DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Young(US 20180064503 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Young discloses the an adapter configured to attach a tool to a surgical instrument for a surgical handpiece, the adapter comprising: a first leg comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end of the first leg, and a length extending between the first and second ends of the first leg; a second leg comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end of the second leg, and a length extending between the first and second ends of the second leg, wherein the first ends of the first and second legs connect to one another and form an apex of the adapter; a first coupling portion for engaging the surgical instrument, the first coupling portion extending outward from the second end of the first leg non-parallel relative to the length of the first leg; a second coupling portion for engaging the surgical instrument, the second coupling portion extending outward from the second end of the second leg non-parallel relative to the length of the second leg and at least partially towards the second end of the first leg, wherein the first and second legs are configured to be flexed about said apex from an open position to a closed position to engage the first and second coupling portions with the surgical instrument, the second ends of the first and second legs arranged closer to one another in the closed position than the open position, the first and second legs being biased toward said open position; and a tool-engagement portion configured to secure to a portion of the tool, the tool- engagement portion extending outward from and substantially perpendicular relative to the first coupling portion(The invention relates to an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument. There is also provided a surgical instrument comprising the attachment mechanism.[abstract] In accordance with the present invention, there is provided an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument, the attachment mechanism being provided on the first component and including first and second attachment members configured to releasably engage with a respective attachment element on the second component to detachably couple the first and second components, the attachment mechanism including a pair of actuating levers pivotably mounted on a fulcrum and moveable between a first position in which the first and second attachment members are engaged with the attachment element to couple the first and second components together and a second position in which the first and second attachment members are disengaged from the attachment element to thereby release the second component from engagement with the first component, and wherein portions of each of the first and second levers are embedded in a sleeve comprising a resiliently deformable material which allows the first and second levers to be pivotable between the first position and the second position and which provides a restoring force to the first and second levers to bias the first and second levers to the first position[0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 2, wherein the first coupling portion comprises an opening configured to receive a portion of the surgical instrument(FIG. 4A illustrates the levers 9a, 9b in the first position, while FIG. 5A illustrates the levers in the second, open position.[0038]).
Regarding claim 4, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 3, wherein the tool-engagement portion extends along a portion of a perimeter of said opening(The attachment members may comprise an inclined surface which is configured to engage the attachment element to move the first and second levers to the second position.[0011][FIG. 5A]).
Regarding claim 5, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 3, wherein the tool-engagement portion surrounds said opening(The attachment element 7 of the second component 3 is therefore configured for engagement with the attachment mechanism 6 of the component 1 as will be described in more detail below[0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 3, wherein an axis extending through a center of the tool-engagement portion is substantially aligned with an axis extending through said opening(The pin 4 is mounted towards the end of the elongate shaft 2 within a first bore 22 extending widthways through the elongate shaft 2 in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis X of the elongate shaft 2.[FIG. 4A-B]).
Regarding claim 7, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 2, wherein each of the first and second coupling portions are at least partially curved(To assist in the manual actuation of the levers 9a, 9b, the flexible sleeve 14 includes two curved recessed portions 18, 19 at the region where the two second ends 13a, 13b are enclosed. These recessed portions 18, 19 serve to accommodate finger tips and have ribbed regions to provide additional grips. These recessed portions 18, 19 additionally serve to provide a visual indication of the location of the levers 9a, 9b[0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Young discloses adapter of Claim 2, wherein the tool-engagement portion extends outward from a surface of the first coupling portion that faces away from the second coupling portion(In accordance with the present invention, there is provided an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument, the attachment mechanism being provided on the first component and including first and second attachment members configured to releasably engage with a respective attachment element on the second component to detachably couple the first and second components[0004]. In this embodiment, the component 1 may be part of a reamer for orthopaedic surgery and includes an elongate shaft 2 which is connected to a rotational drive. However, it will be understood by a person skilled in the art that the component 1 can be any component or part of any surgical instrument which is required to be detachably connected to another component or part. In this regard, the elongate shaft 2 is configured to be connected to a second component 3 at a first end 2a. A handle 5 is provided.[0021][Fig. 2]).
Regarding claim 9, Young discloses a system comprising the adapter of Claim 2 and further comprising a bushing configured to be secured to the tool-engagement portion, wherein the tool-engagement portion is configured to secure to said portion of the tool via said bushing(The resilience of the deformable material is such that the flexible sleeve 14 is biased to an open and un-deformed shape and will, when deformed, provide sufficient restoring force to return to its un-deformed configuration when there is no manual pressure applied.[0034]. As such, the levers 9a, 9b are biased to the first position by the action of the flexible and resilient sleeve 14.[0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Young discloses an adapter configured to attach a tool to a surgical instrument for a surgical handpiece, the adapter comprising: a first leg comprising a first end and a second end; a second leg comprising a first end and a second end, wherein the first ends of the first and second legs are connected to one another; a first coupling portion for engaging the surgical instrument, the first coupling portion connected to the second end of the first leg; a second coupling portion for engaging the surgical instrument, the second coupling portion connected to the second end of the second leg, wherein the second ends of the first and second legs are configured to be moved at least partially toward one another to engage the first and second coupling portions with the surgical instrument; and a tool-engagement portion extending outward from the first coupling portion and configured to secure to a portion of the tool(The invention relates to an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument. There is also provided a surgical instrument comprising the attachment mechanism.[abstract] In accordance with the present invention, there is provided an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument, the attachment mechanism being provided on the first component and including first and second attachment members configured to releasably engage with a respective attachment element on the second component to detachably couple the first and second components, the attachment mechanism including a pair of actuating levers pivotably mounted on a fulcrum and moveable between a first position in which the first and second attachment members are engaged with the attachment element to couple the first and second components together and a second position in which the first and second attachment members are disengaged from the attachment element to thereby release the second component from engagement with the first component, and wherein portions of each of the first and second levers are embedded in a sleeve comprising a resiliently deformable material which allows the first and second levers to be pivotable between the first position and the second position and which provides a restoring force to the first and second levers to bias the first and second levers to the first position[0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 10, wherein the first coupling portion comprises an opening configured to receive a portion of the surgical instrument, and wherein the tool- engagement portion extends along a portion of a perimeter of said opening( FIG. 4A illustrates the levers 9a, 9b in the first position, while FIG. 5A illustrates the levers in the second, open position.[0038]. The attachment members may comprise an inclined surface which is configured to engage the attachment element to move the first and second levers to the second position.[0011][FIG. 4A]).
Regarding claim 12, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 10, wherein the tool-engagement portion extends outward from a surface of the first coupling portion that faces away from the second coupling portion(In accordance with the present invention, there is provided an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument, the attachment mechanism being provided on the first component and including first and second attachment members configured to releasably engage with a respective attachment element on the second component to detachably couple the first and second components[0004]. In this embodiment, the component 1 may be part of a reamer for orthopaedic surgery and includes an elongate shaft 2 which is connected to a rotational drive. However, it will be understood by a person skilled in the art that the component 1 can be any component or part of any surgical instrument which is required to be detachably connected to another component or part. In this regard, the elongate shaft 2 is configured to be connected to a second component 3 at a first end 2a. A handle 5 is provided.[0021][Fig. 2]).
Regarding claim 13, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 10, wherein: the first and second legs are configured to be flexed from an open position to a closed position to move said second ends at least partially toward one another and engage the first and second coupling portions with the surgical instrument; the first coupling portion comprises a first foot having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; the tool-engagement portion extends outward from the first side of the first foot; and the second coupling portion is arranged adjacent the second side of the first foot when the first and second legs are in said closed position(FIG. 4A is a schematic cross-sectional view of an attachment mechanism as provided on the surgical instrument of FIG. 1 showing the levers in an engaging orientation, and FIG. 4B is a cross-sectional view in the direction of arrows A-A of FIG. 4A;[0017]. FIG. 5A is a schematic cross-sectional view of an attachment mechanism as provided on the surgical instrument of FIG. 1 showing the levers in a non-engaging orientation, and FIG. 5B is a cross-sectional view in the direction of arrows B-B of FIG. 5A[0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 13, wherein the first coupling portion further comprises a second foot spaced from the first foot by a gap, and wherein the second coupling portion is configured to fit within said gap when the first and second legs are in said closed position([Fig. 4A]).
Regarding claim 15, Young discloses a system comprising the adapter of Claim 10 and further comprising a bushing configured to be secured to the tool-engagement portion, wherein the tool-engagement portion is configured to secure to said portion of the tool via said bushing(The resilience of the deformable material is such that the flexible sleeve 14 is biased to an open and un-deformed shape and will, when deformed, provide sufficient restoring force to return to its un-deformed configuration when there is no manual pressure applied.[0034]. As such, the levers 9a, 9b are biased to the first position by the action of the flexible and resilient sleeve 14[0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 10, wherein the tool-engagement portion comprises a cylindrical shape(The elongate shaft(cylindrical shape) 2 has an attachment mechanism 6 at the first end 2a for attaching the elongate shaft 2 to the second component 3 by means of an attachment element 7 provided on the second component 3[0022]).
Regarding claim 17, Young discloses an adapter configured to attach a tool to a surgical instrument for a surgical handpiece, the adapter comprising: a pair of legs connected to one another at a joint; a pair of coupling portions for engaging the surgical instrument, each of the pair of coupling portions extending from a different one of the pair of legs, wherein the pair of legs are configured to be flexed about a first axis extending through said joint to engage the pair of coupling portions with the surgical instrument; and a tool-engagement portion configured to secure to the tool, the tool-engagement portion extending outward from one of the pair of coupling portions along a second axis that is substantially parallel to said first axis(The invention relates to an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument. There is also provided a surgical instrument comprising the attachment mechanism.[abstract] In accordance with the present invention, there is provided an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument, the attachment mechanism being provided on the first component and including first and second attachment members configured to releasably engage with a respective attachment element on the second component to detachably couple the first and second components, the attachment mechanism including a pair of actuating levers pivotably mounted on a fulcrum and moveable between a first position in which the first and second attachment members are engaged with the attachment element to couple the first and second components together and a second position in which the first and second attachment members are disengaged from the attachment element to thereby release the second component from engagement with the first component, and wherein portions of each of the first and second levers are embedded in a sleeve comprising a resiliently deformable material which allows the first and second levers to be pivotable between the first position and the second position and which provides a restoring force to the first and second levers to bias the first and second levers to the first position.[0004][FIG. 1][FIG. 4A]. The levers 9a, 9b are each in the form of a flat arm with a centrally located projection 15a, 15b for attachment to the pin 4. Each projection 15a, 15b has an aperture 23a, 23b through which the pin 4 is retained. The projections 15a, 15b are retained within a second bore 24 extending also widthways through the elongate shaft 2 in a direction perpendicular to the first bore 22 and the longitudinal axis X of the elongate shaft 2. This is illustrated in FIG. 6. In this way, the levers 9a, 9b are retained on the elongate shaft 2 and configured for rotation around the pin 4[0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 17, wherein at least one of the pair of coupling portions comprises an opening configured to receive a portion of the surgical instrument, and wherein the tool-engagement portion extends along a portion of a perimeter of said opening(FIG. 4A illustrates the levers 9a, 9b in the first position, while FIG. 5A illustrates the levers in the second, open position[0038]. The attachment members may comprise an inclined surface which is configured to engage the attachment element to move the first and second levers to the second position[0011] [FIG. 4A].The attachment element 7 of the second component 3 is therefore configured for engagement with the attachment mechanism 6 of the component 1 as will be described in more detail below[0022]).
Regarding claim 19, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 17, wherein the pair of coupling portions comprises a first coupling portion and a second coupling portion, and wherein the tool-engagement portion extends outward from a surface of the first coupling portion that faces away from the second coupling portion(In accordance with the present invention, there is provided an attachment mechanism for detachably coupling a first component to a second component as part of a surgical instrument, the attachment mechanism being provided on the first component and including first and second attachment members configured to releasably engage with a respective attachment element on the second component to detachably couple the first and second components[0004]. In this embodiment, the component 1 may be part of a reamer for orthopaedic surgery and includes an elongate shaft 2 which is connected to a rotational drive. However, it will be understood by a person skilled in the art that the component 1 can be any component or part of any surgical instrument which is required to be detachably connected to another component or part. In this regard, the elongate shaft 2 is configured to be connected to a second component 3 at a first end 2a. A handle 5 is provided.[0021][Fig. 2]).
Regarding claim 20, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 17, wherein: the pair of coupling portions comprises a first coupling portion and a second coupling portion, the first coupling portion comprising a first foot having a first side and a second side opposite the first side; the pair of legs are configured to be flexed from an open position to a closed position to engage the first and second coupling portions with the surgical instrument; the tool-engagement portion extends outward from the first side of the first foot; and the second coupling portion is arranged adjacent the second side of the first foot when the pair of legs are in said closed position(FIG. 4A is a schematic cross-sectional view of an attachment mechanism as provided on the surgical instrument of FIG. 1 showing the levers in an engaging orientation, and FIG. 4B is a cross-sectional view in the direction of arrows A-A of FIG. 4A;[0017]. FIG. 5A is a schematic cross-sectional view of an attachment mechanism as provided on the surgical instrument of FIG. 1 showing the levers in a non-engaging orientation, and FIG. 5B is a cross-sectional view in the direction of arrows B-B of FIG. 5A[0018]).
Regarding claim 21, Young discloses the adapter of Claim 20, wherein the first coupling portion further comprises a second foot spaced from the first foot by a gap, and wherein the second coupling portion is configured to fit within said gap when the pair of legs are in said closed position([Fig.4A]).
Conclusion
/MARIA CATHERINE ANTHONY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796