DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims dated 12/17/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10-12, 14, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hemp et al. U.S. Patent 12,158,627.
Regarding claim 1, Hemp et al. teaches an apparatus (100; figure 6) comprising:
a cage (1504; figure 15) defining a plurality of receptacles (equivalents of above annotated figure 15), each of the plurality of receptacles configured to receive a respective pluggable optical module (42; figure 6) through a front end (106; figure 6) of the cage;
a first printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) (402; figure 6) connected to and extending along a back end (see figure 6) of the cage, the first PCBA comprising a plurality of connectors (406; figure 6), each of the plurality of connectors aligned (see figure 6) with a respective receptacle (see figure 6) of the plurality of receptacles, and configured to electrically connect (implicitly taught in figure 6) with a respective pluggable optical module (see figure 6);
a second PCBA (604; figure 6) disposed in parallel (see figure 6) with the first PCBA (402) and electrically connected (by connectors 606; figure 6) with the first PCBA (402) through a plurality of interconnects (606; figure 6); and
power circuitry (602; figure 6) configured to supply power via the second PCBA to the pluggable optical modules.
Regarding claim 2, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first PCBA (402; figure 12) defines a first plurality of vent openings (410; figure 12) extending therethrough, each of the first plurality of vent openings aligned (see figure 12) with a respective receptacle of the plurality of receptacles.
Regarding claim 4, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of receptacles have longitudinal axes that are parallel (see figure 6) to each other, and wherein the first PCBA and the second PCBA are arranged in respective planes (see figure 6) that are perpendicular (see figure 6) to the longitudinal axes.
Regarding claim 5, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first PCBA comprises a vertical line card (switch PCB 402; figure 6).
Regarding claim 8, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second PCBA comprises the power circuitry (implicitly taught in figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second PCBA comprises filtering circuitry (implicitly taught in figure 6; since 604 is a point-of-load circuit, which inherently contains built-in filtering circuitry).
Regarding claim 11, Hemp et al. teaches a network device (100; figure 6) comprising:
an enclosure (104; figure 6) defining an interior volume (space inside 104);
a cage (1504; figure 15) defining a plurality of receptacles (see above annotated figure 15) extending into the interior volume, each of the plurality of receptacles configured to receive a respective pluggable optical module (42; figure 6) through a front end (106; figure 6) of the cage;
a first printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) (402; figure 6) disposed in the interior volume, the first PCBA connected to and extending along a back end (see figure 6) of the cage, the first PCBA comprising a plurality of connectors (406; figure 6), each of the plurality of connectors aligned (see figure 6) with a respective receptacle of the plurality of receptacles, and configured to electrically connect (implicitly taught in figure 6) with a respective pluggable optical module;
a second PCBA (604; figure 6) disposed in the interior volume, the second PCBA disposed in parallel (see figure 6) with the first PCBA and electrically connected with the first PCBA through a plurality of interconnects (606; figure 6); and power circuitry (implicitly taught in figure 6) configured to supply power (from power supply 602; figure 6) via the second PCBA to the pluggable optical modules.
Regarding claim 12, Hemp et al. the network device of claim 11, wherein the first PCBA defines a first plurality of vent openings (410; figure 12) extending therethrough, each of the first plurality of vent openings aligned (see figure 12) with a respective receptacle of the plurality of receptacles.
Regarding claim 14, Hemp et al. teaches the network device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of receptacles have longitudinal axes that are parallel (see figure 6) to each other, and wherein the first PCBA and the second PCBA are arranged in respective planes that are perpendicular (see figure 6) to the longitudinal axes.
Regarding claim 17, Hemp et al. teaches the network device of claim 11, wherein the first PCBA comprises a vertical line card (Switch PCB 402; figure 6).
Regarding claim 18, Hemp et al. teaches the network device of claim 11, wherein the second PCBA (604; figure 6) comprises the power circuitry (implicitly taught in figure 6).
Regarding claim 20, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second PCBA comprises filtering circuitry (implicitly taught in figure 6; since 604 is a point-of-load circuit, which inherently contains built-in filtering circuitry).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemp et al. U.S. Patent 12,158,627.
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
Even though, Hemp et al. does not specifically teach the second PCBA defines a second plurality of vent openings extending therethrough, each of the second plurality of vent openings aligned with a respective vent opening of the first plurality of vent openings, however, figures 5 and 12 suggest airflow from the front side through the first plurality of vent openings toward the rear side of the cage.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the second PCBA with a second plurality of vent openings extending therethrough, each of the second plurality of vent openings aligned with a respective vent opening of the first plurality of vent openings, as suggested by figures 5 and 12 of Hemp et al., to provide air flowing paths from the front to the rear of said cage.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above, Hemp et al. teaches the network device of claim 12.
Even though, Hemp et al. does not specifically teach the second PCBA defines a second plurality of vent openings extending therethrough, each of the second plurality of vent openings aligned with a respective vent opening of the first plurality of vent openings, however, figures 5 and 12 suggest airflow from the front side through the first plurality of vent openings toward the rear side of the cage.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further equip the second PCBA with a second plurality of vent openings extending therethrough, each of the second plurality of vent openings aligned with a respective vent opening of the first plurality of vent openings, as suggested by figures 5 and 12 of Hemp et al., to provide air flowing paths from the front to the rear of said cage.
Claims 6, 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemp et al. U.S. Patent 12,158,627 in view of Blume et al. U.S. Patent 9,913,394.
Regarding claim 6, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second PCBA (604; figure 6) comprises at least one additional connector (see above annotated figure 6).
However, Hemp et al. does not specifically teach the power circuitry (602) is included in a removable card connected to the additional connector.
Blume et al. suggests the idea of having power circuitry in a removable card (see column 2, lines 20-29) to be connected to a connector of another circuit board.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the power circuitry included in a removable card connected to the additional connector of Hemp et al., as suggested by Blume et al., for providing power to said first/second PCBA and such removable card would be convenient for part replacement.
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above, Hemp et al. in view of Blume et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the second PCBA (604; figure 6 of Hemp et al.) comprises a plurality of point-of-load modules (see par[0077]; “voltage level converters” = point-of-load modules).
Note: Point-of-load (PoL) modules are localized DC-DC voltage regulators placed directly next to power-hungry components (like processors, FPGAs, or ASICs) on a circuit board. Instead of routing low voltage across long traces, they step down a higher bus voltage right at the component, minimizing energy loss and voltage drops
Regarding claim 15, Hemp et al. teaches the network device of claim 11, wherein the second PCBA (604; figure 6) comprises at least one additional connector (see above annotated figure 6).
However, Hemp et al. does not specifically teach the power circuitry (602) is included in a removable card connected to the additional connector.
Blume et al. suggests the idea of having power circuitry in a removable card (see column 2, lines 20-29) to be connected to a connector of another circuit board.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the power circuitry included in a removable card connected to the additional connector of Hemp et al., as suggested by Blume et al., for providing power to said first/second PCBA and such removable card would be convenient for part replacement.
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above, Hemp et al. in view of Blume et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the second PCBA (604; figure 6 of Hemp et al.) comprises a plurality of point-of-load modules (see par[0077]; “voltage level converters” = point-of-load modules).
10. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hemp et al. U.S. Patent 12,158,627 in view of Frank et al. U.S. Patent 9,622,394.
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above, Hemp et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Hemp et al. does not specifically teach that the second PCBA comprises hot swap circuitry.
Frank et al., in the same field of endeavor, suggests a PCBA comprising hot swap circuitry (column 5, lines 44-56).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the second PCBA of Hemp et al. with hot swap circuitry, as suggested by Frank et al., to provide hot swapping capability to said apparatus.
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above, Hemp et al. teaches the network device of claim 11.
However, Hemp et al. does not specifically teach that the second PCBA comprises hot swap circuitry.
Frank et al., in the same field of endeavor, suggests a PCBA comprising hot swap circuitry (column 5, lines 44-56).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip the second PCBA of Hemp et al. with hot swap circuitry, as suggested by Frank et al., to provide hot swapping capability to said apparatus.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841