Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11, 12, 16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Steinhilber et al (20060137751).
Regarding claim 1, Steinhilber discloses a directional valve comprising: a valve housing 2, in which a slide receiving space (in 4) is formed extending in a longitudinal direction along a longitudinal axis and limited radially outwards by a peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, in which a plurality of valve channels 10,12, which pass through the valve housing and are spaced in the longitudinal direction at points in the peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, open, and in which, a valve slide 8, having at least one slide body 8, is arranged, which is displaceable in the longitudinal direction between a plurality of switch positions under execution of a switching movement “F”, wherein the valve channels contain at least one feed channel 10 that can be connected to a fluidic pressure source “P” and at least one working channel (connection to “A”) that can be connected to an actuated fluid consumer, wherein the feed channel 10 opens into a feed longitudinal section (portion of 4 connected to 10) and the working channel opens into a working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”) of the slide receiving space (in 4) axially adjoining the feed longitudinal section, wherein the valve slide 8 in a first switch position (position of Fig 1) fluid-tightly separates the feed longitudinal section from the working longitudinal section, and in a second switch position (when slide 8 moves towards right) releases a fluid connection between the feed longitudinal section (at 10) and the adjacent working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”), and at least one check valve 40, having a check valve member 44 , which is movable relative to the slide body depending on the applied pressure difference, wherein in the slide body 8, a receiving chamber (inner portion with valves 25 and 40 and their passages) is formed, in which the check valve member 44 is arranged axially movable and which is connected to the feed longitudinal section via a connecting channel (50 and passage towards ball 44 seat) formed in the slide body 5, wherein a valve seat is located opposite the check valve member 44, which borders an overflow opening (passage opening in valve seat for 44), which is connected to the working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”) of the slide receiving space (in 4) via a relief channel 35 (when valve slide 8 moves towards the right).
As to claim 2, the valve channels contain at least one ventilation duct T connectable to a pressure sink (exhaust), which opens into a ventilation longitudinal section (portion of bore 4 adjacent “T”) of the slide receiving space, wherein the valve slide 8 in the first switch position (Fig 1 position) fluid-tightly separates the working longitudinal section and the ventilation longitudinal section, in the second switch position (slide 8 moved right) fluid-tightly separates the working longitudinal section from the ventilation longitudinal section, and in a third switch position (slide 8 moved left) releases a fluid connection between the working longitudinal section and the ventilation longitudinal section, while simultaneously the feed longitudinal section is fluid-tightly separated from the working longitudinal section (sled 8 moved left would block 22 by larger diameter section of 8).
As to claims 3-5, Steinhilber shows identical check valve 41 and slide 8 structure on the right side for connection to “B” as described above for left side check valve 40 and left side of slide 8.
As to claim 11, the check valve member 44 is formed spherically.
As to claim 12, the valve seat (for valve 44) is formed on a valve seat body (inner portion of slide 8 providing seat for 44), which in turn is accommodated in the receiving chamber (inner portion with valves 25 and 40 and their passages) of the slide body 8 and fixed (being integral part of slide 8) there in an axially immovable manner.
As to claim 16, the directional valve contains a spring device (left of 33), by which the valve slide is held flexibly in the first switch position under preload.
As to claim 18, Steinhilber discloses valve slide 8 for a directional valve, wherein the directional valve has a valve housing 2, in which a slide receiving space (in 4), provided for receiving the valve slide 8, is formed extending in a longitudinal direction along a longitudinal axis and limited radially outwards by a peripheral receiving space bordering surface 4, in which a plurality of valve channels 10,12, which pass through the valve housing, open, spaced in the longitudinal direction at points in the peripheral receiving space bordering surface 4, and wherein the valve slide has a slide body 8, wherein a receiving chamber (inner portion with valves 25 and 40 and their passages) is formed in the slide body 8, in which at least one check valve 40 is accommodated, which has a check valve member 44 arranged in an axially movable manner in the receiving chamber.
As to claim 19, the valve slide 8 is accommodated in a directional valve comprising: valve housing 2, in which a slide receiving space (in 4) is formed extending in a longitudinal direction along a longitudinal axis and limited radially outwards by a peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, in which a plurality of valve channels 10,12, which pass through the valve housing and are spaced in the longitudinal direction at points in the peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, open, and in which, a valve slide 8, having at least one slide body 8, is arranged, which is displaceable in the longitudinal direction between a plurality of switch positions under execution of a switching movement “F”, wherein the valve channels contain at least one feed channel 10 that can be connected to a fluidic pressure source “P” and at least one working channel (connection to “A”) that can be connected to an actuated fluid consumer, wherein the feed channel 10 opens into a feed longitudinal section (portion of 4 connected to 10) and the working channel opens into a working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”) of the slide receiving space (in 4) axially adjoining the feed longitudinal section, wherein the valve slide 8 in a first switch position (position of Fig 1) fluid-tightly separates the feed longitudinal section from the working longitudinal section, and in a second switch position (when slide 8 moves towards right) releases a fluid connection between the feed longitudinal section (at 10) and the adjacent working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”), and at least one check valve 40, having a check valve member 44 , which is movable relative to the slide body depending on the applied pressure difference, wherein in the slide body 8, a receiving chamber (inner portion with valves 25 and 40 and their passages) is formed, in which the check valve member 44 is arranged axially movable and which is connected to the feed longitudinal section via a connecting channel (50 and passage towards ball 44 seat) formed in the slide body 5, wherein a valve seat is located opposite the check valve member 44, which borders an overflow opening (passage opening in valve seat for 44), which is connected to the working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”) of the slide receiving space (in 4) via a relief channel 35 (when valve slide 8 moves towards the right).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinhilber et al (20060137751) in view of Rub et al (20110005623 ).
Steinhilber discloses a mechanically actuated valve but fails to disclose actuation by electronic pilot valves. Rub, Fig 1, teaches a related valve with electronic pilot valves 48,50.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system disclosed by Steinhilber et al with electronic pilot valves as taught by Rub as an art-recognized functionally equivalent substitute valve actuation yielding predictable results of automatic valve control.
Claim(s) 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinhilber et al (20060137751) in view of Ott et al (4065922).
In making and/or using the device of Steinhilber, one would perform the steps of providing a directional valve comprising a valve housing 2, in which a slide receiving space (in 4) is formed extending in a longitudinal direction along a longitudinal axis and limited radially outwards by a peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, a plurality of valve channels 10,12, open, which pass through the valve housing and are spaced in the longitudinal direction at points in the peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, and a valve slide 8 having at least one slide body, is arranged, which is displaceable in the longitudinal direction between a plurality of switch positions by executing a switching movement “F” , the method comprising installing a valve slide 8, in which a chamber (inner portion with valves 25 and 40 and their passages) is formed, in which at least one check valve 40 is accommodated, having a check valve member 44 arranged in an axially movable manner in the receiving chamber. The valve slide 8 is accommodated in the directional valve comprising: valve housing 2, in which a slide receiving space (in 4) is formed extending in a longitudinal direction along a longitudinal axis and limited radially outwards by a peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, in which a plurality of valve channels 10,12, which pass through the valve housing and are spaced in the longitudinal direction at points in the peripheral receiving space boundary surface 4, open, and in which, a valve slide 8, having at least one slide body 8, is arranged, which is displaceable in the longitudinal direction between a plurality of switch positions under execution of a switching movement “F”, wherein the valve channels contain at least one feed channel 10 that can be connected to a fluidic pressure source “P” and at least one working channel (connection to “A”) that can be connected to an actuated fluid consumer, wherein the feed channel 10 opens into a feed longitudinal section (portion of 4 connected to 10) and the working channel opens into a working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”) of the slide receiving space (in 4) axially adjoining the feed longitudinal section, wherein the valve slide 8 in a first switch position (position of Fig 1) fluid-tightly separates the feed longitudinal section from the working longitudinal section, and in a second switch position (when slide 8 moves towards right) releases a fluid connection between the feed longitudinal section (at 10) and the adjacent working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”), and at least one check valve 40, having a check valve member 44 , which is movable relative to the slide body depending on the applied pressure difference, wherein in the slide body 8, a receiving chamber (inner portion with valves 25 and 40 and their passages) is formed, in which the check valve member 44 is arranged axially movable and which is connected to the feed longitudinal section via a connecting channel (50 and passage towards ball 44 seat) formed in the slide body 5, wherein a valve seat is located opposite the check valve member 44, which borders an overflow opening (passage opening in valve seat for 44), which is connected to the working longitudinal section (portion of 4 supplying “A”) of the slide receiving space (in 4) via a relief channel 35 (when valve slide 8 moves towards the right).
Steinhilber fails to disclose retrofitting an existing valve by removing the valve slide and retrofitting with another. Ott, (col 5, line 40-55) teaches retrofitting valve components with similar components of different pressure rating.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device disclosed by Steinhilber with retrofitting components of an existing valve with similar components of different pressure range as taught by Ott in order to accommodate different field conditions/requirements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-10, 13-15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ATIF H CHAUDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753