DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation, “cause the valve to perform a predetermined operation when a period during which the valve is not operated exceeds a threshold value” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear what “a period” is referring to, whether it is a time period or an operational state, and what the threshold value is measuring. Further, it is unclear how the cause the valve to perform a predetermined operation when the valve is not being operated. Clarification is requested. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to mean that when a value exceeds a threshold value, the valve goes from closed to open.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “the valve includes…a first valve…a second valve” which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear how the valve can include a plurality of valves.
Claims 2-5 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyoshi (US 2023/0324085) in view of Archibald (US 2023/0142053).
Regarding claim 1, Iyoshi teaches a refrigerant circulation device comprising: a primary flow path that allows circulation of a primary refrigerant (5a, Fig. 1, paragraph [0170]); a secondary flow path that allows circulation of a secondary refrigerant (10, Fig. 1, paragraph [0170]); a valve that is provided in the primary flow path or the secondary flow path, and includes an opening degree that is adjustable (46a, Fig. 1, paragraph [0170]); and a controller configured or programmed to control operation of the valve (20, paragraph [0084], [0090]).
Iyoshi does not specifically teach “cause the valve to perform a predetermined operation when a period during which the valve is not operated exceeds a threshold value.”
Archibald teaches a coolant distribution unit (Archibald, Title) which features a primary and secondary loop, with a valve that is opened after a maximum allowable pressure is exceeded (Archibald, paragraph [0009], claim 14, the Examiner notes that under the 112b interpretation of the limitation, Archibald reads on the claim as best understood currently). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Iyoshi with causing the valve to perform a predetermined operation when the valve is not operated exceeds a threshold value, as taught by Archibald, in order to provide a control logic which programs the valve to operate as desired per the optimization of the system.
Regarding claim 2, Iyoshi as modified teaches the refrigerant circulation device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a heat exchanger connected to the primary flow path and the secondary flow path (Iyoshi, 35, Fig. 3, paragraph [0130]);
the primary flow path including: a main flow path that connects an inflow port and an outflow port that are for the primary refrigerant via the heat exchanger (see inlet/outlet of 35 connected to 5a in Fig. 3); and
a bypass flow path that branches from the main flow path at a position upstream of the heat exchanger and merges with the main flow path at a position downstream of the heat exchanger (Iyoshi, 35, Fig. 3, paragraph [0130]); and
the valve including:
a first valve connected to the main flow path at a position not only downstream of a branch position of the bypass flow path in the main flow path but also upstream of the heat exchanger (Iyoshi, 33, Fig. 3); and
a second valve connected to the bypass flow path (Iyoshi, 46a, Fig. 3); wherein while one of the first valve and the second valve performs the predetermined operation, the controller is configured or programmed to cause the other of the first valve or the second valve to open (met through the combination with Archibald).
Regarding claim 4, Iyoshi as modified teaches the refrigerant circulation device according to claim 1, further comprising: a pressure sensor provided in the primary flow path (Iyoshi, 78, Fig. 3, paragraph [0083]); wherein the controller is configured or programmed to determine whether to cause the predetermined operation to be performed in accordance with a measurement value of the pressure sensor and an opening degree of the valve (see Archibald which opens bypass in response to exceeding pressure values).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyoshi in view of Archibald, further in view of Yang (US 2024/0085048).
Regarding claim 5, Iyoshi as modified teaches the refrigerant circulation device according to claim 1, comprising a sensor provided in the primary flow path or the secondary flow path (Iyoshi, 78, paragraph [0083]); but does not teach wherein the controller is configured or programmed to check whether the sensor normally operates based on change in measurement values of the sensor during the predetermined operation.
Yang teaches determining whether a sensor is at fault by assessing a fault parameter value in the temperature values recorded by the temperature sensor (Yang, paragraph [0112]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Iyoshi as modified with check whether the sensor normally operates based on change in measurement values of the sensor, as taught by Yang, in order to maintain functional equipment in the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763