristics of a 12-volt lead-acid (PbA) battery), for the benefit of various electrochemical and electrostatic energy storage/expending applications.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the batteries in the car disclosed by Moon to include more battery options taught by Le. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to various electrochemical and electrostatic energy storage/expending applications.
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21. Further, Moon also discloses, the second type comprises a cell type of a Li-ion cathode comprising nickel (Moon: Moon: [0036] a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery comprising a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry).
The examiner respectfully submits, routine customization or optimization within the prior art conditions or through routine experimentations is typically not considered an inventive concept when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art. It is well within the scope of customary practices for one of ordinary skill in the art to customize an electric vehicle with a plurality of battery combinations.
However, alternatively and in the same field of endeavor, Botts discloses, the second type comprises a cell type of a Li-ion cathode comprising nickel (Botts: [ABS] Multiple chemistry battery systems and methods for using such systems in electric vehicles are disclosed. In one embodiment, an example electric vehicle may include a drive motor configured to impart motion to one or more wheels of the electric vehicle, a plurality of batteries configured to power the drive motor, and one or more controllers. The plurality of batteries may include a first battery including a first cell having a first chemistry, and a second battery including a second cell having a second chemistry different from the first chemistry. The one or more controllers may be configured to cause the first battery and the second battery to power the drive motor, and to cause the drive motor to charge the first battery and the second battery; [0032] Various types of battery systems may be used to power electric vehicles or other electric drive systems; [0034] certain battery systems for electric vehicles may use lithium-ion (Li-ion) cells throughout the system, while other battery systems may rely solely on nickel-metal hydride (NiMH) cells, nickel cadmium (NiCd) cells, or cells having another type of battery chemistry), for the benefit of improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process disclosed by Moon to include relay switches that can switch from parallel to series to sperate to batteries of difference chemistry based on power out needs including heavy acceleration and hill driving taught by Botts. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improved performance characteristics of an electric drive systems and battery systems including capacity, discharge rate, charge rate, operating temperature, life, and safety.
Additionally, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Le discloses, the second type comprises a cell type of a Li-ion cathode comprising nickel (Le: [0064] Examples of various chemistries that may be utilized for the first battery 30 and second battery 32 are described in Table 1 below. Table 1 is merely illustrative and is not intended as an exhaustive list of battery chemistries. Other battery chemistries that exhibit similar characteristics may also be utilized for the techniques described herein. [0065] Table 1 describes the characteristics of a single lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (NMC), lithium-titanate/lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LTO/NMC), lithium-titanate/lithium manganese oxide (LTO/LMO), nickel-metal hydride (NiMH), nickel-zinc (NiZn), lithium iron phosphate (LFP) battery cells. More specifically, NMC battery chemistry refers to a graphite anode with a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide cathode, the LTO/NMC battery chemistry refers to a lithium-titanate anode with a lithium manganese oxide cathode, the LTO/LMO battery chemistry refers to a lithium-titanate anode with a lithium manganese oxide cathode, and the LFP battery chemistry refers to a graphite anode with a lithium iron phosphate cathode. Additionally, Table 1 describes the characteristics of a 12-volt lead-acid (PbA) battery), for the benefit of various electrochemical and electrostatic energy storage/expending applications.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the batteries in the car disclosed by Moon to include more battery options taught by Le. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to various electrochemical and electrostatic energy storage/expending applications.
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 22. Further, Moon also discloses, the first energy capacity is less than half of the second energy capacity (Moon: [0013] a capacity of the first battery module may be larger than a capacity of the second battery module).
REGARDING CLAIM 26, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 24. Further, Moon also discloses, the first voltage is higher than the second voltage (Moon: [0071] the first battery module 110 included in the battery assembly 10 is operated as a high voltage battery with the second battery modules 121 to 123, and is also operated as a low voltage battery for low voltage electronic loads; [0083] the first battery module 110 is unable to serve as a part of a high voltage battery).
REGARDING CLAIM 28, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21. Further, Moon also discloses, supply the second power to the motor when an energy level of the first battery reaches a preset level (Moon: [0032] when a value obtained by subtracting the energy storage amount of the second battery module from the energy storage amount of the first battery module is equal to a preset reference value, the battery manager may control the first and second relays to be opened and controls the third and fourth relays to be closed, and after the controlling the third and fourth relays to be closed, when the energy storage amount of the first battery module is equal to or less than a preset threshold value, the battery manager may control the third and fourth relays to be opened ... [0034] the battery manager may discharge the first battery module by performing passive balancing; [0051]; [0084]).
REGARDING CLAIM 30, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 28. Further, Moon also discloses, supply the first power or the second power to the motor based on a driving load (Moon: [ABS] a battery manager controlling the relays based on a driving condition of the vehicle and energy storage amounts of the modules).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 20190111801 A1) in view of Botts (US 20200130511 A1) as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20180281616 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 31, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 29. Further, Moon discloses converting a high-voltage supply into a low-voltage supply based upon vehicle state, which is parallel in service and result. Further, Botts discloses switching batteries and connections based upon acceleration and uphill driving. However, Moon, as modified, does not explicitly recite the terminology switching to a low capacity battery based upon vehicle state.
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses, supply power from a battery with a lower energy capacity between the first battery and the second battery during a low-load driving situation based on the driving load (Kim: [0028] the controller 13 may be configured to turn on the second switch 15 to supply electric power to the low-voltage load 19 required for driving the vehicle), for the benefit of monitoring operation state and managing charge and temperature.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle disclosed by Moon to include switching batts taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitoring operation state and managing charge and temperature.
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 20190111801 A1) in view of Botts (US 20200130511 A1) and Le (WO 2015016965 A1) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20180281616 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 32, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 30. Further, Botts discloses, reconfiguring and switching batteries based upon a high-load driving situation/load. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, is parallel in service and result (Botts: [0103]; [0117]; [0127]). Botts does not explicitly recite the terminology “supply the first power or the second power to the motor based on a driving load”.
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses, supply power from a battery with a higher energy capacity between the first battery and the second battery during a high-load driving situation based on the driving load (Kim: see [0028] for using a first battery, second battery, or combining batteries based upon vehicle needs), for the benefit of monitoring operation state and managing charge and temperature.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle disclosed by a modified Moon to include switching batts taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitoring operation state and managing charge and temperature.
REGARDING CLAIM 33, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 28. Further, Botts discloses supply both the first power and the second power to the motor based on a driving load (Botts: [0103]; [0117]; [0127]).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses, supply both the first power and the second power to the motor based on a driving load (Kim: see [0028] for using a first battery, second battery, or combining batteries based upon vehicle needs), for the benefit of monitoring operation state and managing charge and temperature.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle disclosed by a modified Moon to include switching batts taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to monitoring operation state and managing charge and temperature.
Claim(s) 34 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 20190111801 A1) in view of Botts (US 20200130511 A1), in further view of Le (WO 2015016965 A1) and Kim (US 20180281616 A1) as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Hung (US 20200398813 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 34, Moon, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 32. Further, Botts, also discloses, determine an assigned output power of each of the first battery and the second battery based on an efficiency for the driving load (Botts: [0104] At block 292 of the process flow 290, at least one of the first battery and the second battery may be caused to power at least one of the first drive motor and the second drive motor. For example, computer-executable instructions of a controller or processor of the electric drive system may be executed to cause at least one of the first battery and the second battery to power at least one of the first drive motor and the second drive motor. In some instances, the at least one of the first battery and the second battery may be caused to power the at least one of the first drive motor and the second drive motor based at least in part on the determined electric load. In some instances, the first battery may be caused to power the first drive motor. In some instances, the second battery may be caused to power the second drive motor. In some instances, the first battery may be caused to power the first drive motor, and the second battery may be caused to power the second drive motor. In other words, the first battery may power the first drive motor while the second battery powers the second drive motor. Some embodiments may include one or more computer processors configured to implement one or more algorithms to (i) independently assess current state of charge of the first and second packs, (ii) evaluate application and/or drive motor demanded load, (iii) determine optimal efficiency, life, safety, power, temp, etc.) power balance between batteries to meet drive demand and achieve energy balance, and/or (iv) command first and second controllers to execute optimal power balance for first and second batteries).
However, in the alternative, and in the same field of endeavor, Hung discloses, determine an assigned output power of each of the first battery and the second battery based on an efficiency for the driving load (Hung: [0066] by applying thereinto the parameter values of the relevant system parameters (namely, the power split ratio α and the demanded power P.sub.d), and the DC/DC conversion efficiency η.sub.DC,b1 of the first battery source 201. In addition, the processing module 14 calculates a value of the output power P.sub.b of the second battery source 202 according to P.sub.b=(1−α)×P.sub.d, obtains the discharge efficiency; [0068] the power split ratio α that is contained in the parameter value set corresponding to the smallest function value J* serve as the optimum power split ratio α* for management of power distribution between the first battery source 201 and the second battery source), for the benefit of determining an optimum power split ratio based on the parameter value combination corresponding to the smallest function value for energy management of the vehicle as related to the required torque.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle disclosed by a modified Moon to include discharge efficiency taught by Hung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determining an optimum power split ratio based on the parameter value combination corresponding to the smallest function value for energy management of the vehicle as related to the required torque.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
King (US 20100089547 A1)
Gopalakrishnan (US 20220136475 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663