DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 2023/0168464) in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0275421).
Regarding claim 1, Xie (figures 1-8) discloses a lens driving device, comprising:
a housing (3) having a through hole;
a lens located in the housing and partially extending out of the housing, the lens comprising an optical axis (lens barrel 8; see at least paragraph 0027);
a carrier frame carrying the lens (support frame 2);
a support frame arranged around the carrier frame (spring support assembly 4);
at least one elastic element (upper elastic plate 5) elastically connecting the carrier frame to the support frame;
a first driving assembly located at a position of a corner of the lens driving device, the first driving assembly driving the carrier frame and the lens to move in a direction along the optical axis (2 and 9; see at least paragraphs 0036-0037); and
a second driving assembly located at the position of another corner of the lens driving device, the second driving assembly driving the support frame, the carrier frame, and the lens to move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (2 and 10; see at least paragraphs 0038-0039).
Xie discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Xie is silent regarding the elastic element being made of polymer material. Park et al. (figures 1-6) teaches the elastic element being made of polymer material (150, 160; polyimide; see at least paragraph 0096). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the elastic member as taught by Park et al. in order to provide a lens moving apparatus which is designed to reduce noise and to eliminate an oscillation phenomenon at the time of driving of a motor.
Regarding claim 2, Park et al. (figures 1-6) teaches wherein the elastic element is wave-shaped.
Regarding claim 3, Park et al. (figures 1-6) teaches wherein the lens driving device further comprises a first metal member fixing one end of the elastic element to the carrier frame, and/or a second metal member fixing the other end of the elastic element to the support frame (At least one of the inner frame 151 and the outer frame 152 of the upper elastic member 150 may be provided with at least one terminal portion which is conductively connected to at least one of the coil 120 of the bobbin 110 and the printed circuit board 170; see at least paragraph 0100).
Regarding claim 4, Park et al. (figures 1-6) teaches wherein the elastic element is made of at least one of silicone, rubber, polyetheretherketone, or polyimide (150, 160; polyimide; see at least paragraph 0096).
Regarding claim 5, Park et al. (figures 1-6) teaches wherein the elastic element comprises at least one first elastic element arranged on a side of the carrier frame close to the through hole and at least one second elastic element arranged on the other side of the carrier frame away from the through hole, and the first elastic element is a ring-shaped structure, and/or the second elastic element is a ring-shaped structure (150 and 160).
Regarding claim 6, Park et al. (figures 1-6) teaches wherein the elastic element comprises at least one first elastic element arranged on a side of the carrier frame close to the through hole and at least one second elastic element arranged on the other side of the carrier frame away from the through hole, a number of the first elastic elements is multiple, the first elastic elements spaced apart from each other, and/or the number of the second elastic elements is multiple, the adjacent second elastic elements spaced apart from each other (150 and 160).
Regarding claim 8, Xie (figures 1-8) discloses wherein the second driving assembly comprises a first magnet assembly fixed to the housing and arranged along a straight side forming the corner, a first driving coil spaced apart from a side of the first magnet assembly close to the through hole, a second magnet assembly arranged along another straight side forming the corner, and a second driving coil spaced apart from the side of the second magnet assembly close to the through hole, the first driving coil and the second driving coil fixed to the support frame (2-3 and 9; see at least paragraphs 0036-0037).
Claims 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 2023/0168464) in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0275421); further in view of Murayama et al. (CN 115480431).
Regarding claim 7, Xie discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Xie is silent regarding a magnetic case. Murayama et al. (figures 1-9B) teaches wherein the first driving assembly comprises a magnetic case (9) having a containment space fixed to the support frame, a first magnetic assembly (10) located in the containment space, and a first coil (11) arranged around the first magnetic assembly, the magnetic case provided with a notch, and the carrier frame comprising an extension arm fixedly connected to the first coil through the notch (7-10, CP; see at least page 7, first to fourth paragraphs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the magnetic case as taught by Murayama et al. in order to provide a lens driving device capable of inhibiting the tilt of the optical axis of the lens body.
Regarding claim 9, Murayama et al. (figures 1-9B) teaches wherein the lens driving device further comprises a first circuit board electrically connected to the first coil, one end of the first circuit board fixed to the carrier frame, and the other end of the first circuit board fixed to the support frame (3 and 6-7).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie (US 2023/0168464) in view of Park et al. (US 2018/0275421); further in view of Watabe et al. (CN 2015-99276).
Regarding claim 10, Xie discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Xie is silent regarding one elastic support member. Watabe et al. (figures 1-8) teaches wherein the lens driving device further comprises at least one elastic support member (50, 52) elastically supporting the support frame, the elastic support member comprising a first support portion fixed to the housing, a pair of second support portions fixed on opposite sides of the support frame, and a pair of connecting portions, each connecting portion connecting the first support portion and the corresponding second support portion (52A, 52B; and 50A1-50A2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the elastic support member as taught by Watabe et al. in order to stabilize the positions of the lens members and obtain a desired driving performance.
Regarding claim 11, Xie discloses the limitations as shown in the rejection of claim 1 above. However, Xie is silent regarding wherein the number of first driving assemblies is two, two first driving assemblies spaced apart from each other at two corners along one diagonal of the housing, the number of second driving assemblies is two, two second driving assemblies spaced apart from each other at two corners along another diagonal of the housing. Watabe et al. (figures 1-8) teaches wherein the number of first driving assemblies is two, two first driving assemblies spaced apart from each other at two corners along one diagonal of the housing, the number of second driving assemblies is two, two second driving assemblies spaced apart from each other at two corners along another diagonal of the housing (41-42; figure 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the driving assemblies as taught by Watabe et al. in order to stabilize the positions of the lens members and obtain a desired driving performance.
Conclusion
/Lauren Nguyen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871