DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the body panel comprising a middle part, first side par, and a second side part, the first side part being arranged at one side of the middle part, and the second side part being arranged at another side of the middle part and a pair of side fastening members being mounted onto the body panel member at an interface position of the middle part to one of the first side part and the second side part, respectively (claim 1) and a fastening assembly configured to fasten the male fastening means of one shoulder strap and the female fastening means of the other shoulder strap, in addition to the side fastening members (claim 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the body panel member comprises a middle part, a first side part and a second side part, the first side part being arranged at one side of the middle part, and the second side part being arranged at another side of the middle part” and “a pair of side fastening members, the side fastening members being mounted onto the body panel member at an interface position of the middle part to one of the first side part and the second side part” it is noted that the middle and side portions and an interface therebetween, are not specifically pointed out in the drawings and it is unclear exactly what form or structure these portions must have. For this reason, the scope of claim 1 is unclear. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that any side portion attached to any middle portion whether integrally formed or formed separate and attached thereto is considered to meet this limitation.
Claim 11 requires a fastening assembly configured to fasten the male fastening means of one shoulder strap and the female fastening means of the other shoulder strap, in addition to the side fastening members. The drawings fail to show a fastening assembly on an outer surface of the device configured to directly attach to a male and female shoulder strap fastening means. To this degree, it is unclear exactly what structure would be required to meet this limitation. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that a pair of loops through which the shoulder straps can be threaded are considered to meet this limitation.
Claims 12, 13, and 15 recite “the sensor” claims 12 and 13 depend from claim 1, which recites “at least one sensor” It is unclear how many sensors are required. For this reason, the scope of claims 12-13 is unclear. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that there is at least one sensor. Additionally, claim 12 is written such that a single sensor includes all of the sensors listed. This does not seem like it is intended. For the purpose of examination, it is assumed that claim 12 is intended to recite “the at least one sensor selected from a heart sensor…” as is recited in the written description Paragraph 0071 of the PGpub.
Claims 2-16 are rejected as depending from claims 1, or 12-13 and therefor incorporate the indefinite scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telford (US 2020/0163466 A1) in view of Yim (KR 101359888 B1) and Caron (WO 2018/152641 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Telford discloses a baby carrier for carrying and developing a baby on a body of a person (Figs. 5C), said baby carrier comprising, a body panel member (122) shaped for providing a seat for a baby and a back support for the baby, wherein the body panel member comprises a support layer mainly constituted by a woven fabric (Paragraph 0064), wherein the body panel member comprises a middle part, a first side part and a second side part, the first side part being arranged at one side of the middle part, and the second side part being arranged at another side of the middle part (Figs.2 and 3), a waist support member (110) connected to a lower end of the body panel member for fastening the body panel member to a waist of the person (Fig. 5C), a pair of shoulder fastening members (160) connected to an upper end of the body panel member and arranged for fastening the body panel member over each shoulder of the person, respectively; a pair of side fastening members (130/140), the side fastening members being mounted onto the body panel member at an interface position of the middle part to one of the first side part and the second side part (Fig. 3, at 132), respectively, each comprising a fastening means (Fig. 2), wherein each shoulder fastening member comprises: a shoulder strap arranged for extending over a shoulder, respectively, wherein the shoulder strap comprises a support layer constituted by a woven fabric; a belt and a fastening means (164) mounted onto the belt for releasably connecting the belt to one of the side fastening members, wherein the waist support member including the body panel member are arranged for selectively adjusting a body height support length of the body panel member, by selectively folding or rolling the lower end of the body panel member (Paragraph 0055) in the direction of the body height support length before tightening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person, wherein the fastening means is slidably arranged for adjusting a belt length between the fastening means and the shoulder strap.
Telford does not specifically disclose wherein the fastening means of one side fastening member has a male element and the fastening means of another one side fastening member has a corresponding female element, wherein the fastening means of one shoulder fastening member has a male element and the fastening means of another shoulder fastening member has a corresponding female element, the shoulder straps attachable to the side fastening members or to the fastening means of another one of the shoulder fastening member.
Yim demonstrates a child carrier including shoulder straps (170), and side fastener members (146/149) and demonstrates the ability for the side the fastening means of one side fastening member has a male element (148) and the fastening means of another one side fastening member has a corresponding female element (147), wherein the fastening means of one shoulder fastening member has a male element (185) and the fastening means of another shoulder fastening member has a corresponding female element (188), the shoulder straps attachable to the side fastening members or to the fastening means of another one of the shoulder fastening member (Page 4 of the translation, noting paragraph that begins with “Referring to FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the device of Telford and use the teaching of Yim and replace one of each of the side fasteners and shoulder strap fasteners with the opposite male/female fastener because such a change would have required a mere choice of a finite number of options and would have yielded predictable results. Additionally, such a change would allow the shoulder straps to be secured to one another as demonstrated by Yim, and would increase the device’s versatility.
Modified Telford does not specifically disclose wherein baby carrier further comprises at least one sensor.
Caron demonstrates a similar baby carrier that includes a sensor to monitor the vital signs of a baby carried therein (Paragraph 0014).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Telford and use the teaching of Caron and include at least one sensor to alert the wearer if the baby carried in the carrier has any unexpected health conditions as suggested by Caron.
Regarding claim 2, modified Telford discloses the waist support member including the body panel member are arranged for selectively rolling the lower end of the body panel member in the direction of the body height support length (Paragraph 0055-0056).
Regarding claim 3, modified Telford discloses the waist support member comprises at least one waist textile strap (114/214 also noting the fabric section of 112, Paragraph 0062), the at least one waist textile strap being arranged on at least one side at the lower end of the body panel member extending along at least a part of the waist support member, wherein the at least one waist textile strap is foldable and rollable (Figs. 5C and 13B).
Regarding claim 4, modified Telford discloses the waist textile strap of the waist support member has an effective thickness, wherein the waist textile strap comprises a support layer mainly constituted by a woven fabric (noting the fabric portion of 112 or strap sections 114).
Modified Telford does not specifically disclose a thickness which is less than 5 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Telford and size the waist support member such that it has a thickness of less than 5mm because such a change would have required the mere finding of an optimum range, or the mere change in size of a component. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 5, modified Telford discloses the waist textile strap is partly enclosed by layers of the body panel member (Fig. 6B, 13B, 16).
Regarding claim 6, modified Telford discloses the waist textile strap is a part of the body panel member (as it is attached thereto, Fig. 1, along 134).
Regarding claim 7-8, modified Telford demonstrates a height of the waist textile strap provides a folding distance for the body panel member, when turning the waist textile strap. But does not specifically disclose the distance is at most 25% of the maximum body height support length of the body panel member, or a height of the waist textile strap is at most 15 cm. However, such a change would have been obvious because it would have required the mere finding of an optimum range, or the mere change in size of a component. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 9, modified Telford discloses supporting a baby on a body of a person, the use comprising the steps of, adjusting a body height support length of the body panel member by folding (Paragraph 0014) and/or rolling the lower end of the body panel member in the direction of the body height support length (Figs. 4A-4C, 8A and 8B), before tightening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person, fastening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person (Fig. 5C),placing the baby inside the baby carrier (Figs. 5C), fastening the male fastening means of said one shoulder fastening member to the female fastening means of said another one side fastening member and the female fastening means of said another one shoulder fastening member to the male fastening means of said one side fastening member (Fig. 5B, and noting the teaching of Wu to change male/female connectors), supporting the shoulder fastening members on the shoulders of the person; and carrying a baby inside the baby carrier on the body of a person (Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 12, modified Telford and specifically Caron discloses the at least one sensor selected from a heart sensor for measuring a heartbeat of the child carried by the baby carrier, a temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the child carried by the baby carrier, an oxygen sensor for measuring a level of oxygen in the blood of the child carried by the baby carrier, a sensor for measuring a time of carrying the child in the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103), a weight sensor for measuring a weight of the child carried by the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103).
Regarding claim 13, modified Telford and specifically Caron demonstrates the sensor is held by the body panel member of the baby carrier (as it is formed on a strip 138 at the top of the body panel).
Regarding claim 14, modified Telford and specifically Caron discloses the baby carrier further comprises a control unit (Paragraph 0080) for receiving a sensor signal from at least one of the sensors: the heart sensor for measuring a heart signal of the child carried by the baby carrier, the temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the child carried by the baby carrier, the oxygen sensor for measuring the level of oxygen in the blood of the child carried by the baby carrier, the sensor for measuring the time of carrying the child in the baby carrier and the sensor for measuring the breathing of the child carried by the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103).
Regarding claim 15, modified Telford and specifically Caron demonstrates the sensor is held by the body panel member of the baby carrier (as it is formed on a strip 138 at the top of the body panel).
Regarding claim 16, modified Telford and specifically Caron discloses the baby carrier further comprises a control unit (Paragraph 0080) for receiving a sensor signal from at least one of the sensors: the heart sensor for measuring a heart signal of the child carried by the baby carrier, the temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the child carried by the baby carrier, the oxygen sensor for measuring the level of oxygen in the blood of the child carried by the baby carrier, the sensor for measuring the time of carrying the child in the baby carrier and the sensor for measuring the breathing of the child carried by the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103).
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Workman (US 20140131401 A1) in view of Yim (KR 101359888 B1) and Caron (WO 2018/152641 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Workman discloses a baby carrier for carrying and developing a baby on a body of a person (Fig. 10), said baby carrier comprising, a body panel (120/320) member shaped for providing a seat for a baby and a back support for the baby (Fig. 10), wherein the body panel member comprises a support layer mainly constituted by a woven fabric (Paragraph 0074), wherein the body panel member comprises a middle part (noting the space between connections of 370), a first side part and a second side part (noting the areas spaced outward from the connections of 370), the first side part being arranged at one side of the middle part, and the second side part being arranged at another side of the middle part, a waist support member (350) connected to a lower end of the body panel member for fastening the body panel member to a waist of the person (Fig. 10), a pair of shoulder fastening members (340) connected to an upper end of the body panel member and arranged for fastening the body panel member over each shoulder of the person, respectively, a pair of side fastening members (370), the side fastening members being mounted onto the body panel member at an interface position of the middle part to one of the first side part and the second side part, respectively (Fig. 3), each comprising a fastening means (Paragraph 0093), wherein each shoulder fastening member comprises: a shoulder strap arranged for extending over a shoulder, respectively, wherein the shoulder strap comprises a support layer constituted by a woven fabric; a belt (Fig. 3), wherein the waist support member including the body panel member are arranged for selectively adjusting a body height support length of the body panel member, by selectively folding or rolling the lower end of the body panel member (Paragraph 0074) in the direction of the body height support length before tightening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person.
Workman does not specifically disclose wherein the fastening means of one side fastening member has a male element and the fastening means of another one side fastening member has a corresponding female element, wherein the fastening means of one shoulder fastening member has a male element and the fastening means of another shoulder fastening member has a corresponding female element, the shoulder straps attachable to the side fastening members or to the fastening means of another one of the shoulder fastening member.
Yim demonstrates a child carrier including shoulder straps (170), and side fastener members (146/149) and demonstrates the ability for the side the fastening means of one side fastening member has a male element (148) and the fastening means of another one side fastening member has a corresponding female element (147), wherein the fastening means of one shoulder fastening member has a male element (185) and the fastening means of another shoulder fastening member has a corresponding female element (188), the shoulder straps attachable to the side fastening members or to the fastening means of another one of the shoulder fastening member (Page 4 of the translation, noting paragraph that begins with “Referring to FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the device of Workman and use the teaching of Yim and replace one of each of the side fasteners and shoulder strap fasteners with the opposite male/female fastener because such a change would have required a mere choice of a finite number of options and would have yielded predictable results. Additionally, such a change would allow the shoulder straps to be secured to one another as demonstrated by Yim, and would increase the device’s versatility.
Modified Workman does not specifically disclose wherein baby carrier further comprises at least one sensor.
Caron demonstrates a similar baby carrier that includes a sensor to monitor the vital signs of a baby carried therein (Paragraph 0014).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Workman and use the teaching of Caron and include at least one sensor to alert the wearer if the baby carried in the carrier has any unexpected health conditions as suggested by Caron.
Regarding claim 2, modified Workman discloses the waist support member including the body panel member are arranged for selectively rolling the lower end of the body panel member in the direction of the body height support length (Paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 3, modified Workman discloses the waist support member comprises at least one waist textile strap (350/1600), the at least one waist textile strap being arranged on at least one side at the lower end of the body panel member extending along at least a part of the waist support member (Figs. 3 and 16A), wherein the at least one waist textile strap is foldable and rollable (Fig. 16C).
Regarding claim 4, modified Workman discloses the waist textile strap of the waist support member has an effective thickness, wherein the waist textile strap comprises a support layer mainly constituted by a woven fabric (Paragraph 0112).
Modified Workman does not specifically disclose a thickness which is less than 5 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Workman and size the waist support member such that it has a thickness of less than 5mm because such a change would have required the mere finding of an optimum range, or the mere change in size of a component. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 5, modified Workman discloses the waist textile strap is partly enclosed by layers of the body panel member (Fig. 14B, and also noting it is partially enclosed when the body member is rolled around the waist strap).
Regarding claim 6, modified Workman discloses the waist textile strap is a separate strap connected to the body panel member at the lower end of the body panel member (Fig. 3) or wherein the waist textile strap is a part of the body panel member (Figs. 14A-B).
Regarding claim 7-8, modified Workman discloses a height of the waist textile strap provides a folding distance for the body panel member, when turning the waist textile strap. Workman does not specifically disclose the folding distance is at most 25% of the maximum body height support length of the body panel member or a height of the waist textile strap is at most 15 cm. However, such a change would have been obvious because it would have required the mere finding of an optimum range, or the mere change in size of a component. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 9, modified Workman discloses a use of the baby carrier according to claim 1, for supporting a baby on a body of a person, the use comprising the steps of, adjusting a body height support length of the body panel member by folding and/or rolling the lower end of the body panel member in the direction of the body height support length (Paragraph 0074), before tightening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person; fastening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person (Fig. 7); placing the baby inside the baby carrier (Fig. 9); fastening the male fastening means of said one shoulder fastening member to the female fastening means of said another one side fastening member and the female fastening means of said another one shoulder fastening member to the male fastening means of said one side fastening member (as taught by Yim), supporting the shoulder fastening members on the shoulders of the person (Fig. 10); and carrying a baby inside the baby carrier on the body of a person (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 12, modified Workman and specifically Caron discloses the at least one sensor selected from a heart sensor for measuring a heartbeat of the child carried by the baby carrier, a temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the child carried by the baby carrier, an oxygen sensor for measuring a level of oxygen in the blood of the child carried by the baby carrier, a sensor for measuring a time of carrying the child in the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103), a weight sensor for measuring a weight of the child carried by the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103).
Regarding claim 13, modified Workman and specifically Caron demonstrates the sensor is held by the body panel member of the baby carrier (as it is formed on a strip 138 at the top of the body panel).
Regarding claim 14, modified Workman and specifically Caron discloses the baby carrier further comprises a control unit (Paragraph 0080) for receiving a sensor signal from at least one of the sensors: the heart sensor for measuring a heart signal of the child carried by the baby carrier, the temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the child carried by the baby carrier, the oxygen sensor for measuring the level of oxygen in the blood of the child carried by the baby carrier, the sensor for measuring the time of carrying the child in the baby carrier and the sensor for measuring the breathing of the child carried by the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103).
Regarding claim 15, modified Workman and specifically Caron demonstrates the sensor is held by the body panel member of the baby carrier (as it is formed on a strip 138 at the top of the body panel).
Regarding claim 16, modified Workman and specifically Caron discloses the baby carrier further comprises a control unit (Paragraph 0080) for receiving a sensor signal from at least one of the sensors: the heart sensor for measuring a heart signal of the child carried by the baby carrier, the temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of the child carried by the baby carrier, the oxygen sensor for measuring the level of oxygen in the blood of the child carried by the baby carrier, the sensor for measuring the time of carrying the child in the baby carrier and the sensor for measuring the breathing of the child carried by the baby carrier (Paragraph 00103).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Workman (US 20140131401 A1) in view of Yim (KR 101359888 B1) and Caron (WO 2018/152641 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parness et al. (US 2011/0240693 A1)(Parness).
Regarding claim 10-11, modified Workman discloses supporting a baby on a body of a person, adjusting a body height support length of the body panel member by folding and/or rolling the lower end of the body panel member in the direction of the body height support length (Paragraph 0074), before tightening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person (Fig. 8); fastening the waist support member including the body panel member to the waist of the person, placing the baby inside the baby carrier (Fig. 10) and supporting the shoulder fastening members on the shoulders of the person.
Modified Workman does not specifically disclose wherein the body panel member further comprises a fastening assembly attached to an outer surface of the body panel member, wherein the fastening assembly comprises a pair of belt guiding loops, the use comprising the steps of guiding each of the belts of the shoulder fastening members through at least one of the belt guiding loops attached to the outer surface of the body panel member, fastening the male fastening means of said one shoulder fastening member to the female fastening means of said another one shoulder fastening member, supporting the shoulder fastening members on the shoulders of the person.
Parness demonstrates a similar baby carrier including a body panel including a fastening assembly (24) attached to an outer surface (13) of the body panel member, wherein the fastening assembly comprises a pair of belt guiding loops (24), the use comprising the steps of guiding each of the belts of the shoulder fastening members through at least one of the belt guiding loops attached to the outer surface of the body panel member (Fig. 1), fastening one shoulder strap to the other.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the modified device of Workman and use the teaching of Parness and add a set of fastening assembly members to the outer surface in the form of a set of loops in order to allow the shoulder straps to be threaded therethrough and attached to one another in order to allow for an additional configuration of the straps thereby increasing the versatility of the baby carrier.
Conclusion
/M.T.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734