DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “tapered spike structure” recited in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a tapered spike structure is provided on a head of each of the jack screws”. It is unclear to the examiner what the tapered spike structure is as the drawings, nor the written specification point to said structure. The drawings, specifically Fig. 1, appear to show an extended projection on which the handle (33) pivots about which is commonly known in the art. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, the examiner has construed the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McMahon US 5604967.
McMahon discloses a tool capable of being used as a valve core removal tool, comprising: a sleeve (18) with a bottom opening (52); an inner cylinder (12) with a bottom opening (28) sleeved inside the sleeve (18), moving along an axial direction of the sleeve (via shaft 16); locking portions (14), provided on both sides of the inner cylinder and moving along a radial direction of the inner cylinder; and a screw rod (16), axially arranged on the inner cylinder, with one end connected to the inner cylinder and the other end extending out of the sleeve (see Fig. 5 above), wherein a fixing portion (bottom of 18 for supporting the tool on a surface) is provided at the bottom opening of the sleeve, the inner cylinder (12) is moved above the fixing portion, the locking portions (14) move inward for locking, the screw rod rises along the sleeve, and the inner cylinder moves upward along the axial direction of the sleeve away from a bottom of the sleeve based on the movement of the screw rod.
As for claim 2, McMahon discloses wherein sliding grooves (54) are provided on both sides of the sleeve (18), the locking portions extend out of the sleeve through the sliding grooves, and the locking portions slide in the sliding grooves with the movement of the inner cylinder (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 3, McMahon discloses wherein the locking portions comprise: screw holders (threaded holes 30) capable of being used as jack screw holders arranged on both sides of the inner cylinder (12), threaded bolts (14) capable of being used as jack screws matched with the jack screw holders (30), and a handle (36) mounted on one end of each of the jack screws; the jack screw holders are provided with through holes with internal threads (threaded hole 30), and the through holes are communicated with the inner cylinder (12); and by rotating the jack screws (14) with the handles (36, can be gripped by handle and rotated), the jack screws move inward through the through holes for locking and fixing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMahon US 5604967 in view of Lin TW M635326U.
As for claim 4, McMahon discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein a tapered spike structure is provided on a head of each of the jack screws. However, the use of a tapered spike structure being provided on the head of a jack for pivoting a handle for actuating said fastener is well known in the art as evidence by Lin (see fig. 2 below) wherein handle (20) is attached to a tapered spike structure (12) formed on the head of threaded screw (10, 14) for rotating the screw to be fastened to a surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the screw of McMahon to include a tapered spike structure with handle as taught by Lin as an alternative means for actuating a fastener to be tightened or loosened.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMahon US 5604967 in view of Green US 2017/0008157.
As for claim 7, McMahon discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein the fixing portion has an internal thread structure. However, the use of internal thread structures for fixing a tool to a surface is well known in the art as evidence by Green who teaches a fixing portion (19) having internal thread structure for attachment to a threaded structure (304) of a body (302) for removal of a valve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify and/or substitute the fixing portion of McMahon to include an internal thread structure as taught by Green in order to provide an alternative means for securing the tool to a threaded surface for removing a dowel or object.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMahon US 5604967 in view of Haboush US 2693798.
As for claim 10, McMahon discloses all the limitations as recited above but does not specify wherein a screw cap is arranged at the end of the screw rod extending out of the sleeve. However, the use of screw caps for protecting the screw rod, user and for other various purposes as taught by Haboush who teaches a screw actuated tool with a screw rod (21) having a screw cap (40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the screw rod of McMahon to include a screw cap as taught by Haboush in order to provide a means for protecting the screw rod and the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYRONE V HALL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723