CTNF 18/984,674 CTNF 85657 DETAILED ACTION 1. Claims 1-20 are pending in this examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 2. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Claim Objections 4.1. Claims 2-10, 12-20 objected to because of the following informalities: 4.2. Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Claim 2 recites “the method of Claim 1,..”; Claims 3-10, 12-20 contains similar language found in claim 2. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 5.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA 5.2. Claim s 1-2, 4, 6, 8, 11-12, 14, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application No. 20230232218 to Kneckt et al (“Kneckt”) in view of US Patent Application No. 20090074187 to Inoue et al (“Inoue”) . As per claim 1, Kneckt discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, by a processor of a station (STA), one or more medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (MPDUs) ([0005], The processor of the STA and/or the AP can be configured to set a bit of real time Media Access Control (MAC) header in a payload of an aggregated MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) subframe to an actual value associated with a power management (PM) field of a header of the A-MPDU subframe, and then encrypt the payload. After encrypting the payload, the processor can set the PM field in the header to an over the air (OTA) PM value, and transmit the A-MPDU subframe (e.g., over the air.) In some examples, encrypting the payloadoccurs during an exchange of request to send (RTS) and clear to send (CTS) messages, and/or during a transmission of previously buffered packets). receiving, by the processor, a protected acknowledgement ([0034], Some embodiments include a block acknowledgement process that occurs when MAC header fields (e.g., PM, MD, EOSP) are encrypted); and determine, by the processor, a man in the middle (MITM) attack based on a time synchronization function (TSF) or signature in the protected acknowledgement ([0058], In example 650, a transmitter (e.g., a STA) may have already encrypted packets (e.g., MPDUs that are buffered). A TXOP starts at time 660, and the transmitter can perform encryption during time 685. The transmitter can perform encryption during the time that data, encrypted packets in buffer 670 is transmitted and corresponding BA 680 is received. For example, frames in data encrypted packets in buffer 670 transmitted by the STA may have PM field 355=‘0’ indicating that the STA can continue to operate in active mode, encrypt another MAC frame 300 payload, and transmit within data 690 (e.g., a second frame.) Similarly, an AP may transmit frames in data encrypted packets in buffer 670 with EOSP field 365=‘1’ to keep a receiver STA available to receive more frames from the AP. The second frame may be encrypted during time 685 and then a second frame in data 690 may result in the receiving STA transitioning to power save mode, also see [0063]). Kneckt does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Inoue discloses detecting, by the processor, a man in the middle (MITM) attack based on a time synchronization function (TSF) ([0197] When in counting of time, a predetermined time is elapsed (SUP timer expires), the timer portion (225) instructs to send the attack detection signal from the communication portion (221). A next attack detection signal in the Figure indicates that it has reached an access point, processing such as updating of the MAC address is progressed at the access point. [0198] Next, the case of FIG. 16 will be described. [0199] Because a first attack detection signal has reached the access point in this case, the MAC address has been updated on the access point side and the random number notification signal is sent. Further, because this random number notification signal has been lost, in counting of time at the timer portion (225), a predetermined time is elapsed like the case of FIG. 15. [0200] The timer portion (225) instructs to send an attack detection signal from the communicating portion (221) again and then, a second attack detection signal reaches the access point.[0201] Because the access point can know that the previous random number notification signal has not reached because the second attack detection signal has reached, the random number notification signal sent previously will be notified of. [0202] As described above, resynchronization can be executed effectively after the attack is detected by providing the wireless communication terminal with a timer portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kneckt with the teaching of Inoue by including the feature of detecting attack, in order for Kneckt’s system to to provide a technology of avoiding tracing on a terminal performed with an identification number as a target and DoS attack effectively without making any significant changes on a general wireless communication system. To solve the above-described object, the present invention provides a following wireless communication system. That is, the identification number of a wireless communication terminal such as the MAC (Media Access Control) address is changed dynamically to protect from a trace on a terminal or DoS attack thereby avoiding the attack performed with the identification number as a target. At this time, continuity of communication is maintained with the identification number synchronized with an access point. (Inoue, [0016]). As per claim 2, the combination of Kneckt and Inoue discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the receiving of the protected acknowledgement comprises: transmitting a block acknowledgement request (BAR) responsive to not having received a solicited acknowledgement after transmitting the one or more MPDUs; and receiving the protected acknowledgement responsive to transmitting the BAR (Kneckt, [0053], [0052], [0055], [0058]). As per claim 4, the combination of Kneckt and Inoue discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the one or more MPDUs comprises transmitting the one or more MPDUs with genuine data, and wherein the receiving of the protected acknowledgement comprises receiving the protected acknowledgement responsive to transmitting the one or more MPDUs with the genuine data (Kneckt, [0034], [0058], [0063]). As per claim 6, the combination of Kneckt and Inoue discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the receiving of the protected acknowledgement comprises: transmitting the one or more MPDUs with a power management (PM) bit set to a first value; retransmitting the one or more MPDUs with the PM bit set to a second value different from the first value responsive to not having received a solicited acknowledgement after transmitting the one or more MPDUs; and receiving the protected acknowledgement responsive to retransmitting the one or more MPDUs (Kneckt, [0048], [0063], [0082]). As per claim 8, the combination of Kneckt and Inoue discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the signature is calculated based on inputs from one or more bits of the one or more MPDUs, with location information of the one or more bits being known by both the STA, as an originator, and another STA, as a recipient (Kneckt, [0048], [0063], [0082]). As per claim 11, Kneckt discloses an apparatus implementable in a station (STA), comprising: a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly; and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising: transmitting, via the transceiver [0005] Some embodiments include a station (STA) that includes a transceiver communicatively coupled to a processor), one or more medium access control (MAC) protocol data units (MPDUs) ([0005], The processor of the STA and/or the AP can be configured to set a bit of real time Media Access Control (MAC) header in a payload of an aggregated MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) subframe to an actual value associated with a power management (PM) field of a header of the A-MPDU subframe, and then encrypt the payload. After encrypting the payload, the processor can set the PM field in the header to an over the air (OTA) PM value, and transmit the A-MPDU subframe (e.g., over the air.) In some examples, encrypting the payload occurs during an exchange of request to send (RTS) and clear to send (CTS) messages, and/or during a transmission of previously buffered packets); receiving, via the transceiver, a protected acknowledgement ([0034], Some embodiments include a block acknowledgement process that occurs when MAC header fields (e.g., PM, MD, EOSP) are encrypted); and determining a man in the middle (MITM) attack based on a time synchronization function (TSF) or signature in the protected acknowledgement ([0058], In example 650, a transmitter (e.g., a STA) may have already encrypted packets (e.g., MPDUs that are buffered). A TXOP starts at time 660, and the transmitter can perform encryption during time 685. The transmitter can perform encryption during the time that data, encrypted packets in buffer 670 is transmitted and corresponding BA 680 is received. For example, frames in data encrypted packets in buffer 670 transmitted by the STA may have PM field 355=‘0’ indicating that the STA can continue to operate in active mode, encrypt another MAC frame 300 payload, and transmit within data 690 (e.g., a second frame.) Similarly, an AP may transmit frames in data encrypted packets in buffer 670 with EOSP field 365=‘1’ to keep a receiver STA available to receive more frames from the AP. The second frame may be encrypted during time 685 and then a second frame in data 690 may result in the receiving STA transitioning to power save mode, also see [0063]). Kneckt does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Inoue discloses detecting, by the processor, a man in the middle (MITM) attack based on a time synchronization function (TSF) ([0197] When in counting of time, a predetermined time is elapsed (SUP timer expires), the timer portion (225) instructs to send the attack detection signal from the communication portion (221). A next attack detection signal in the Figure indicates that it has reached an access point, processing such as updating of the MAC address is progressed at the access point. [0198] Next, the case of FIG. 16 will be described. [0199] Because a first attack detection signal has reached the access point in this case, the MAC address has been updated on the access point side and the random number notification signal is sent. Further, because this random number notification signal has been lost, in counting of time at the timer portion (225), a predetermined time is elapsed like the case of FIG. 15. [0200] The timer portion (225) instructs to send an attack detection signal from the communicating portion (221) again and then, a second attack detection signal reaches the access point.[0201] Because the access point can know that the previous random number notification signal has not reached because the second attack detection signal has reached, the random number notification signal sent previously will be notified of. [0202] As described above, resynchronization can be executed effectively after the attack is detected by providing the wireless communication terminal with a timer portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kneckt with the teaching of Inoue by including the feature of detecting attack, in order for Kneckt’s system to to provide a technology of avoiding tracing on a terminal performed with an identification number as a target and DoS attack effectively without making any significant changes on a general wireless communication system. To solve the above-described object, the present invention provides a following wireless communication system. That is, the identification number of a wireless communication terminal such as the MAC (Media Access Control) address is changed dynamically to protect from a trace on a terminal or DoS attack thereby avoiding the attack performed with the identification number as a target. At this time, continuity of communication is maintained with the identification number synchronized with an access point. (Inoue, [0016]). Claims 12, 14, 16, 18 are rejected for similar reasons as stated above. 5.3. Claims 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 13, 15, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kneckt and Inoue as applied to claim above, and in view of US Patent Application No. 20190097952 to Yong et al (“Yong”). As per claim 3, the combination of Kneckt and Inoue discloses the invention as described above. Kneckt and Inoue do not explicitly disclose however, In the same field of endeavor, Yong discloses the method of Claim 2, wherein the detecting of the MITM attack comprises detecting the MITM attack based on the TSF or signature contained in the protected acknowledgement being not corresponding to information in the BAR (Yong, [0103], [0133]-[0140]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Kneckt with the teaching of Inoue/ Yong by including the feature of protected acknowledgement, in order for Kneckt’s system to a method for performing block acknowledgements for Out-of-Order packets. Communicating devices may set up wireless transmissions, including negotiating various communication parameters. A recipient device may receive data, which may include out-of-order packets. Among other processing tasks, the recipient device may attempt to detect any replayed and/or duplicated packets. The recipient device may provide the data to a higher layer, possibly including providing out-of-order packets to the higher layer without reordering the packets, e.g., to a sequential order. A wireless device can perform Out-of-Order packet processing and block acknowledgement. Multiple packets may be received at a lower layer of the wireless device. Identifying information may be determined for the received packets. It may be determined that the packets were received out of sequential order, based at least in part on the identifying information. Despite being received out of sequential order, payload information from the packets may be provided to a higher layer of the wireless device in a non-sequential order, such as the order of receipt (Yong, abstract). As per claim 5, the combination of Kneckt, Inoue and Yong discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein the detecting of the MITM attack comprises detecting the MITM attack based on the TSF or signature contained in the protected acknowledgement being not corresponding to information in the one or more MPDUs with the genuine data Yong, [0103], [0133]-[0140]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 3 is also applied to claim 5. As per claim 7, the combination of Kneckt, Inoue and Yong discloses the method of Claim 6, wherein the detecting of the MITM attack comprises detecting the MITM attack based on the TSF or signature contained in the protected acknowledgement being not corresponding to information in the retransmitted one or more MPDUs Yong, [0103], [0133]-[0140]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 3 is also applied to claim 7. As per claim 9, the combination of Kneckt, Inoue and Yong discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the signature comprises a message integrity check (MIC) of a header of the one or more MPDUs (Yong, [0053], [0056]-[0057], FIG. 5A-6B). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 3 is also applied to claim 9. As per claim 10, the combination of Kneckt, Inoue and Yong discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the signature comprises a length of the one or more MPDUs or a number of symbols between the MIC of the header of the one or more MPDUs and the acknowledgement Yong, [0048]-[0049], [0056]-[0057], FIG. 5A-6B). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 3 is also applied to claim 10. Claims 13, 15, 17, 19-20, are rejected for similar reasons as stated above. 6.1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art discloses many of the claim features (See PTO-form 892). 6.2. a). US Patent Application No. 20170324549 to Abramovsky et al., discloses computing readable media, apparatuses, and methods for secure time of flight measurements are disclosed. An apparatus comprising processing circuitry is disclosed. The processing circuitry configured to encode a fine time measurement (FTM) request. The processing circuitry further configured to decode a FTM response from the responder, where the FTM response is to be received at the wireless device at a time t2, and generate a symmetric key from a private encryption key of the wireless device and the public encryption key of the responder. The processing circuitry further configured to transmit an acknowledgement to the FTM response, the acknowledgement is transmitted at time t3, and decode an encrypted FTM frame from the responder with the symmetric key, the decrypted FTM message comprising a time t1 when the FTM response was to be transmitted and a time t4 when the acknowledgement to the FTM response was to be received. b). US Patent Application No. 20200029376 to Asterjadhi et al., discloses this disclosure provides systems, devices, apparatus and methods, including computer programs encoded on storage media, for an access point (AP) and a station. In one aspect, the AP can transmit a first trigger frame to the station. The AP may receive a packet from the station including one or more information units, an identifier of the information units, and a wireless device identifier. The AP can determine at least one information unit to be retransmitted by the station and transmit a second trigger frame identifying the information unit. In some aspects, the AP can determine a proxy arrangement with a proxy AP that can transmit the second trigger frame. In some aspects, the AP can transmit the first trigger frame to multiple stations and determine an information unit to be retransmitted based on a tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) link. Conclusion 7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HARUNUR RASHID whose telephone number is (571)270-7195. The examiner can normally be reached 9 AM to 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eleni A. Shiferaw can be reached at (571) 272-3867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. HARUNUR . RASHID Primary Examiner Art Unit 2497 /HARUNUR RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 2 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 3 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 4 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 5 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 6 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 7 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 8 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 9 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 10 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 11 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 12 Art Unit: 2497 Application/Control Number: 18/984,674 Page 13 Art Unit: 2497