DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group II , Claim(s) 47-53, and 59-63 drawn to a method of generating drive pattern weightings and/or receive pattern weightings to apply to element drive signals or element receive signals in a sonar system utilizing a transducer comprising a linear array of transducer elements, the weightings being for sonar beams with a particular desired beam width in the far-field for transmission and/or reception using the transducer, classified in G01S7/523. in the reply filed on 07/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in (NZ) 757350 on 09/17/2019. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application, (NZ) 757350 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification (more than 20 pages) has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 47-53 and 59-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102“(a)(1)” as being anticipated by SUMI (US 2019/0129026 Al).
Referring to Claim(s) 1-44, (Canceled).
Referring to Claim 47, SUMI teaches a method of generating drive pattern weightings and/or receive pattern weightings [0277]: weightings performed on received signal, [0914]: drive signals to perform transmission (i.e. transmit signal) to apply to element drive signals or element receive signals in a sonar system utilising a transducer comprising a linear array of transducer elements ([0147], FIG. 12: linear arrays of transducer, [0776]: sonar), the weightings being for sonar beams with a particular desired beam width in the far-field for transmission and/or reception using the transducer ([0196]: The transmission transducer generates and transmits waves using drive signals), the method comprising:
generating or receiving an initial base sequence of weightings ([0218]: signals can be weighted, [1093]: weighting can be performed using linear superposition (i.e. sequence of weightings));
estimating the far field array pressure response from the transducer elements based on the initial base sequence ([0133]: array elements are positioned far (i.e. far-field array));
evaluating a cost function for initial base sequence, wherein the cost function relates to the range of deviation from a desired far field array pressure response for the desired beam width ([0735]: cost function is used for weighted least square estimation);
iteratively modifying and re-evaluating the modified base sequence until there is no improvement to the cost function to optimise the base sequence (FIG. 20: optimization by iteration);
generating the drive pattern and/or receive pattern weightings based on the optimised base sequence, and wherein the drive pattern weightings are generated for applying to a single waveform signal from a waveform generator of a transmission module of the sonar system ([0033]: the phase aberration can be calculated via estimating (i.e. pre-calculation) a cross-correlation function between adjacent beam signals or beam signals with different steering angles, S24 of FIG. 13: calculation; FIG. 20: optimization via iteration; [0327]: acoustic field pressure, [0584]: object location in far distance (i.e. far-field array); [0624]: algorithms, [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1, [0735]: cost function); and
wherein the receive pattern weightings are generated for applying to the element receive signals such that a single output signal representing the desired sonar beam to be received can be generated based on a sum of the weighted element receive signals, and wherein each of the drive pattern weightings and/or the receive pattern weightings comprise an amplitude component and polarity component ([0456]: summing the spectral components, 35d of FIG. 4: via summing device).
generating a single output signal based on a sum of the weighted element receive signals that represents the received sonar beam in accordance with the desired beam width ([0456]: summing the spectral components, 35d of FIG. 4: via summing device; [0672]: weighting distributions include amplitude, phase (i.e. direction or polarity) etc.);
wherein each of the receive pattern weightings of the set of receive pattern weightings comprises an amplitude component and polarity component ([0672]: weighting distributions include amplitude, phase (i.e. direction or polarity) etc.).
Referring to Claim 48, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the initial base sequence is a binary sequence ([0624]: algorithms, [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1, [0735]: cost function).
Referring to Claim 49, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the initial base sequence is any sequence ([0624]: algorithms, [0642]-[0643]; [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Referring to Claim 50, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the base sequence of weightings is an ordered set or sequence of real numbers ([0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Referring to Claim 51, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein generating or receiving an initial base sequence comprises receiving input data representing the initial base sequence ([0624]: algorithms, [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Referring to Claim 52, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the method further comprises outputting data representing the generated drive pattern and/or the receive pattern weightings based on the optimised base sequence ([0624]: algorithms, [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Referring to Claim 53, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the method is method or is implemented by one or more processors ([0105]).
Referring to Claim 59, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the polarity component of each of the drive pattern weightings and/or the receive pattern weightings is a binary selection between positive or negative ([0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Referring to Claim 60, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the cost function operates based on a desired far field array pressure response for the desired beam width that comprises a substantially uniform intensity or response across its beam width, in the far-field ([0735]: cost function).
Referring to Claim 61, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the initial base sequence is a barker sequence ([0624]: algorithms, [0642]-[0643]; [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Referring to Claim 62, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the initial base sequence is a modified binary sequence ([0624]: algorithms, [0642]-[0643]; [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Referring to Claim 63, SUMI teaches the method of claim 47 wherein the initial base sequence is a modified barker sequence ([0624]: algorithms, [0642]-[0643]; [0650]: real numbers 0 to N-1).
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. However, any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
BACHELOR, (US 2008/0130413 A1) teaches systems and methods implementing frequency-steered acoustic arrays for 2d and 3d imaging.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Isam Alsomiri can be reached on 571-272-6970. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AMIE M NDURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645