DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshimasu et al (US PGPUB 2020/0036340).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses a circuit comprising:
a first resistor [R13] between a voltage rail [V_bias] and a drive interconnect [node between R13 and R12], the drive interconnect and the voltage rail being electrically connected to the first resistor [R13]
a second resistor between the drive interconnect and ground, ground and the drive interconnect being electrically connected to the second resistor [R12]
a current source between the voltage rail and the drive interconnect, the drive interconnect and the voltage rail being electrically connected to the current source [R13]
a transistor between the drive interconnect and a sink interconnect, the drive interconnect and the sink interconnect being electrically connected to the transistor [TR3]
Regarding claim 2, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses a current sink between the sink interconnect and ground, ground and the sink interconnect being electrically connected to the current sink [TR1 and TR2].
Regarding claim 4, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses wherein the current sink is configured to pull, from the sink interconnect, a sink current to ground [TR1 and TR2].
Regarding claim 5, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses wherein the current sink is between a reference interconnect and ground, the reference interconnect being electrically connected to the current sink [TR2].
Regarding claim 6, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses wherein the current source is between the voltage rail and the reference interconnect, the reference interconnect being electrically connected to the current source [R13].
Regarding claim 7, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses wherein the transistor is a diode-connected transistor [TR3].
Regarding claim 8, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses wherein a drain and gate of the transistor are shorted together [TR3].
Regarding claim 9, Figure 7 of Yoshimasu discloses wherein the current source is configured to push, from the voltage rail, a drive current onto the drive interconnect [R13].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshimasu et al (US PGPUB 2020/0036340).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshimasu does not explicitly disclose wherein the current sink is electrically connected directly to the voltage rail.
However, it would have been obvious to of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Figure 7 of Yoshimasu by removing the resistor between the current sink and the voltage rail as a matter of simple design-choice, since it was well-known in the art to directly connect current mirrors to voltage rails.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 and 15-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yoshimasu et al (US PGPUB 2020/0036340), as provided on the IDS filed 07/01/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 07/01/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOMI SKIBINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836