DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-6 are pending and examined below. This action is in response to the claims filed 12/17/24.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 3, and 6 recite the claim element “external apparatus” which is defined in the Specification ¶311 as “base unit 10, aircraft parking apron 20 and other drone 30′”.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-6 recite the claim element “communication apparatus” which is defined in the Specification ¶74 as “power source/communication equipment 10, aircraft parking apron 20, and underwater drone 30”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2019/0265705).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Zhang discloses an autonomous movable object signal transmission based navigation system including a moving body/ movement control method, comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the processor wirelessly performs communication with an external apparatus (¶131 – external device/terminal corresponding to the recited external apparatus);
acquires a communication connection relationship of a communication network including the external apparatus and another communication apparatus, by the communication with the external apparatus (¶81-88 and Fig. 6 – signal transmission operating status corresponding to the recited communication connection relationship of a communication network between the moving body and multiple external apparatuses); and
determines, based on the communication connection relationship, a first direction, in which the moving body moves, and causes the moving body to move in the first direction (¶87-88 and Fig. 6 – element 606 determining a first flight path corresponding to the recited determining a first direction to which the moving body moves based on the communication connection relationship).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further discloses wherein in a case where the communication connection relationship indicates that no communication apparatus wirelessly connected to the other communication apparatus is present, the processor determines that the first direction is a direction of the other communication apparatus (¶83-84 – after failing to transmit data to a control device for a period of time, corresponding to the recited first index value being equal to or less than the first threshold the UAV can backtrack to a point where wireless transmission strength was strong, a region where data transmission rate was above a threshold corresponding to the recited stopping forward progress at a location where an abnormal signal transmission condition was detected corresponding to the recited index value is equal to or less than the first threshold).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0265705), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Dietrich et al. (US 2005/0208952).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang further discloses wherein in a case where the communication connection relationship indicates that the other communication apparatus is present at an end of the communication network (¶87-88 and Fig. 6 – UAV searches among “safe” points for determining a first direction given that the “safe” points is classification for locations which are above a threshold data transmission rate corresponding to the recited communication is present).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose identifying the direction of a second communication apparatus, however, Dietrich discloses a signal strength based position identification system including the processor determines that the first direction is a direction of the other communication apparatus (¶36-40 – wireless node location module utilizes signal strength data received from different wireless nodes to determines the locations of the infrastructure radio transceivers corresponding to the recited communication apparatuses which are mapped onto a coverage map indicating the relative directions of the communications apparatus)
The combination of the autonomous movable object signal transmission based navigation system of Zhang with the wireless node location identification and mapping of Dietrich fully discloses the elements as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have combined the autonomous movable object signal transmission based navigation system of Zhang with the wireless node location identification and mapping of Dietrich in order to improve signal based positioning detection for both communications infrastructure and mobile devices (Dietrich - ¶12-13).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang further discloses wherein the processor acquires an index value indicating a transmission path characteristic between the moving body and the other external apparatus (¶84-88 and Fig. 6 – signal transmission operating status corresponding to the recited transmission path characteristic between the moving body and the external apparatus which is utilized to determine the classification of the location corresponding to the recited index value), and
determines, based on the index value, a second direction, in which the moving body moves, and causes the moving body to move in the second direction (¶87-88 and Fig. 6 – element 610 determining a second destination corresponding to the recited determining a second direction to which the moving body moves based on the location classifier corresponding to the recited index value).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further discloses wherein in a case where the index value is higher than a threshold, the processor determines that the second direction is a direction away from the other communication apparatus (¶81-88 and Figs. 6-9 – starting point being the location of the remote controller corresponding to the recited external apparatus being closer to the UAV than the next point to the destination which is at a first direction farther away from the external apparatus which is selected based on the state of signal transmission at the first point being above a threshold value).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose identifying the direction of a second communication apparatus, however, Dietrich discloses a signal strength based position identification system including wireless node location module utilizes signal strength data received from different wireless nodes to determines the locations of the infrastructure radio transceivers corresponding to the recited communication apparatuses which are mapped onto a coverage map indicating the relative directions of the communications apparatus (¶36-40).
The combination of the autonomous movable object signal transmission based navigation system of Zhang with the wireless node location identification and mapping of Dietrich fully discloses the elements as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have combined the autonomous movable object signal transmission based navigation system of Zhang with the wireless node location identification and mapping of Dietrich in order to improve signal based positioning detection for both communications infrastructure and mobile devices (Dietrich - ¶12-13).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18986442 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite the same limitations except the present application includes a broader recitation of utilizing an “index value indicating a transmission path characteristic” whereas the co-pending application utilizes “a communication connection relationship of a communication network”. Both values are utilized to perform the same navigation planning and control and both values are generally reflective of a communications transmission signal quality.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Additional References Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Corbieres et al. (US 2020/0333787) discloses a marine surface drone including: - an on-board multi-beam sonar; - a system for controlling the sonar, configured to command, for a given position of the drone, a plurality of consecutive transmissions of acoustic waves, the control system controlling the sonar transmitters so as to vary the characteristics of the transmitted acoustic waves, from one of the transmissions to the next, and - an acquisition unit configured to determine, from echo signals acquired in response to the plurality of transmissions, a three-dimensional image representing the content of a given observation volume. (Abstract)
Berntsen et al. (US 2014/0086191) discloses a maritime communication networking system including optimizing transmission parameters including optimized speed, range, direction, highest energy content, transmit power and beam forming for achieving as high throughput of data as possible (¶103).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J. REDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665