DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the bore axis" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as claim 1 has been amended to delete the recitation “the bore having a bore axis.” For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting claim 9 as reciting “wherein the bore has a bore axis and further comprising…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Biedermann et al. (US 2010/0234902 A1).
Claim 1. Biedermann discloses a polyaxial bone anchoring device comprising:
a bone anchoring element (bone anchoring element 1) having a head (head 3) and a shaft (shaft 2) for anchoring to a bone;
a receiving part (receiving part body 5) for coupling the bone anchoring element to a rod, the receiving part having a head receiving portion (portion below U-shaped recess 13 and including accommodation space 19) with an accommodation space (accommodation space 19) for accommodating the head, and a rod receiving portion (portion with U-shaped recess 13) with a bore (bore 12) in communication with the accommodation space; and
a pressure member (pressure element 8) movable in the bore and comprising a first surface (surface defining hollow interior 85) for engaging the head and a second surface (surface defining U-shaped recess 83) for engaging a rod;
wherein when the bone anchoring element and the pressure member are in the receiving part, the pressure member is movable to a position (see Fig. 14) where the head is locked relative to the receiving part (see para. 0053) (Figs. 1-14; paras. 0040-0055).
Claim 7. Biedermann discloses wherein the pressure member is substantially cylindrical (see Fig. 6) (Figs. 1-14; paras. 0040-0055).
Claim 8. Biedermann discloses wherein the pressure member has a first end (adjacent first portion 81) and a second end (adjacent second portion 82), and a recess (hollow interior 85) at the second end with a spherical-segment shape (see Fig. 6) corresponding to a spherical-segment shaped surface portion (see Fig. 1) of the head of the bone anchoring element (see para. 0044) (Figs. 1-14; paras. 0040-0055).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Doherty et al. (US 2005/0154391 A1).
Claim 1. Doherty discloses a polyaxial bone anchoring device comprising:
a bone anchoring element (bone anchor 14) having a head (head 16) and a shaft (shaft 18) for anchoring to a bone;
a receiving part (first section 42) for coupling the bone anchoring element to a rod, the receiving part having a head receiving portion (portion below recess 48 and including annular groove 72) with an accommodation space (annular groove 72) for accommodating the head, and a rod receiving portion (portion with recess 48) with a bore (bore 44) in communication with the accommodation space; and
a pressure member (compression member 80) movable in the bore and comprising a first surface (second surface 84) for engaging the head and a second surface (first surface 82) for engaging a rod;
wherein when the bone anchoring element and the pressure member are in the receiving part, the pressure member is movable to a position (position wherein closure mechanism 90 is fully tightened) where the head is locked relative to the receiving part (see para. 0054) (Figs. 1-14; paras. 0040-0063).
Claim 9. Doherty discloses a sleeve-like insert piece (second section 50) configured to be positioned around a spherical-segment shaped portion (hemispherically shaped distal surface 32) of the head, wherein the insert piece is configured to pivot in the accommodation space of the receiving part (see para. 0051), and wherein when the insert piece is seated in the receiving part and has a central axis (axis 46 – see Fig. 11) coaxial with the bore axis (axis 46 – see Fig. 8), a lower edge of the insert piece extends out of a lower opening of the receiving part (see Figs. 1 and 2) (Figs. 1-14; paras. 0040-0063).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,078,705 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference between the claims of the patent and those of the application are that claim 1 of the patent includes more elements than claim 1 of the application (the bore axis; the first position of the pressure member; and the engagement between the pressure member and the first portion of the inner wall of the receiving part). Thus, the invention of claims 1 and 7-9 of the patent is in effect a species of the generic invention of claims 1 and 7-9 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Because claims 1 and 7-9 are anticipated by claims 1 and 7-9 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 9,597,121 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference between the claims of the patent and those of the application are that claim 1 of the patent includes more elements than claim 1 of the application (the bore axis; the one-piece second section of the pressure member; the first position of the pressure member; and the engagement between the pressure member and the portion of the inner wall of the receiving part). Thus, the invention of claims 1 and 7-9 of the patent is in effect a species of the generic invention of claims 1 and 7-9 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Because claims 1 and 7-9 are anticipated by claims 1 and 7-9 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct from the patent claims.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,335,204 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference between the claim of the patent and that of the application is that claim 1 of the patent includes more elements than claim 1 of the application (the radially outwardly extending projections of the pressure member; and the insert piece being an endless ring). Thus, the invention of claim 5 of the patent is in effect a species of the generic invention of claim 9 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Because claim 9 is anticipated by claim 5 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,058,462 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference between the claim of the patent and that of the application is that claim 1 of the patent includes more elements than claim 1 of the application (the bore axis; the first position of the pressure member; and the engagement between the pressure member and the vertical wall portion of the receiving part). Thus, the invention of claim 2 of the patent is in effect a species of the generic invention of claim 9 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Because claim 9 is anticipated by claim 2 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,712 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The difference between the claim of the patent and that of the application is that claim 1 of the patent includes more elements than claim 1 of the application (the outer surface of the pressure member; and the first position of the pressure member). Thus, the invention of claim 1 of the patent is in effect a species of the generic invention of claim 1 of the application. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Because claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the patent, it is not patentably distinct from the patent claim.
Conclusion
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773