DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,196,888.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim would have been anticipated by the reference claims. Both sets of claims are directed to a method of creating a depth point cloud using modulated light, and one of ordinary skill would see the claims in question as obvious variants of each other.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,196,888 in view of Hudman, US 2016/0146927.
1 and 15. The parent claim is silent on multiple beams and an interference pattern. Hudman teaches a light shaping optic configured to receive the input beam and provide multiple output beams with varying intensity, wherein beams form an interference pattern [multiple illumination profiles/beams are output from refractive element 310, forming interference patterns, Figs. 9, 14-17; paras. 82-89, 92].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use interference patterns, i.e. overlapping different light beams in order to create a desired light pattern conducive to time-of-flight sensing. For example, the pattern in Fig. 14 covers certain portions of a room in light enabling various depth objects to be captured and analyzed [see Hudman, para. 87].
3 and 17 (from 1). The parent claim is silent on a ring-shaped illumination pattern. Hudman teaches a time-of-flight sensing system wherein the continuous pattern is formed by a ring pattern of light [Fig. 14, para. 82, 84, 85].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate Hudman, using a ring pattern in order to ensure that both light and dark areas alternate in all directions, allowing accurate measurements of all types of scene shapes.
6 and 20 (from 1). Hudman teaches a system wherein the light shaping optic is a set of micro-lenses [light shaping stage includes plurality of lens elements, Fig. 4, para. 44].
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-14, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,196,888 in view of Hudman as cited above and Dorrington et al., US 2015/0253429.
2 and 16. The parent claim is silent on a sine-based pattern. Dorrington teaches a system wherein the continuous pattern is a sine-based pattern [paras. 44, 86, 94].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate Dorrington, in order to provide a predictable and varying illumination pattern across the objects of a scene, improving resolution and allowing accurate phase-shifting for depth reconstruction.
4 and 18. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the light shaping optic is a diffractive optical element [engineered diffuser diffracts light by spreading and modulating it, Figs. 1, 8-12, paras. 127, 131, 134, 140].
5 and 19. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the light shaping optic is a refractive optical element [engineered diffuser redirects (refracts) light, Figs. 1, 8-12, paras. 127, 131, 134, 140].
7. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing the output beam with the non-uniform intensity field comprises:
altering a divergence of the input beam to form the non-uniform intensity field [incoming light is altered, diverging beams to form patterns, Figs. 1, 5c, 8-12].
9. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the input beam is provided with a uniform intensity field to the light shaping optic [laser diode source prior to shaping/diffusing, paras. 118, 134-136].
10. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving a set of portions of the output beam reflected off of the object, wherein each portion, of the set of portions, corresponds to an area of concentration of light [sensor receives reflected light, Figs. 1, 6, paras. 118, 128, 132]; and
performing a time-of-flight measurement associated with each area of concentration [amplitude image of all areas of scene is a depth map representing distance, e.g. closer surfaces are lighter, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5c, 7, paras. 29, 76, 84, 122-124, 129-133].
11. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving a reflection of the output beam [Figs. 1, 6, paras. 118, 128, 132];
performing one or more time-of-flight measurements of the reflection [time-of-flight camera, paras. 118, 134, 161]; and
determining a distance of the object based on performing the one or more time-of-flight measurements [Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5c, 7, paras. 29, 76, 84, 122-124, 129-133].
12. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising: generating a three-dimensional measurement of the object based on the distance [amplitude image of all areas of scene is a depth map (mapping depth dimension to horizontal and vertical dimensions) representing distance, e.g. closer surfaces are lighter, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5c, 7, paras. 29, 76, 84, 122-124, 129-133].
13. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 11, wherein performing the one or more time-of-flight measurements comprises: performing one or more of a direct time-of-flight measurement [time-of-flight camera, paras. 117, 118, 134, 161], a gated time-of-flight measurement, or an indirect time-of-flight measurement.
14. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: generating a three-dimensional representation of the object based on the one or more distance measurements [Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5c, 7, paras. 29, 76, 84, 122-124, 129-133].
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorrington et al., US 2015/0253429 in view of Hudman, US 2016/0146927.
1 and 15. Dorrington teaches a method and system comprising:
providing, by a sensor system, an input beam to a light shaping optic of the sensor system [sensing system includes light transmitter and engineered diffuser, Figs. 1, 12, paras. 127, 131, 134, 140], wherein a total intensity of the input beam does not exceed a threshold [light has a maximum intensity, i.e. it does not exceed an upper threshold, para. 32, 51];
providing, by using the light shaping optic, an output beam with a non-uniform intensity field with a continuous pattern [Figs. 1, 5c, 12, para. 124]; and,
wherein the non-uniform intensity field includes first areas of higher intensity light and second areas of lower intensity light [Fig. 5c shows pattern of dots with partially illuminated (lower intensity) spaces between them, Figs. 1, 5c, 12]; and
generating, by the sensor system, a depth point cloud representing one or more distance measurements for one or more portions of an object illuminated by the output beam [amplitude image is a depth map representing distance, e.g. closer surfaces are lighter, Figs. 1, 3, 4, 5c, 7, paras. 29, 76, 84, 122-124, 129-133].
Dorrington is silent on multiple beams and an interference pattern. Hudman teaches a light shaping optic configured to receive the input beam and provide multiple output beams with varying intensity, wherein beams form an interference pattern [multiple illumination profiles/beams are output from refractive element 310, forming interference patterns, Figs. 9, 14-17; paras. 82-89, 92].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use interference patterns, i.e. overlapping different light beams in order to create a desired light pattern conducive to time-of-flight sensing. For example, the pattern in Fig. 14 covers certain portions of a room in light enabling various depth objects to be captured and analyzed [see Hudman, para. 87].
2 and 16. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the continuous pattern is a sine-based pattern [paras. 44, 86, 94].
3 and 17 (from 1). Dorrington is silent on a ring-shaped illumination pattern. Hudman teaches a time-of-flight sensing system wherein the continuous pattern is formed by a ring pattern of light [Fig. 14, para. 82, 84, 85].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to incorporate Hudman, using a ring pattern in order to ensure that both light and dark areas alternate in all directions, allowing accurate measurements of all types of scene shapes.
4 and 18. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the light shaping optic is a diffractive optical element [engineered diffuser diffracts light by spreading and modulating it, Figs. 1, 8-12, paras. 127, 131, 134, 140].
5 and 19. The method of claim 1, wherein the light shaping optic is a refractive optical element [engineered diffuser redirects (refracts) light, Figs. 1, 8-12, paras. 127, 131, 134, 140].
6 and 20 (from 1). Hudman teaches a system wherein the light shaping optic is a set of micro-lenses [light shaping stage includes plurality of lens elements, Fig. 4, para. 44].
7. Dorrington teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing the multiple beams comprises: altering a divergence of the input beam to form the non-uniform intensity field [incoming light is altered, diverging beams to form patterns, Figs. 1, 5c, 8-12].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2424