DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSH (US 20230314040 A1) in view of CHEN (CN110986169A: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, BUSH teaches an air handler assembly (see Figure 1) comprising:
a heat-exchanging coil (110);
a blower (1010: see Figures 10 and 11) configured to move air through the heat-exchanging coil (see ¶ [0110]).
Bush does not teach a baffle positioned upstream of the heat-exchanging coil in an airflow direction in which air is discharged from an outlet of the blower, wherein the baffle includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction.
However, it’s old and well known for air handler assemblies to have baffle or air guide, as evidenced by CHEN, see CHEN’s Figures 1 and 5 where the air handler assembly comprises a heat-exchanging coil (8), a blower (3), a baffle (1) positioned upstream of the heat-exchanging coil (8) in an airflow direction in which air is discharged from an outlet of the blower (3) wherein the baffle (1) includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction (see CHEN’s Figure 5 annotated by Examiner where the baffle (1) includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the air handler assembly of BUSH with a baffle positioned upstream of the heat-exchanging coil in an airflow direction in which air is discharged from an outlet of the blower, wherein the baffle includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction, since as evidenced by CHEN, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the surface wind speed of the heat exchanger, thus improve the heat exchange efficiency of the heat exchanger, see CHEN’s ¶[22].
CHEN’s Figure 5 annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 2, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate of the baffle are connected at a portion of the baffle that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction (see CHEN’s Figure 5 annotated by Examiner where the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate of the baffle (1 of CHEN) are connected at a portion of the baffle that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction).
Regarding claim 3, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the baffle (1 of CHEN) is V-shaped in cross-section (see CHEN’s Figure 5 annotated by Examiner).
Regarding claim 4, BUSH in view of CHEN does not teach wherein the portion of the baffle that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction is curved.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape of the baffle would result in a difference in function of BUSH in view of CHEN device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape of the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape solves any stated problem, indicating that the portion of the baffle that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction “may” be curved or sharp angle, see Figures 10A-10C, and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the shape of the baffle as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portion of the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN to be curved as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 5, BUSH in view of CHEN does not teach wherein a flat plate connects the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate at a portion of the baffle that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the shape of the baffle would result in a difference in function of BUSH in view of CHEN device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the shape of the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed shape. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed shape solves any stated problem, indicating that the portion of the baffle that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction “may” be curved, sharp angle, or flat, see Figures 10A-10C, and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the shape of the baffle as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN to have a flat plate connects the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate at a portion of the baffle that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 6, BUSH in view of CHEN does not teach wherein an angle between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate is between 45° and 135°.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the angle between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate would result in a difference in function of BUSH in view of CHEN device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the angle of the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed angle. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed angle solves any stated problem, indicating that angle between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate “may” be between 45° and 135°, see specification pp. [0095], and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the angle of the baffle as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN to have an angle between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate is between 45° and 135° as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 7, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the heat-exchanging coil includes two coil plates (110: see Figure 1), the two coil plates are inclined such that a distance between the two coil plates increases from a position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction to a position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction (see Figure 1 where the distance between the two 110 increases from downward), and the two coil plates are joined at the position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction (see Figure 1 where the two 110 are joined at the position that is furthest upward (i.e. furthest downstream in the airflow direction)).
Regarding claim 9, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the baffle (1 of CHEN) overlaps with the position at which the two coil plates (110 of BUSH) are joined when viewed in the airflow direction (see CHEN’s Figure 5 where the baffle (1 of CHEN) overlaps with the position of the heat exchanger (8 of CHEN) when viewed from viewed in the airflow direction).
Regarding claim 10, BUSH as modified further teaches further comprising a side drain pan (120 and/or 125 of BUSH) located below the heat-exchanging coil (110) when the air handler assembly is in a horizontal position in which the first inclined plate is positioned vertically above the second inclined plate (see BUSH’s Figures 2, 3, and cf. CHEN’s Figure 5 annotated by Examiner where the side drain pan (120 and/or 125 of BUSH) located below the heat-exchanging coil (110) in a horizontal position in which the first inclined plate is positioned vertically above the second inclined plate), wherein the entire baffle (1 of CHEN) is located above the side drain pan (Examiner notes that BUSH’s side drain pan (120 and/or 125 of BUSH) coves the entire width of the heat-exchanging coil (110) and CHEN’s baffle overlap CHEN’s heat exchanger (8 of CHEN). Therefore, BUSH as modified would result to have the entire baffle (1 of CHEN) is located above BUSH’s side drain pan (120 and/or 125 of BUSH)).
Regarding claim 11, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the blower (1010) is located downstream of the heat-exchanging coil in the airflow direction (see Figure 11).
Regarding claim 12, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the blower (1010) is located upstream of the heat-exchanging coil in the airflow direction (see Figure 10).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSH (US 20230314040 A1) in view of CHEN (CN110986169A: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of LIANG (CN 220552088 U: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 8, BUSH does not teach further comprising a first side plate and a second side plate, wherein the first side plate covers a first side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates, the second side plate covers a second side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates, the first side plate extends from the position at which the two coil plates are joined to an end of each coil plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction, and the second side plate extends from the position at which the two coil plates are joined to the end of each coil plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction.
LIANG teaches air handler assembly (see Figure 3), comprising two heat exchanging coils (2 and 3) including a first side plate (7) covers a first side (i.e. front side) of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates (see 7 in Figure 3), a second side plate (7 of the rear side: see ¶ [59]) covers a second side (i.e. rear side) of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates (see Figure 3).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the air handler assembly of BUSH in view of CHEN with a first side plate and a second side plate, wherein the first side plate covers a first side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates, the second side plate covers a second side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates, the first side plate extends from the position at which the two coil plates are joined to an end of each coil plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction, and the second side plate extends from the position at which the two coil plates are joined to the end of each coil plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction, as taught by LIANG, such provision would provide the benefit of forming enclosure to direct the air through the targeted area, thus increasing the efficiency of the heat exchangers.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSH (US 20230314040 A1) in view of CHEN (CN110986169A: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) and LIANG (CN 220552088 U: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 13, BUSH teaches an air handler assembly (see Figure 1) comprising:
a heat-exchanging coil (110);
a blower (1010: see Figures 10 and 11) configured to move air through the heat-exchanging coil (see ¶ [0110]), the heat-exchanging coil includes two coil plates (110: see Figure 1), the two coil plates are inclined such that a distance between the two coil plates increases from a position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction to a position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction (see Figure 1 where the distance between the two 110 increases from downward), the two coil plates are joined at the position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction (see Figure 1 where the two 110 are joined at the position that is furthest upward (i.e. furthest downstream in the airflow direction)).
Bush does not teach a baffle positioned upstream of the heat-exchanging coil in an airflow direction in which air is discharged from an outlet of the blower, wherein the baffle includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction, a first side plate covers a first side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates, a second side plate covers a second side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates, a first side of the baffle is attached to the first side plate, and a second side of the baffle is attached to the second side plate.
However, it’s old and well known for air handler assemblies to have baffle or air guide, as evidenced by CHEN, see CHEN’s Figures 1 and 5 where the air handler assembly comprises a heat-exchanging coil (8), a blower (3), a baffle (1) positioned upstream of the heat-exchanging coil (8) in an airflow direction in which air is discharged from an outlet of the blower (3) wherein the baffle (1) includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction (see CHEN’s Figure 5 annotated by Examiner where the baffle (1) includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the air handler assembly of BUSH with a baffle, wherein the baffle includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction, since as evidenced by CHEN, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the surface wind speed of the heat exchanger, thus improve the heat exchange efficiency of the heat exchanger, see CHEN’s ¶[22].
Furthermore, LIANG teaches air handler assembly (see Figure 3), comprising two heat exchanging coils (2 and 3) including a first side plate (7) covers a first side (i.e. front side) of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates (see 7 in Figure 3), a second side plate (7 of the rear side: see ¶ [59]) covers a second side (i.e. rear side) of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates (see Figure 3) and a first side of a baffle (6) is attached to the first side plate (7) via flange (65: see Figures 13 and 14), and a second side of the baffle (6) is attached, via flange (65), to the second side plate (see ¶ [58]).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the air handler assembly of BUSH in view of CHEN with a first side plate covers a first side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates, a second side plate covers a second side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates, a first side of the baffle is attached to the first side plate, and a second side of the baffle is attached to the second side plate, as taught by LIANG, such provision would provide the benefit of forming enclosure to direct the air through the targeted area, thus increasing the efficiency of the heat exchangers.
Regarding claim 14, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the first side plate (7 of LIANG ) extends from the position at which the two coil plates are joined to an end of each coil plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction, and the second side plate (7 of the rear side of LIANG) extends from the position at which the two coil plates are joined to the end of each coil plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction (see LIANG’s Figures 4-6).
Regarding claim 15, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the baffle (1 of CHEN) includes at least one first flange (65 of LIANG) positioned on the first side of the baffle and extending in the airflow direction (see LIANG’s Figures 13 and 14), the baffle includes at least one second flange (65 of the rear side of LIANG) positioned on the second side of the baffle and extending in the airflow direction (see LIANG’s Figures 13 and 14), the at least one first flange is configured to be attached to the first side plate, the at least one second flange is configured to be attached to the second side plate (see LIANG’s ¶ [58]), and the baffle (1 of CHEN) is positioned such that at least a portion of the baffle extends further upstream in the airflow direction than the first side plate and the second side plate (see CHEN’s ¶ [37]).
Regarding claim 16, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the first side of the baffle is attached to the first side plate (7 of LIANG) by at least one first fastener (see LIANG’s ¶ [58]), and the second side of the baffle is attached to the second side plate (7 of the rear side of LIANG) by at least one second fastener (see LIANG’s ¶ [58]).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSH (US 20230314040 A1) in view of CHEN (CN110986169A: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 17, BUSH teaches an air handler assembly (see Figure 1) comprising:
a heat-exchanging coil (110);
a blower (1010: see Figures 10 and 11) configured to move air through the heat-exchanging coil (see ¶ [0110]); a bottom drain pan (150) positioned upstream of the heat-exchanging coil (110) in an airflow direction in which air is discharged from an outlet of the blower (see Figure 1), the bottom drain pan (150) includes an outer wall (710, 720, and 730) surrounding a periphery of the bottom drain pan (see Figure 8), an aperture (158) formed in a center of the bottom drain pan (see Figure 8), and an interior wall (155) surrounding a periphery of the aperture (see Figure 8).
Bush does not teach a baffle, wherein the baffle includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction.
However, it’s old and well known for air handler assemblies to have baffle or air guide, as evidenced by CHEN, see CHEN’s Figures 1 and 5 where the air handler assembly comprises a heat-exchanging coil (8), a blower (3), a baffle (1) positioned upstream of the heat-exchanging coil (8) in an airflow direction in which air is discharged from an outlet of the blower (3) wherein the baffle (1) includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction (see CHEN’s Figure 5 annotated by Examiner where the baffle (1) includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, and a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the air handler assembly of BUSH with a baffle, wherein the baffle includes a first inclined plate and a second inclined plate, a distance between the first inclined plate and the second inclined plate increases from an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction to an edge of the first inclined plate that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction, since as evidenced by CHEN, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the surface wind speed of the heat exchanger, thus improve the heat exchange efficiency of the heat exchanger, see CHEN’s ¶[22].
BUSH in view CHEN would result to teach the baffle (1 of CHEN) is mounted to the interior wall (155 of BUSH) of the bottom drain pan since the baffle (1 of CHEN) is mounted adjacent to the inner side of CHEN’s heat exchanger coil (8 of CHEN).
Regarding claim 18, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the baffle (1 of CHEN) is positioned in the aperture (158 of BUSH) of the bottom drain pan (Examiner notes that CHEN’s baffle function as wind distribution structure. Therefore, it must be placed in BUSH’s aperture of the bottom drain pan where the air enters in order to function as intended).
Regarding claim 19, Bush in view of CHEN does not teach wherein the baffle covers 10 to 20 percent of the aperture of the bottom drain pan.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the size of the baffle would result in a difference in function of BUSH in view of CHEN device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the size of the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN device, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended being given the claimed size percentage. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed size percentage solves any stated problem, and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the size percentage of the baffle as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the baffle of BUSH in view of CHEN to covers 10 to 20 percent of the aperture of the bottom drain pan as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUSH (US 20230314040 A1) in view of CHEN (CN110986169A: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of LIANG (CN 220552088 U: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 20, BUSH as modified further teaches wherein the heat-exchanging coil includes two coil plates (110: see Figure 1), the two coil plates are inclined such that a distance between the two coil plates increases from a position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction to a position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest upstream in the airflow direction (see Figure 1 where the distance between the two 110 increases from downward), the two coil plates are joined at the position of the heat-exchanging coil that is furthest downstream in the airflow direction (see Figure 1 where the two 110 are joined at the position that is furthest upward (i.e. furthest downstream in the airflow direction)).
BUSH does not teach a first side plate covers a first side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates, a second side plate covers a second side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates, the first side plate extends for an entire length of each of the two coil plates, the second side plate extends for an entire length of each of the two coil plates, the first side plate is fixed to the outer wall of the bottom drain pan, and the second side plate is fixed to the outer wall of the bottom drain pan.
LIANG teaches air handler assembly (see Figure 3), comprising two heat exchanging coils (2 and 3) including a first side plate (7) covers a first side (i.e. front side) of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates (see 7 in Figure 3), a second side plate (7 of the rear side: see ¶ [59]) covers a second side (i.e. rear side) of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates (see Figure 3) the first side plate (7) extends for an entire length of each of the two coil plates, the second side plate (7 of the rear side) extends for an entire length of each of the two coil plates (see ¶ [59]), the first side plate (7) is fixed to an outer wall of the bottom drain pan (91: see ¶ [60]), and the second side plate (7 of the rear side) is fixed to the outer wall of the bottom drain pan (see ¶ [60]).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the air handler assembly of BUSH in view of CHEN with a first side plate covers a first side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a first side of each of the two coil plates, a second side plate covers a second side of the heat-exchanging coil such that it contacts a second side of each of the two coil plates, the first side plate extends for an entire length of each of the two coil plates, the second side plate extends for an entire length of each of the two coil plates, the first side plate is fixed to the outer wall of the bottom drain pan, and the second side plate is fixed to the outer wall of the bottom drain pan, as taught by LIANG, such provision would provide the benefit of forming enclosure to direct the air through the targeted area, thus increasing the efficiency of the heat exchangers.
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763