DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/30/2026 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1-22 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 10 and 19 have been amended. Claims 8 and 17 have been canceled and claims 21 and 22 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 3-10, 11 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot because the present rejection constitutes a new ground of rejection. The present rejection no longer relies only on Sela, Flynn and Feghali for the disputed limitations, but instead relies on LEE, Sela, Flynn and Campagna for teachings set forth in the rejection. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments directed to the prior combination are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, 18, 19, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et al (US 20220091760 A1) [hereinafter "LEE"].
As per claim 1, LEE discloses a method of authentication,(LEE, claim 5]” The storage device of claim 4, wherein the memory controller comprises: an authentication manager configured to perform the authentication and output a result of the authentication”) comprising:
at a memory device that comprises non-volatile memory(LEE, [0003]” The memory device may include characterized as a volatile memory device or a nonvolatile memory device depending on its capability to hold stored data in the absence of power.”) and control circuitry(LEE, claim 5]” The storage device of claim 4, wherein the memory controller comprises ….):
receiving, from a host, a data request that includes a set of data(LEE, [0177],[0182]” The authenticated data write request may be provided by transmitting, by the host 400, the RPMB message requesting to store data in the RPMB 110a and the data to be stored to the storage device 50” and “the RPMB message corresponding to the authenticated data write request. The RPMB message transferred in operation S805 may include a stuff byte, authenticated data, and metadata.”) and
a reference digest, (LEE, [0009]” the host MAC”) the reference digest being generated by the host(LEE, [claim 40]” a host MAC calculator configured to calculate the host MAC using the host metadata”) for the set of data; (LEE, [0194]” The metadata may include the data to be stored in the RPMB 110a, ”).
generating, at the memory device, an authentication digest for the set of data included in the data request; (LEE, claim 38]” a device MAC calculator configured to generate a device MAC using the host metadata and the device authentication key; ”).
determining whether the reference digest matches the authentication digest; (LEE, claim 38],[0284]” a MAC comparator configured to generate the result of the authentication according to whether the host MAC and the device MAC match” and “The MAC comparator 2730 may compare whether the MAC received from the PIU parser 2710 and the MAC received from the MAC calculator 2720 match, and may output an authentication result according to a comparison result. ”).
in accordance with a determination that the reference digest matches the authentication digest, performing an operation corresponding to the data request in the non- volatile memory; (LEE, claim 8]” the access controller controls the nonvolatile memory device to store the write data in the RPMB, when the host MAC and the device MAC match ”).and
in accordance with a determination that the reference digest does not match the authentication digest, indicating that the data request is not to be performed. (LEE, [0170]” When the authentication is failed, the access controller 212 may not store the data requested to be stored in the RPMB 110a in the RPMB data area. The access controller 212 may maintain the value of the write counter 112 and store information indicating that the authentication is failed in the result register 113.”).
As per claim 3, LEE discloses the method of claim 1. LEE further discloses wherein:
the control circuitry comprises an authentication controller and an access controller; (LEE, claim 5]” The storage device of claim 4, wherein the memory controller comprises: an authentication manager configured to perform the authentication…and an access controller configured to control the RPMB based on the result of the authentication, and the host RPMB message includes a host message authentication code (MAC) and host metadata.”) and the authentication controller determines whether the reference digest matches the authentication digest. (LEE, claim 6]” the authentication manager comprises: a device MAC calculator configured to generate a device MAC using the metadata and the authentication key; and a MAC comparator configured to generate the result of the authentication according to whether the host MAC and the device MAC match.”).
As per claim 6, LEE discloses the method of claim 1. LEE further discloses wherein performing the data request comprises writing a subset of the set of data to the non-volatile memory. ([LEE, [0194]]” The metadata may include the data to be stored in the RPMB 110a, the nonce, the current write count value, the address corresponding to the data, the number of blocks of data (here one block is 256B), and the request message type indicating the RPMB message is the authenticated data write request. In an embodiment, a field corresponding to the nonce may be “0.””).
As per claim 7, LEE discloses the method of claim 1. LEE further discloses wherein performing the data request comprises reading from the non-volatile memory. ([LEE, (claim 13)]” a memory controller configured to receive a command protocol information unit (PIU) which includes a host RPMB message from a host and to read data stored in the RPMB, ”).
As per claim 9, LEE discloses the method of claim 1. LEE further discloses wherein indicating that the data request is not to be performed comprises generating a failure notification. ([LEE, [0170]”The access controller 212 may maintain the value of the write counter 112 and store information indicating that the authentication is failed in the result register 113” and “ The result read response may include a response in which the storage device 50 transfers the RPMB message providing the value of the result register to the host 400” ).
As per claim 10, LEE discloses a memory device, comprising: non-volatile memory; (LEE, [0003]” The memory device may include characterized as a volatile memory device or a nonvolatile memory device depending on its capability to hold stored data in the absence of power.”) and control circuitry(LEE, claim 5]” The storage device of claim 4, wherein the memory controller comprises ….) configured to:
receiving, from a host, a data request that includes a set of data(LEE, [0177],[0182]” The authenticated data write request may be provided by transmitting, by the host 400, the RPMB message requesting to store data in the RPMB 110a and the data to be stored to the storage device 50” and “the RPMB message corresponding to the authenticated data write request. The RPMB message transferred in operation S805 may include a stuff byte, authenticated data, and metadata.”) and
a reference digest, (LEE, [0009]” the host MAC”) the reference digest being generated by the host(LEE, [claim 40]” a host MAC calculator configured to calculate the host MAC using the host metadata”) for the set of data; (LEE, [0194]” The metadata may include the data to be stored in the RPMB 110a, ”).
generating, at the memory device, an authentication digest for the set of data included in the data request; (LEE, claim 38]” a device MAC calculator configured to generate a device MAC using the host metadata and the device authentication key; ”).
determining whether the reference digest matches the authentication digest; (LEE, claim 38],[0284]” a MAC comparator configured to generate the result of the authentication according to whether the host MAC and the device MAC match” and “The MAC comparator 2730 may compare whether the MAC received from the PIU parser 2710 and the MAC received from the MAC calculator 2720 match, and may output an authentication result according to a comparison result. ”).
in accordance with a determination that the reference digest matches the authentication digest, performing an operation corresponding to the data request in the non- volatile memory; (LEE, claim 8]” the access controller controls the nonvolatile memory device to store the write data in the RPMB, when the host MAC and the device MAC match ”).and
in accordance with a determination that the reference digest does not match the authentication digest, indicating that the data request is not to be performed. (LEE, [0170]” When the authentication is failed, the access controller 212 may not store the data requested to be stored in the RPMB 110a in the RPMB data area. The access controller 212 may maintain the value of the write counter 112 and store information indicating that the authentication is failed in the result register 113.”).
As per claim 12, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 15, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 9. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 19, LEE discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions, which when executed by a memory device(LEE, [0003]” The memory device may include characterized as a volatile memory device or a nonvolatile memory device depending on its capability to hold stored data in the absence of power.”) that comprises non-volatile memory, cause the memory device to:
receiving, from a host, a data request that includes a set of data(LEE, [0177],[0182]” The authenticated data write request may be provided by transmitting, by the host 400, the RPMB message requesting to store data in the RPMB 110a and the data to be stored to the storage device 50” and “the RPMB message corresponding to the authenticated data write request. The RPMB message transferred in operation S805 may include a stuff byte, authenticated data, and metadata.”) and
a reference digest, (LEE, [0009]” the host MAC”) the reference digest being generated by the host(LEE, [claim 40]” a host MAC calculator configured to calculate the host MAC using the host metadata”) for the set of data; (LEE, [0194]” The metadata may include the data to be stored in the RPMB 110a, ”).
generating, at the memory device, an authentication digest for the set of data included in the data request; (LEE, claim 38]” a device MAC calculator configured to generate a device MAC using the host metadata and the device authentication key; ”).
determining whether the reference digest matches the authentication digest; (LEE, claim 38],[0284]” a MAC comparator configured to generate the result of the authentication according to whether the host MAC and the device MAC match” and “The MAC comparator 2730 may compare whether the MAC received from the PIU parser 2710 and the MAC received from the MAC calculator 2720 match, and may output an authentication result according to a comparison result. ”).
in accordance with a determination that the reference digest matches the authentication digest, performing an operation corresponding to the data request in the non- volatile memory; (LEE, claim 8]” the access controller controls the nonvolatile memory device to store the write data in the RPMB, when the host MAC and the device MAC match ”).and
in accordance with a determination that the reference digest does not match the authentication digest, indicating that the data request is not to be performed. (LEE, [0170]” When the authentication is failed, the access controller 212 may not store the data requested to be stored in the RPMB 110a in the RPMB data area. The access controller 212 may maintain the value of the write counter 112 and store information indicating that the authentication is failed in the result register 113.”).
As per claim 22, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 3. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al.( US 20220091760 A1) [hereinafter “LEE”] as applied to claim 1 and 10 in view of Campagna et al (US 20170171174 A1) [hereinafter “Campagna”].
As per claim 2, LEE discloses the method of claim 1. LEE fails to disclose wherein the data request further includes a key identifier, and wherein the authentication digest is generated using a key identified by the key identifier.
However, Campagna in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the data request further includes a key identifier, ([Campagna, [0049])” The client may provide a key identifier to the cryptography service as part of the request. ”) and wherein the authentication digest is generated [using a key identified by the key identifier]([ Campagna, [0058])” The cryptography service 510 may generate a digital signature or MAC tag over the message using a cryptographic key. Client A may provide, to the cryptography service, as part of the request to Authenticate, a unique identifier corresponding to the cryptography key to be used… for authenticating the message”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify LEE to include wherein the data request further includes a key identifier, and wherein the authentication digest is generated using a key identified by the key identifier as suggested by Campagna. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Campagna’s key identifier into LEE’s already disclosed authentication digest framework would have predictably enabled authentication digest generation using an identified key, thereby improving key management, supporting selection among multiple keys, and enhancing secure processing of memory requests.
As per claim 11, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 21, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 2. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al.( US 20220091760 A1) [hereinafter “LEE”] in view of Sela et al. (US 10521617 B2) [hereinafter “Sela”].
As per claim 4, LEE discloses the method of claim 3. LEE further discloses the method comprising, while the authentication controller determines whether the reference digest matches the authentication digest, (LEE, claim 6]” the authentication manager comprises: a device MAC calculator configured to generate a device MAC using the metadata and the authentication key; and a MAC comparator configured to generate the result of the authentication according to whether the host MAC and the device MAC match.”).
LEE fails to disclose
performing one or more checks on the set of data using the access controller.
However, Sela in the same field of endeavor discloses
[performing one or more checks on the set of data]([Sela, (col.12 ln50-57), (col.12 ln55-65)]” the step 504 may include performing error correction on the data. For example, ECC engine 224 may be used to decode and error correct the data read from the non-volatile memory 24” and “Step 506 includes the non-volatile memory device 20 verifying the accessed data….include verifying the integrity and/or authenticity of the accessed data” )[ using the access controller]([Sela, (col.11 ln50-55)]” The data transfer controller 406 may restrict access depending on whether the computed data digest matched the expected data digest. “).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify LEE to include performing one or more checks on the set of data using the access controller as suggested by Sela. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Sela’s performing the access-controller checks while the authentication determination is being performed would improve processing efficiency by allowing the checks to occur in parallel, thereby reducing latency before the requested memory operation is authorized.
As per claim 13, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 20, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 4. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al.( US 20220091760 A1) [hereinafter “LEE”] in view of Sela et al. (US 10521617 B2) [hereinafter “Sela”] as applied to claim 4, and in view of Flynn et al (US 20160140004 A1) [hereinafter “Flynn”].
As per claim 5, the combination of LEE and Sela discloses the method of claim 4. Sela further discloses wherein the set of data comprises an address, ([Sela, (col.4 ln37-45)]” the host may specify a logical address. The memory controller 22 may translate the logical address to a physical address within the non-volatile memory 24,”). Sela fails to discloses and wherein the one or more checks comprise checking whether the address is valid.
However, Flynn in the same endeavor discloses wherein the one or more checks comprise checking whether the address is valid. ([Flynn, [0183], [0252]]” The depacketizer 324 may validate the packet headers by checking packet identifiers, data length, data location, etc. within the headers. In one embodiment, the header includes a hash code that can be used to validate that the packet delivered to the read data pipeline 303 is the requested packet.” and “The logical-to-physical map may indicate storage locations comprising valid data (e.g., storage locations comprising valid data). ”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify LEE to include performing one or more checks on the set of data using the access controller as suggested by Sela to further include wherein the one or more checks comprise checking whether the address is valid as suggested by Flynn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Flynn’s address-validation into LEE’s memory-access scheme would have helped ensure that a requested storage location is performed, thereby reducing erroneous accesses and improving reliability.
As per claim 14, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
JANG et al, (US 20210255802 A1) discloses “STORAGE DEVICE AND METHOD OF OPERATING THE SAME “.
LEE et al, (US 20210281414 A1) discloses “COMPUTING SYSTEM AND OPERATING METHOD THEREOF”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2493
/CARL G COLIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2493