DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the insulating layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, this is considered to depend from claim 6.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the insulating layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, this is considered to depend from claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Willis(EP 0139350).
Willis discloses a device for welding two resin tubes together comprising a wafer having a first and second substrate(folded sheet 11, Pg. 4, ll. 10) with a heating element therebetween.(10) A hole penetrates the second substrate and is configured to expose the inner surface of the first substrate through which temperature can be sensed.(19)
Regarding claim 3, as “the vicinity” has not been defined, the hole is in the vicinity of the opposing side.
Regarding claim 5, the second substrate is formed by folding back the first substrate. (Col. 5, ll. 29)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaposka et al.(US Patent 4,864,101) in view of Willis et al.
Shaposka et al. discloses a device for welding two resin tubes together comprising a wafer having a first and second substrate(30,32) with a heating element therebetween.(26) The reference dose not disclose a hole penetrates the second substrate and is configured to expose the inner surface of the first substrate through which temperature can be sensed. Willis et al. discloses forming a hole through one substrate to the heating element where a resistor is placed. A hole penetrates the second substrate and is configured to expose the inner surface of the first substrate through which temperature can be sensed.(19) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to place a hole through one substrate and its insulating layer exposing the other substrate and placing a resistor in the circuit at that location since that would allow determination of whether the wafer has already been used as taught by Willis et al.(Abstract) One in the art would appreciate that the hole would extend through the insulating layer since the resistor is in contact with the circuitry and that is located between the insulating layers.(Figure 8)
Regarding claim 6, Shaposka et al. discloses an insulating later on both substrates.(Figure 8)
Regarding claim 7, Shaposka et al. shows the heating element is on the insulating layer.(Figure 8) Which surface it is formed on is a method limitation that does not affect the structure of the wafer.
Regarding claim 8, while Shaposka et al. teaches a resistance circuit(Col. 5, ll. 10) which require a wiring pattern. Which surface it is formed on is a method limitation that does not affect the structure of the wafer.
Regarding claim 9, Shaposka et al. shows two contact holes(36) which expose connection pads.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17, 19, and 20 are allowed.
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 2, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the hole avoiding the heating element as the resistor is intended to contact the circuit to its absence can be detected. Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the hole having a portion that intersects an edge forming a notch in the wafer. Regarding claim 10 and 20, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest using a temperature sensor to detect a temperature inside the hole as that is not the intended purpose of the hole.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746