Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites
1. A computer-implemented method, comprising:
receiving a first natural language query identifying a target procedure in a particular context;
determining, based on the first natural language query, a reference schema for the target procedure from among a plurality of stored schemas, wherein each schema of the plurality of stored schemas defines a respective deterministic action sequence for performing a respective procedure in a respective context;
constructing a second natural language query based on the first natural language query and the reference schema;
sending, to a multimodal model, the second natural language query;
receiving, from the multimodal model, an initial output schema based on the second natural language query, the initial output schema defining an initial action sequence for performing the target procedure;
verifying a construction of the initial action sequence; and
generating, based on the verifying, a final output schema that defines a deterministic action sequence for performing the target procedure,
wherein the final output schema provides a deterministic result when executed.
Examiner finds that the emphasized portions of claim 1 above recite an abstract idea—namely, mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)and (III):
Accordingly, the ‘mental processes’ abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions
When read as a whole, the recited limitations are directed to using mental steps to observe, evaluate, and make judgements about electronic data
Taking each element individually, Examiner provides the following analysis:
The element “determining, based on the first natural language query, a reference schema for the target procedure from among a plurality of stored schemas, wherein each schema of the plurality of stored schemas defines a respective deterministic action sequence for performing a respective procedure in a respective context” merely requires observation and evaluation of the first NL query and an evaluation/judgment with respect to which reference schema to choose.
The element “constructing a second natural language query based on the first natural language query and the reference schema” merely requires observation and evaluation of the first NL query and reference schema and an evaluation and/or judgment as to how to construct the second NL query.
The element “verifying a construction of the initial action sequence” merely requires human judgment as to the validity of the constructions of the initial action sequence.
The element “generating, based on the verifying, a final output schema that defines a deterministic action sequence for performing the target procedure” merely requires an evaluation and/or judgment as to how to generate the final output schema. Examiner finds this element can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper.
Turning to the additional elements, the element “1. A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving a first natural language query identifying a target procedure in a particular context” recites insignificant extra solution activity in the form of mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, this element does not integrate the exception. This element also recites receiving or transmitting data over a network and thus recites a well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) computer function. As such, it fails to recite an inventive concept. See 2106.05(d)(II).
The element “sending, to a multimodal model, the second natural language query” recites “mere data gathering” and thus recites insignificant extra solution activity and does not integrate the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g).This element also recites receiving or transmitting data over a network and thus recites a WURC computer function. See 2106.05(d)(II). As such, it does not recite an inventive concept. See id.
The element “receiving, from the multimodal model, an initial output schema based on the second natural language query, the initial output schema defining an initial action sequence for performing the target procedure” recites “mere data gathering” and thus recites insignificant extra solution activity and does not integrate the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). This element also recites receiving or transmitting data over a network and/or storing and retrieving information in memory and thus recites a WURC computer function. See 2106.05(d)(II). As such, it does not recite an inventive concept. See id.
Examiner finds “wherein the final output schema provides a deterministic result when executed” has no patentable weight because it recites an intended result1.
The additional elements above “‘[a]dd nothing … that is not already present when the steps are considered separately’”. MPEP 2106.05 (I)(B)(quoting Alice).
As such, claim 1 recites an abstract idea without significantly more.
Turning to the dependent claims, Examiner provides the following analysis:
Claim 2 recites “2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining comprises: performing at least one of a Boolean database search, a natural language search, or a vector similarity algorithm on the plurality of stored schemas against the first natural language query.” This element recites insignificant extra solution (i.e. mere data gathering) and thus does not integrate the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). This element also recites storing and retrieving information in memory and thus recites a WURC computer function. See 2106.05(d)(II). As such, it does not recite an inventive concept. See id.
Claim 3 recites “3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises: updating, in response to a failed construction verification, the initial action sequence of the initial output schema to the deterministic action sequence.” This element merely requires evaluation of whether a failed construction verification occurs and an evaluation and/or judgment of how to update the initial action sequence based on this failure. Examiner finds this element can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper.
Claim 4 recites “4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises: using, in response to a positive construction verification, the initial action sequence as the deterministic action sequence.” Examiner finds this element generally links the abstract idea to the field of use of Large Language Models and thus does not integrate the exception or recite an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 5 recites “5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the second natural language query further comprises information related to the particular context.” This element merely recites results of the evaluation and/or judgment being performed.
Claim 6 recites “6. The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the information related to the particular context comprises at least one of a user manual, an enterprise repository, or expert information.” This element merely recites results of the evaluation and/or judgment being performed.
Claim 7 recites “7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: executing the final output schema to obtain the deterministic result for the target procedure.” This element recites mere instructions to apply the exception (i.e. it equivalent to “apply it”). See MPEP 2106.05(f). As such, this element fails to integrate the exception and fails to recite an inventive concept. See id.
Claim 8 recites “8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the target procedure comprises diagnosing or troubleshooting an issue with an industrial machine.” This element merely describes what is being observed and/or evaluated.
Claim 9 recites “9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the query comprises: mining information regarding the particular context to obtain the target procedure.” This element generally links the abstract idea to the field of use of data mining. As such, it fails to integrate the exception and fails to recite an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 9 recites “and constructing the natural language query based on the mining.” This element merely requires observation and evaluation of the mined data and an evaluation and/or judgment as to how to construct the NL query based on the data.
Claim 10 recites “10. The computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein the mining comprises mining at least one of conversation data or video data related to the particular context.” This element generally links the abstract idea to the field of use of data mining. As such, it fails to integrate the exception and fails to recite an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 11 recites “11. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: assigning, . . . a plurality of agents to execute the final output schema.” This element merely requires judgment on the part of a human as to which agent is assigned to execute the final output schema. Examiner finds this element can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper.
Examiner finds “by an orchestrator” generally links the abstract idea to the field of use of agents/LLMs/generative AI and thus does not integrate the exception or recite an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
The element “instructing a first agent to perform a first action within the deterministic action sequence to obtain an agent decision” merely requires human judgment as to the instructions that are needed for a first agent to perform a first action. Examiner finds this element can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper.
The element “determining, based on the agent decision, one or more additional actions within the deterministic action sequence to perform” merely requires observation and evaluation of the decision and an evaluation/judgment as to what additional action to take. Examiner finds this element can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper.
The element “instructing one or more additional agents to perform the one or more additional actions to obtain a final schema result; and” merely requires human evaluation/judgment as to what instructions are required to “perform the one or more additional actions to obtain a final schema result. . .”Examiner finds this element can be practically performed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper.
The element “completing the target procedure based on the final schema result” recite mere instructions to apply the exception. As such, it fails to integrate the exception and fails to recite an inventive concept.
The additional elements “‘[a]dd nothing … that is not already present when the steps are considered separately’”. MPEP 2106.05 (I)(B)(quoting Alice). Thus, the dependent claims above are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 18 recites (emphasis added):
18. A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving, from a schema management platform, a natural language query identifying a first procedure in a first context and a reference schema for the first procedure, wherein the reference schema defines a deterministic action sequence for performing a second procedure in a second context
generating an initial output schema based on the natural language query, the initial output schema defining an initial action sequence for performing the first procedure;
and sending, to the schema management platform, the initial output schema, wherein the initial output schema is used to generate a final output schema that defines a deterministic action sequence for performing the first procedure and the final output schema provides a deterministic result when executed.
Examiner finds that the emphasized portions of claim 18 above recite an abstract idea—namely, mental processes. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)and (III):
Accordingly, the ‘mental processes’ abstract idea grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions
When read as a whole, the recited limitations are directed to using mental steps to observe, evaluate, and make judgements about electronic data
Taking each element individually, Examiner provides the following analysis:
The element “generating an initial output schema based on the natural language query, the initial output schema defining an initial action sequence for performing the first procedure” merely requires observation and evaluation of the NL query and an evaluation/judgment as to how to generate the initial output schema based on the evaluation of the NL query.
As such, claim 18 recites an abstract idea.
Turning to the additional elements, the element “18. A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving, from a schema management platform, a natural language query identifying a first procedure in a first context and a reference schema for the first procedure, wherein the reference schema defines a deterministic action sequence for performing a second procedure in a second context” recites insignificant extra solution activity in the form of mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, it does not integrate the exception. This element recites receiving or transmitting data over a network and thus recites a WURC computer function. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).As such, it does not recite an inventive concept.
The element and “sending, to the schema management platform, the initial output schema, wherein the initial output schema is used to generate a final output schema that defines a deterministic action sequence for performing the first procedure and the final output schema provides a deterministic result when executed.” This element recites insignificant extra solution activity in the form of mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, it does not integrate the exception. This element recites receiving or transmitting data over a network and thus recites a WURC computer function. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). As such, it does not recite an inventive concept. Examiner finds “wherein the initial output schema is used to generate a final output schema that defines a deterministic action sequence for performing the first procedure and the final output schema provides a deterministic result when executed” recites an intended result and thus has no patentable weight2.
The additional elements “‘[a]dd nothing … that is not already present when the steps are considered separately’”. MPEP 2106.05 (I)(B)(quoting Alice). Thus, claim 18 is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 19 recites “19. The computer-implemented method of claim 18,wherein the generating comprises: employing one or more agents to action the natural language query.” This element generally links the abstract idea the field of use of LLMs/generative AI/agents and thus does not integrate the exception and does not recite an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 20 recites “20. The computer-implemented method of claim 19, wherein the generating further comprises: receiving, from the one or more agents, an additional prompt for iterative processing, wherein the initial output schema is based on the natural language query and the additional prompt.” This element recites insignificant extra solution activity in the form of mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, it does not integrate the exception. This element recites receiving or transmitting data over a network and thus recites a WURC computer function. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II). As such, it does not recite an inventive concept.
The additional elements “‘[a]dd nothing … that is not already present when the steps are considered separately’”. MPEP 2106.05 (I)(B)(quoting Alice). Thus, claims 19-20 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng, FlowMind: Automatic Workflow Generation with LLMs; Nov. 2023.
With respect to claim 1, Zeng teaches “1 A computer-implemented method, comprising receiving a first natural language query identifying a target procedure in a particular context” on p. 80, Fig. 7 (first NL query is, for example (“What is the total purchase sale for the FT CBOE VEST U.S.
EQUITY DEEP BUFFER ETF - FEBRUARY?”); p. 75 section 3.1 first paragraph (“Specifically, the proposed lecture prompt recipe covers: • Context: First we introduce the context which covers the domain of the expected tasks/queries from the user. For example, in our experiments, we set up the context as handling information queries from user, as shown in Figure 3. . . The crafted prompt following the lecture recipe enables the LLM to gain the necessary understanding of the context and available APIs, to utilize them in the subsequent stage of workflow generation effectively.) (emphasis added);
“determining, based on the first natural language query, a reference schema for the target procedure from among a plurality of stored schemas, wherein each schema of the plurality of stored schemas defines a respective deterministic action sequence for performing a respective procedure in a respective context” on p. 76, Fig. 3; (“Reference schemas are any one of the functions listed in Fig 3. . They are “deterministic sequence[s] of action that can be used for performing . . procedure[s] in a particular context[s].” Applicant’s spec at para. 17; the lecture in Fig. 3 provides respective contexts (e.g. document bot, reports, etc.)); p. 75 section 3.1 first paragraph (“Specifically, the proposed lecture prompt recipe covers: • Context: First we introduce the context which covers the domain of the expected tasks/queries from the user. For example, in our experiments, we set up the context as handling information queries from user, as shown in Figure 3. . . The crafted prompt following the lecture recipe enables the LLM to gain the necessary understanding of the context and available APIs, to utilize them in the subsequent stage of workflow generation effectively.) (emphasis added);
“constructing a second natural language query based on the first natural language query and the reference schema” on p. 75 section 3.2 2nd paragraph (We prompt LLM with "Could you provide a concise high-level summary of the flow of code?” (second NL query); flow of code is the result of first NL query and schema (functions in Fig. 3, for example));
“sending, to a multimodal model, the second natural language query” p. 75 section 3.2 2nd paragraph (We prompt LLM with "Could you provide a concise high-level summary of the flow of code?”) (emphasis added);
“receiving, from the multimodal model, an initial output schema based on the second natural language query, the initial output schema defining an initial action sequence for performing the target procedure” p. 80, Fig. 7 (initial output schema is the workflow in Fig. 7 left panel);
“generating, based on the verifying, a final output schema that defines a deterministic action sequence for performing the target procedure, wherein the final output schema provides a deterministic result when executed” on p. 80, Fig. 7 (final output schema is the workflow in the right panel of Fig. 7; the returned output is deterministic by definition; see also p. 77 section 4.2 first paragraph).
With respect to claim 2, Zeng teaches “2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining comprises: performing at least one of a Boolean database search, a natural language search, or a vector similarity algorithm on the plurality of stored schemas against the first natural language query” on p. 75 section 3.1 (“Note that the function names, input arguments, and output descriptions must be semantically meaningful and relevant to the context above such that the LLM can comprehend to make good use of the functions”); on p. 80:
In the future, it’s worth investigating crowdsourcing user feedback to refine workflows in FlowMind at scale, as well as life-long learning over past user-approved examples to evolve its performance over time. In addition, FlowMind can be expanded in the future to handle big libraries of APIs by retrieving the most relevant APIs for a given task given embedding similarity
(Examiner finds the LLM determining which tool to use necessarily involves the LLM using NL search or vector similarity algorithm to determine which of the functions in Fig. 3 are similar to the NL query).
With respect to claim 3, Zeng teaches “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises: updating, in response to a failed construction verification, the initial action sequence of the initial output schema to the deterministic action sequence” on p. 80:
In the future, it’s worth investigating crowdsourcing user feedback to refine workflows in FlowMind at scale, as well as life-long learning over past user-approved examples to evolve its performance over time. In addition, FlowMind can be expanded in the future to handle big libraries of APIs by retrieving the most relevant APIs for a given task given embedding similarity
With respect to claim 4, Zeng teaches “4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the generating comprises: using, in response to a positive construction verification, the initial action sequence as the deterministic action sequence” in the abstract; p. 74
Understanding the necessity for human oversight, our system also integrates user feedback. Without assuming the programming experiences of the user, the system provides a high-level description of the auto-generated workflow, allowing novice users to inspect and provide feedback. FlowMind then takes the user feedback and adjusts the generated workflow if needed
(initial action sequence (initial workflow) used if adjustment is not needed).
With respect to claim 7, Zeng teaches “7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: executing the final output schema to obtain the deterministic result for the target procedure” on p. 80 Fig. 7 (deterministic result is “The total purchase sale for the FT CBOE VEST U.S. EQUITY DEEP BUFFER ETF - FEBRUARY is 6.33e07”; final output schema is the workflow on right hand side in Fig. 7);
With respect to claim 18, Zeng teaches “18. A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving, from a schema management platform, a natural language query identifying a first procedure in a first context and a reference schema for the first procedure” on p. 76, Fig. 3 lecture prompt; p. 80, Fig. 7 (first NL query is, for example (“What is the total purchase sale for the FT CBOE VEST U.S.EQUITY DEEP BUFFER ETF - FEBRUARY?”);
p. 75 section 3.1 first paragraph
Specifically, the proposed lecture prompt recipe covers:
• Context: First we introduce the context which covers the domain of the expected tasks/queries from the user. For example, in our experiments, we set up the context as handling information queries from user, as shown in Figure 3. . . The crafted prompt following the lecture recipe enables the LLM to gain the necessary understanding of the context and available APIs, to utilize them in the subsequent stage of workflow generation effectively.
• APIs: Then we provide a list of structured descriptions of the
available APIs to use for the LLM. Importantly, we introduce the name of the function, the input arguments, and the output variables.
Note that the function names, input arguments, and output
descriptions must be semantically meaningful and relevant to
the context above such that the LLM can comprehend to make
good use of the functions
(first procedure is “total purchase sale for the FT CBOE VEST U.S.EQUITY DEEP BUFFER ETF - FEBRUARY?” first context is total purchase sale; reference schema is the lecture prompt in Fig. 3);
“wherein the reference schema defines a deterministic action sequence for performing a second procedure in a second context” on p. 76, Fig. 3, lecture prompt; (Examiner finds the second context is “Imagine we are working with a document bot. The job of this bot is to respond to information queries from user; Examine finds “Wait for user queries, then write python code (with modularization) and use these functions to respond” teaches “a deterministic action sequence for performing a second procedure”);
p. 77:
In FlowMind, we ground the ability of LLMs to reason with reliable
Application Programming Interfaces (APIs), as discussed in
Section 3. The strength of APIs lies in their robustness, having been
designed by domain experts capable of handling vast amounts of
data in a structured, parallelized, and deterministic manner
“generating an initial output schema based on the natural language query, the initial output schema defining an initial action sequence for performing the first procedure” in Fig. 7 workflow, left panel (initial output schema are the functions described in Fig. 7 workflow left panel);
“and sending, to the schema management platform, the initial output schema” in Fig. 7, left panel (high level workflow description is a result of the initial output schema being sent to an LLM—see p. 75 Fig. 2 stage 2);
“wherein the initial output schema is used to generate a final output schema that defines a deterministic action sequence for performing the first procedure and the final output schema provides a deterministic result when executed” in Fig. 7 workflow, right panel; p. 75 Fig. 2 stage 2 (Execute results); p. 77:
In FlowMind, we ground the ability of LLMs to reason with reliable
Application Programming Interfaces (APIs), as discussed in
Section 3. The strength of APIs lies in their robustness, having been
designed by domain experts capable of handling vast amounts of
data in a structured, parallelized, and deterministic manner
(Examiner finds the final output schema is the function taught in Fig. 7 workflow right panel).
With respect to claim 19, Zeng teaches 19. The computer-implemented method of claim 18,wherein the generating comprises: employing one or more agents to action the natural language query” on p. 75 Fig. 2 (Examiner finds “LLM” teaches at least one agent).
With respect to claim 20, Zeng teaches “20. The computer-implemented method of claim 19, wherein the generating further comprises: receiving, from the one or more agents, an additional prompt for iterative processing” in Fig. 7 (user feedback is used in additional prompt).
“wherein the initial output schema is based on the natural language query and the additional prompt” in Fig. 2 stage 2
During stage 2, we enable a feedback loop between FlowMind and the user, where FlowMind provides high-level description of the generated workflow in plain-language, and the user inputs feedback to FlowMind to approve or refine the workflow if needed.
(the initial output schema can be any number of iterations (loops) before the LLM “gets it right” based on user feedback provides the correct workflow code).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng as applies to claim 1 above and further in view of Schafer, An Empirical Evaluation of Using Large Language Models for Automated Unit Test Generation, 11 Dec 2023.
With respect to claim 9, Zeng teaches “receiving the query.” See above.
Zeng fails to explicitly teach “mining information regarding the particular context to obtain the target procedure”
“and constructing the natural language query based on the mining.”
However, Schafer teaches “9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the receiving the query comprises: mining information regarding the particular context to obtain the target procedure” on p. 2 left column 3rd full para. (“(3) usage examples for the function mined from documentation, if available”); p. 3:
Documentation Miner: This component extracts code snippets and comments from documentation included with the PUT, and associates them with the API functions they pertain to. The aim is to collect, for each API function, comments and examples describing its purpose and intended usage
p. 19 (“In addition, the mining of documentation and usage examples would need to be adapted to match the documentation format used for that language”);
“and constructing the natural language query based on the mining” on p. 3
Figure 2 presents the high-level architecture of TESTPILOT, which consists of five main components: Given a PUT as input, the API explorer identifies functions to test; the documentation miner extracts metadata about them; and the prompt generator, test validator, and prompt refiner collaborate to construct prompts for test generation, assemble complete tests from the LLM’s response, run them to determine whether they pass, and construct further prompts to generate more tests. We now discuss each of these components in more detail.
Fig. 2 (circles added by Examiner)
Zeng and Schafer are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify “receiving the query” taught in Zeng to include wherein the receiving the query comprises: mining information regarding the particular context to obtain the target procedure and constructing the natural language query based on the mining” as taught by Schafer.
The motivation would have been to produce units test that are readable, understandable, and produce non-spurious assertions. See Schafer p. 1 section 1 second and third paragraphs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-17 are allowed.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
Patent Eligibility
Claim 12 recites the following:
sending, to a language processing system having one or more multimodal models, a first query for generating a machine-executable instruction for performing an action within a deterministic action sequence defined in a schema, wherein the deterministic action sequence defined in the schema performs a respective procedure in a particular context;
receiving, from the language processing system, a generated machine-executable instruction based on the first query;
sending, to the language processing system, a second query for validating whether the generated instruction performs the action when executed;
receiving, from the language processing system, a positive validation result indicating that the generated instruction performs the action when executed;
sending, to the language processing system and based on the positive validation result, a third query for generating a unit test for the generated instruction, wherein the unit test specifies a pass condition;
receiving, from the language processing system, a generated unit test for the generated instruction;
obtaining, by executing the unit test, a positive unit test result indicating that the generated instruction fulfills the pass condition; and
Examiner finds these additional elements recite “specific limitation[s] other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field” and are “unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application.” MPEP 2106.05(I)(A). As such, claim 12 recites an inventive concept. See id.
Prior Art
Zeng teaches “12. A computer-implemented method, comprising: sending, to a language processing system having one or more multimodal models, a first query” on p. 80, Fig. 7 (first NL query is, for example (“What is the total purchase sale for the FT CBOE VEST U.S.EQUITY DEEP BUFFER ETF - FEBRUARY?”); first query sent to LLM (multimodal model)—see p. 75 section 3.2 first paragraph);
“for generating a machine-executable instruction for performing an action within a deterministic action sequence defined in a schema wherein the deterministic action sequence defined in the schema performs a respective procedure in a particular context” on p. 76, Fig. 3; (schemas are any one of the functions (procedures) listed in Fig 3 because they are “deterministic sequence[s] of action that can be used for performing . . procedure[s] in a particular context[s].” Applicant’s spec at para. 17; the lecture in Fig. 3 provides respective contexts (e.g. document bot, reports, etc.)); see p. 75 section 3.1:
Specifically, the proposed lecture prompt recipe covers:
• Context: First we introduce the context which covers the domain of the expected tasks/queries from the user. For example, in our experiments, we set up the context as handling information queries from user, as shown in Figure 3.
. . .
The crafted prompt following the lecture recipe enables the LLM to gain the necessary understanding of the context and available APIs, to utilize them in the subsequent stage of workflow generation effectively
(emphasis added).
“receiving, from the language processing system, a generated machine-executable instruction based on the first query” in Fig.7 (“workflow” left panel is the generated machine-executable instruction based on the first query):
“sending, to the language processing system, a second query for validating whether the generated instruction performs the action when executed” (second query is the query that produces the output of the High level workflow description in Fig. 7);
“receiving, from the language processing system, a positive validation result indicating that the generated instruction performs the action when executed” on p. 75 Fig. 2:
During stage 2, we enable a feedback loop between FlowMind and the user, where FlowMind provides high-level description of the generated workflow in plain-language, and the user inputs feedback to FlowMind to approve or refine the workflow if needed
(Examiner finds “approve” is a positive validation);
However, Schafer, An Empirical Evaluation of Using Large Language Models for Automated Unit Test Generation, Dec 11, 2023 teaches
“a third query for generating a unit test for the generated instruction, wherein the unit test specifies a pass condition” on p. 2
A simple test generation technique where unit tests are generated by iteratively querying an LLM with a prompt containing signatures of API functions under test and, optionally, the bodies, documentation, and usage examples associated with such functions.
(third query is the querying of LLM with the prompt);
“receiving, from the language processing system, a generated unit test for the generated instruction” on p. 2
A simple test generation technique where unit tests are generated by iteratively querying an LLM with a prompt containing signatures of API functions under test and, optionally, the bodies, documentation, and usage examples associated with such functions.
p. 3
Figure 2 presents the high-level architecture of TESTPILOT, which consists of five main components: Given a PUT as input, the API explorer identifies functions to test; the documentation miner extracts metadata about them; and the prompt generator, test validator, and prompt refiner collaborate to construct prompts for test generation, assemble complete tests from the LLM’s response, run them to determine whether they pass,
“obtaining, by executing the unit test, a positive unit test result indicating that the generated instruction fulfills the pass condition; and” on p. 3
Figure 2 presents the high-level architecture of TESTPILOT, which consists of five main components: Given a PUT as input, the API explorer identifies functions to test; the documentation miner extracts metadata about them; and the prompt generator, test validator, and prompt refiner collaborate to construct prompts for test generation, assemble complete tests from the LLM’s response, run them to determine whether they pass,
p. 4 Fig. 3 (“Prompt(b) c Prompt(b)contains one snippet and the generated test passes”).
Prior art of records fails to teach or suggest
“. . . sending, to the language processing system and based on the positive validation result,. . . assigning, based on the positive unit test result, the generated instruction to the action, wherein an execution of the action comprises executing the generated instruction”
Conclusion
The following prior art is relevant to Applicant’s specification:
US 20180232443 A1
/ALBERT M PHILLIPS, III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159
1 See MPEP 2111.04
Claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. However, examples of claim language, although not exhaustive, that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim are:
(A) “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses;
(B) “wherein” clauses; and
(C) “whereby” clauses.
The determination of whether each of these clauses is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. > See, e.g., Griffin v. Bertina, 283 F.3d 1029, 1034, 62 USPQ2d 1431 (Fed. Cir. 2002)(finding that a “wherein” clause limited a process claim where the clause gave “meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps”). < In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court held that when a “‘whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention.” Id. However, the court noted (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)) that a “‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” Id.
(emphasis added).
2 See id.