DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a data acquiring means for acquiring feature data…” and “a word or phrase acquiring means for using the feature data…” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims 1, 7 and 8 recites, “acquiring feature data indicating a feature of an analysis target” and “a word or phrase acquiring process for using the feature data to cause a language model that has been machine-learned to generate at least one appealing word or phrase indicating a point which the analysis target appeals to a predetermined target person, or for causing the language model to select one or more of candidates for the at least one appealing word or phrase, the one or more matching the feature data”.
The limitation of acquiring feature data, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a “processor”, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “acquiring” in the context of this claim encompasses acquiring data, which a human can do in the mind or with a pen and paper. Next, the limitation of generating an appealing word from feature data, as drafted, is a process, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the elements listed above, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “generate” in the context of this claim encompasses categorizing words which a human can do in the mind or with a pen and paper.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites the additional elements of using a processor to perform the recited limitations. These elements in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that is amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using a processor to perform the recited limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-6 are also rejected for the same reasons provided in independent claim 1 above. The dependent claim, including the further recited limitation, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and the additional elements, taken individually and in combination do not contribute to an inventive concept. In other words, the dependent claim is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen (US 20210110431 A1).
Regarding independent claims 1, 7, and 8 Cohen teaches an information processing apparatus comprising at least one processor, the at least one processor carrying out (FIG. 5, 504) / an analysis method comprising / a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium recording therein an analysis program for causing a computer to function as:
a data acquiring process for acquiring feature data indicating a feature of an analysis target (FIG. 2A, 200, 205, 210; [0029-0030] “in step 205, selected source resources and/or identifiers for a selected source resource may be received from a user…in step 210, information may be retrieved from one or more of the source resources”); and
a word or phrase acquiring process for using the feature data to cause a language model that has been machine-learned to generate at least one appealing word or phrase indicating a point which the analysis target appeals to a predetermined target person, or for causing the language model to select one or more of candidates for the at least one appealing word or phrase, the one or more matching the feature data (FIG. 2A, 200, 215; [0030] “In step 215, the source resources and/or information retrieved from the one or more source resources may be analyzed to detect one or more units of interest (UOI) associated with the respective source resources. Exemplary UOIs include, but are not limited to, keywords and phrases, interests, and brands”; FIG. 2B, 265-265, [0038] “In step 260, a model of an advertising campaign may be generated using, for example, results from execution of one or more of steps 205-255”; [0028] “execution of process 200, or portions thereof, may utilize machine learning and/or iterative modeling to develop targeted advertising campaigns”; FIG. 2A, 245, [0036] “in step 245, an indication that one or more target audiences and/or UOIs is selected may be received from of the user”).
Regarding claim 2, Cohen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 2 depends.
Additionally, Cohen teaches wherein in the data acquiring process, the at least one processor acquires, as the feature data, a feature word or phrase that is included in a document describing the analysis target and that indicates the feature of the analysis target ([0029] “an identifier for a source resource may include a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), JavaScript text, an Adobe Portable Document File (PDF), a word processor document, text”), and
in the word or phrase acquiring process, the at least one processor inputs the feature word or phrase into the language model to cause the language model to generate the at least one appealing word or phrase, or inputs the feature word or phrase and the candidates into the language model to cause the language model to select, as the at least one appealing word or phrase, one or more of the candidates, the one or more matching the feature word or phrase (FIG. 2A, 200, 215; [0030]; FIG. 2B, 265-265, [0038]; FIG. 2A, 245, [0036];).
Regarding claim 3, Cohen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 3 depends.
Additionally, Cohen teaches wherein in the data acquiring process, the at least one processor generates, from an image indicating the analysis target, a feature word or phrase indicating the feature of the analysis target, and acquires the feature word or phrase as the feature data ([0029] “an identifier for a source resource may include a Uniform Resource Identifier (URI), a Uniform Resource Locator (URL), Hypertext Markup Language (HTML), JavaScript text, an Adobe Portable Document File (PDF), a word processor document, text, and/or images”), and
in the word or phrase acquiring process, the at least one processor inputs the feature word or phrase into the language model to cause the language model to generate the at least one appealing word or phrase, or inputs the feature word or phrase and the candidates into the language model to cause the language model to select, as the at least one appealing word or phrase, one or more of the candidates, the one or more matching the feature word or phrase (FIG. 2A, 200, 215; [0030]; FIG. 2B, 265-265, [0038]; FIG. 2A, 245, [0036];).
Regarding claim 4, Cohen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 4 depends.
Additionally, Cohen teaches wherein, in the word or phrase acquiring process, into the language model, the at least one processor inputs, together with the feature data, the at least one appealing word or phrase as the candidates, the at least one appealing word or phrase having been generated or selected for each analysis target included in some of a plurality of groups, the groups each including analysis targets having a shared attribute, and causes the language model to select, as the at least one appealing word or phrase, one or more of the input candidates, the one or more matching the feature data ([0032] “execution of step 225 includes bundling together a source resource and UOIs associated with the respective source resource together as a target audience and then storing the association as a target audience in the persistent data store”;).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of Ray et al. “Creative tagline generation framework for product advertisement”, IBM Journal of Research and Development, 63(1), 6-1 (hereinafter Ray).
Regarding claim 5, Cohen teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends.
Cohen fails to teach wherein the at least one processor carries out a display control process for displaying, on a display apparatus, a graph in which (a) a node indicating the analysis target and (b) a node indicating the at least one appealing word or phrase generated or selected for the analysis target are connected by an edge.
However, Ray teaches wherein the at least one processor carries out a display control process for displaying, on a display apparatus, a graph in which (a) a node indicating the analysis target and (b) a node indicating the at least one appealing word or phrase generated or selected for the analysis target are connected by an edge (FIG. 3, pg. 3, 3.2;)
Cohen in view of Ray are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are the same field of digital advertisements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the techniques computer method and system for targeting digital advertisements of Cohen with the technique of using graph with nodes representing targets and appealing words taught by Ray in order to generate creative taglines for product advertisements (see Ray [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 6, Cohen in view of Ray teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 upon which claim 6 depends.
Additionally, Ray teaches wherein the at least one processor carries out a classification process for, in accordance with content of a plurality of appealing words or phrases that have been generated or selected and that the at least one appealing word or phrase comprises, classifying the plurality of appealing words or phrases (pg. 3, 3.2, “The schema (Ontology) of the KG is predefined (manually
created based on the data), and its instances are populated from the fashion data by identifying the different class elements using Watson Natural Language Classifier (NLC) [13]. The relationships among instances of different classes are learned from the data”), and
in the display control process, the at least one processor displays, in each of nodes corresponding to the respective appealing words or phrases that fall under an identical classification, a representative word or phrase which represents each of the appealing words or phrases that fall under the identical classification (FIG. 3, pg. 3, 3.2;).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang (US 20110238495 A1) teaches a keyword-advertisement method using meta-information related to digital contents such as multimedia contents and a system thereof. The present invention discloses a method and a system for executing a keyword-advertisement by using meta-information such as tags included in multimedia contents such as a moving picture, an image, a sound and so on. According to the invention, producers, providers, and distributors of multimedia contents are able to make a profit from an advertisement through a service for multimedia contents including keyword-advertisement contents. A user is able to use the multimedia contents free of charge or at a low cost. In addition, convenient web-surfing to correspondent contents is enabled for a user through informative keyword-advertisement contents related to the currently-used multimedia contents and allows the user to acquire additional information. An advertiser enables a targeted advertisement for the users who listen to or watch the multimedia contents so that the advertiser may induce more traffic to the target website/webpage or other target advertisement contents. This invention can be utilized in a wired/wireless online advertisement industry, a multimedia contents industry, an information communication service industry, a visual industry such as a film, image, or music industry and so on.
Chopra (US 20080065620 A1) teaches methods, systems, and apparatus, including computer program products for generating key phrases for advertising are provided. In one implementation, a method is provided. The method includes receiving input from an advertising user specifying an advertisement that is associated with a particular landing page. A key phrase for the advertisement is automatically generated, the key phrase being generated based on features extracted from the landing page and based on empirical statistics derived from a corpus comprising corpus key phrases and web pages corresponding to the respective corpus key phrases.
/ZEESHAN MAHMOOD SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 2658
/RICHEMOND DORVIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2658