DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2025 and 4/7/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dai (US 20180314039).
Regarding Claim 1, Dai teaches a wide-angle lens assembly (abstract; figs. 1-25) comprising:
a first lens which is with refractive power (fig. 1, E1);
a second lens which is with refractive power and comprises a convex surface facing an object side (fig. 1, E2, S3; ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S3: 14.6507);
a third lens which is with positive refractive power (fig. 1, E3; ¶[0127], Table 3, f3 = 7.26);
a fourth lens which is with refractive power and comprises a convex surface facing the object side (fig. 1, E4, S7; ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S7: 10.7001);
a fifth lens which is with positive refractive power and comprises a convex surface facing the object side (fig. 1 E5, S9; ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S9: 5.9332; ¶[0127], Table 3, f5 = 2.63); and
a sixth lens which is with refractive power and comprises a concave surface facing an image side (fig. 1, E6, S12, ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S12: 3.5164);
wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are arranged in order from the object side to the image side along an optical axis (fig. 1, E1-E6).
Regarding Claim 2, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wide-angle lens assembly satisfies at least one of following conditions:
24 mm2 ≤ (R41-R51)×T3 ≤ 42 mm2;
(¶[0127], Table 1, given R41 = 10.7001, R51 = 5.9332; ¶[0127], Table 3, f3 = 7.26, so (R41-R51)×T3 = 34.6 mm2);
0.1 ≤ (f1+f5)/d34 ≤ 10.7;
5.01 mm ≤ (f1-f6)×Vd4 ≤ 20.31 mm;
10 mm ≤ (R22)2/f3 ≤ 33 mm;
3.9 mm2 ≤ (T1+T4+T5)×f3 ≤ 11.5 mm2;
9 mm ≤ (f6)2/(R11+R22) ≤ 19 mm;
9.5 mm-1 ≤ R52/R61/d34 ≤ 27.2 mm-1;
9 ≤ (R61)/((f6/f4)+R52) ≤ 12.2;
20 mm-2 ≤ Nd3/(R31×d34) ≤ 55 mm-2;
152 mm ≤ (T1+T2+T3+T4+T5+T6)2/(R32+R42) ≤ 274 mm;
wherein f1 is an effective focal length of the first lens, f3 is an effective focal length of the third lens, f4 is an effective focal length of the fourth lens, f5 is an effective focal length of the fifth lens, f6 is an effective focal length of the sixth lens, T1 is an interval from an object side surface of the first lens to an image side surface of the first lens along the optical axis, T2 is an interval from an object side surface of the second lens to an image side surface of the second lens along the optical axis, T3 is an interval from an object side surface of the third lens to an image side surface of the third lens along the optical axis, T4 is an interval from an object side surface of the fourth lens to an image side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis, T5 is an interval from an object side surface of the fifth lens to an image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, T6 is an interval from an object side surface of the sixth lens to an image side surface of the sixth lens along the optical axis, R11 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the first lens, R22 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the second lens, R31 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the third lens, R32 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the third lens, R41 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the fourth lens, R42 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the fourth lens, R51 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the fifth lens, R52 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the fifth lens, R61 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the sixth lens, d34 is an air interval from the image side surface of the third lens to the object side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis, Vd4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens, and Nd3 is a refractive index of the third lens.
Regarding Claim 3, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 1,
wherein:
the first lens is with negative refractive power;
the fourth lens is with negative refractive power; and
the sixth lens is with negative refractive power.
([0127], Table 3, f1 = -5.79, f4 = -6.26, f6 = -1.97).
Regarding Claim 4, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 3,
wherein:
the first lens is a meniscus lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E1, S1, S2);
the third lens is a biconvex lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E3, S5, S6);
the fourth lens is a meniscus lens and further comprises a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E4, S8);
the fifth lens is a biconvex lens and further comprises another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E5, S10); and
the sixth lens is a biconcave lens and further comprises another concave surface facing the object side (fig. 1, E6, S11).
Regarding Claim 6, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the second lens is a biconvex lens with positive refractive power and further comprises another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1 E2, S3, S4; ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S3: 14.6507, S4: -1.8845).
Regarding Claim 7, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 6,
wherein the wide-angle lens assembly satisfies at least one of following conditions:
24 mm2 ≤ (R41-R51)×T3 ≤ 42 mm2;
(¶[0127], Table 1, given R41 = 10.7001, R51 = 5.9332; ¶[0127], Table 3, f3 = 7.26, so (R41-R51)×T3 = 34.6 mm2);
0.1 ≤ (f1+f5)/d34 ≤ 10.7;
5.01 mm ≤ (f1-f6)×Vd4 ≤ 20.31 mm;
10 mm ≤ (R22)2/f3 ≤ 33 mm;
3.9 mm2 ≤ (T1+T4+T5)×f3 ≤ 11.5 mm2;
9 mm ≤ (f6)2/(R11+R22) ≤ 19 mm;
9.5 mm-1 ≤ R52/R61/d34 ≤ 27.2 mm-1;
9 ≤ (R61)/((f6/f4)+R52) ≤ 12.2;
20 mm-2 ≤ Nd3/(R31×d34) ≤ 55 mm-2;
152 mm ≤ (T1+T2+T3+T4+T5+T6)2/(R32+R42) ≤ 274 mm;
wherein f1 is an effective focal length of the first lens, f3 is an effective focal length of the third lens, f4 is an effective focal length of the fourth lens, f5 is an effective focal length of the fifth lens, f6 is an effective focal length of the sixth lens, T1 is an interval from an object side surface of the first lens to an image side surface of the first lens along the optical axis, T2 is an interval from an object side surface of the second lens to an image side surface of the second lens along the optical axis, T3 is an interval from an object side surface of the third lens to an image side surface of the third lens along the optical axis, T4 is an interval from an object side surface of the fourth lens to an image side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis, T5 is an interval from an object side surface of the fifth lens to an image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, T6 is an interval from an object side surface of the sixth lens to an image side surface of the sixth lens along the optical axis, R11 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the first lens, R22 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the second lens, R31 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the third lens, R32 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the third lens, R41 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the fourth lens, R42 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the fourth lens, R51 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the fifth lens, R52 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the fifth lens, R61 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the sixth lens, d34 is an air interval from the image side surface of the third lens to the object side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis, Vd4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens, and Nd3 is a refractive index of the third lens.
Regarding Claim 8, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 6,
wherein:
the first lens is with negative refractive power;
the fourth lens is with negative refractive power; and
the sixth lens is with negative refractive power.
([0127], Table 3, f1 = -5.79, f4 = -6.26, f6 = -1.97).
Regarding Claim 9, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 8,
wherein:
the first lens is a meniscus lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E1, S1, S2);
the third lens is a biconvex lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E3, S5, S6);
the fourth lens is a meniscus lens and further comprises a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E4, S8);
the fifth lens is a biconvex lens and further comprises another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E5, S10); and
the sixth lens is a biconcave lens and further comprises another concave surface facing the object side (fig. 1, E6, S11).
Regarding Claim 11, Dai teaches a wide-angle lens assembly (abstract; figs. 1-25) comprising:
a first lens which is with refractive power (fig. 1, E1);
a second lens which is a biconvex lens with positive refractive power and comprises a convex surface facing an object side and another convex surface facing an image side (fig. 1 E2, S3, S4; ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S3: 14.6507, S4: -1.8845; ¶[0127], Table 3, f2 = 3.09);
a third lens which is with positive refractive power (fig. 1, E3; ¶[0127], Table 3, f3 = 7.26);
a fourth lens which is with refractive power and comprises a convex surface facing the object side (fig. 1, E4, S7; ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S7: 10.7001);
a fifth lens which is with refractive power (fig. 1, E5); and
a sixth lens which is with refractive power and comprises a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E6, S12, ¶[0127], Table 1, Radius of S12: 3.5164);
wherein the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, the fifth lens, and the sixth lens are arranged in order from the object side to the image side along an optical axis (fig. 1, E1-E6).
Regarding Claim 12, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 11,
wherein the wide-angle lens assembly satisfies at least one of following conditions:
24 mm2 ≤ (R41-R51)×T3 ≤ 42 mm2;
(¶[0127], Table 1, given R41 = 10.7001, R51 = 5.9332; ¶[0127], Table 3, f3 = 7.26, so (R41-R51)×T3 = 34.6 mm2);
0.1 ≤ (f1+f5)/d34 ≤ 10.7;
5.01 mm ≤ (f1-f6)×Vd4 ≤ 20.31 mm;
10 mm ≤ (R22)2/f3 ≤ 33 mm;
3.9 mm2 ≤ (T1+T4+T5)×f3 ≤ 11.5 mm2;
9 mm ≤ (f6)2/(R11+R22) ≤ 19 mm;
9.5 mm-1 ≤ R52/R61/d34 ≤ 27.2 mm-1;
9 ≤ (R61)/((f6/f4)+R52) ≤ 12.2;
20 mm-2 ≤ Nd3/(R31×d34) ≤ 55 mm-2;
152 mm ≤ (T1+T2+T3+T4+T5+T6)2/(R32+R42) ≤ 274 mm;
wherein f1 is an effective focal length of the first lens, f3 is an effective focal length of the third lens, f4 is an effective focal length of the fourth lens, f5 is an effective focal length of the fifth lens, f6 is an effective focal length of the sixth lens, T1 is an interval from an object side surface of the first lens to an image side surface of the first lens along the optical axis, T2 is an interval from an object side surface of the second lens to an image side surface of the second lens along the optical axis, T3 is an interval from an object side surface of the third lens to an image side surface of the third lens along the optical axis, T4 is an interval from an object side surface of the fourth lens to an image side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis, T5 is an interval from an object side surface of the fifth lens to an image side surface of the fifth lens along the optical axis, T6 is an interval from an object side surface of the sixth lens to an image side surface of the sixth lens along the optical axis, R11 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the first lens, R22 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the second lens, R31 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the third lens, R32 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the third lens, R41 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the fourth lens, R42 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the fourth lens, R51 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the fifth lens, R52 is a radius of curvature of the image side surface of the fifth lens, R61 is a radius of curvature of the object side surface of the sixth lens, d34 is an air interval from the image side surface of the third lens to the object side surface of the fourth lens along the optical axis, Vd4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens, and Nd3 is a refractive index of the third lens.
Regarding Claim 13, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 12,
wherein:
the first lens is with negative refractive power;
the fourth lens is with negative refractive power; and
the sixth lens is with negative refractive power.
([0127], Table 3, f1 = -5.79, f4 = -6.26, f6 = -1.97).
Regarding Claim 14, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 13,
wherein:
the first lens is a meniscus lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E1, S1, S2);
the third lens is a biconvex lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E3, S5, S6);
the fourth lens is a meniscus lens and further comprises a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E4, S8);
the fifth lens is a biconvex lens and further comprises another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E5, S10); and
the sixth lens is a biconcave lens and further comprises another concave surface facing the object side (fig. 1, E6, S11).
Regarding Claim 16, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 11,
wherein:
the first lens is with negative refractive power;
the fourth lens is with negative refractive power; and
the sixth lens is with negative refractive power.
([0127], Table 3, f1 = -5.79, f4 = -6.26, f6 = -1.97).
Regarding Claim 17, Dai teaches the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 16,
wherein:
the first lens is a meniscus lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E1, S1, S2);
the third lens is a biconvex lens and comprises a convex surface facing the object side and another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E3, S5, S6);
the fourth lens is a meniscus lens and further comprises a concave surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E4, S8);
the fifth lens is a biconvex lens and further comprises another convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1, E5, S10); and
the sixth lens is a biconcave lens and further comprises another concave surface facing the object side (fig. 1, E6, S11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dai (US 20180314039).
Regarding Claim 5, in embodiment of fig. 1, Dai discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 4, further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens.
However, in embodiment of fig. 25, Dai teaches that wherein further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens (fig. 25, E2, STO, E3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wide-angle lens assembly of Dai to have a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens, for a purpose of a lens assembly having ultra wide angle, high resolution and small dimension and can improve the assembly processing and achieve the low cost (¶[0026], line 1-4).
Regarding Claim 10, in embodiment of fig. 1, Dai discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 9, further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens.
However, in embodiment of fig. 25, Dai teaches that wherein further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens (fig. 25, E2, STO, E3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wide-angle lens assembly of Dai to have a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens, for a purpose of a lens assembly having ultra wide angle, high resolution and small dimension and can improve the assembly processing and achieve the low cost (¶[0026], line 1-4).
Regarding Claim 15, in embodiment of fig. 1, Dai discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 14, further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens.
However, in embodiment of fig. 25, Dai teaches that wherein further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens (fig. 25, E2, STO, E3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wide-angle lens assembly of Dai to have a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens, for a purpose of a lens assembly having ultra wide angle, high resolution and small dimension and can improve the assembly processing and achieve the low cost (¶[0026], line 1-4).
Regarding Claim 18, in embodiment of fig. 1, Dai discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the wide-angle lens assembly as claimed in claim 17, further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens.
However, in embodiment of fig. 25, Dai teaches that wherein further comprising a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens (fig. 25, E2, STO, E3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wide-angle lens assembly of Dai to have a stop disposed between the second lens and the third lens, for a purpose of a lens assembly having ultra wide angle, high resolution and small dimension and can improve the assembly processing and achieve the low cost (¶[0026], line 1-4).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872