DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Girouard (US 9,404,598).
Regarding claim 2, Girouard discloses a pressure relief device (10) configured to vent a pressurized tank in a thermal event, the pressure relief device comprising: a body (20); a vent passage (30) disposed through the body and at least partially enclosed by a vent passage wall (the wall defining 30), the vent passage having a first end (the end on the side of 17) configured to be placed in fluid communication with an internal volume of a tank and a second end (the end on the side of 18) configured to be placed in fluid communication with the atmosphere; a plug (160) at least partially located in the vent passage, the plug comprising a seal portion (the left end of 160 with reference to Fig. 4) forming a seal with the vent passage wall and a control portion (the right end of 160 with reference to Fig. 4) spaced apart from the seal portion (Fig. 4; Col. 4 lines 49-64), and the plug preventing flow of gas through the vent passage from the first end to the second end while in a first position (as shown in Fig. 4) and the plug allowing flow of gas through the vent passage from the first end to the second end while in a second position (as shown in Fig. 5); a first triggering system (100, 132, and 134) configured to cause the plug to slidably move from the first position to the second position in response to thermal event detection at a first location; and a second triggering system (15) configured to cause the plug to slidably move from the first position to the second position in response to thermal event detection at a second location.
Regarding claim 3, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 2, wherein the first triggering system includes a shape memory alloy wire configured to shorten when exposed to a temperature above a threshold temperature. (Col. 13, lines 15-25)
Regarding claim 4, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 3, wherein a portion of the shape memory alloy wire is disposed within the body and the portion moves toward a first direction when the shape memory alloy wire shortens in response to exposure to the temperature above the threshold temperature (as shown in Fig. 5), and wherein the plug moves toward the first direction when the plug moves from the first position to the second position. (as shown in Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 5, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 3, wherein a portion of the shape memory alloy wire is disposed within the body and the portion moves along a wire axis when the shape memory alloy wire shortens in response to exposure to the temperature above the threshold temperature (as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the plug moves along a plug axis when the plug moves from the first position to the second position (as shown in Fig. 4), and wherein the wire axis is parallel to the plug axis. (Figs. 4 and 5)
Regarding claim 6, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 3, further comprising an intermediate trigger (132) being coupled to the shape memory alloy wire, and extending in a first elongate direction in an untriggered state (see how 132 extends in the radial direction), wherein movement of the intermediate trigger caused by shortening of the shape memory alloy wire in response to exposure to the temperature above the threshold temperature causes the plug to move from the first position to the second position, and wherein the plug extends in a second elongate direction (the axial direction of 160) that is perpendicular to the first elongate direction. (Figs. 4 and 5)
Regarding claim 7, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 3, wherein a portion of the shape memory alloy wire is disposed within the body and the portion moves in a first direction (the axial direction along 100) when the shape memory alloy wire shortens in response to exposure to the temperature above the threshold temperature, wherein the pressure relief device further comprises an intermediate trigger (132) being coupled to the shape memory alloy wire, and extending in an elongate direction (the radial direction of 132) in an untriggered state that is perpendicular to the first direction, and wherein movement of the intermediate trigger caused by the shortening of the shape memory alloy wire causes the plug to move from the first position to the second position. (Figs. 4 and 5)
Regarding claim 8, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 3, wherein the shape memory alloy wire is disposed in a tubular body (56) having fixed ends, the shape memory alloy wire being allowed to move along a longitudinal axis of the tubular body relative to the tubular body. (Figs. 4 and 5)
Regarding claim 9, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 8, wherein the tubular body is formed with a bend to extend or wrap around a tank of a fuel system. (Fig. 8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Girouard.
Regarding claim 10, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 2, wherein the second triggering system includes a moving part having an elongate shape and configured to be in a first state or a second state, the moving part moving from the first state to the second state in response to thermal event detection at the second location, thereby causing the plug to move from the first position to the second position, but fails to disclose the moving part is a cylinder.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the shape of the moving part to be a cylinder and include a spring to bias the cylinder away from the plug since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a shape that is able to move in and out of the passage linearly for easier and more reliable operation.
Regarding claim 11, Girouard further discloses the pressure relief device of Claim 10, wherein the cylinder is configured to move from the first state to the second state by moving within a trigger actuation passage in response to the thermal event detection at the second location. (Figs. 4 and 5)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753