DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated 12/17/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12200451. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the application under examination are broader than the claims of the patent as shown in the claim mapping table below:
Application under examination
U. S. Patent No. 12200451
1. A microphone comprising: a housing configured to receive sound signals; at least one transducer configured to vibrate to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals; an elastic element connected to the at least one transducer via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit configured to process the electrical signals.
1.(Original) A microphone comprising: a housing for receiving sound signals; at least two transducers for vibrating to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals, each of the at least two transducers providing a distinctive resonance peak to the microphone; at least one elastic element connected to one of the at least two transducers via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit for processing the electrical signals.
2. The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are arrayed in the housing in a direction parallel to a vibration direction of the transducer.
2. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least two transducers are arrayed in the housing in a direction parallel to a vibration direction of the at least two transducers.
3. The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are arrayed in the housing in a direction perpendicular to a vibration direction of the at least one transducer.
3. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least two transducers are arrayed in the housing in a direction perpendicular to a vibration direction of the at least two transducers.
4. The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are disposed on a same side of the damping layer.
4. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the electrical signals are outputted from one of the at least two transducers, and the rest of the at least two transducers transfer vibrations to the one of the at least two transducers.
5. The microphone of claim 1, wherein the damping layer is located between the at least one transducer and the elastic element, and the at least one transducer, the damping layer and the elastic element form a sandwich structure.
1.(Original) A microphone comprising: a housing for receiving sound signals; at least two transducers for vibrating to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals, each of the at least two transducers providing a distinctive resonance peak to the microphone; at least one elastic element connected to one of the at least two transducers via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit for processing the electrical signals.
6. The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least one transducer comprises at least two transducers, and each of the at least two transducers provides a distinctive resonance peak to the microphone.
1.(Original) A microphone comprising: a housing for receiving sound signals; at least two transducers for vibrating to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals, each of the at least two transducers providing a distinctive resonance peak to the microphone; at least one elastic element connected to one of the at least two transducers via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit for processing the electrical signals.
7. The microphone of claim 6, wherein the electrical signals are outputted from one of the at least two transducers, and the rest of the at least two transducers transfer vibrations to the one of the at least two transducers.
4. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the electrical signals are outputted from one of the at least two transducers, and the rest of the at least two transducers transfer vibrations to the one of the at least two transducers.
8. The microphone of claim 7, wherein the rest of the at least two transducers are physically connected to the one of the at least two transducers via the at least one damping layer.
1.(Original) A microphone comprising: a housing for receiving sound signals; at least two transducers for vibrating to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals, each of the at least two transducers providing a distinctive resonance peak to the microphone; at least one elastic element connected to one of the at least two transducers via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit for processing the electrical signals.
9. The microphone of claim 6, wherein the electrical signals include at least two electrical outputs of the at least two transducers, wherein each of the at least two electrical outputs of the at least two transducers are outputted from one of the at least two transducers.
5. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the electrical signals include at least two electrical outputs of the at least two transducers, wherein each of the at least two electrical outputs of the at least two transducers is outputted from one of the at least two transducers.
10. The microphone of claim 9, wherein at least one transducer of the at least two transducers are connected to the at least one damping layer.
1.(Original) A microphone comprising: a housing for receiving sound signals; at least two transducers for vibrating to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals, each of the at least two transducers providing a distinctive resonance peak to the microphone; at least one elastic element connected to one of the at least two transducers via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit for processing the electrical signals.
11. The microphone of claim 9, wherein the at least two electrical outputs of the at least two transducers are processed using a Positive-Negative-Negative-Positive processing mode, wherein the Positive-Negative-Negative-Positive processing mode includes: adjusting phases of the at least two electrical outputs; and combining the adjusted at least two electrical outputs.
6. (Original) The microphone of claim 5, wherein the at least two electrical outputs of the at least two transducers are processed using a Positive-Negative-Negative-Positive processing mode, wherein the Positive-Negative-Negative-Positive processing mode includes: adjusting phases of the at least two electrical outputs; and combining the adjusted at least two electrical outputs.
12. The microphone of claim 11, wherein the adjusting phases of the at least two electrical outputs includes: reversing a phase of one of the at least two electrical outputs, and maintaining a phase of another one of the at least two electrical outputs.
7. (Original) The microphone of claim 6, wherein the adjusting phases of the at least two electrical outputs includes: reversing a phase of one of the at least two electrical outputs, and maintaining a phase of another one of the at least two electrical outputs.
13. The microphone of claim 9, wherein the at least two electrical outputs are of adjacent transducers among the at least two transducers which are sorted in a descending order or an ascending order according to their resonance frequencies.
8. (Original) The microphone of claim 5, wherein the at least two electrical outputs are of adjacent transducers among the at least two transducers which are sorted in a descending order or an ascending order according to their resonance frequencies.
14. The microphone of claim 8, wherein the at least one damping layer covers at least part of at least one surface of the transducer connected thereto.
9. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the two transducers are disposed on a same side or opposite side of the damping layer.
15. The microphone of claim 14, wherein the at least one damping layer is disposed on at least one surface of the connected transducer at a predetermined angle.
10. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least one damping layer covers at least part of at least one surface of the transducer connected thereto.
16. The microphone of claim 15, wherein the predetermined angle is 30°, 45°, 60°, or 90°.
13. (Original) The microphone of claim 12, wherein the predetermined angle is 30, 60 or 90 degrees.
17. The microphone of claim 14, wherein the at least one damping layer is connected to the housing
14. (Original) The microphone of claim 10, wherein the at least one damping layer is connected to the housing.
18. The microphone of claim 14, wherein the at least one damping layer includes at least two damping layers, and the at least two damping layers are arranged symmetrically with respect to a center line of one of the at least two transducers.
15. (Original) The microphone of claim 10, wherein the at least one damping layer includes at least two damping layers, and the at least two damping layers are arranged symmetrically with respect to a center line of one of the at least two transducers.
19. The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least one damping layer covers at least part of at least one surface of the elastic element.
17. (Original) The microphone of claim 1, wherein the at least one damping layer covers at least part of at least one surface of the at least one elastic element.
20. An electronic device comprising a microphone, wherein the microphone includes: a housing configured to receive sound signals; at least one transducer configured to vibrate to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals; an elastic element connected to the at least one transducer via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit for processing the electrical signals.
20. (Original) An electronic device comprising a microphone, wherein the microphone includes:a housing for receiving sound signals; at least two transducers for vibrating to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals, each of the at least two transducers providing a distinctive resonance peak to the microphone; at least one elastic element connected to one of the at least two transducers via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit for processing the electrical signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyono et al (JP 09163477 A) hereinafter Hyono in view of Lazzari (US 20170195797 A1) hereinafter Lazzari.
Regarding claim 1, Hyono teaches A microphone comprising (“a bone conduction ear microphone to detect voice vibration transmitted to the vicinity of the external auditory meatus” in ¶[0001]): a housing configured to receive sound signals (“Fourteenth Embodiment FIG. 28 shows the thirteenth aspect of the present invention. 8 is a configuration diagram of the detection element according to the embodiment of the present invention, and 8 is a box for housing the detection element” in ¶[0075]); at least one transducer configured to vibrate to generate electrical signals in response to the sound signals (“The sound vibration transmitted to the outer ear is passed through a resin case (not shown) for mounting on the outer ear and a metal case (not shown) for accommodating the detection element, thereby supporting member 5. To the cantilevers 1 to 4 of the beams 1 to 4. The cantilever vibrates when voice vibration is applied, and the frequency output of the piezoelectric body is obtained from the lead wire 6.” in ¶[0025]); Hyono does not specifically disclose the device further comprising an elastic element connected to the at least one transducer via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit configured to process the electrical signals however,
Since it is known in the art as evidenced by Lazzari for a device to further comprise an elastic element connected to the at least one transducer via at least one damping layer; and a processing circuit configured to process the electrical signals (“A Modulus of Elasticity (E) of main membrane 1 is greater than 15 GPa, though very small transducers and headphones can provide similar performance goals employing membranes with significantly smaller Modulus of Elasticity, provided that the layer of the damping membrane 3 is proportionally more elastic.” in ¶[0034]),
An ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to modify the invention of Hyono with the teachings of Lazzari for the benefit of improving the control over the resonant frequency,
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hyono with Lazzari.
Regarding claim 2, Hyono as modified by Lazzari teaches the device of claim 1, Hyono further teaches the device further comprising wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are arrayed in the housing in a direction parallel to a vibration direction of the transducer (transducers 12 and 12 are parallel inside the housing 10 and parallel to the vibration direction coming from the opening in Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 19, Hyono as modified by Lazzari teaches the microphone of claim 1, Hyono further teaches the device further comprising wherein the at least one damping layer covers at least part of at least one surface of the transducer connected thereto (Damping layer 7 covers at least part of at least one surface of the transducers “1” and “2” in Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 20, claim is rejected for being the device comprising at least the same elements and performing at least the same functions performed by the microphone of rejected claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyono et al (JP 09163477 A) hereinafter Hyono in view of Lazzari (US 20170195797 A1) hereinafter Lazzari and further in view of Zou et al. (US 20180288526 A1) hereinafter Zou.
Regarding claim 3, Hyono as modified by Lazzari teaches the device of claim 1, Hyono as modified by Lazzari does not specifically disclose the device further comprising wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are arrayed in the housing in a direction perpendicular to a vibration direction of the at least one transducer however,
Since it is known in the art as evidenced by Zou for a device to further comprise wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are arrayed in the housing in a direction perpendicular to a vibration direction of the at least one transducer (Fig. 1 shows how the two transducers are arrayed “two MEMS microphone chips 103, 104” in ¶[0030]),
An ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to modify the invention of Hyono as modified by Lazzari with the teachings of Zou for the benefit of increasing the sensitivity of the microphone,
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hyono as modified by Lazzari with Zou.
Regarding claim 4, Hyono as modified by Lazzari teaches the device of claim 1, Hyono as modified by Lazzari does not specifically disclose the device further comprising wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are disposed on a same side of the damping layer however,
Since it is known in the art as evidenced by Zou for a microphone to further comprise wherein the at least one transducer and the elastic element are disposed on a same side of the damping layer (Mems 103 and 104 are on the same side of the damping member 101 in Fig. 1),
An ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to modify the invention of Hyono as modified by Lazzari with the teachings of Zou for the benefit of minimizing the size of the microphone, therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hyono as modified by Lazzari with Zou.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
AMMAR T. HAMID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2695
/AMMAR T HAMID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695