Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Claims 7 and 17 “a first surface” and “a second surface”
Claims 10 and 20 “a first curved chamber portion”, “a second curved chamber
portion”, “a third curved chamber portion”, “a fourth curved chamber portion”, and “the third curved chamber portion between the first curved chamber portion and the second curved chamber portion, and the second curved chamber portion between the third curved chamber portion and the fourth curved chamber portion”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the specification is silent about the following claim limitations:
Claims 3 and 13 “spiral portion includes at least 6 spirals”
Claims 4 and 14 “a first planar portion extending between the first end and the spiral portion; and a second planar portion extending between the second end and the spiral portion”
Claims 5 and 15 “the first planar portion is parallel to the second planar portion”
Claims 7 and 17 “a first surface” and “a second surface”
Claims 10 and 20 “a first curved chamber portion”, “a second curved chamber portion”, “a third curved chamber portion”, “a fourth curved chamber portion”, and “the third curved chamber portion between the first curved chamber portion and the second curved chamber portion, and the second curved chamber portion between the third curved chamber portion and the fourth curved chamber portion.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 7, 10, 13-15, 17, and 20 are objected to because the specification is silent about the limitations as shown above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Morris et al. (US Pub. App. 2005-0123389). For simplicity, applicant’s drawing reference numerals are used in the attached annotated diagram.
For claim 1, Morris et al. discloses, in Figures 1-2, an apparatus (includes 31, 34) comprising:
a first end having a first contact surface (744, As shown below) to contact a first component (30) of a rotating machine;
a second end having a second contact surface (746, As shown below) to contact a second component (33) of the rotating machine, the second component (33) positioned in proximity to the first component (30) such that a cavity (The space between 30 and 33 that accommodates the seal 31 defines the cavity.) is formed therebetween, the apparatus dividing the cavity into a first cavity portion (731) and a second cavity portion (733, as shown below.); and
a central portion extending the first end from the second end, the central portion defining a first chamber (745) and a second chamber (747), the first chamber (745) in fluid communication with the first cavity portion (731), the second chamber (747) in fluid communication with the second cavity portion (733, as shown below), the first chamber (745) is fluidly isolated from the second chamber (747, the first chamber and second chamber are separated by the seal 31. As shown below.)
For claim 2, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the central portion is a spiral portion (Central portion of 31 surrounds 33. Figures 1-2.)
For claim 3, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the spiral portion includes at least 6 spirals (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 4, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 2, further including: a first planar portion extending between the first end and the spiral portion; and a second planar portion extending between the second end and the spiral portion (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 5, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first planar portion is parallel to the second planar portion (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 6, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first chamber and the second chamber have a same volume (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 7, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the central portion includes: a first surface facing at least one of the first chamber or the first cavity portion; and a second surface facing at least one of the second chamber or the second cavity portion, the first surface and the second surface having an equal area (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 8, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the central portion is continuous (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 9, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first contact surface and the second contact surface are offset along a first axis perpendicular to a second axis, the rotating machine rotating about the second axis (Contact surfaces of 34 are offset along a first axis perpendicular to a second axis 45. Figures 1-2.)
For claim 10, Morris et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first chamber includes a first curved chamber portion and a second curved chamber portion, the second chamber includes a third curved chamber portion and a fourth curved chamber portion, the third curved chamber portion between the first curved chamber portion and the second curved chamber portion, and the second curved chamber portion between the third curved chamber portion and the fourth curved chamber portion (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 11, Morris et al. discloses, in Figures 1-2, a gas turbine engine (Para. [0001]) including:
a first component (30);
a second component (33); and
a seal (includes 31, 34) disposed in a cavity (The space between 30 and 33 that accommodates the seal 31 defines the cavity.) formed by the first component and the second component, the seal dividing the cavity into a first cavity portion (731) and a second cavity portion (733) to block gas flow between the first and second components (as shown above), the seal including:
a first end having a first contact surface (744) contacting the first component of the gas turbine engine (as shown above);
a second end having a second contact surface (746) contacting the second component of the gas turbine engine (as shown above); and
a central portion (as shown above) extending the first end from the second end, the central portion defining a first chamber (745) and a second chamber (747), the first chamber (745) in fluid communication with the first cavity portion (731), the second chamber (747) in fluid communication with the second cavity portion (733), the first chamber is fluidly isolated from the second chamber (As shown above and Figures 1-2.)
For claim 12, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 11, wherein the central portion is a spiral portion (Central portion of 31 surrounds 33. Figures 1-2.)
For claim 13, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 12, wherein the spiral portion includes at least 6 spirals (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 14, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 12, further including: a first planar portion extending between the first end and the spiral portion; and a second planar portion extending between the second end and the spiral portion (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 15, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 14, wherein the first planar portion is parallel to the second planar portion (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 16, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 11, wherein the first chamber and the second chamber have a same volume (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 17, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 11, wherein the central portion includes: a first surface facing at least one of the first chamber or the first cavity portion; and a second surface facing at least one of the second chamber or the second cavity portion, the first surface and the second surface having an equal area (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 18, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 11, wherein the central portion is continuous (Figures 1-2.)
For claim 19, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 11, wherein the first contact surface and the second contact surface are offset along a first axis perpendicular to a second axis, the gas turbine engine rotating about the second axis (Contact surfaces of 34 are offset along a first axis perpendicular to a second axis 45. Figures 1-2.)
For claim 20, Morris et al. discloses the gas turbine engine of claim 11, wherein the first chamber includes a first curved chamber portion and a second curved chamber portion, the second chamber includes a third curved chamber portion and a fourth curved chamber portion, the third curved chamber portion between the first curved chamber portion and the second curved chamber portion, and the second curved chamber portion between the third curved chamber portion and the fourth curved chamber portion (Figures 1-2.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes McLean (US 6,431,825); Davis (US 2016-0115807); Halling and (US 6,299,178).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675