Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/24/205, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hochman.
The drawing objection is withdrawn. Please see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hochman et al. (US 20130189646 A1) hereinafter, Hochman, in view of Llop (US 20140272778 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hochman teaches
a guided bone regeneration (GBR) surgical procedure method, comprising:
scanning a patient's oral cavity to fabricate a temporary structure having a shape identical to or corresponding to a shape of an extracted tooth (digital scanning, ¶0156, Hochman);
inserting the temporary structure (10, Fig. 11, Hochman) into an extraction socket (102, Fig. 6, Hochman) to identify a gum incision area, wherein the inserting of the temporary structure enables identification of the gum incision area by visually confirming a location and range of the extraction socket (orientation of the shell 10, ¶0139 & spatial relationship of the residual soft tissue gingival socket, ¶0204, Hochman);
making a gum incision (¶0161, Hochman);
removing the temporary structure (10, Fig. 11, Hochman) from the extraction socket (removed, ¶0210, Hochman);
attaching bone shields to outer and inner sides of the extraction socket (optional barrier membrane can be positioned if necessary before or after the bone grafting, ¶0211, & intra-operative abutment that is placed during the immediate soft tissue implant preservation protocol to allow bone grating materials to be placed within the bone gap, ¶0231, Hochman);
inserting a bone graft material into an empty space formed by removing the temporary structure from the extraction socket (bone grafting materials are placed within the gap, ¶0211, Hochman).
Hochman does not teach making a gum incision along the identified gum incision area. However, Llop teaches a bone foundation guide and a dental implant surgical guide (abstract, Llop) wherein
making a gum incision along the identified gum incision area (make incisions in the gum area of the dental surgical site, ¶0045, Llop); and
suturing the incision area (gum tissues can then be sutured, ¶0051, Llop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hochman by incorporating the teachings above as taught by Llop in order to peel back the gum to expose and cover up the portion of bone (or extraction site) being operated upon (¶0045 & 0051, Llop).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hochman in view of Llop, and further in view of Horvath (US 20130261672 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hochman teaches
wherein the temporary structure (10, Fig. 1, Hochman) comprises:
a guide (10, Fig. 1, Hochman), which is fabricated to have the shape identical to or corresponding to the shape of the extracted tooth or the empty space of the extraction socket through the scanning of the patient's oral cavity (mimic the shape of the soft tissue socket, ¶0118, Hochman); and
connectors (40, Fig. 10, Hochman).
Hochman teaches connectors but does not disclose the connectors extend to the left and right. However, Horvath teaches a distraction device for bone regeneration (abstract, Horvath), wherein
connectors (200, Fig. 11, Horvath), which are connected to the top of the guide by screws, extend to the left and right (extends with 125, Fig. 11, Horvath) from the guide (100, Fig. 11, Horvath), and are caught to the unoperated tooth (160 & 161, Fig. 11, Horvath) around the extraction socket (165, Fig. 11, Horvath), contributing to temporary fixing of the guide (Fig. 11, Horvath).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hochman and Llop by incorporating connectors as taught by Horvath in order to stimulate osteoblasts by lifting the membrane, resulting in osteogenesis (¶0157, Horvath).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Hochman in view of Llop and further in view of Drapeau et al. (US 20120045735 A1) hereinafter, Drapeau.
Regarding claim 3, Hochman teaches
a granulation tissue detachment step (S10) including making the gum incision (¶0161, Hochman);
an alveolar bone grafting step (S20) of attaching the bone shields to the outer and inner sides of the extraction socket (optional barrier membrane can be positioned if necessary before or after the bone grafting, ¶0211, & intra-operative abutment that is placed during the immediate soft tissue implant preservation protocol to allow bone grating materials to be placed within the bone gap, ¶0231, Hochman) and
inserting the bone graft material (bone grafting materials are placed within the gap, ¶0211, Hochman).
Hochman does not teach making the gum incision along the identified gum incision area. However, Llop teaches
comprising: making the gum incision along the identified gum incision area (make incisions in the gum area of the dental surgical site, ¶0045, Llop); and
a suturing step (S30) of suturing the detached granulation tissue over the extraction socket (gum tissues can then be sutured, ¶0051, Llop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hochman by incorporating the teachings above as taught by Llop in order to peel back the gum to expose and cover up the portion of bone (or extraction site) being operated upon (¶0045 & 0051, Llop).
Hochman in view of Llop does not specify detaching the granulation tissue from a top of the extraction socket. However, Drapeau teaches a dental implant system (abstract, Drapeau) wherein
detaching the granulation tissue from a top of the extraction socket (remove infected surface 65 including granulation, tissue, ¶0056, Drapeau).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hochman and Llop by incorporating the teaching above as taught by Drapeau in order to repair dental implant and the adjacent soft tissue and bone, ¶0056, Drapeau).
Regarding claim 4, Hochman teaches
wherein the granulation tissue detachment step (S10) comprises:
a gum opening step (S11) of incising the top of the gum to open the extraction socket (¶0161, Hochman);
a temporary structure (10, Fig. 10, Hochman) installation step (S12) of inserting the temporary structure (10, Fig. 10, Hochman) into the extraction socket (102, Fig. 6, Hochman) to temporarily fix the temporary structure (10, Fig. 10, Hochman); a
gum incision step (S13) (¶0161, Hochman); and
a temporary structure (10, Fig. 11, Hochman) removal step (S14) of removing the temporary structure after detaching the incised granulation tissue (removed, ¶0210, Hochman).
Hochman does not teach incising the outer and inner sides of the extraction socket along the contour identified gum incision area. However, Llop teaches
incising the outer and inner sides of the extraction socket along the contour identified gum incision area (make incisions in the gum area of the dental surgical site, ¶0045, Llop).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hochman by incorporating the teachings above as taught by Llop in order to peel back the gum to expose and cover up the portion of bone (or extraction site) being operated upon (¶0045 & 0051, Llop).
Regarding claim 5, Hochman teaches
wherein the alveolar bone grafting step (S20) comprises:
a bone shield fixing step (S21) of placing the bone shields on the outer and inner sides of the extraction socket (optional barrier membrane can be positioned if necessary before or after the bone grafting, ¶0211, & intra-operative abutment that is placed during the immediate soft tissue implant preservation protocol to allow bone grating materials to be placed within the bone gap, ¶0231, Hochman); and
a bone graft material insertion step (S22) of transplanting the bone graft material into the extraction socket defined by the bone shields (bone grafting materials are placed within the gap, ¶0211, Hochman).
Conclusion
/K.X.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774