DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Papakonstantinou (US 2016/0142894).
Regarding claim 2, Papakonstantinou discloses a system for real-time location and physical monitoring in an emergency situation, comprising:
a computing application providing a graphical user interface (GUI) 400a, 400b, 400c, 400d, the GUI providing at least: a location mapping 401 of a physical site of the emergency situation; and a location (paragraph 124) and health status of persons within the location mapping (paragraph 78, p. 89, p. 127, p. 128);
a plurality of physical monitoring devices 95, 102a, 103a, provided to substantially all of the persons, the physical monitoring devices comprising a wireless communication capability (figure 1A), an accelerometer (p. 6, p. 64), and a unique wireless identifier (p. 110, p. 112);
a plurality of wireless hubs located throughout the location mapping, wherein the
wireless hubs receive at least the wireless communication from the physical monitoring devices, the wireless communication including at least data from each of the accelerometers and from each of the unique wireless identifiers (p. 123); and
a cloud computing backend 105, 108, communicative via wire and wirelessly with the plurality of wireless hubs (p. 48, p. 56, p. 57, p. 123, figure 1C), the backend including an algorithmic module 129 (p. 116) configured to discern the location
and the health status for each holder of a physical monitoring device based at least on the data from each of the accelerometers (p. 64) and each of the unique wireless identifiers (p. 110, p. 112, figures 4A-4D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papakonstantinou in view of Padgett (US 2021/0297836).
Regarding claim 1, Papakonstantinou discloses a system for real-time location and physical monitoring in an emergency situation, comprising:
a computing application providing a graphical user interface (GUI) 400a, 400b, 400c, 400d, the GUI providing at least: a location mapping 401 of the emergency situation; and a location (p. 124) and health status of persons at a geographic location corresponded to the location mapping (p. 78, p. 89, p. 127, p. 128);
a plurality of wristbands 95 provided to substantially all of the persons, the wristbands comprising a wireless communication capability (figure 1A), an accelerometer (p. 6, p. 64), and a unique wireless identifier (p. 110, p. 112);
a plurality of wireless hubs located throughout the geographic location, wherein the wireless hubs receive at least the wireless communication from the wristbands, the wireless communication including at least data from each of the accelerometers and from each of the unique wireless identifiers (p. 123); and
a cloud computing backend 105, 108, communicative via wire and wirelessly with the plurality of wireless hubs (p. 48, p. 56, p. 57, p. 123, figure 1c), the backend including an algorithmic module 129 (p. 116) configured to provide the location and the health status for a wristband wearer to the GUI based on the data from the
accelerometers (p. 64) and the unique wireless identifiers (p. 110, p. 112, figures 4A-4D).
Papakonstantinou does not disclose providing the location and the health status for each wristband wearer to the GUI based on the data from each of the
accelerometers and each of the unique wireless identifiers. Padgett teaches the use of providing a location (p. 333) and health status (health sensor 530, p. 286) for each wristband wearer (p. 311) to a GUI based on data from each of accelerometers (p. 108) and each of unique wireless identifiers (p. 332, figure 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing the location and the health status for each wristband wearer to the GUI based on the data from each of the accelerometers and each of the unique wireless identifiers to the system of Papakonstantinou as taught by Padgett for the purpose of effectively monitoring individuals in an emergency situation.
Regarding claim 3, Papakonstantinou discloses a method for real-time location and physical monitoring in an emergency situation, comprising:
providing a computerized graphical user interface (GUI) 400a, 400b, 400c, 400d, having at least: a location mapping 401 of a geographic location corresponding to the emergency situation; and a location (p. 124) and health status of persons at the geographic location on the location mapping (p. 78, p. 89, p. 127, p. 128);
providing a plurality of physical monitoring devices 95, 102a, 103a, to substantially all of the persons, the physical monitoring devices comprising a wireless communication capability (figure 1a), an accelerometer (p. 6, p. 64), and a unique wireless identifier (p. 110, p. 112);
locating a plurality of wireless hubs throughout the geographic location, wherein the wireless hubs receive at least the wireless communication from the physical monitoring devices, the wireless communication including at least data from each of the accelerometers and from each of the unique wireless identifiers (p. 123); and
a cloud computing backend 105, 108, communicative via wire and wirelessly with the plurality of wireless hubs (p. 48, p. 56, p. 57, p. 123, figure 1c), the backend including an algorithmic module 129 (p. 116) configured to provide the location and the health status for a holder of a physical monitoring device on the GUI based at least on
the data from the accelerometers (p. 64) and the unique wireless identifiers (p. 110, p. 112, figures 4A-4D).
Papakonstantinou does not disclose providing the location and the health status for each holder of a physical monitoring device on the GUI based at least on the data from each of the accelerometers and each of the unique wireless identifiers. Padgett teaches the use of providing a location (p.333) and health status (health sensor 530, p. 286) for each holder of a physical monitoring device (p. 311) on a GUI based at least on data from each of accelerometers (p.108) and each of unique wireless identifiers (p. 332, figure 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include providing the location and the health status for each holder of a physical monitoring device on the GUI based at least on the data from each of the accelerometers and each of the unique wireless identifiers to the method of Papakonstantinou as taught by Padgett for the purpose of effectively monitoring individuals in an emergency situation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salahshour, Reitnour, Chellappan, and Blando disclose systems for monitoring individuals in emergency situations.
/ANH V LA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
ANH V. LA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2685
Al
March 28, 2026