DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-15 include a mark appearing to be a comma after the claim numbers, instead of a period. Such a mark appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer, a phase modulation layer, and a phase compensation layer.” However, it is unclear what constitutes “a phase modulation layer” or “a phase compensation layer.” Specifically, there is no structure provided for either layer that would provide for phase “modulation” or “compensation,” and it is unclear what is required to meet such a limitation. This limitation is unclear as it recites functional language without providing a discernable boundary on what element/structure of the layer performs the function. Specifically, it is unclear if a specific material/structure/element must be present in the layer to perform the function of phase modulation or compensation. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be discerned and the claim is unclear. See Ariad Pharmaceuticals., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (“Further, without reciting the particular structure, materials or steps that accomplish the function or achieve the result, all means or methods of resolving the problem may be encompassed by the claim”) (MPEP § 2173.05(g)).
For the purposes of examination, any optical element with a semi-reflective/transparent layer, a layer that affects a phase of incident light, and a third layer will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 1 additionally recites “the phase modulation layer controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance.” The term “enlarged” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enlarged” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the phase modulation layer can be constructed “so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance” as it is unclear what the image should be “enlarged” with respect to and what distance the enlarged image should be provided at.
Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as “the human eye” has not been defined. It is unclear how such a “human eye” should be provided with respect to the system.
For the purposes of examination, any phase modulation layer that provides an image to a human eye will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 1 further recites “the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape.” The term “sufficiently close to a planar shape” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficiently close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what curvatures are encompassed by the limitation “sufficiently close to a planar shape” and it is unclear what shapes would be met by the claimed limitation. Moreover, given the complex nature of optical systems, small changes in curvature can have unpredictable results, as such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would be unable to determine what shapes would be considered “sufficiently close to a planar shape.” Moreover, given that the transparent optical element has multiple claimed layers, such an element cannot be planar in shape, as it is a three-dimensional object. For the purposes of examination, any transparent optical element that does not add optical power or is not curved will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claims 2-15 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim 2 recites “it further includes an auxiliary optical imaging system.” However, it is unclear which element of the system is being referred to as “it.” Specifically, it is unclear if “it” refers to the display system as a whole, the transparent optical element, or some other portion of the system. For the purposes of examination, any display system comprising an auxiliary optical imaging system will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 3 recites “the phase modulation layer controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer also allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through: further comprise the phase modulation layer having a semi- reflective/transparent layer, through which light emitted from the microdisplay chip directly enters the semi-reflective/transparent layer, or enters the semi- reflective/transparent layer after being processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system; after reflection by the semi-reflective/transparent layer, the light undergoes the desired phase modulation, reflecting toward the human eye and generating a virtual image relative to the position opposite the optical element and the human eye; the phase compensation layer compensates for the phase change of the phase modulation layer, ensuring that light passing through the optical element remains unaffected by phase modulation and enters the human eye without interference.” The term “enlarged” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enlarged” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the phase modulation layer can be constructed “so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance” as it is unclear what the image should be “enlarged” with respect to and what distance the enlarged image should be provided at.
Additionally, it is unclear how the system can “further comprise the phase modulation layer having a semi-reflective/transparent layer” as the system already has separate phase modulation layers and semi-reflective/transparent layers. It is unclear if the claim is intended to require an additional semi-reflective/transparent layer or if the claim is referring to the semi-reflective/transparent layer of claim 1.
Further, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the auxiliary optical imaging system” and it is unclear how the system can be constructed such that the phase modulation layer has a structure “through which light emitted from the microdisplay chip directly enters the semi-reflective/transparent layer, or enters the semi- reflective/transparent layer after being processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system.”
Moreover, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the desired phase modulation” and it is unclear what phase modulation should be interpreted as “the desired phase modulation.” Additionally, it is unclear what constitutes “generating a virtual image relative to the position opposite the optical element and the human eye” as “the position opposite the optical element and the human eye” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear how any position can be opposite both the optical element and the human eye.
Furthermore, it is unclear how to construct a phase compensation layer such that “the phase compensation layer compensates for the phase change of the phase modulation layer, ensuring that light passing through the optical element remains unaffected by phase modulation and enters the human eye without interference.” Specifically, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the phase change” and it is unclear how a phase compensation layer can ensure that light “remains unaffected by phase modulation and enters the human eye without interference” as interference could be introduced by additional elements between the optical element and the eye.
For the purposes of examination, any display system that reflects light from the microdisplay chip and transmits light from a real world scene unaltered will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 4 recites “the microdisplay chip is one of the following microdisplay technologies: LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED.” However, it is unclear how “LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED” are to be interpreted as “microdisplay technologies” as such elements are not necessarily microdisplays. Additionally, it is unclear how the microdisplay chip can be “one of…OLED, LED, Micro-LED” as each of these is a type of “LED.” For the purposes of examination, any microdisplay including an LCD, DLP, or LED layer will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 5 recites “the transparent optical element is integrated into the vehicle’s windshield.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as “the vehicle’s windshield” has not been defined. It is unclear that any “vehicle’s windshield” should be provided as a display does not necessarily require a windshield. For the purposes of examination, “the vehicle’s windshield” will be interpreted as “a vehicle’s windshield.”
Claim 6 recites that “it further includes another optical imaging system; wherein the other optical system consists of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element.” However, it is unclear which element of the system is being referred to as “it.” Specifically, it is unclear if “it” refers to the display system as a whole, the transparent optical element, or some other portion of the system.
Furthermore, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the other optical system” and it is unclear how the other optical system can “consist of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element,” as it is unclear if the optical system should include all of the listed elements or if the claim is intended to include the listed elements in the alternative. Additionally, “spherical mirrors” are also “reflective mirrors” and it is unclear if there should be some distinction between these elements. Moreover, it is unclear how such an optical system can be used “in conjunction with the transparent optical element.”
For the purposes of examination, any head-up display system including at least one of a reflective mirror, an aspherical lens, or a freeform surface will be interpreted as reading on the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites that “the phase modulation surface is a holographic structure, and the holographic structure generates an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip.” The term “enlarged” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enlarged” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the phase modulation layer can be constructed such that it “generates an enlarged virtual image” as it is unclear what the image should be “enlarged” with respect to. Additionally, it is unclear if the “enlarged virtual image” should be the same as the “enlarged virtual image at a distance” of claim 1 or if the “virtual image” of claim 7 should be a different virtual image. For the purposes of examination, any holographic structure will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 8 recites “the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a spherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip.” The term “thin” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what thicknesses would be considered a “thin structure” and how such a surface can be created such that it can be a “Fresnel lens with a thin structure.”
Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the phase modulation” and it is unclear how a “phase modulation” can be a “spherical mirror.” Specifically, a “spherical mirror” is a physical structure that can reflect light and a “phase modulation” cannot be a “spherical mirror.” Further, given that the phase modulation surface is described as “a Fresnel lens,” it is unclear how the “phase modulation” can be a spherical mirror and not a Fresnel lens. It is unclear if the claim is intending for a “phase modulation” to be similar to that of a spherical mirror or if the claim is intended to require some additional structure. Additionally, it is unclear what the phase modulation of a “spherical mirror” would be, as different “spherical mirrors” with different surface shapes or radii would have different modulation characteristics.
Further, the term “enlarged” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enlarged” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the phase modulation layer can be constructed such that it “generates an enlarged virtual image” as it is unclear what the image should be “enlarged” with respect to. Additionally, it is unclear if the “enlarged virtual image” should be the same as the “enlarged virtual image at a distance” of claim 1 or if the “virtual image” of claim 8 should be a different virtual image. For the purposes of examination, any holographic structure will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
For the purposes of examination, any Fresnel lens structure will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 9 recites “the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is an aspherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip.” The term “thin” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what thicknesses would be considered a “thin structure” and how such a surface can be created such that it can be a “Fresnel lens with a thin structure.” Moreover, as the phase modulation surface is described as “a Fresnel lens” it is unclear how such a surface can have “a lens shape.” It is unclear if “a Fresnel lens” is intended to already have a “lens shape” or if some other shape should be encompassed by “a lens shape.”
Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the phase modulation” and it is unclear how a “phase modulation” can be a “aspherical mirror.” Specifically, a “aspherical mirror” is a physical structure that can reflect light and a “phase modulation” cannot be a “aspherical mirror.” Further, given that the phase modulation surface is described as “a Fresnel lens,” it is unclear how the “phase modulation” can be an aspherical mirror and not a Fresnel lens. It is unclear if the claim is intending for a “phase modulation” to be similar to that of a aspherical mirror or if the claim is intended to require some additional structure. Additionally, it is unclear what the phase modulation of an “aspherical mirror” would be, as different “aspherical mirrors” with different surface shapes would have different modulation characteristics.
Further, the term “enlarged” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enlarged” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the phase modulation layer can be constructed such that it “generates an enlarged virtual image” as it is unclear what the image should be “enlarged” with respect to. Additionally, it is unclear if the “enlarged virtual image” should be the same as the “enlarged virtual image at a distance” of claim 1 or if the “virtual image” of claim 9 should be a different virtual image. For the purposes of examination, any holographic structure will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
For the purposes of examination, any Fresnel lens structure will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 10 recites “the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a freeform mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip.” The term “thin” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what thicknesses would be considered a “thin structure” and how such a surface can be created such that it can be a “Fresnel lens with a thin structure.” Moreover, as the phase modulation surface is described as “a Fresnel lens” it is unclear how such a surface can have “a lens shape.” It is unclear if “a Fresnel lens” is intended to already have a “lens shape” or if some other shape should be encompassed by “a lens shape.”
Additionally, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the phase modulation” and it is unclear how a “phase modulation” can be a “freeform mirror.” Specifically, a “freeform mirror” is a physical structure that can reflect light and a “phase modulation” cannot be a “freeform mirror.” Further, given that the phase modulation surface is described as “a Fresnel lens,” it is unclear how the “phase modulation” can be a freeform mirror and not a Fresnel lens. It is unclear if the claim is intending for a “phase modulation” to be similar to that of a freeform mirror or if the claim is intended to require some additional structure. Additionally, it is unclear what the phase modulation of a “freeform mirror” would be, as different “freeform mirrors” with different surface shapes would have different modulation characteristics.
Further, the term “enlarged” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enlarged” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the phase modulation layer can be constructed such that it “generates an enlarged virtual image” as it is unclear what the image should be “enlarged” with respect to. Additionally, it is unclear if the “enlarged virtual image” should be the same as the “enlarged virtual image at a distance” of claim 1 or if the “virtual image” of claim 9 should be a different virtual image. For the purposes of examination, any holographic structure will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
For the purposes of examination, any Fresnel lens structure will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claims 11 and 12 recite the limitation "the semi-reflective layer." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, claims 11 and 12 depend upon claim 1 which recites “a semi-reflective/transparent layer.” It is unclear if “the semi-reflective layer” recited in claims 11 and 12 is intended to be the “semi-reflective/transparent layer” of claim 1 or a different semi-reflective layer. For the purposes of examination, “the semi-reflective layer” in claims 11 and 12 will be interpreted as “the semi-reflective/transparent layer.”
Claim 13 recites “the reflection wavelength range of the dielectric reflective layer of the semi-reflective layer is close to the emission wavelength range of the microdisplay chip, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the reflection wavelength range”, “the dielectric reflective layer”, and “the emission wavelength range.” Specifically, it is unclear what constitutes “the reflection wavelength range” or “the emission wavelength range” and no “dielectric reflective layer” has been defined in claim 13 or claim 1 from which claim 13 depends.
Moreover, the term “close” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what range of wavelengths should be considered “close to the emission wavelength range” and it is unclear what the metes and bounds of such a limitation are intended to be.
Further, the term “most” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “most” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how “most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip” can be reflected into the eye, as it is unclear if “most” is referring to a wavelength range, a total luminance, an image, or some other feature of the light. Further, as such a limitation depends both on the structure of the display and the location of the eye, it is unclear how such a structure can be defined such that “most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye,” as eyes at different locations will receive different amounts of light.
For the purposes of examination, any semi-reflective layer that reflects any wavelengths of light emitted from the microdisplay chip will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 14 recites “the light emitted from the microdisplay chip has a specific polarization state, and the reflected light from the semi-reflective layer is also controlled in this polarization state, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “the light emitted” as it is unclear what light should be defined to have the claimed polarization state. There is also insufficient antecedent basis for “the semi-reflective layer” as the claim depends upon claim 1 which recites “a semi-reflective/transparent layer.” Additionally, it is unclear how the reflected light can be “controlled in this polarization state.” Specifically, it is unclear what structure is provided to control the polarization state or if any structure that reflects such a polarization state would read on the claimed invention.
Further, the term “most” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “most” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how “most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip” can be reflected into the eye, as it is unclear if “most” is referring to a wavelength range, a total luminance, an image, or some other feature of the light. Further, as such a limitation depends both on the structure of the display and the location of the eye, it is unclear how such a structure can be defined such that “most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye,” as eyes at different locations will receive different amounts of light.
For the purposes of examination, any display that emits light with at least one polarization state and semi-reflective layer that reflects the at least one polarization state will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim 15 recites “the reflectance and transmittance of the semi-reflective layer are configured to be adjustable, to adapt to different environmental lighting conditions.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the terms “the reflectance and transmittance” as no values have been defined. There is also insufficient antecedent basis for “the semi-reflective layer” as the claim depends upon claim 1 which recites “a semi-reflective/transparent layer.” Moreover, it is unclear how the “reflectance and transmittance” can be “adjustable,” as any semi-reflective layer as defined in the instant application is merely a coating structure and it is unclear how such a structure can be adjustable. It is unclear if the claim is intended to require different emission characteristics of the light from the microdisplay, different environmental conditions, or some other structure. Further, as any semi-reflective layer would reflect different environmental light differently, it is unclear what is required by the claims.
For the purposes of examination, any semi-reflective layer that has a structure capable of reflecting/transmitting a different amount of light based on wavelength or polarization will be interpreted as reading on the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masuda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,659,840; hereinafter – “Masuda”).
Regarding claim 1, Masuda teaches a compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system, comprising:
1) a microdisplay chip (130, 115); 2) a transparent optical element (510, 511, 512, 513, 514, 515, 710) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 12; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65);
wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (10a, 15, 16b), a phase modulation layer (10), and a phase compensation layer (16a, 18a, 20) (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61);
wherein the phase modulation layer (10) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65);
wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer (10a, 15, 16b) allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65);
wherein the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 2, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that it further includes an auxiliary optical imaging system (120), wherein the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system before entering the transparent optical element (See e.g. Fig. 12; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 3, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the phase modulation layer controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer also allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through: further comprise the phase modulation layer having a semi- reflective/transparent layer, through which light emitted from the microdisplay chip directly enters the semi-reflective/transparent layer, or enters the semi- reflective/transparent layer after being processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system; after reflection by the semi-reflective/transparent layer, the light undergoes the desired phase modulation, reflecting toward the human eye and generating a virtual image relative to the position opposite the optical element and the human eye; the phase compensation layer compensates for the phase change of the phase modulation layer, ensuring that light passing through the optical element remains unaffected by phase modulation and enters the human eye without interference (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 4, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the microdisplay chip is one of the following microdisplay technologies: LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED (See e.g. Fig. 12; C. 17, L. 11-20).
Regarding claim 5, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the transparent optical element is integrated into the vehicle's windshield (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 12; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 6, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that it further includes another optical imaging system (120); wherein the other optical system consists of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element (See e.g. Fig. 12; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 8, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a spherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 9, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is an aspherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 10, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a freeform mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 11, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the semi-reflective layer (15) is a metal semi-reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 7 and 13; C. 9, L. 3-22; C. 9, L. 55-64).
Regarding claim 12, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the semi-reflective layer is a dielectric reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 7 and 13; C. 9, L. 3-22; C. 9, L. 55-64).
Regarding claim 13, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the reflection wavelength range of the dielectric reflective layer of the semi-reflective layer is close to the emission wavelength range of the microdisplay chip, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 14, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the light emitted from the microdisplay chip has a specific polarization state, and the reflected light from the semi-reflective layer is also controlled in this polarization state, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Regarding claim 15, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda further teaches that the reflectance and transmittance of the semi-reflective layer are configured to be adjustable, to adapt to different environmental lighting conditions (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 12; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0309967).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system, comprising:
1) a microdisplay chip (41, 63, 90); 2) a transparent optical element (31, 36, 38, 40, 50, 51, 52, 60, 71, 73, 75, 81, 82, 90) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0024, 0037, and 0042);
wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (38, 51, 73, 81), a phase modulation layer (31, 52, 71), and a phase compensation layer (36, 56, 75, 82) (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042);
wherein the phase modulation layer (31, 52, 71) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042);
wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer (38, 51, 73, 81) allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042);
wherein the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation layer controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer also allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through: further comprise the phase modulation layer having a semi- reflective/transparent layer, through which light emitted from the microdisplay chip directly enters the semi-reflective/transparent layer, or enters the semi- reflective/transparent layer after being processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system; after reflection by the semi-reflective/transparent layer, the light undergoes the desired phase modulation, reflecting toward the human eye and generating a virtual image relative to the position opposite the optical element and the human eye; the phase compensation layer compensates for the phase change of the phase modulation layer, ensuring that light passing through the optical element remains unaffected by phase modulation and enters the human eye without interference (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the transparent optical element is integrated into the vehicle's windshield (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0024, 0037, and 0042).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a holographic structure, and the holographic structure generates an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0028 and 0033).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a spherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is an aspherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a freeform mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the semi-reflective layer (38, 51, 73, 81) is a metal semi-reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0005 and 0035).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the semi-reflective layer (38, 51, 73, 81) is a dielectric reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0005 and 0035).
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the reflection wavelength range of the dielectric reflective layer of the semi-reflective layer is close to the emission wavelength range of the microdisplay chip, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light emitted from the microdisplay chip has a specific polarization state, and the reflected light from the semi-reflective layer is also controlled in this polarization state, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0040-0042).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the reflectance and transmittance of the semi-reflective layer are configured to be adjustable, to adapt to different environmental lighting conditions (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-15 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shikii et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2013/0182302; hereinafter – “Shikii”).
Regarding claim 1, Shikii teaches a compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system, comprising:
1) a microdisplay chip (110, 123, 125, 130); 2) a transparent optical element (140, 150, 250, 350, 440, 450, 540, 550, 940, 950) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, and 27; Paragraphs 0103-0113);
wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 180, 490, 444, 543, 544), a phase modulation layer (150, 250, 350, 450, 550, 950), and a phase compensation layer (16a, 18a, 20) (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315);
wherein the phase modulation layer (150, 250, 350, 450, 550, 950) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315);
wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer (143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 180, 490, 444, 543, 544) allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315);
wherein the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 2, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that it further includes an auxiliary optical imaging system (121, 122, 124), wherein the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system before entering the transparent optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, and 27; Paragraphs 0103-0113).
Regarding claim 3, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the phase modulation layer controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer also allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through: further comprise the phase modulation layer having a semi- reflective/transparent layer, through which light emitted from the microdisplay chip directly enters the semi-reflective/transparent layer, or enters the semi- reflective/transparent layer after being processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system; after reflection by the semi-reflective/transparent layer, the light undergoes the desired phase modulation, reflecting toward the human eye and generating a virtual image relative to the position opposite the optical element and the human eye; the phase compensation layer compensates for the phase change of the phase modulation layer, ensuring that light passing through the optical element remains unaffected by phase modulation and enters the human eye without interference (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 4, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the microdisplay chip is one of the following microdisplay technologies: LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0105-0106, 0109-0110, and 0291).
Regarding claim 5, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the transparent optical element is integrated into the vehicle's windshield (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 6, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that it further includes another optical imaging system (121, 122, 124); wherein the other optical system consists of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, and 27; Paragraphs 0103-0113).
Regarding claim 7, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a holographic structure, and the holographic structure generates an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 8, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a spherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 9, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is an aspherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 10, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a freeform mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 13, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the reflection wavelength range of the dielectric reflective layer of the semi-reflective layer is close to the emission wavelength range of the microdisplay chip, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 14, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the light emitted from the microdisplay chip has a specific polarization state, and the reflected light from the semi-reflective layer is also controlled in this polarization state, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Regarding claim 15, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii further teaches that the reflectance and transmittance of the semi-reflective layer are configured to be adjustable, to adapt to different environmental lighting conditions (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Masuda.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose that it further includes an auxiliary optical imaging system, wherein the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system before entering the transparent optical element
However, Masuda teaches a display apparatus comprising 1) a microdisplay chip (130, 115); 2) a transparent optical element (510, 511, 512, 513, 514, 515, 710) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 12; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65); wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (10a, 15, 16b), a phase modulation layer (10), and a phase compensation layer (16a, 18a, 20) (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61); wherein the phase modulation layer (10) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer (10a, 15, 16b) allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through; wherein the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65), and wherein it further includes an auxiliary optical imaging system (120), wherein the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system before entering the transparent optical element (See e.g. Fig. 12; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Masuda teaches this auxiliary optical imaging system such that “the difficulty of viewing due to the binocular parallax occurring when the image 181 of the display content 180 reflected by the windshield unit 710 is viewed with both eyes can be eliminated” (C. 17, L. 58-65) to provide “improvement of the ease of viewing while downsizing of apparatuses” (C. 1, L. 26-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display system of Wang with the auxiliary optical imaging system of Masuda such that “the difficulty of viewing due to the binocular parallax occurring when the image 181 of the display content 180 reflected by the windshield unit 710 is viewed with both eyes can be eliminated” to provide “improvement of the ease of viewing while downsizing of apparatuses,” as taught by Masuda (C. 1, L. 26-27; C. 17, L. 58-65).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose that it further includes another optical imaging system; wherein the other optical system consists of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element.
However, Masuda teaches a display apparatus comprising 1) a microdisplay chip (130, 115); 2) a transparent optical element (510, 511, 512, 513, 514, 515, 710) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 2 and 12; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65); wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (10a, 15, 16b), a phase modulation layer (10), and a phase compensation layer (16a, 18a, 20) (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61); wherein the phase modulation layer (10) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer (10a, 15, 16b) allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through; wherein the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape (See e.g. Figs. 2-4, 7-8, and 12-13; C. 2, L. 36 – C. 3, L. 29; C. 4, L. 61 – C. 5, L. 51; C. 8, L. 60 – C. 11, L. 61; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65), and wherein it further includes another optical imaging system (120); wherein the other optical system consists of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element (See e.g. Fig. 12; C. 16, L. 56 – C. 17, L. 65).
Masuda teaches this auxiliary optical imaging system such that “the difficulty of viewing due to the binocular parallax occurring when the image 181 of the display content 180 reflected by the windshield unit 710 is viewed with both eyes can be eliminated” (C. 17, L. 58-65) to provide “improvement of the ease of viewing while downsizing of apparatuses” (C. 1, L. 26-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display system of Wang with the auxiliary optical imaging system of Masuda such that “the difficulty of viewing due to the binocular parallax occurring when the image 181 of the display content 180 reflected by the windshield unit 710 is viewed with both eyes can be eliminated” to provide “improvement of the ease of viewing while downsizing of apparatuses,” as taught by Masuda (C. 1, L. 26-27; C. 17, L. 58-65).
Claim(s) 4 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Powell et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2010/0046075; hereinafter – “Powell”).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that HUDs can include LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED technologies (Paragraph 0003) but fails to explicitly disclose that the microdisplay chip is one of the following microdisplay technologies: LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED.
However, Powell teaches an embedded relay lens for head-up displays comprising 1) a microdisplay chip (210); 2) a transparent optical element (112) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image wherein the microdisplay chip is one of the following microdisplay technologies: LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED (See e.g. Figs. 2-4 and 6; Paragraphs 0012-0013, 0017, and 0020).
Powell teaches these microdisplay technologies as they are suitable choices to provide a display that is “capable of enabling a virtual display such that if a user looks through optical relay 100 while an image is projected onto optical relay 100” (Paragraph 0017) and such that “the viewer may observe a combination of the background image 220 with the image displayed by projector 210” (Paragraph 0020) and “diffractive artifacts may be reduced, minimized, and/or eliminated” (Paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display system of Wang with the microdisplay chip that is LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED as in Powell to provide a display that is “capable of enabling a virtual display such that if a user looks through optical relay 100 while an image is projected onto optical relay 100” and such that “the viewer may observe a combination of the background image 220 with the image displayed by projector 210” and “diffractive artifacts may be reduced, minimized, and/or eliminated,” as taught by Powell (Paragraphs 0012, 0017, and 0020).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., a head-up display system) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., a generic projecting microdisplay) with other component(s) (i.e., a LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, or Micro-LED microdisplay), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element for another (i.e., substituting a LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, or Micro-LED microdisplay for a generic microdisplay), and the results of the substitution (i.e., a head-up display system with a LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, or Micro-LED microdisplay) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to In re Fout, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982), and/or In re O'Farrell, 7 USPQ2d 1673 (Fed. Cir. 1988), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute the LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, or Micro-LED microdisplay of reference Powell for the generic microdisplay of reference Wang, since the result would have been predictable.
Claim(s) 7 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Shikii.
Regarding claim 7, Masuda teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Masuda fails to explicitly disclose that the phase modulation surface is a holographic structure, and the holographic structure generates an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip.
However, Shikii teaches a see-through display device and vehicle having a see-through display device mounted thereon comprising 1) a microdisplay chip (110, 123, 125, 130); 2) a transparent optical element (140, 150, 250, 350, 440, 450, 540, 550, 940, 950) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, and 27; Paragraphs 0103-0113); wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 180, 490, 444, 543, 544), a phase modulation layer (150, 250, 350, 450, 550, 950), and a phase compensation layer (16a, 18a, 20); wherein the phase modulation layer (150, 250, 350, 450, 550, 950) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer (143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 180, 490, 444, 543, 544) allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through; wherein the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315); and wherein the phase modulation surface is a holographic structure, and the holographic structure generates an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 1-7, 9-19, 22-24, 27, and 32-35; Paragraphs 0103-0113, 0134-0142, 0146-0158, 0160-0171, 0173-0180, 0193-0205, 0212-0231, 0233-0251, 0255-0261, 0263-0281, and 0309-0315).
Shikii teaches this holographic structure “to provide simple techniques for cause little stray light in a see-through display device” and “to provide a see-through display device configured to display images with excellent visibility and a vehicle on which the see-through display device is mounted” (Paragraph 0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display system of Masuda with the holographic structure of Shikii “to provide simple techniques for cause little stray light in a see-through display device” and “to provide a see-through display device configured to display images with excellent visibility and a vehicle on which the see-through display device is mounted,” as taught by Shikii (Paragraph 0053).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shikii in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 11, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii fails to explicitly disclose that the semi-reflective layer is a metal semi-reflective layer.
However, Wang teaches an optical device with a phase modulation layer and phase compensating layer comprising 1) a microdisplay chip (41, 63, 90); 2) a transparent optical element (31, 36, 38, 40, 50, 51, 52, 60, 71, 73, 75, 81, 82, 90) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0024, 0037, and 0042); wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (38, 51, 73, 81), a phase modulation layer (31, 52, 71), and a phase compensation layer (36, 56, 75, 82) (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042), and wherein the semi-reflective layer (38, 51, 73, 81) is a metal semi-reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0005 and 0035).
Wang teaches this metal semi-reflective layer such that “the brightness of displayed image and transparency of the optical film can be both optimized” (Paragraph 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display system of Shikii with the metal semi-reflective layer of Wang such that “the brightness of displayed image and transparency of the optical film can be both optimized,” as taught by Wang (Paragraph 0035), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 12, Shikii teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Shikii fails to explicitly disclose that the semi-reflective layer is a dielectric reflective layer.
However, Wang teaches an optical device with a phase modulation layer and phase compensating layer comprising 1) a microdisplay chip (41, 63, 90); 2) a transparent optical element (31, 36, 38, 40, 50, 51, 52, 60, 71, 73, 75, 81, 82, 90) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0024, 0037, and 0042); wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (38, 51, 73, 81), a phase modulation layer (31, 52, 71), and a phase compensation layer (36, 56, 75, 82) (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042), and wherein the semi-reflective layer (38, 51, 73, 81) is a dielectric reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0005 and 0035).
Wang teaches this dielectric semi-reflective layer such that “the brightness of displayed image and transparency of the optical film can be both optimized” (Paragraph 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-up display system of Shikii with the dielectric semi-reflective layer of Wang such that “the brightness of displayed image and transparency of the optical film can be both optimized,” as taught by Wang (Paragraph 0035), and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Magarill et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2013/0100524; hereinafter – “Magarill”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system, comprising:
1) a microdisplay chip (41, 63, 90); 2) a transparent optical element (31, 36, 38, 40, 50, 51, 52, 60, 71, 73, 75, 81, 82, 90) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0024, 0037, and 0042);
wherein the optical element further includes a semi-reflective/transparent layer (38, 51, 73, 81), a phase modulation layer (31, 52, 71), and a phase compensation layer (36, 56, 75, 82) (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042);
wherein the phase modulation layer (31, 52, 71) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042);
wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer (38, 51, 73, 81) allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042);
wherein the transparent optical element has a planar shape is sufficiently close to a planar shape (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
While Wang teaches a structure reading on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed microdisplay chip, Examiner further submits reference Magarill.
Magarill teaches a microdisplay-based head-up display system comprising 1) a microdisplay chip (80); 2) a transparent optical element (20) positioned at a certain distance from the display chip, which forms a virtual image wherein the transparent optical element (20) controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0014, 0020-0022, and 0034-0037).
Magarill teaches this microdisplay chip as it “minimizes weight and size, minimizes aberrations, reduces optical element alignment and machining/molding complexities thereby achieving required accuracy, minimizes manufacturing costs, and is capable of operating under an enormous range of constantly varying environmental conditions/changes” (Paragraph 0009) and “to achieve a wide field-of-view and provide superior image quality” (Paragraph 0022) in order to provide a system that “includes aberration correction capabilities and may easily and effectively replace a CRT-based HUD system in aircrafts while providing light-weight, multi-color, superior imaging capabilities with a large field-of-view” (Abstract).
Therefore, even if Wang did not teach the claimed microdisplay chip, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with the microdisplay chip of Magarill as it “minimizes weight and size, minimizes aberrations, reduces optical element alignment and machining/molding complexities thereby achieving required accuracy, minimizes manufacturing costs, and is capable of operating under an enormous range of constantly varying environmental conditions/changes” and “to achieve a wide field-of-view and provide superior image quality” in order to provide a system that “includes aberration correction capabilities and may easily and effectively replace a CRT-based HUD system in aircrafts while providing light-weight, multi-color, superior imaging capabilities with a large field-of-view,” as taught by Magarill (Abstract; Paragraphs 0009 and 0022).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose that it further includes an auxiliary optical imaging system, wherein the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system before entering the transparent optical element
However, Magarill further teaches that it further includes an auxiliary optical imaging system (50), wherein the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system before entering the transparent optical element (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0020-0022 and 0031-0037).
Magarill teaches this auxiliary optical imaging system as it “minimizes weight and size, minimizes aberrations, reduces optical element alignment and machining/molding complexities thereby achieving required accuracy, minimizes manufacturing costs, and is capable of operating under an enormous range of constantly varying environmental conditions/changes” (Paragraph 0009) and “to achieve a wide field-of-view and provide superior image quality” (Paragraph 0022) in order to provide a system that “includes aberration correction capabilities and may easily and effectively replace a CRT-based HUD system in aircrafts while providing light-weight, multi-color, superior imaging capabilities with a large field-of-view” (Abstract).
Therefore, even if Wang did not teach the claimed microdisplay chip, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with the auxiliary optical imaging system of Magarill as it “minimizes weight and size, minimizes aberrations, reduces optical element alignment and machining/molding complexities thereby achieving required accuracy, minimizes manufacturing costs, and is capable of operating under an enormous range of constantly varying environmental conditions/changes” and “to achieve a wide field-of-view and provide superior image quality” in order to provide a system that “includes aberration correction capabilities and may easily and effectively replace a CRT-based HUD system in aircrafts while providing light-weight, multi-color, superior imaging capabilities with a large field-of-view,” as taught by Magarill (Abstract; Paragraphs 0009 and 0022).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation layer controls the light from the microdisplay chip, reflecting it to the human eye, so that the light forms an enlarged virtual image at a distance; wherein the semi-reflective/transparent layer also allows a portion of light from the real world to pass through: further comprise the phase modulation layer having a semi- reflective/transparent layer, through which light emitted from the microdisplay chip directly enters the semi-reflective/transparent layer, or enters the semi- reflective/transparent layer after being processed by the auxiliary optical imaging system; after reflection by the semi-reflective/transparent layer, the light undergoes the desired phase modulation, reflecting toward the human eye and generating a virtual image relative to the position opposite the optical element and the human eye; the phase compensation layer compensates for the phase change of the phase modulation layer, ensuring that light passing through the optical element remains unaffected by phase modulation and enters the human eye without interference (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Magarill further teaches that the microdisplay chip is one of the following microdisplay technologies: LCOS, LCD, DLP, OLED, LED, Micro-LED (Paragraphs 0014 and 0039).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the transparent optical element is integrated into the vehicle's windshield (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0024, 0037, and 0042).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang fails to explicitly disclose that it further includes another optical imaging system; wherein the other optical system consists of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element.
However, Magarill further teaches that it further includes another optical imaging system (50); wherein the other optical system consists of spherical mirrors, reflective mirrors, aspherical lenses, or freeform surfaces, and is used in conjunction with the transparent optical element (See e.g. Fig. 1; Paragraphs 0020-0022 and 0031-0037).
Magarill teaches this auxiliary optical imaging system as it “minimizes weight and size, minimizes aberrations, reduces optical element alignment and machining/molding complexities thereby achieving required accuracy, minimizes manufacturing costs, and is capable of operating under an enormous range of constantly varying environmental conditions/changes” (Paragraph 0009) and “to achieve a wide field-of-view and provide superior image quality” (Paragraph 0022) in order to provide a system that “includes aberration correction capabilities and may easily and effectively replace a CRT-based HUD system in aircrafts while providing light-weight, multi-color, superior imaging capabilities with a large field-of-view” (Abstract).
Therefore, even if Wang did not teach the claimed microdisplay chip, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with the auxiliary optical imaging system of Magarill as it “minimizes weight and size, minimizes aberrations, reduces optical element alignment and machining/molding complexities thereby achieving required accuracy, minimizes manufacturing costs, and is capable of operating under an enormous range of constantly varying environmental conditions/changes” and “to achieve a wide field-of-view and provide superior image quality” in order to provide a system that “includes aberration correction capabilities and may easily and effectively replace a CRT-based HUD system in aircrafts while providing light-weight, multi-color, superior imaging capabilities with a large field-of-view,” as taught by Magarill (Abstract; Paragraphs 0009 and 0022).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a holographic structure, and the holographic structure generates an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0028 and 0033).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a spherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is an aspherical mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the phase modulation surface is a Fresnel lens with a thin structure and a lens shape, and the phase modulation produced by the Fresnel lens is a freeform mirror, generating an enlarged virtual image from the image produced by the microdisplay chip (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the semi-reflective layer (38, 51, 73, 81) is a metal semi-reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0005 and 0035).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the semi-reflective layer (38, 51, 73, 81) is a dielectric reflective layer (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0005 and 0035).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the reflection wavelength range of the dielectric reflective layer of the semi-reflective layer is close to the emission wavelength range of the microdisplay chip, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the light emitted from the microdisplay chip has a specific polarization state, and the reflected light from the semi-reflective layer is also controlled in this polarization state, such that most of the light emitted from the microdisplay chip is reflected into the eye (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0040-0042).
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Magarill teaches the compact, wide-field-of-view head-up display system according to claim 1, as above.
Wang further teaches that the reflectance and transmittance of the semi-reflective layer are configured to be adjustable, to adapt to different environmental lighting conditions (See e.g. Figs. 2-9; Paragraphs 0032-0042).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Georgiou et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2018/0364482) teaches a holographic display system with a similar transparent optical element.
Matsushita (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2017/0184844) teaches a display light projecting optical system comprising a similar optical arrangement.
Matsushita (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2017/0153452) teaches a reflecting plate for a display and an optical system for projecting display light.
Tao et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2017/0082915) teaches a video projecting structure having a similar configuration with an automobile window.
Matsushita (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2016/0327792) teaches a display light projection optical device having a similar configuration of optical elements.
Matsushita (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2016/0282616) teaches an optical device having a transparent optical element with a similar construction.
Sprague et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2009/0067057) teaches a buried numerical aperture expander having transparent properties used with a microdisplay.
Brown (U.S. Patent No. 6,236,511) teaches a beam combining optical element with a similar construction.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896