DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 46 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 46, no period at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spinoza (US 2012/0022455).
Regarding claim 41, Spinoza discloses
A method of making a securement device or a product including a securement device (fig. 2a), wherein the securement device (fig. 2a) is configured to secure to a patient a medical tube when inserted into the patient (see fig. 2a and par. 0099), the method comprising:
coupling a securement sleeve (210, fig. 2a) to a structural sheet (218/220) for an attachment pad (218/220); the securement sleeve (210) including a securement portion (210) through which the tube passage extends (Examiner notes: see fig. 6 for tube 612 extending through a securement sleeve), wherein a cross-sectional area of the tube passage in the securement portion transverse to a longitudinal path of the tube passage expands as the securement sleeve is shortened and contracts as the securement sleeve is lengthened (see pars. 0080-0081) and the length of the securement sleeve is adjustable to expand the cross-sectional area to receive a medical tube for translation through the tube passage in the securement portion and to contract the cross-sectional area to grip the medical tube in the tube passage by the securement portion to secure the medical tube to the securement device (see pars. 0080-0082); and
the structural sheet (218/220) for the attachment pad (218/220) being configured with a proximal side to face a patient during use and a distal side to face away from a patient during use (see fig. 2a for proximal side and distal side of 218/220), the proximal side configured to be adhered with adhesive to skin of a patient (par. 0033); and
wherein the coupling the securement sleeve (210) to the structural sheet (218/220) comprises:
securing flared end material (216) of the securement sleeve (210), adjacent a proximal end (212) of the securement sleeve (210), between a first surface of a first securement member (surface of 220) and a second surface of a second securement member (surface of 218, see fig. 2a); and
wherein the first securement member (220) is selected from the group consisting of the structural sheet with the first surface being on the distal side of the structural sheet and an intermediate member coupled, directly or indirectly, to the distal side of the structural sheet (see fig. 2a for 220 being the structural sheet with a surface being on the distal side of 218/220).
Regarding claim 42, Spinoza discloses
The method of claim 41, wherein the securing the flared end material (216) comprises sandwiching the flared end material (216) between and adhering the flared end material to both the first surface (surface of 220) to the second surface (surface of 218, see fig. 2a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spinoza (US 2012/0022455) in view of Fangrow, JR (US 2007/0185454).
Regarding claim 43, Spinoza discloses the method of claim 41, as set forth above, except for comprising; connecting a rotating member to a preliminary product form for the securement device, the preliminary product form including the structural sheet, wherein as connected to the preliminary product form the rotating member is rotatable relative to the structural sheet.
However, Fangrow teaches a securement system comprising a rotating member (54) and the base member (60) wherein the rotating member is rotatable relative to the base member (pars. 0008, 0057, see figs. 5-6 and 10-14) and the structural sheet (50).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spinoza by adding a rotating member, as taught by Fangrow, for the purpose of further securing the securement sleeve in place.
Regarding claim 44, see the rejection of claim 43.
Regarding claim 45, Spinoza in view of Fangrow discloses the method of claim 44,
Fangrow further teaches wherein the connecting the rotating member (54) to the preliminary product form (see figs. 10-14) comprises sliding the rotating member (54) over the securement sleeve (162) disposed through an aperture in the rotating member (see fig. 11) until the rotating member (54) engages a connection location on the preliminary product form (see fig. 11 and par. 0078).
Regarding claim 46, Spinoza in view of Fangrow discloses the method of claim 44,
Fangrow further teaches wherein: the connecting the rotating member (54) to the preliminary product form (see figs. 10-14) comprises engaging the rotating member (54) with exterior engagement features of an axle (62), and wherein as engaged with the axle the rotating member is rotatable about the axle (pars. 0008, 0057, and figs. 10-14).
Regarding claim 47, Spinoza in view of Fangrow discloses the method of claim 43,
Spinoza further discloses retaining a distal end portion of the securement sleeve (distal end portion of 210) in a distal collar assembly (214, fig. 2a and par. 0099).
Claim(s) 48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spinoza (US 2012/0022455) in view of Adie et al. (US 2011/0282309).
Regarding claim 48, Spinoza discloses the method of claim 42, as set forth above, except for comprising attaching an absorbent pad to the proximal side of the structural sheet.
However, Adie teaches a method (fig. 1B) comprising attaching an absorbent pad (110) to the proximal side of the structural sheet (140).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spinoza by adding an absorbent pad, as taught by Adie, for the purpose of removing the fluid from the wound site (par. 0144 of Adie).
Regarding claim 49, see the rejection of claim 48.
Regarding claim 50, Spinoza in view of Adie discloses the method of claim 49,
Adie further teaches wherein: the attaching the absorbent pad (110) to the proximal side of the structural sheet (140, fig. 1B)
Spinoza further discloses applying adhesive over the proximal side of the structural sheet (par. 0033);
Adie further teaches locating the absorbent pad (110) to cover at least a portion of the adhesive over the proximal side of the structural sheet (see fig. 1B); and attaching the absorbent pad (110) to the proximal side of the structural sheet (140) with the adhesive (see fig. 1B);
Spnioza further discloses covering the structural sheet with a peelable backing (par. 0033); and adhering the peelable backing to the attachment pad (218/220).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spinoza by adding an absorbent pad, as taught by Adie, for the purpose of removing the fluid from the wound site (par. 0144 of Adie).
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spinoza (US 2012/0022455) in view of Spinoza (US 2010/0305510).
Regarding claim 51, Spinoza ‘455 discloses the method of claim 41, as set forth above, except for comprising, after the coupling, applying longitudinally-applied compression to at least a portion of the securement sleeve to shorten the securement sleeve into a compressed configuration and retaining the securement sleeve in the compressed configuration with a compression retainer.
However, Spinoza ‘510 teaches a securement sleeve (56, figs. 15a-15b) wherein applying longitudinally-applied compression to at least a portion of the securement sleeve (56) to shorten the securement sleeve into a compressed configuration (see figs. 15a-15b) and retaining the securement sleeve in the compressed configuration with a compression retainer (58/59/60/61/62, figs. 15a-15b and pars. 0091-0094).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Spinoza ‘455 by adding a compression retainer, as taught by Spinoza ‘510, for the purpose of supporting the securement sleeve for extension and contraction (par. 0091 of Spinoza ‘510).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892 form.
/DUNG T ULSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783