DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In part (d) of the claim, “the air tank” lacks antecedent basis. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear to what or which “air tank” the claim is referring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thornton, Jr. (3,872,593) (provided by the applicant).
Claim 1
Thornton, Jr. discloses a mobile dental delivery system/dental console comprising a housing (defined by combination of structures 10 and 20); a top panel (22), wherein the top panel is connected to the housing via a hinge and movable between an open position and a closed position (see column 5 lines 6-11); and an upper service chamber/carriage (28) defined by the housing, wherein the upper service chamber is accessible when the top panel is in the open position, wherein the upper service chamber is inaccessible when the top panel is in the closed position. Thornton, Jr. discloses the upper service chamber/carriage is accessible by pivoting to open position the top panel and inaccessible when the top panel is closed (see figures 1 and 2).
Claim 3
Thornton, Jr. further discloses the top panel further comprising a recessed area sized and/or capable to receive a removable tray (see figure above).
Claim 4
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a valve block (150) disposed in the upper service chamber (see figure 9). Thornton, Jr. discloses the valve block is accessible when the top panel is in the open position, wherein the valve block is inaccessible when the top panel is in the closed position. Thornton, Jr. discloses the top panel is hinged to the console housing, therefore the valve block would be accessible when the top panel is in opened configuration and inaccessible when in closed configuration.
Claim 5
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a pressure setting element/manifold assembly (258) operably connected to the valve block, the pressure setting element/manifold assembly operable to control water, air, and pressure associated with each line of a plurality of lines (defined by pipes 266, 268, and 270) connected to the valve block (see column 2 lines 22-25 and column 15 lines 6-9).
Claim 6
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a pressure regulator/air-pressure regulating valve (296) disposed in the upper service chamber (see figure 14), wherein the pressure regulator is accessible when the top panel is in the open position, wherein the pressure regulator is inaccessible when the top panel is in the closed position. Thornton, Jr. discloses the top panel is hinged to the console housing, therefore the pressure regulator/air-pressure regulating valve would be accessible when the top panel is in opened configuration and inaccessible when in closed configuration.
Claim 7
Thornton, Jr. further discloses the upper service chamber comprising one or more serviceable parts, such as conditioning switch 160, control valve 150, and/or instrument receptacle 162 (see figure 11), disposed within the upper service chamber and positioned in a manner to allow for easy access when the top panel is in the open position (see column 5 lines 7-11). Thornton, Jr. discloses the top panel is hinged to the console housing, therefore the serviceable parts would be accessible when the top panel is in opened configuration and inaccessible when in closed configuration.
Claim 8
Thornton, Jr. further discloses an air tank/air source (400) disposed in the housing (see column 21 line 51-52); a lower service chamber (10) defined by the housing; a compressor service assembly (see column 15 lines 33-38), wherein a portion of the compressor service assembly is removably connected to the housing via a fastener/upper strip (144) (see column 10 lines 45-49), wherein the compressor service assembly is sized to be selectively disposed in the lower service chamber and selectively completely removed from the lower service chamber (through air inlet 290) (see column 15 lines 33-40); and a pressure return line (defined by end of inlet 290) having a first end secured to the compressor service assembly and a second end secured to the air tank (see column 15 lines 33-40).
Claim 10
Thornton, Jr. discloses a mobile dental delivery system/dental console comprising a housing (defined by combination of structures 10 and 20); an access door (22), wherein the access door is connected to the housing via a hinge and movable between an open position and a closed position (see column 5 lines 6-11); and a middle service chamber/carriage (28) defined by the housing, wherein the middle service chamber is accessible when the access door is in the open position, wherein the middle service chamber is inaccessible when the access door is in the closed position. Thornton, Jr. discloses the middle service chamber/carriage is accessible by pivoting to open position the top panel and inaccessible when the top panel is closed (see figures 1 and 2).
Claim 11
Thornton, Jr. further discloses an air tank/air source (400) disposed in the middle service chamber, wherein the air tank is accessible when the access door is in the open position, wherein the air tank is inaccessible when the access door is in the closed position. Thornton, Jr. discloses the access door is hinged to the console housing, therefore the air tank/air source would be accessible when the access door is in opened configuration and inaccessible when in closed configuration.
Claim 12
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a storage system/cabinet (10) slidably connected to the middle service chamber by rail-like structure mounted to the middle service chamber/carriage (see claim 24), the storage system comprising a storage/front door (see column 3 lines 7-14) movable between a retracted position and an extended position, the storage door flush with the housing when in the retracted position; and one or more storage bins/storage and supply means supported by the carriage (see column 9 lines 3-9) movable between an exterior position outside of the middle service chamber when the storage door is in the extended position and interior position within the middle service chamber when the storage door in the retracted position.
Claim 13
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a bottle area/receptacle (162) defined by the housing (see column 10 lines 36-41), where the bottle area comprises a connector element (166) for engaging with a water container (see column 10 lines 41-44 and figure 19).
Claim 14
Thornton, Jr. further discloses the connector element/conduit (166) is a lock collar (defined by threads and/or snap-acting couplers) (378) comprising internal threading and a locking cutout (see column 19 lines 60-68 and column 20 lines 1-5).
Claim 15
Thornton, Jr. further discloses connector element/conduit (166) comprises an airline operatively connected to a pressurization valve (170), wherein an engaged water container is pressurized by the air line when the pressurization valve is open (see column 10 lines 44-57).
Claim 17
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a bottle area/receptacle further comprises a vacuum component/vacuum conduit (234) of a vacuum system/vacuum exhaust appliance (232) of the mobile dental delivery system (see column 10 lines 36-40 and column 14 lines 11-17).
Claim 18
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a mobile dental delivery system/dental console comprising a housing (defined by combination of structures 10 and 20); a compressor service assembly (see column 15 lines 33-38) disposed in the interior of the housing, wherein the compressor service assembly is removably connected to the housing via a fastener/upper strip (144) (see column 10 lines 45-49) and selectively movable between a secured state and an unsecured state; and a lower service chamber/cabinet (10) defined by the housing, wherein the lower service chamber and the compressor service assembly are accessible when the compressor service assembly is in the unsecured/opened state, wherein the lower service chamber is inaccessible when the compressor service assembly is in the secured/closed state. Thornton, Jr. discloses the mobile dental delivery system/dental console includes an access door (22) hinged to the console housing, therefore the compressor service assembly would be accessible when the access door is in opened configuration and inaccessible when in closed configuration.
Claim 19
Thornton, Jr. further discloses the compressor service assembly includes a compressor (see column 15 lines 33-38), wherein the compressor is accessible when the compressor service assembly is in the unsecured/opened state, wherein the compressor is inaccessible when the compressor service assembly is in the secured/closed state.
Claim 20
Thornton, Jr. further discloses the compressor service assembly is connected to an element/air filter (292) disposed in the housing by way of a tube/inlet conduit (290), wherein the tube includes a length, wherein the length is sufficient to allow complete removal of compressor service assembly from lower service chamber (see figure 14 and column 14 lines 33-41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thornton, Jr. (3,872,593) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song (US 2012/0233769) (provided by the applicant).
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a water container/manifold (see column 2 lines 43-50). Thornton does not disclose a water level indicator disposed on the housing, as required. However, Song discloses a mobile tooth brushing basin (10) comprising a water level indicator (defined by transparent window 68 disposed on a body of the tooth brushing basin) to allow the user to identify the level of water in a water supply container (14) and the water collecting container (16) with the naked eye (see [0022]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thornton, Jr. including a water level indicator/transparent window as taught by Song to provide visual accessibility of the water to the user.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thornton, Jr. (3,872,593) as applied to claim 8 above.
Claim 9
Thornton, Jr. does not explicitly disclose a dimension/length of the pressure return line. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure return line having the required length/dimension, i.e. at least 63 inches long, to have the line with enough length to help the user with proper servicing when a replacement is required.
Claim 16
Thornton, Jr. further discloses a lower service chamber/cabinet (10) defined by the housing (see figure 3); a compressor service assembly (see column 15 lines 33-38), wherein a portion of the compressor service assembly is removably connected to the housing via a fastener/upper strip (144) (see column 10 lines 45-49), wherein the compressor service assembly is sized to be selectively disposed in the lower service chamber and selectively completely removed from the lower service chamber (through air inlet 290) (see column 15 lines 33-40); and a pressure return line (defined by end of inlet 290) having a first end secured to the compressor service assembly and a second end secured to the air tank (see column 15 lines 33-40). Thornton, Jr. does not explicitly disclose a dimension/length of the pressure return line. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure return line having the required length/dimension, i.e. at least 63 inches long, to have the line with enough length to help the user with proper servicing when a replacement is required.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736