DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed 12/18/2024 are accepted.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-3 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/11/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 4-10 in the reply filed on 8/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 4, said claim is held to be indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “wherein the silicone layer defines an installation area ….”
With regards to claim 5, it is unclear how the composite can have “an exposure area adjacent to the installation area, the silicone layer has a recess corresponding to the installation area, the first heat-melting layer is located in the recess and does not protrude from the first side in the exposure area” Specifically, if the first heat melting layer is located in the recess, and the exposure area is adjacent to the recess, it is unclear what is meant by the heat melting layer “does not protrude from the first side in the exposure area.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2011-020313 (herein referred to as “Kai”), as evidenced by 2020/0399827 and US 2004/0217192.
Kai teaches a composite silicone piece, comprising a silicone layer having a first side and a second side opposite to the first side (see Figures and “Technical Field” section of disclosure), wherein the silicone layer defines an installation area on the first side (see Figures); a first pressure sensitive layer connected to the first side of the silicone layer. With regards to the limitation “ through heating and melting and located in the installation area” said limitation is understood to be a method limitation that does not patentably distinguish the claimed product from the product taught in the prior art unless the method of making the product inherently results in a materially different product. In the present application, no such showing was bee made. The composite may further comprise a second PSA layer connected to the second side of the silicone layer (see section “Common modification of each embodiment” wherein application of an adhesive to the second side is disclosed).
The examiner notes that PSAs are understood in the art to read on hot meltable adhesive (see US 2020/0399827 at (0030) and US 2004/0217192 at (0002).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by JP2011-020313 (herein referred to as “Kai”), as applied to claim 4 above.
Kai is relied upon as above. Kai further teaches the silicone layer defines an exposure area adjacent to the installation area, the silicone layer has a recess corresponding to the installation area, the first heat-melting layer is located in the recess and does not protrude from the first side in the exposure area (see Figures),. Kai does not teach that the second heat-melting layer corresponds to a shape of the second side and is laid flat over the second side. Similarly, with regards to claim 6, Kai does not teach the first adhesive is positioned such that the first heat-melting layer has a surrounding wall connected to two ends of the contact wall, when the first heat-melting layer is connected to the flat surface of the recess, the surrounding wall is aligned with the perimeter of the flat surface and is flush with the circumferential surface of the silicone layer. However, the courts have held that the particular placement of a part is an obvious matter of design choice (see MPEP 2144.04). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the size and location of the first and second adhesive taught in Kai as the courts have held the selection of such choices is an obvious matter of design choice.
With regards to claim 7, Kai teaches the first and second PSA layers may be compositionally the same but does not directly teach that the material of the first and second PSA layers may each comprise thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU). However, Kai teaches urethane PSAs are known in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize polyurethane PSAs as the PSA taught in Kai as said PSAs are functionally equivalent to the PSAs of Kai. The courts have held it is prima facie obvious to substitute a component for a component taught by the prior art to be equivalent.
Conclusion
KEVIN R. KRUER
Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787