DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dembowsky et al. (Patent No. 6,206,604) in view of Bertram et al. (US 2004/0086324 A1). Re: claim 1, Dembowsky teaches a system (Fig. 7) comprising: a multibracket (1, 2, 3, 5); and a surface (24), wherein the multibracket comprises a trough (Annotated Fig. 4 – trough) to be placed across the surface (24) and at least one spring clip (5) extending into (32, 33) the trough, wherein the surface (24) comprises at least one pin (23) extending distally (See Fig. 7) from the surface (24), the at least one pin (23) extending along a pin axis (Annotated Fig. 7 – pin axis), and the at least one pin comprising a pin head (22) at a distal end (Annotated Fig. 7 – distal end) thereof; wherein the multibracket is connected to the surface (See Fig. 7 – connected by the spring clip to the pin which is connected to the surface), such that the at least one pin (23) extends into the trough (Annotated Fig. 4 -trough) to cooperate with the at least one spring clip (5), such that a lip (32) on the at least one spring clip is biased against (Col. 2 – lines 57-63) the at least one pin (23) proximally to the pin head (22). Dembowsky fails to teach a vehicle frame.
However, Bertram teaches a vehicle frame (Fig. 1 – 4), wherein the vehicle frame (4) comprises at least one pin (8) extending distally from the vehicle frame (See Fig. 1) (See Also Paragraph [0028] – “which may be e.g. a removable cover [element 2] and, respectively, a frame of an automotive vehicle [element 4]”).
Dembowsky and Bertram are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of retaining devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Dembowsky’s casing (24) with those of Bertram’s vehicle frame (4) in order to provide the advantage of a direct connection from the vehicle frame to the bracket.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Re: claim 2, Dembowsky teaches wherein the at least one spring clip (5 – specifically 21 and 27) is biased axially (Annotated Fig. 7 – pin axis) and transversally (Annotated Fig. 7 – transverse axis) against the at least one pin.
It is noted that the guide portion (27) of the cited spring clip is in an axial and transverse direction with respect to the pin. The cited spring clip has a snapping means (Col. 2 – lines 22-24) of which the guide portion (27) and the female part (21) elastically deform for the pin head (22) to enter and be retained.
Re: claim 3, Dembowsky teaches wherein the lip (32) of the spring clip (5) is at a first end section (Fig. 4 – 26) of the spring clip (5).
Re: claim 4, Dembowsky teaches wherein the spring clip (5) is connected to the multibracket (1, 2, 3) at a spring clip connecting part (Fig. 4 - 20) on a support body (Fig. 5 – 29) via a second end section (28).
Re: claim 5, Dembowsky teaches wherein the spring clip connecting part (20) is positioned outside the trough (Annotated Fig. 4 – trough) (See Annotated Fig. 4).
Re: claim 6, Dembowsky teaches wherein the spring clip is arranged adjacent to (See Annotated Fig. 7) an edge of the trough (Annotated Fig. 7 – edge of trough).
It is noted by the examiner that the cited spring clip has a portion (32, 33) which extends into the trough, while the rest of the spring clip is adjacent to the annotated trough.
Re: claim 7, Dembowsky teaches wherein the pin head (22) is spherical (Col. 2 – lines 36-37 – “ball-shaped head 22”).
Re: claim 8, Dembowsky teaches wherein the at least one pin (23) is connected to the surface (24) through an integrated nut (Annotated Fig. 7 – nut). Dembowsky fails to teach a vehicle frame and a welded nut.
However, Bertram teaches a vehicle frame (4) (See Paragraph [0028] – “which may be e.g. a removable cover [element 2] and, respectively, a frame of an automotive vehicle [element 4]”). Bertram fails to teach a welded nut.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that welding is known to be a permanent joining method and Dembowsky teaches a one-piece integrated construction of the pin and nut, where the pin is connected through the nut to the surface.
Re: claim 9, Dembowsky teaches wherein the multibracket (1, 2, 3, 5) comprises a central panel (Fig. 7 – 1), extending substantially parallel to the trough (See Annotated Fig. 7-2 Below).
Re: claim 11, Dembowsky in view of Bertram teach a system according to claim 1. Dembowsky fails to teach a vehicle. Bertram discloses an automotive vehicle (Paragraph [0028] – frame of an automotive vehicle).
Re: claim 12, Dembowsky teaches a method for connecting a multibracket (1, 2, 3, 5) to a surface (24), wherein the multibracket comprises a trough (Annotated Fig. 4 – trough) to be placed across the surface (24) and at least one spring clip (5) extending into (32, 33) the trough, wherein the surface (24) comprises at least one pin (23) extending distally (See Fig. 7) from the surface (24), the at least one pin (23) extending along a pin axis (Annotated Fig. 7 – pin axis), and the at least one pin comprising a pin head (22) at a distal end (Annotated Fig. 7 – distal end) thereof; wherein the multibracket is connected to the surface (See Fig. 7 – connected by the spring clip to the pin which is connected to the surface), such that the at least one pin (23) extends into the trough (Annotated Fig. 4 -trough) to cooperate with the at least one spring clip (5), such that a lip (32) on the at least one spring clip is biased against (Col. 2 – lines 57-63) the at least one pin (23) proximally to the pin head (22). Dembowsky fails to teach a vehicle frame.
However, Bertram teaches a vehicle frame (Fig. 1 – 4), wherein the vehicle frame (4) comprises at least one pin (8) extending distally from the vehicle frame (See Fig. 1) (See Also Paragraph [0028] – “which may be e.g. a removable cover [element 2] and, respectively, a frame of an automotive vehicle [element 4]”).
Dembowsky and Bertram are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of retaining devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Dembowsky’s casing (24) with those of Bertram’s vehicle frame (4) in order to provide the advantage of a direct connection from the vehicle frame to the bracket.
The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Re: claim 13, Dembowsky teaches wherein the at least one spring clip (5 – specifically 21 and 27) is biased axially (Annotated Fig. 7 – pin axis) and transversally (Annotated Fig. 7 – transverse axis) against the at least one pin.
It is noted that the guide portion (27) of the cited spring clip is in an axial and transverse direction with respect to the pin. The cited spring clip has a snapping means (Col. 2 – lines 22-24) of which the guide portion (27) and the female part (21) elastically deform for the pin head (22) to enter and be retained.
Re: claim 14, Dembowsky teaches wherein the lip (32) of the spring clip (5) is at a first end section (Fig. 4 – 26) of the spring clip (5).
Re: claim 15, Dembowsky teaches wherein the spring clip (5) is connected to the multibracket (1, 2, 3) at a spring clip connecting part (Fig. 4 - 20) on a support body (Fig. 5 – 29) via a second end section (28).
Re: claim 16, Dembowsky teaches wherein the spring clip connecting part (20) is positioned outside the trough (Annotated Fig. 4 – trough) (See Annotated Fig. 4).
Re: claim 17, Dembowsky teaches wherein the spring clip is arranged adjacent to (See Annotated Fig. 7) an edge of the trough (Annotated Fig. 7 – edge of trough).
It is noted by the examiner that the cited spring clip has a portion (32, 33) which extends into the trough, while the rest of the spring clip is adjacent to the annotated trough.
Re: claim 18, Dembowsky teaches wherein the pin head (22) is spherical (Col. 2 – lines 36-37 – “ball-shaped head 22”).
Re: claim 19, Dembowsky teaches wherein the at least one pin (23) is connected to the surface (24) through an integrated nut (Annotated Fig. 7 – nut). Dembowsky fails to teach a vehicle frame and a welded nut.
However, Bertram teaches a vehicle frame (4) (See Paragraph [0028] – “which may be e.g. a removable cover [element 2] and, respectively, a frame of an automotive vehicle [element 4]”). Bertram fails to teach a welded nut.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to recognize that welding is known to be a permanent joining method and Dembowsky teaches a one-piece integrated construction of the pin and nut, where the pin is connected through the nut to the surface.
Re: claim 20, Dembowsky teaches wherein the multibracket (1, 2, 3, 5) comprises a central panel (Fig. 7 – 1), extending substantially parallel to the trough (See Annotated Fig. 7-2).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dembowsky in view of Bertram in further view of Yang (CN 117012115 A).
Re: claim 10, Dembowsky and Bertram fail to teach wherein the central panel comprises a light-emitting diode (LED) sign arrangement.
However, Yang teaches wherein the panel (Fig. 3 – 3) comprises a light-emitting diode (LED) (“Here, the at least one light emitting element may be an LED, an OLED, a PLED, an electroluminescent element or an electroluminescent element or the like”) sign arrangement (100).
Dembowsky, Bertram, and Yang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of retaining devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Dembowsky’s cover with Yang’s luminous sign arrangement in order to provide the advantage of providing a visual indication of the apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schmitz et al. (Patent No. 8,585,340) and Ashmawi et al. (Patent No. 11,407,486) disclose various retainment structures on vehicles.
/PHILIP C ADAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612