Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 12/17/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because elements 36 and 37 are not defined in the Specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Elements 36 and 37 are illustrated in the drawings, but are not indicated in the Specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Primary Urging Element in Claim 1; Secondary Urging Element in Claim 3; Mechanically Coupled in Claim 1; Coupling Element in Claims 4-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There are numerous 112(b) or 112 second paragraph rejections throughout the claims. The following are a few examples, this is not a comprehensive list.
Regarding Claims 1 line 1 and Claim 10 line 5, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claims 4-7, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2, 4, 7, and 10, the phrase “substantially” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to what degree is necessary to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 10 recites “secondary port openings of the multiple valves”. While Claim 10 line 2 states “one or more valves”. It is unclear if the multiple valves refers to the “one or more valves”.
Claim 10 recites “fluidically connected port opening of the one valve”. It is unclear which port opening is connected. Is it the primary port opening, the secondary port opening. Also, it is unclear what is meant by the “one valve”. Is it the one or more valves or the external valve.
Claim 10 recites “port openings of the multiple valves”. It is unclear if “port openings” is the primary port opening or the secondary port opening. Also, regarding the “one or more valves” Claim 10 line 2 states “one or more valves”. It is unclear if the multiple valves refers to the “one or more valves”.
Claims 2-10 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraus et al. US 9810340 (“Kraus”) in view of Coffee US 5211371 (“Coffee”), in further view of Johnson US 2658523 (“Johnson”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kraus discloses a valve (100) for controlling a fluid (liquid or gas media, col. 1 lines 19-20), in particular compressed air, comprising: a valve housing (17) including: a primary chamber (ann. fig.), a secondary chamber (ann. fig.) and a tertiary chamber (21), wherein the primary chamber and the tertiary chamber are fluidically connected by a first connection opening (ann. fig.) and wherein the secondary chamber and the tertiary chamber are fluidically connected by a second connection opening (ann. fig.); and a primary port opening (5) formed in the primary chamber, a secondary port opening (4) formed in the secondary chamber and a tertiary port opening (3) formed in the tertiary chamber; a primary sealing element which is arranged displaceably in the valve housing between a rest position, in which the primary sealing element (12b) closes the first connection opening, and an activated position (open position of primary sealing element 12b, illustrated in ann. fig.), in which the primary sealing element (12b) releases the first connection opening; a primary urging element (6) which is coupled to the primary sealing element (12b) to urge the primary sealing element towards the rest position (closed position of primary seal 12b); and a secondary sealing element (12a) which is arranged displaceably in the valve housing (17) between a closed posture (closed position of secondary sealing element 12a, illustrated in ann. fig.), in which the secondary sealing element (12a) closes the second connection opening, and an open posture, in which the secondary sealing element releases the second connection opening; wherein the secondary sealing element is coupled (12c, shaft 12c connects primary sealing element 12b to secondary sealing element 12a) to the primary sealing element (12a) such that upon displacement of the primary sealing element (12b) from the activated position (open position of primary sealing element 12b illustrated in ann. fig.) into the rest position, the secondary sealing element (12a) is displaced from the closed posture (second sealing element 12a illustrated in ann. fig.) into the open posture.
KRAUS – ANNOTATED FIGURE
Kraus discloses the claimed invention, except a shape memory element which is coupled to the primary sealing element and the valve housing such that application of an electric current to the shape memory element causes displacement of the primary sealing element from the rest position into the activated position.
Coffee teaches a shape memory element (18) which is coupled to a primary sealing element (17) and a valve housing (11) such that application of an electric current (current through electric terminals 21, 22) to the shape memory element (18) causes displacement of the primary sealing element (17) from the rest position into the activated position (col. 3 line 66- col. 4 line 19).
COFFEE – FIGURE 1
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have substituted the spring shape memory element that is actuated by an electric heating element, as disclosed by Kraus, with a shape memory wire that is actuated by electrical current and a separate spring element, as taught by Coffee, for the purpose of allowing the spring a shape memory element which is coupled to the primary sealing element and the valve housing such that application of an electric current to the shape memory element causes displacement of the primary sealing element from the rest position into the activated position. (Abstract).
Kraus as modified above discloses the claimed invention, except the secondary sealing element is mechanically coupled to the primary sealing element.
Johnson teaches a secondary sealing element (72R) is mechanically coupled (fig. 3 illustrates a rod 80R that is mechanically connected to the seals 70R and 72R by nuts 81R) to a primary sealing element (70R).
JOHNSON – FIGURE 3
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted a unitary body with primary seal, secondary seal, and a rod, as disclosed by Kraus, with a rod, a primary seal, secondary seal, and a mechanical connector (nuts and threaded rod), for the purpose of allowing seals to be easily removed for repair, replacement, or inspection (col. 1 lines 11-13).
Regarding Claim 2, Kraus discloses the primary sealing element (12b) is substantially linearly displaceable from the rest position into the activated position, and wherein the secondary sealing element (12a) is substantially linearly and/or translationally displaceable into the closed posture (illustrated in ann. fig.)
Regarding Claim 3, Kraus discloses a secondary urging element (1) which is coupled to the secondary sealing element (12a) to urge the secondary sealing element (12a) towards the closed posture (illustrated in ann. fig.).
Regarding Claim 4, Kraus discloses a coupling element for coupling (rigidly connected, col. 4 lines 7-9) the primary sealing element (12b) and the secondary sealing element (12a), wherein, preferably, the coupling element (12c) is configured to: transmit substantially linear displacement (displacement is caused by the primary urging element 6) of the primary sealing element (12b) to the secondary sealing element (12a); and transmit substantially linear displacement (displacement is caused by the secondary urging element 1) of the secondary sealing element (12a) to the primary sealing element (12b).
Kraus as modified above discloses the claimed invention, except the secondary sealing element is mechanically coupled to the primary sealing element.
Johnson teaches a secondary sealing element (72R) is mechanically coupled (fig. 3 illustrates a rod 80R that is mechanically connected to the seals 70R and 72R by nuts 81R) to a primary sealing element (70R).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted a unitary body with primary seal, secondary seal, and a rod, as disclosed by Kraus, with a rod, a primary seal, secondary seal, and a mechanical connector (nuts and threaded rod), for the purpose of allowing seals to be easily removed for repair, replacement, or inspection (col. 1 lines 11-13).
Regarding Claim 5, Kraus as modified above discloses the claimed invention, except the coupling element is configured as a coupling pin of the primary sealing element which is arranged in the valve housing in a manner passing through the first connection opening and through the second connection opening, and is preferably couplable, with an end face, to the secondary sealing element.
Johnson teaches the coupling element is configured as a coupling pin (80) of the primary sealing element (70R) which is arranged in the valve housing (2) in a manner passing through the first connection opening (52R) and through the second connection opening (54R), and is preferably couplable (fig. 3 illustrates a rod 80R that is mechanically connected to the seals 70R and 72R by nuts 81R), with an end face, to the secondary sealing element (72R).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted a unitary body with primary seal, secondary seal, and a rod, as disclosed by Kraus, with a rod, a primary seal, secondary seal, and a mechanical connector (nuts and threaded rod), for the purpose of allowing seals to be easily removed for repair, replacement, or inspection (col. 1 lines 11-13).
Regarding Claim 6, Kraus discloses the claimed invention, except the coupling element (12c) is configured as a coupling pin of the secondary sealing element (12a) which is arranged in the valve housing (17) in a manner passing through the first connection opening (ann. fig.) and through the second connection opening (ann. fig.), and is preferably couplable (rigidly connected, col. 4 lines 7-13), with an end face, to the primary sealing element (12b).
Johnson teaches a coupling element (80) is configured as a coupling pin (80) of a secondary sealing element (72R) which is arranged in a valve housing (2) in a manner passing through a first connection opening (52R) and through a second connection opening (54R) and is preferably couplable, with an end face, to a primary sealing element (70R).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted a unitary body with primary seal, secondary seal, and a rod, as disclosed by Kraus, with a rod, a primary seal, secondary seal, and a mechanical connector (nuts and threaded rod), for the purpose of allowing seals to be easily removed for repair, replacement, or inspection (col. 1 lines 11-13).
Regarding Claim 7, Kraus discloses the claimed invention, except the secondary sealing element is substantially non-destructively and/or reversibly detachably coupled to the primary sealing element, wherein, preferably, the secondary sealing element is decoupled from the primary sealing element when the primary sealing element is in the activated position.
Johnson teaches the secondary sealing element (72R) is substantially non-destructively and/or reversibly detachably coupled to the primary sealing element (70R), wherein, preferably, the secondary sealing element (72R) is decoupled (removal of nut 81R) from the primary sealing element (70R) when the primary sealing element is in the activated position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted a unitary body with primary seal, secondary seal, and a rod, as disclosed by Kraus, with a rod, a primary seal, secondary seal, and a mechanical connector (nuts and threaded rod), for the purpose of allowing seals to be easily removed for repair, replacement, or inspection (col. 1 lines 11-13).
Regarding Claim 8, Coffee teaches the shape memory element (18) has a wire having or made of a shape memory alloy, and/or wherein the shape memory element is configured to contract and/or shorten (col. 4 line 7-10, “When shape memory allow means 18 is subjected to such current, it decreases in length, to longitudinally move valve seal holder 17 …”) upon application of an electric current in such a way as to displace the primary sealing element (17) from the rest position into the activated position.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have substituted the spring shape memory element that is actuated by an electric heating element, as disclosed by Kraus, with a shape memory wire that is actuated by electrical current and a separate spring element, as taught by Coffee, for the purpose of allowing the spring a shape memory element which is coupled to the primary sealing element and the valve housing such that application of an electric current to the shape memory element causes displacement of the primary sealing element from the rest position into the activated position. (Abstract).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson US 2658523 (“Johnson”) in view of Kraus et al. US 9810340 (“Kraus”) in further view of Coffee US 5211371 (“Coffee”).
Regarding Claim 9, Johnson discloses a valve stack comprising two valves (6R and 6L); and Johnson teaches a secondary sealing element (72R) is mechanically coupled (fig. 3 illustrates a rod 80R that is mechanically connected to the seals 70R and 72R by nuts 81R) to a primary sealing element (70R).
Johnson discloses the claimed invention, except a three-way valves actuated by a shape memory element.
Kraus discloses a valve (100) for controlling a fluid (liquid or gas media, col. 1 lines 19-20), in particular compressed air, comprising: a valve housing (17) including: a primary chamber (ann. fig.), a secondary chamber (ann. fig.) and a tertiary chamber (21), wherein the primary chamber and the tertiary chamber are fluidically connected by a first connection opening (ann. fig.) and wherein the secondary chamber and the tertiary chamber are fluidically connected by a second connection opening (ann. fig.); and a primary port opening (5) formed in the primary chamber, a secondary port opening (4) formed in the secondary chamber and a tertiary port opening (3) formed in the tertiary chamber; a primary sealing element which is arranged displaceably in the valve housing between a rest position, in which the primary sealing element (12b) closes the first connection opening, and an activated position (open position of primary sealing element 12b, illustrated in ann. fig.), in which the primary sealing element (12b) releases the first connection opening; a primary urging element (6) which is coupled to the primary sealing element (12b) to urge the primary sealing element towards the rest position (closed position of primary seal 12b); and a secondary sealing element (12a) which is arranged displaceably in the valve housing (17) between a closed posture (closed position of secondary sealing element 12a, illustrated in ann. fig.), in which the secondary sealing element (12a) closes the second connection opening, and an open posture, in which the secondary sealing element releases the second connection opening; wherein the secondary sealing element is coupled (12c, shaft 12c connects primary sealing element 12b to secondary sealing element 12a) to the primary sealing element (12a) such that upon displacement of the primary sealing element (12b) from the activated position (open position of primary sealing element 12b illustrated in ann. fig.) into the rest position, the secondary sealing element (12a) is displaced from the closed posture (second sealing element 12a illustrated in ann. fig.) into the open posture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have substituted solenoid operated valves, as disclosed by Johnson, with electric actuated shape memory element, as taught by Kraus, for the purpose of creating an actuator that opens between fully open, fully closed, partially open, and partially closed.
Johnson as modified above discloses the claimed invention, except a shape memory element which is coupled to the primary sealing element and the valve housing such that application of an electric current to the shape memory element causes displacement of the primary sealing element from the rest position into the activated position.
Coffee teaches an urging element (spring) and a separate shape memory element (18) which is coupled to a primary sealing element (17) and a valve housing (11) such that application of an electric current (current through electric terminals 21, 22) to the shape memory element (18) causes displacement of the primary sealing element (17) from the rest position into the activated position (col. 3 line 66- col. 4 line 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have substituted the spring shape memory element that is actuated by an electric heating element, as disclosed by Kraus, with a shape memory wire that is actuated by electrical current and a separate spring element, as taught by Coffee, for the purpose of allowing the spring a shape memory element which is coupled to the primary sealing element and the valve housing such that application of an electric current to the shape memory element causes displacement of the primary sealing element from the rest position into the activated position. (Abstract).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kraus et al. US 9810340 (“Kraus”) in further view of Coffee US 5211371 (“Coffee”), in further view of Johnson US 2658523 (“Johnson”), in further view of Beuschel et al. US 10753494 (“Beuschel”).
Regarding Claim 10, Regarding Claim 1, Kraus discloses a valve (100) for controlling a fluid (liquid or gas media, col. 1 lines 19-20), in particular compressed air, comprising: a valve housing (17) including: a primary chamber (ann. fig.), a secondary chamber (ann. fig.) and a tertiary chamber (21), wherein the primary chamber and the tertiary chamber are fluidically connected by a first connection opening (ann. fig.) and wherein the secondary chamber and the tertiary chamber are fluidically connected by a second connection opening (ann. fig.); and a primary port opening (5) formed in the primary chamber, a secondary port opening (4) formed in the secondary chamber and a tertiary port opening (3) formed in the tertiary chamber; a primary sealing element which is arranged displaceably in the valve housing between a rest position, in which the primary sealing element (12b) closes the first connection opening, and an activated position (open position of primary sealing element 12b, illustrated in ann. fig.), in which the primary sealing element (12b) releases the first connection opening; a primary urging element (6) which is coupled to the primary sealing element (12b) to urge the primary sealing element towards the rest position (closed position of primary seal 12b); and a secondary sealing element (12a) which is arranged displaceably in the valve housing (17) between a closed posture (closed position of secondary sealing element 12a, illustrated in ann. fig.), in which the secondary sealing element (12a) closes the second connection opening, and an open posture, in which the secondary sealing element releases the second connection opening; wherein the secondary sealing element is coupled (12c, shaft 12c connects primary sealing element 12b to secondary sealing element 12a) to the primary sealing element (12a) such that upon displacement of the primary sealing element (12b) from the activated position (open position of primary sealing element 12b illustrated in ann. fig.) into the rest position, the secondary sealing element (12a) is displaced from the closed posture (second sealing element 12a illustrated in ann. fig.) into the open posture.
Kraus discloses the claimed invention, except a shape memory element which is coupled to the primary sealing element and the valve housing such that application of an electric current to the shape memory element causes displacement of the primary sealing element from the rest position into the activated position.
Coffee teaches a shape memory element (18) which is coupled to a primary sealing element (17) and a valve housing (11) such that application of an electric current (current through electric terminals 21, 22) to the shape memory element (18) causes displacement of the primary sealing element (17) from the rest position into the activated position (col. 3 line 66- col. 4 line 19).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have substituted the spring shape memory element that is actuated by an electric heating element, as disclosed by Kraus, with a shape memory wire that is actuated by electrical current and a separate spring element, as taught by Coffee, for the purpose of allowing the spring a shape memory element which is coupled to the primary sealing element and the valve housing such that application of an electric current to the shape memory element causes displacement of the primary sealing element from the rest position into the activated position. (Abstract).
Kraus as modified above discloses the claimed invention, except the secondary sealing element is mechanically coupled to the primary sealing element.
Johnson teaches a secondary sealing element (72R) is mechanically coupled (fig. 3 illustrates a rod 80R that is mechanically connected to the seals 70R and 72R by nuts 81R) to a primary sealing element (70R).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted a unitary body with primary seal, secondary seal, and a rod, as disclosed by Kraus, with a rod, a primary seal, secondary seal, and a mechanical connector (nuts and threaded rod), for the purpose of allowing seals to be easily removed for repair, replacement, or inspection (col. 1 lines 11-13).
Kraus as modified above discloses the claimed invention, except an external valve which is fluidically connected to the primary port opening of the one valve and is configured to control a fluid flow through the fluidically connected portioning of the one valve.
Beuschel teaches an external valve (check valve 5, fig. 1) which is fluidically connected to the primary port opening (6) of the one valve and is configured to control a fluid flow through the fluidically connected portioning of the one valve.
BEUSCHEL – FIGURE 1
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date to have modified the fluid entering the primary port, as disclosed by Kraus, by including a check valve prior to fluid entering the primary port, as taught by Beuschel, for the purpose of preventing backflow of fluid into a supply tank or supply system.
Conclusion
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753