DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gill et al. (US 20230278501 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gill discloses a storage area load floor assembly (Fig. 8) comprising: a tub (112 in Fig. 8) sized to cover a vehicle storage area (Fig. 8, covers the entire frunk) and including a tub wall (see annotated Fig. 7, rear wall or side wall of the tub) and a tub floor (128 in Fig. 12); and a dual plane load floor (124 in Fig. 8) including a load wall (136a in Fig. 12) removably coupled to the tub wall (coupled in Fig. 12 and uncoupled as described in paragraph 44 that it can be lifted), and a floor panel (136b in Fig. 8) movable (Fig. 11-12 show its movement) relative to the load wall between a storage position (Fig. 9, inhibits rear access) inhibiting access to the tub floor and a raised position (Fig. 12, raised to expose the tub floor) providing access to the tub floor.
Regarding claim 12, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the floor panel is arranged perpendicular to the load wall in the storage position (Fig. 9).
Figure 1 Annotated Fig. 7 from Gill
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, 10, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gill et al. (US 20230278501 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gill discloses a storage area load floor assembly (Fig. 8) comprising: a tub (112 in Fig. 8) sized to cover a vehicle storage area (Fig. 8, covers the entire frunk) and including a tub wall (see annotated Fig. 7, rear wall or side wall of the tub) and a tub floor (128 in Fig. 12); and a dual plane load floor (124 in Fig. 8) including a load wall (136b in Fig. 12) removably coupled to the tub wall (coupled in Fig. 12 and uncoupled as described in paragraph 44 that it can be lifted), and a floor panel (136a in Fig. 11) movable (Fig. 8 and 10-11 show its movement) relative to the load wall between a storage position (Fig. 8) inhibiting access to the tub floor and a raised position (Fig. 9 or 12, raised to expose the tub floor) providing access to the tub floor.
Regarding claim 6, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the floor panel is connected to the load wall by a hinge (paragraph 41).
Regarding claim 7, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the tub includes a front tub lip (see annotated Fig. 7), and wherein the floor panel is supported by the front tub lip (Fig. 7-8, in the storage position of Fig. 8, the floor panel sits over the lip).
Regarding claim 8, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the floor panel rotates between the storage position and the raised position (Fig. 8-9 and paragraph 41, rotates through the hinge).
Regarding claim 10, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein an under-floor compartment (Fig. 8-9, space between 128 and 124) is defined between the floor panel and the tub floor.
Regarding claim 14, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the tub includes component covers (see annotated Fig. 7) shaped to accommodate vehicle components located in the vehicle storage area (capable of doing so).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gutierrez et al. (US 20210122297 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the load wall includes an accessory panel (Gill, Fig. 12, panel of the load wall 136b).
Gill fails to disclose a load upper ledge coupled to the tub wall, the accessory panel coupled to the load upper ledge, and a load lower ledge coupled to the accessory panel.
Gutierrez teaches a load upper ledge (Gutierrez, 132 in Fig. 4a has ledge structure) coupled to the tub wall (indirectly coupled though the load wall accessory panel portion), the accessory panel coupled to the load upper ledge (after combination, ledge is coupled to the panel portion of the load wall), and a load lower ledge (Gutierrez, 132 in Fig. 4a, the lower one) coupled to the accessory panel (after combination, ledge would be coupled to the panel portion of the load wall).
Gutierrez is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle convertible storage assembly as Gill.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly as taught by Gill to incorporate the teachings of Gutierrez with a reasonable expectation of success and have upper and lower ledges. Doing so provides attach points for items.
Regarding claim 11, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose a gear rack removably coupled to the load wall.
Gutierrez teaches a gear rack (Gutierrez, 132 in Fig. 4A) removably coupled (Gutierrez, paragraph 73, removable) to the load wall.
Gutierrez is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle convertible storage assembly as Gill.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly as taught by Gill to incorporate the teachings of Gutierrez with a reasonable expectation of success and have a gear rack. Doing so provides attach points for items.
Regarding claim 15, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose an accessory mount accessible when the dual plane load floor is installed on the tub.
Gutierrez teaches an accessory mount (Gutierrez, 132 in Fig. 4A) accessible when the dual plane load floor is installed on the tub.
Gutierrez is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle convertible storage assembly as Gill.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly as taught by Gill to incorporate the teachings of Gutierrez with a reasonable expectation of success and have an accessory mount. Doing so provides attach points for items.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20240074366 A).
Regarding claim 9, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, wherein the floor panel is selectively maintained in the raised position (Gill, Fig. 10, maintain by 142; or Fig. 12, maintain by 122).
Gill fails to disclose a magnet.
Lee teaches a magnet (Lee, fourth to the last paragraph on page 4 of machine translation, magnets can be used to maintain the panel in Gill’s Fig. 12 raised position).
Lee is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle convertible storage assembly as Gill.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly as taught by Gill to incorporate the teachings of Lee with a reasonable expectation of success and have magnets. Doing so prevents unintentional separation and makes sure the panels remained in position.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doroudian et al. (US 20250135839 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Gill discloses the storage area load floor assembly of claim 1, but fails to disclose a tub seal shaped to selectively engage a hood.
Doroudian teaches a tub seal (Doroudian, 26 in Fig. 2) shaped to selectively engage a hood (Doroudian, paragraph 18 and Fig. 1-2).
Doroudian is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle frunk storage assembly as Gill.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly as taught by Gill to incorporate the teachings of Doroudian with a reasonable expectation of success and have a tub seal. Doing so protects the frunk from the environmental conditions such as water, precipitation, dust, dirt or the like (Doroudian, paragraph 18).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gill in view of Doroudian et al. (US 20250135839 A1) and Gombert et al. (US 20220227299 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Gill discloses a vehicle (Gill, Fig. 8) comprising: a storage compartment (Gill, Fig. 8, space underneath the hood); a hood (Gill, see annotated Fig. 7) covering the storage compartment (Gill, paragraph 22); and a storage area load floor assembly (Gill, Fig. 8, with the tub and the dual plane assembly) coupled to the storage compartment and including a tub (Gill, 112 in Fig. 8, with walls and floor) and a dual plane load floor (Gill, 124 in Fig. 8) removably (Gill, paragraph 44, can be lifted) coupled to the tub (Gill, Fig. 12) and including a load wall (Gill, 136b in Fig. 12) and a floor panel (Gill, 136b in Fig. 11), wherein an under-floor compartment (Gill, Fig. 8-9, space between 128 and 124) is defined between the floor panel and the tub.
Gill fails to disclose the hood selectively covering the storage compartment; a vehicle component positioned within the storage compartment; the tub covering the vehicle component.
Doroudian teaches the hood selectively covering the storage compartment (Doroudian, abstract, the hood can open or close).
Doroudian is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle frunk storage assembly and hood as Gill.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly as taught by Gill to incorporate the teachings of Doroudian with a reasonable expectation of success and have the hood selectively openable and closeable to cover the storage compartment. Doing so allows access to the storage and allows closing the hood prevent unauthorized access and damages.
Gombert teaches a vehicle component (Gombert, 130/120 in Fig. 2B) positioned within the storage compartment (Gombert, Fig. 2b, in space underneath the hood); the tub covering the vehicle component (Gombert, Fig. 2A-2B)
Gombert is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle frunk storage assembly and hood as Gill in view of Doroudian.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the assembly as taught by Gill in view of Doroudian to incorporate the teachings of Gombert with a reasonable expectation of success and have vehicle components at the front space covered by the tub. Doing so provides efficient space utilization and separates a usable storage space from the space occupied by the components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are allowed.
Claims 2-3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion in the claims of the limitations directed to the tub further includes a tub ledge formed in the tub wall and a tub post extending from the tub ledge, and wherein the load wall includes a load upper ledge defining a load aperture sized to receive the tub post as claimed in claim 2; the floor panel is supported by the load lower ledge as claimed in claim 5; and a tub post extending from the tub ledge, a load wall including a load upper ledge defining a load aperture sized to receive the tub post as claimed in claim 16. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art is primary reference Gill as applied in the rejections above. However, Gill fails to disclose the limitations claimed in claims 2, 5, and 16 regarding the ledges, the post, and the aperture.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references that are not relied upon all disclose vehicle frunks with convertible storage assemblies.
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612