DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
The following is a non-final Office Action in response to Applicant’s submission filed on 12/17/2024. Currently claims 1-6 are pending and claim 1 is independent.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2023-217478, filed on 12/22/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2024 appears to be in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea), specifically an abstract idea, without significantly more. With respect to claims 1-6, following the guidance contained within MPEP 2106, the inquiry for patent eligibility follows two steps: Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention? Step 2A (Prong 1): Is the claim “directed to” an abstract idea? Step 2A (Prong 2): Is the claim integrated into a practical application? Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to “significantly more” than the abstract idea?
In accordance with these steps, the Examiner finds the following:
Step 1: Claim 1 and its dependent claims (claims 2-6) are directed to a statutory category, namely a system/machine.
Step 2A (Prong 1): Claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea of “Certain methods of organizing human activity”, or more particularly, “Concepts relating to commercial or legal interactions (including: advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) (See MPEP 2106).” In this application that refers to using a computer system to organize and manage project management within an organization. To clarify this further, the Applicant’s disclosed invention is a conceptual system meant to perform the same function that a project manager might perform for a business. The abstract elements of claim 1 recites in part “Create work plan…Input work time…Store data…”. Dependent claim 2 adds to the abstract idea the following limitations which recite in part “Create work plan…”. These additional limitations, however, only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claim 1. Dependent claim 3-6 do not include any limitations that are directed toward the abstract idea and will be addresses in either the Step 2A (Prong 2) or Step 2B analysis below.
Step 2A (Prong 2): Independent claim 1 does not contain additional elements, either considered individually or in combination, that effectively integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. These claims do include the limitation that recites in part “Multidimensional database…planning unit…Performance management unit…Hierarchical structured data…” which limits the claims to a networked/computer based environment, but this is insufficient with respect to integration into a practical application because it is merely applying the abstract idea to a general computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Dependent claims 2-6 add the additional element which recites in part “Hierarchical structured data …” which again limits the claims to a networked/computer based environment, but this is insufficient with respect to integration into a practical application because it is again merely applying the abstract idea to a general computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Independent claim 1 includes additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, which are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements of these claims recite in part “Multidimensional database…planning unit…Performance management unit…Hierarchical structured data…”. These items are not significantly more because these are merely the software and/or hardware components used to implement the abstract idea (organize and manage project management within an organization) on a general purpose computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). This is exemplified in the Applicant’s specification in [0049] – “The administrator terminal 2 is an information processing device operated by an administrator for workflow management and composed of the devices such as a PC (Personal Computer), tablet, or smartphone.”
Dependent claims 2-6 include additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination and in view of their respective independent claims, which are insufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, dependent claims 2-6 include the additional element which recites in part “Hierarchical structured data …” These are the same additional elements that are addressed above in claim 1 and are not significantly more because these are merely the software and/or hardware components used to implement the abstract idea (organize and manage project management within an organization) on a general purpose computer (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, an abstract idea, without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 20080112141 A) in view of Jeon (KR 20220075875 A)
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an information processing system (Park - It relates to a performance management method and system that improves usability and applicability so that it can be stored in a data warehouse to analyze the performance of a project in a multi-dimensional manner and users can manage the performance according to various conditions in the project) comprising: a multidimensional database having at least a project dimension, a process dimension, and a personnel dimension (Park - In FIG. 7, the cubes of the learning and growth scores are connected to the dimensions of Project, Date, Manager, and Subcontractor to describe the corresponding performance indicators and provide scores. Similarly, the remaining cubes are constructed in the same way); wherein the multidimensional database stores hierarchical structured data including at least the project information, the process information, the personnel information (Park - The analysis phase uses multi-dimensional analysis using OLAP (On-Line Analytical Processing) with the performance and related data stored in the data warehouse. Most of the dimensions that make up a multidimensional model have a hierarchical structure, and it is possible to determine the level of the dimension required by the user and analyze the data corresponding to the level. To do this, you classify the hierarchy of dimensions, set the levels, and create cubes. The cube is determined according to the purpose and situation of the analysis, and the analysis is performed in the form desired by the user by slicing & dicing).
Park lacks a planning unit configured to create a work plan including at least project information, process information, and personnel information contained in each dimension of the database; a performance management unit configured to input a work start time and a work completion time for the work plan, the work start time, and the work completion time.
Jeon, from the same field if endeavor, teaches a planning unit configured to create a work plan including at least project information, process information, and personnel information contained in each dimension of the database (Jeon - The integrated management module 100 performs the functions of project planning, project execution, and overall project change control by appropriately integrating and adjusting various elements of the project); a performance management unit configured to input a work start time and a work completion time for the work plan (Jeon - a time management module 300 supporting a process necessary to ensure that the project is completed within a predetermined time by performing the functions of project schedule planning, resource allocation, schedule adjustment, and schedule control), the work start time, and the work completion time (Jeon - a time management module 300 supporting a process necessary to ensure that the project is completed within a predetermined time by performing the functions of project schedule planning, resource allocation, schedule adjustment, and schedule control - The product of the preceding and following relationship between the activities and the hierarchical structure definition is stored in the project database 20 ).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the project data warehouse methodology/system of Park by including the project management techniques of Jeon because Jeon discloses “The present invention relates to a corporate project management system, and more particularly, to a project management system implementation technology that enables efficient information sharing (Jeon ABS)”. Additionally, Park further details “A method for managing the performance of a construction project based on data warehouse utilizing a BSC (Park ABS)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional project management techniques that Jeon discloses because it would make the project management disclosed within Park more efficient.
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Jeon discloses the multidimensional database stores hierarchical structured data including at least the project information, the process information, the personnel information and the product information (Park - The analysis phase uses multi-dimensional analysis using OLAP (On-Line Analytical Processing) with the performance and related data stored in the data warehouse. Most of the dimensions that make up a multidimensional model have a hierarchical structure, and it is possible to determine the level of the dimension required by the user and analyze the data corresponding to the level. To do this, you classify the hierarchy of dimensions, set the levels, and create cubes. The cube is determined according to the purpose and situation of the analysis, and the analysis is performed in the form desired by the user by slicing & dicing).
Jeon further teaches a product dimension (Jeon - a product management module 900 that supports the process necessary for the completion of the product to be presented to the customer through the project by performing the function of defining, acquiring, and managing the results required in the process of performing individual activities constituting the project), wherein the planning unit is configured to create a work plan including product information in addition to the project information, the process information, and the personnel information (Jeon - The integrated management module 100 performs the functions of project planning, project execution, and overall project change control by appropriately integrating and adjusting various elements of the project); a performance management unit configured to input a work start time and a work completion time for the work plan (Jeon - a time management module 300 supporting a process necessary to ensure that the project is completed within a predetermined time by performing the functions of project schedule planning, resource allocation, schedule adjustment, and schedule control) and data including the work start time, the work completion time (Jeon - a time management module 300 supporting a process necessary to ensure that the project is completed within a predetermined time by performing the functions of project schedule planning, resource allocation, schedule adjustment, and schedule control - The product of the preceding and following relationship between the activities and the hierarchical structure definition is stored in the project database 20).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the project data warehouse methodology/system of Park by including the project management techniques of Jeon because Jeon discloses “The present invention relates to a corporate project management system, and more particularly, to a project management system implementation technology that enables efficient information sharing (Jeon ABS)”. Additionally, Park further details “A method for managing the performance of a construction project based on data warehouse utilizing a BSC (Park ABS)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional project management techniques that Jeon discloses because it would make the project management disclosed within Park more efficient.
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Jeon discloses the personnel dimension (Park - In FIG. 7, the cubes of the learning and growth scores are connected to the dimensions of Project, Date, Manager, and Subcontractor to describe the corresponding performance indicators and provide scores. Similarly, the remaining cubes are constructed in the same way) of the multidimensional database has a hierarchical structure in the order of the worker information, the work start time, the work completion time, the project information, the category information, and the process information (Park - The analysis phase uses multi-dimensional analysis using OLAP (On-Line Analytical Processing) with the performance and related data stored in the data warehouse. Most of the dimensions that make up a multidimensional model have a hierarchical structure, and it is possible to determine the level of the dimension required by the user and analyze the data corresponding to the level. To do this, you classify the hierarchy of dimensions, set the levels, and create cubes. The cube is determined according to the purpose and situation of the analysis, and the analysis is performed in the form desired by the user by slicing & dicing).
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Jeon discloses the project dimension (Park - In FIG. 7, the cubes of the learning and growth scores are connected to the dimensions of Project, Date, Manager, and Subcontractor to describe the corresponding performance indicators and provide scores. Similarly, the remaining cubes are constructed in the same way) of the multidimensional database has a hierarchical structure in the order of the project information, the category information, the process information, the worker information, the work start time, and the work completion time (Park - The analysis phase uses multi-dimensional analysis using OLAP (On-Line Analytical Processing) with the performance and related data stored in the data warehouse. Most of the dimensions that make up a multidimensional model have a hierarchical structure, and it is possible to determine the level of the dimension required by the user and analyze the data corresponding to the level. To do this, you classify the hierarchy of dimensions, set the levels, and create cubes. The cube is determined according to the purpose and situation of the analysis, and the analysis is performed in the form desired by the user by slicing & dicing).
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Jeon discloses the process dimension (Park - In FIG. 7, the cubes of the learning and growth scores are connected to the dimensions of Project, Date, Manager, and Subcontractor to describe the corresponding performance indicators and provide scores. Similarly, the remaining cubes are constructed in the same way) of the multidimensional database has a hierarchical structure in the order of the category information, the process information, the project information, the worker information, the work start time, and the work completion time (Park - The analysis phase uses multi-dimensional analysis using OLAP (On-Line Analytical Processing) with the performance and related data stored in the data warehouse. Most of the dimensions that make up a multidimensional model have a hierarchical structure, and it is possible to determine the level of the dimension required by the user and analyze the data corresponding to the level. To do this, you classify the hierarchy of dimensions, set the levels, and create cubes. The cube is determined according to the purpose and situation of the analysis, and the analysis is performed in the form desired by the user by slicing & dicing).
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Jeon discloses the product dimension of the multidimensional database has a hierarchical structure in the order of the product information, the process information, the project information, the worker information (Park Fig. 6).
Jeon further teaches the work start time, and the work completion time (Jeon - a time management module 300 supporting a process necessary to ensure that the project is completed within a predetermined time by performing the functions of project schedule planning, resource allocation, schedule adjustment, and schedule control - The product of the preceding and following relationship between the activities and the hierarchical structure definition is stored in the project database 20).
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the project data warehouse methodology/system of Park by including the project management techniques of Jeon because Jeon discloses “The present invention relates to a corporate project management system, and more particularly, to a project management system implementation technology that enables efficient information sharing (Jeon ABS)”. Additionally, Park further details “A method for managing the performance of a construction project based on data warehouse utilizing a BSC (Park ABS)” so it would be obvious to consider including the additional project management techniques that Jeon discloses because it would make the project management disclosed within Park more efficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shakil (US 20140229223 A1)
Ansley (US 20120253869 A1)
Vadel et al. (US 20240220928 A1)
and
A. Gunawan, "Project Management Application Using Data Warehouse," 2021 3rd International Conference on Cybernetics and Intelligent System (ICORIS), Makasar, Indonesia, 2021, pp. 1-5 [online], [retrieved on 2026-01-24]. Retrieved from the Internet <https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/9649543?source=IQplus>
These pieces of prior art are cited because they all disclose variations on using hierarchical databases to facilitate project management.
/MICHAEL R KOESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624