DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2, 3, 5-13, and 15-23 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues Yang fails to disclose displaying the associated information on the primary device. However, the scope of the claims is that the primary device causes display of the information, but does not necessarily perform the displaying. Namely, the claims state “performing an action at the first device…wherein performing the action comprises: generating for display the information”. A secondary device may still display the information which has been prepared for display by the first device. As cited herein, Yang teaches displaying information on a receiver device that has been prepared by the remote service worker (paragraph 1832).
Applicant did not traverse the finding that that the use of smartphones, tablets, and set-top boxes in home networking was notoriously well known in the art at the time of effective filing. This is taken as an admission of the fact herein, see MPE 2144.03(c).
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 5-13, and 15-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,812,079. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,812,079 also discloses the amended feature of generating for display the information by integrating the information within an interface provided by the application. See Claim 1 lines 26-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,812,079 which states “generating a display at the first device integrating the secondary content with primary content”. The outstanding double patenting rejection provided previously remains otherwise unchanged.
Claims 2, 3, 5-13, and 15-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,923. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,812,079 also discloses the amended feature of generating for display the information by integrating the information within an interface provided by the application. See Claim 1 lines 21-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,206,923 which states “generating a display at the first device integrating the secondary content with primary content”. The outstanding double patenting rejection provided previously remains otherwise unchanged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 3, 5-9, 12, 13, 15-19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (2018/0035153, of record) [Yang].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Yang discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a first device and using a beacon associated with a network, a request for information (UPnP discovery, paragraph 1169-1170);
receiving, over the network from a second device, a response to the request, wherein the response requests identification data associated with the first device (search message, paragraph 1170);
based at least in part on receiving the response to the beacon from the second device, transmitting the identification data associated with the first device to the second device, wherein the identification data is associated with an application being executed at the first device (unicast response message, paragraph 1170);
based at least in part on the transmitting of the identification data, receiving, at the first device and from the second device, the information associated with the request transmitted using the beacon (GET request, paragraph 1171); and
performing an action at the first device, based at least in part on the information associated with the request transmitted using the beacon (eventing, paragraph 1171); wherein performing the action comprises generating for display the information by:
integrating the information within an interface provided by the application being executed at the first device (via browser user interface, fig 158, for displaying content provided as said eventing, paragraph 1832).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 2 and 12, wherein the network is a local area network (LAN) and the transmission of the beacon is a LAN- specific multicast (home network, paragraph 1167).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 2 and 12, wherein the response to the beacon comprises an identifier uniquely identifying the second device (for enabling subsequent unicast response message, paragraph 1170).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 2 and 12, further comprising: receiving a response to the request from a third device within the network; and based, at least in part on receiving the response to the request from the third device within the network, transmitting the identification data associated with the first device to the third device (UPnP works with any number of devices, paragraph 1169).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 2 and 12, wherein a profile associated with the second device has access rights to the information (service subscription, paragraph 1171).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 7 and 17, wherein the information corresponds to content for which the profile associated with the second device has the access rights to (service subscription, paragraph 1171).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 2 and 12, wherein the first device does not have access to the information via a wide area network (in the event it comes directly from controlled device, such as the storage of a PC, paragraphs 1167- 1168).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 2 and 12, wherein the identification data comprises an identifier of the first device and information related to the application being executed at the first device; and the generating the information for display is based at least in part on the information related to the application being executed at the first device (paragraph 1832).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang.
Regarding claims 10, 11, 20, and 21, Yang discloses the method and system of claims 2 and 12, but fails to specifically disclose the first device is a first smartphone, tablet or set-top box; and the second device is a second smartphone or tablet.
Examiner takes official notice that the use of smartphones, tablets, and set-top boxes in home networking was notoriously well known in the art at the time of effective filing.
It would have been obvious at the time of effective filing to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method and system of Yang to include the first device is a first smartphone, tablet or set-top box; and the second device is a second smartphone or tablet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See also Anderson et al. (2007/0130399) who also teaches using plug and play exchanges to activate secondary devices to supplement a first device.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIC D SALTARELLI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421