DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the application filed on December 17, 2024 where Claims 1 – 20, of which Claims 1, 9, and 17 are in independent form, are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for “encrypt[ing] association and reassociation from based on the derived TK,” does not reasonably provide enablement for encrypting association and reassociation frames based on the derived TK and KEK as claimed. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The Applicant’s specification does not describe the use of both the TK and KEK to encrypt association/reassociation frames. The specification states that the TK is a KEK [Para. 0062] and the key used in the encryption is the TK [Para. 0058-59, 0064, 0071]. Even if assuming that the is a different key than the TK used, the specification does not disclose of using both a TK and KEK.
2. Regarding Claims 2 – 8, 10 – 16, and 18 – 20, the claims are rejected based on their dependency of Claims 1, 9, and 17 and under the same rationale as a above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PGPub. 2021/0368322 (hereinafter “Seok”).
3. Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 17, Seok discloses a device, the device comprising processing circuitry coupled to storage (Claim 9) [Fig. 11; Para. 0089, 0094], the processing circuitry configured to:
derive a Transient Key (TK) and Key Encryption Key (KEK) using a pre-association security negotiation (PASN) exchange [Para. 0048-52];
use ephemeral keys generated during the PASN exchange to secure authentication frames [Para. 0040]; and
encrypt association and reassociation frames based on the derived TK and KEK [Para. 0063-64, 0078-79];
utilize the TK as an initial TK during association [Para. 0063-64, 0078-79].
4. Regarding Claims 2, 10, and 18, Seok discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 9, and 17. Seok further discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to derive the TK and KEK based on a Base key management negotiated during the PASN exchange [Para. 0048-52].
5. Regarding Claims 3, 11, and 19, Seok discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 9, and 17. Seok further discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to utilize message integrity code (MIC) for authentication frames during the PASN exchange [Para. 0071].
6. Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 20, Seok discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 9, and 17. Seok further discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to include Robust Security Network Element (RSNE) parameters during the PASN exchange to indicate a capability of creating robust security network associations (RSNAs) [Para. 0082-83].
7. Regarding Claims 5 and 13, Seok discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 9. Seok further discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to use a Protected Master Key Identifier (PMKID) derived during the PASN exchange to enable secure reassociation [Para. 0038-40].
8. Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Seok discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 9. Seok further discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to use the TK derived during the PASN exchange as the initial TK during reassociation [Para. 0048-52, 0063-64, 0078-79].
9. Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Seok discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 9. Seok further discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to select a base key management during the PASN exchange [Para. 0048-52].
10. Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Seok discloses the limitations of Claims 1 and 9. Seok further discloses that the processing circuitry is further configured to determine whether a valid Pairwise Master Key Security Association (PMKSA) exists, and to treat the PASN exchange as a non-RSNA protocol if no PMKSA or corresponding base key management is available [Para. 0038-40].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PGPub. 2021/0282007; PGPub. 2022/0377554.
Contacts
/TAE K KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496