DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because all of the drawings are in gray-scale rather than composed of solid line drawings. See 37 CFR 1.84(a)(1) and 37 CFR 1.84 (l). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Windemuller et al. (US Patent No. 5,113,644).
In reference to claim 1, Windemuller discloses a harvesting machine 10 comprising:
a. a shaking mechanism 40 operable to shake fruit or nuts from a tree or bush, wherein said shaking mechanism 40 is located on a first lateral side of the harvesting machine 10 (Fig. 3, each shaking mechanism 40 is located on a lateral side); and
b. blowing mechanism 160 positioned posteriorly to said shaking mechanism 40 (Fig. 3, each blowing mechanism 160 is located posteriorly to the respective shaking mechanism 40 relative to the tree or bush) for moving said fruit or nuts shaken free by said shaking mechanism 40 from a base of the tree or bush and away from a row in which the tree or bush is positioned (Fig. 3), wherein said blowing mechanism 160 is located on said first lateral side of the harvesting machine 10 (Fig. 3).
In reference to claim 5, Windemuller discloses a rotating brush 40 (each shaker mechanism 40 is formed as a rotating brush) having a plane of rotation that is substantially parallel to a horizontal plane (Figs. 3 and 6).
In reference to claim 14, Windemuller discloses a method of harvesting using a harvesting vehicle 10 comprising:
a. attaching a shaking mechanism 40 operable to shake fruit or nuts from a tree or bush in a row (Fig. 3);
b. activating said shaking mechanism 40 to vibrate said tree or bush such that said fruit or nuts fall from said tree or bush (Fig. 3); and
c. activating a blowing mechanism 160 for moving said fruit or nuts away from a base of the tree or bush to an opposite side of said row from said harvesting vehicle 10 (Fig. 3).
In reference to claim 18, Windemuller discloses activating a rotating brush 40 (each shaker mechanism 40 is formed as a rotating brush) having a plane of rotation that is substantially parallel to the horizontal and moves said fruit or nuts from said base of said tree or bush (Fig. 3).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, 14-16, 18 and 20-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,806,080. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference patent entirely anticipate the claims of the present invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Marrs (US Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0319930) discloses a harvesting machine with a shaking mechanism 27 and a blowing mechanism 47 (Fig. 3); Cutts et al. (US Patent No. 3,590,566) discloses a harvester with a blower 39 and shaking mechanism 36 (Fig. 1); and Bobard et al. (US Patent No. 4,241,569) with a shaking means 21 and blower 15 (Figs. 1 and 4).
/BRAD HARCOURT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
8/27/26