DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/18/2024 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizuma (US 20200341288 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Mizuma discloses an optical system comprising:
a front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]);
a first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) disposed on an image side of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]); and
a second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]) disposed on the image side of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]),
wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during focusing (Fig. 1—elements LF1 and LF2 move during focusing),
wherein the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]) includes two or more negative lenses ([0080]: lenses 3 and 5 are negative),
wherein for focusing, the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]) does not move (Fig. 1—element L1 does not move during focusing), but the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]) move (Fig. 1—elements LF1 and LF2 move during focusing),
wherein the optical system can provide focusing from an in-focus state on an object at infinity to an in-focus state in which lateral magnification β of the optical system is -1.0 or less ([0086]: β= -1.0), and
wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-5.500 ≤ |ffr|/f1 ≤ 0.380 (-33.58/46.23= -0.726)
where f1 ([0086]: f1= 46.23) is a focal length of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]), and ffr ([0086]: f2= -33.58) is a focal length of at least one of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]).
With respect to Claim 2, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-1.500 ≤ |dltf|/d1 ≤ 0.800 (17.38/25.92= 0.670)
where dltf ([0086]: dltf= 17.38) is a moving amount of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) during focusing from infinity to a closest distance, and d1 ([0086]: 25.96) is a length on an optical axis from a surface closest to an object of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]) to a surface closest to an image plane (Fig. 1-- element IP, image plane; [0030]) of the front lens.
With respect to Claim 4, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.060 ≤ |dltr|/d1 ≤ 2.000 (19.42/25.92= 0.749)
wherein dltr ([0086]: dltr= 19.42) is a moving amount of the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]) during focusing from infinity to the closest distance.
With respect to Claim 5, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.020 ≤ df/f ≤ 0.400
where df ([0086]: df= 8.04) is a length on an optical axis from a surface closest to the object of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) to a surface closest to an image plane (Fig. 1-- element IP, image plane; [0030]) of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]), and f ([0086]: f= 80.45) is a focal length of the optical system in the in-focus state on the object at infinity.
With respect to Claim 7, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.660 ≤ |f1|/sk ≤ 23.100 (46.23/13.72=3.36)
where sk ([0086]: sk= 13.72) is an air-equivalent distance on an optical axis from a surface closest to the image plane (Fig. 1-- element IP, image plane; [0030]) of the optical system to an image plane (Fig. 1-- element IP, image plane; [0030]).
With respect to Claim 8, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-3.200 ≤ |ff|/|fr| ≤ 1.700 (33.58/56.52= 0.594)
where ff ([0086]: ff= 33.58) is a focal length of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]), and fr ([0086]: ff= -56.52) is a focal length the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]).
With respect to Claim 19, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]) has positive refractive power ([0086]: f1= 46.23),
wherein the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) has negative refractive power ([0086]: f2=-33.58), and
wherein the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]) has negative refractive power ([0086]: f4= -56.52).
With respect to Claim 20, Mizuma discloses an image pickup apparatus comprising:
an optical system (Fig. 1—element OL, optical system; [0065]); and
an image sensor ([0030]: image plane IP corresponds to an imaging plane of an image pickup element) configured to capture an image of an object through the optical system (Fig. 1—element OL, optical system; [0065]),
wherein the optical system (Fig. 1—element OL, optical system; [0065]) includes:
a front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]);
a first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) disposed on an image side of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]); and
a second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]) disposed on the image side of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]),
wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during focusing (Fig. 1—elements LF1 and LF2 move during focusing),
wherein the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]) includes two or more negative lenses ([0080]: lenses 3 and 5 are negative),
wherein for focusing, the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]) does not move (Fig. 1—element L1 does not move during focusing), but the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]) move (Fig. 1—elements LF1 and LF2 move during focusing),
wherein the optical system can provide focusing from an in-focus state on an object at infinity to an in-focus state in which lateral magnification β of the optical system is -1.0 or less ([0086]: β= -1.0), and
wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-5.500 ≤ |ffr|/f1 ≤ 0.380 (-33.58/46.23= -0.726)
where f1 ([0086]: f1= 46.23) is a focal length of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L1, first lens unit; [0079]), and
ffr ([0086]: f2= -33.58) is a focal length of at least one of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuma (US 20200341288 A1) in view of Gross (Handbook of Optical Systems Volume 3, 2007).
With respect to Claim 9, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses further comprising an intermediate lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L3, third lens unit; [0063]) that does not move for focusing (Fig. 1—element L3 does not move for focusing) and is provided between (Fig. 1—element L3 is between elements LF1 and LF2) the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]), and
wherein the intermediate lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L3, third lens unit; [0063]) includes an aperture stop (Fig. 1-- element SP, aperture stop; [0029]) and has positive refractive power as a whole ([0086]: f3= 27.12).
However, Mizuma does not disclose wherein the intermediate lens unit includes an aspheric lens. Gross and Mizuma are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Gross teaches (page, 378 section 33.1.4) that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4).
With respect to Claim 10, Mizuma and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 9, and Mizuma further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.050 ≤ fm/|f1| ≤ 1.000 (27.12/46.23= 0.586)
where fm ([0086]: f3= 27.12) is a focal length of the intermediate lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L3, third lens unit; [0063]).
With respect to Claim 11, Mizuma and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 9, and Mizuma further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
fm/f ≤ 8.400 (27.12/80.45= 0.337)
where fm ([0086]: f3= 27.12) is a focal length of the intermediate lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L3, third lens unit; [0063]), and f ([0086]: f= 80.45) is a focal length of the optical system in the in-focus state on the object at infinity.
Thus, Mizuma discloses the claimed invention except for 0.440 ≤ fm/f. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the focal length of the intermediate lens unit or the system, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
With respect to Claim 12, Mizuma and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 9, and Mizuma further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.120 ≤ fm/|fr| ≤ 0.800 (27.12/56.52= 0.479)
where fm ([0086]: f3= 27.12) is a focal length of the intermediate lens unit (Fig. 1-- element L3, third lens unit; [0063]), and fr ([0086]: ff= -56.52) is a focal length the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]).
With respect to Claim 13, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein further comprising a rear lens unit (fig. 1-- element L5, fifth lens unit; [0071]) that is disposed (Fig. 1—element L5 is on the image side of element LF2) on the image side of the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]) and does not move for focusing (Fig. 1—element L5 does not move during focusing),
wherein the rear lens unit (fig. 1-- element L5, fifth lens unit; [0071]) has positive or negative refractive power ([0086]: F5= -85.63).
However, Mizuma does not disclose wherein the rear lens unit includes an aspheric lens. Gross and Mizuma are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Gross teaches (page, 378 section 33.1.4) that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4).
With respect to Claim 14, Mizuma and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 13, and Mizuma further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.150 ≤ |fk|/|f1| ≤ 6.900 (85.63/46.23= 1.85)
where fk ([0086]: f5= -85.63) is a focal length of the rear lens unit (fig. 1-- element L5, fifth lens unit; [0071]).
With respect to Claim 15, Mizuma and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 13, and Mizuma further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.490 ≤ |fk|/f ≤ 4.500 (85.63/80.45= 1.06)
where fk ([0086]: f5= -85.63) is a focal length of the rear lens unit (fig. 1-- element L5, fifth lens unit; [0071]), and f ([0086]: f= 80.45) is a focal length of the optical system in the in-focus state on the object at infinity.
With respect to Claim 16, Mizuma and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 13, and Mizuma further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.610 ≤ |fk|/|ff| ≤ 4.000 (85.63/33.58= 2.55)
where fk ([0086]: f5= -85.63) is a focal length of the rear lens unit (fig. 1-- element L5, fifth lens unit; [0071]), and ff ([0086]: ff= 33.58) is a focal length of the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF2, second focus lens unit; [0063]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida (US20220317424 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Machida discloses an optical system comprising:
a front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]);
a first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) disposed on an image side of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]); and
a second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]) disposed on the image side of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]),
wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during focusing (Fig. 1—elements G5 and G6 move during focusing),
wherein the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]) includes two or more negative lenses ([0149]: L21 and L22 are negative),
wherein for focusing, the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]) does not move (Fig. 1—element G2 does not move during focusing), but the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]) move (Fig. 1—elements G5 and G6 move during focusing), and
wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-5.500 ≤ |ffr|/f1 ≤ 0.380 (53.501/21.86= -2.44)
where f1 (Table 1: f2= -21.86) is a focal length of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]), and ffr (Table 1: f5=- 53.501) is a focal length of at least one of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]).
However, Machida does not explicitly disclose wherein the optical system can provide focusing from an in-focus state on an object at infinity to an in-focus state in which lateral magnification β of the optical system is -1.0 or less.
Thus, Machida discloses all limitations of claim 1 except wherein the lateral magnification β of the optical system is -1.0 or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the lateral magnification β of the optical system, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With respect to Claim 2, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-1.500 ≤ |dltf|/d1 ≤ 0.800 (0.745/21.03= 0.035)
where dltf (Table 1: dltf= 0.745) is a moving amount of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) during focusing from infinity to a closest distance, and d1 (Table 1: 25.96) is a length on an optical axis from a surface closest to an object of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]) to a surface closest to an image plane (Fig. 1-- element I, image surface; [0146]) of the front lens.
With respect to Claim 4, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.060 ≤ |dltr|/d1 ≤ 2.000 (9.919/21.03= 0.47)
wherein dltr (Table 1: dltr= 9.919) is a moving amount of the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]) during focusing from infinity to the closest distance.
With respect to Claim 5, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.020 ≤ df/f ≤ 0.400 (4.945/67.9= 0.072)
where df (Table 1: df= 4.945) is a length on an optical axis from a surface closest to the object of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) to a surface closest to an image plane (Fig. 1-- element I, image surface; [0146]) of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]), and f (Table 1: f= 67.9) is a focal length of the optical system in the in-focus state on the object at infinity.
With respect to Claim 7, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.660 ≤ |f1|/sk ≤ 23.100 (21.86/13.08=1.67)
where sk (Table 1: sk= 13.08) is an air-equivalent distance on an optical axis from a surface closest to the image plane (Fig. 1-- element I, image surface; [0146]) of the optical system to an image plane (Fig. 1-- element I, image surface; [0146]).
With respect to Claim 8, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-3.200 ≤ |ff|/|fr| ≤ 1.700 (53.5/45.9= 1.16)
where ff (Table 1: ff= 53.5) is a focal length of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]), and fr (Table 1: ff= -45.9) is a focal length the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]).
With respect to Claim 17, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]) has negative refractive (Table 1: f2= -21.8),
wherein the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) has negative refractive power (Table 1: f5=-53.501), and
wherein the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]) has negative refractive power (Table 1: f6= -45.9).
With respect to Claim 20, Machida discloses an image pickup apparatus comprising:
an optical system (Fig. 1—element ZL1, zoom optical system; [0146]); and
an image sensor (Fig. 1-- element I, image surface; [0146]) configured to capture an image of an object through the optical system (Fig. 1—element ZL1, zoom optical system; [0146]),
wherein the optical system (Fig. 1—element ZL1, zoom optical system; [0146]) includes:
a front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]);
a first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) disposed on an image side of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]); and
a second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]) disposed on the image side of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]),
wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during focusing (Fig. 1—elements G5 and G6 move during focusing),
wherein the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]) includes two or more negative lenses ([0149]: L21 and L22 are negative),
wherein for focusing, the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]) does not move (Fig. 1—element G2 does not move during focusing), but the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]) move (Fig. 1—elements G5 and G6 move during focusing), and
wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-5.500 ≤ |ffr|/f1 ≤ 0.380 (53.501/21.86= -2.44)
where f1 (Table 1: f2= -21.86) is a focal length of the front lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G2, second lens group; [0146]), and
ffr (Table 1: f5=- 53.501) is a focal length of at least one of the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G5, fifth lens group; [0146]) and the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]).
However, Machida does not explicitly disclose wherein the optical system can provide focusing from an in-focus state on an object at infinity to an in-focus state in which lateral magnification β of the optical system is -1.0 or less.
Thus, Machida discloses all limitations of claim 1 except wherein the lateral magnification β of the optical system is -1.0 or less. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the lateral magnification β of the optical system, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machida (US20220317424 A1) in view of Gross (Handbook of Optical Systems Volume 3, 2007).
With respect to Claim 13, Machida discloses the optical system according to claim 1, and further discloses wherein further comprising a rear lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G7, seventh lens group; [0154]) that is disposed (Fig. 1—element G7 is on the image side of element G6) on the image side of the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]) and does not move for focusing (Fig. 1—element G7 does not move during focusing),
wherein the rear lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G7, seventh lens group; [0154]) has positive or negative refractive power (Table 1: F5= -62.8).
However, Machida does not disclose wherein the rear lens unit includes an aspheric lens. Gross and Machida are related as both pertaining to the field of optical systems. Gross teaches (page, 378 section 33.1.4) that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance. Making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants involves modifying the curvatures of the two surfaces while keeping the focal power of the lens the same (“zero power operations”, “do not introduce any refractive power”). Gross teaches that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants, because Gross teaches that changing the curvatures of a lens is amongst the operations that an ordinary skilled artisan would typically employ in order to find a lens design with better performance (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because Gross teaches that making a surface aspheric with negligible expansion constants does not introduce any refractive power changes and can be done without any great perturbation of the existing setup (Gross, page 378, section 33.1.4).
With respect to Claim 14, Machida and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 13, and Machida further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.150 ≤ |fk|/|f1| ≤ 6.900 (62.87/21.86= 2.87)
where fk (Table 1: f5= -62.87) is a focal length of the rear lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G7, fifth lens group; [0152]).
With respect to Claim 15, Machida and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 13, and Machida further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.490 ≤ |fk|/f ≤ 4.500 (62.87/67.9= 0.92)
where fk (Table 1: f5= -62.87) is a focal length of the rear lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G7, fifth lens group; [0152]), and f (Table 1: f= 67.9) is a focal length of the optical system in the in-focus state on the object at infinity.
With respect to Claim 16, Machida and Gross disclose the optical system according to claim 13, and Machida further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.610 ≤ |fk|/|ff| ≤ 4.000 (62.87/53.5= 1.17)
where fk (Table 1: f5= -62.87) is a focal length of the rear lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G7, fifth lens group; [0152]), and ff (Table 1: ff= 53.5) is a focal length of the second focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element G6, sixth lens group; [0146]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 3, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1. However, regarding Claim 3, the prior art taken either alone or in combination
fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the value of |ff|/f including the specific arrangement where ff is a focal length of the first focus lens unit, and f is a focal length of the optical system in the in-focus state on the object at infinity satisfy:
1.340 ≤ |ff|/f ≤ 6.370,
and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 6, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1. However, regarding Claim 6, the prior art taken either alone or in combination
fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the value of dr/f including the specific arrangement where where dr is a length on an optical axis from a surface closest to the object of the second focus lens unit to a surface closest to an image plane of the second focus lens unit, and f a focal length of the optical system in the in-focus state on the object at infinity satisfy:
0.090 ≤ dr/f ≤ 0.500,
and in combination with all other claimed limitations of Claim 1.
With respect to Claim 18, Mizuma discloses the optical system according to claim 1and further discloses wherein the first focus lens unit (Fig. 1-- element LF1, first focus lens unit; [0063]) has negative refractive power ([0086]: f2=-33.58).
However, neither Mizuma nor any combination of the prior art discloses wherein the front lens unit has negative refractive power, and
wherein the second focus lens unit has positive refractive power, in combination with all other limitations of Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Komiyama (US 20210382283 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0116].
Goto (US 20220244513 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0026]-[0032].
Kurokawa (US 20230266572 A1) discloses aspects of the instant invention, see Fig. 1 and [0054]-[0064].
/MACKENZI BOURQUINE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872