DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on12/18/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taido et al., CN 102165654.
Regarding claim 1, Taido teaches (at least in Figures 2 and 3) a spark plug (abstract) comprising: a metal shell (3); a center electrode (5, see Figure 1) held by the metal shell in an insulated manner (insulator 2); a ground electrode (27) including a first end portion (26) and a second end portion (opposite end, where chip 32 is mounted), the ground electrode being connected to the metal shell at the first end portion (see Figure 2) and extending to the second end portion (id); and a chip (32) disposed on an opposed surface (surface of ground electrode where chip 32 is mounted, see Figures 2, 3 and 4d), in the ground electrode, opposite to a tip end surface of the center electrode (tip of center electrode 31), wherein the opposed surface includes an uneven surface (29) including an uneven portion extending in a first direction (see Figures 2 and 3). Taido further teaches the thickness of the uneven layer is less than 200 microns ([0077]). Although Taido fails to specifically teach the maximum distance between the highest and lowest portion, it is the position of the examiner that lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation and optimization for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the surface roughness to achieve appropriate bonding strength.
Regarding claim 2, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the first direction is a longitudinal direction of the ground electrode (29 follows longitudinal direction of ground electrode 27, see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the uneven surface also includes an uneven portion extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (second direction extends perpendicular into the surface of ground electrode, see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the ground electrode includes a base material and a metal film covering the base material (Ni plating film 41, see Figure 4a), a thermal conductivity of the metal film is higher than a thermal conductivity of the base material (thermal conductivity of Ni plating is higher than thermal conductivity of Ni-alloy, see [0074]), and the uneven surface is provided in a portion, of the base material, not being covered with the metal film (removing the metal film to create the uneven surface, see [0075-0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and although Taido fails to specifically teach the maximum distance between the highest and lowest portion, it is the position of the examiner that lacking criticality and unexpected results, it would have been an obvious matter of routine experimentation and optimization for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the roughness to achieve appropriate bonding strength.
Regarding claim 6, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches when a length of the opposed surface in a longitudinal direction of the opposed surface is trisected, and the opposed surface is divided into a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion in this order from the second end portion toward the first end portion of the ground electrode, the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion include the uneven surface, and a boundary of the uneven surface exists on the third portion (examiner considers that the length of surface 29 can be arbitrarily sectioned into 3 parts that fit the description).
Regarding claim 7, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches when a length of the opposed surface in a longitudinal direction of the opposed surface is bisected, and the opposed surface is divided into a fourth portion and a fifth portion in this order from the second end portion toward the first end portion of the ground electrode, the fourth portion includes the uneven surface, and a boundary of the uneven surface exists on the fourth portion (examiner considers that the length of surface 29 can be arbitrarily sectioned into 2 parts that fit the description)..
Regarding claim 8, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches when a length of the opposed surface in a longitudinal direction of the opposed surface is trisected, and the opposed surface is divided into a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion in this order from the second end portion toward the first end portion of the ground electrode, the first portion includes the uneven surface, and a boundary of the uneven surface exists on the first portion (examiner considers that the length of surface 29 can be arbitrarily sectioned into 3 parts that fit the description).
Regarding claim 9, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the uneven surface is provided only in the opposed surface (see Figure 2, uneven surface 29 is provided only in the opposed surface).
Regarding claim 10, Taido teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the uneven surface includes a range in which five or more recessed portions exist, and protruding portions not intersecting one another exist (see Figure 3, where 5 or more recessed portions exist in uneven surface 29 and the protruding portions do not intersect each other).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Maki, US 2020/0366068 teaches a spark plug wherein the surface of the ground electrode is roughened to enhance the connection between the ground electrode and the noble metal chip. However, Maki fails to teach the maximum height between the highest portion and the lowest portion of the roughened surface.
MARY ELLEN BOWMAN
Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875