DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 12/18/2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing from 02/06/2026.
Claims 1-6, and 8-21 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority to DE 102024106309, filed on 03/05/2024. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024, and 05/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of the pre-sealing elements of Shaikh, Schaaf, and Bowen extend into the labyrinth gap. Examiner maintains that under the current claim language, and the broadest reasonable interpretation of the labyrinth gap, Schaaf discloses {Fig. 1} forming a labyrinth gap {gap between 21, 29, and 30} by a recess {recess between 21, 29, and 30} in the bearing outer ring {21} on the wheel-carrier-facing side {wheel carrier 30 side}; and teaches the sealing projection {25} extends into the labyrinth gap {gap between 21, 29, and 30}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaikh (DE 102022/104768), as cited by Applicant, in view of Schaaf (US 2024/0383276) and Bowen (US 3,510,138), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Shaikh discloses a wheel carrier arrangement {Fig. 1} for a motor vehicle, comprising: a wheel bearing {8} configured to mount a wheel hub {13: “wheel hub 13 is rotatably mounted via a rolling bearing arrangement 8” [0023]} about a wheel hub axis of rotation {19 (Figs. 1, 3)}, wherein the wheel hub {13} has a first gear {5 (13 side): gear connection 5 denotes the gear connection between members 12 and 13 (Fig. 1)} which is configured to engage with a second gear {5 (12 side): “the wheel hub 13 and the joint bell 12 connected to a drive shaft are connected to one another in a rotationally fixed manner by means of a spur gear 5” [0023]} of a torque transmission element {12: “wheel hub 13 of a motor vehicle which can be driven via a joint bell 12” [0023]}; a sealing {9} configured to interact with a pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)}, wherein the sealing {9} is arranged between an inner ring {16} of the wheel bearing {8} and an outer ring {17} of the wheel bearing {8}, and the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} is configured to form-fittingly engage {via 7 (Fig. 1)} with the torque transmission element {12} in order to fix the torque transmission element {12} in the axial direction with respect to the wheel hub axis of rotation {19} relative to the wheel bearing {8: “the snap-in element 7 is positively connected to the joint bell 12 [0026]}.
Shaikh further discloses what appears to be a wheel carrier {unlabeled member underneath 12 and 13, and contacting both 12 and 13 in Fig. 1; “wheel carrier” [0004]}. However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose a wheel carrier and a wheel bearing for the rotary mounting of a wheel hub on the wheel carrier.
Schaaf teaches a wheel carrier {30} and a wheel bearing {20} for the rotary mounting of a wheel hub {10} on the wheel carrier {30: “a wheel bearing, via which the wheel hub is mounted rotatably on the wheel carrier” [0035]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel carrier arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh, to include a wheel carrier and a wheel bearing for the rotary mounting of a wheel hub on the wheel carrier, as taught by Schaaf, in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” [0011].
Shaikh: Annotated Fig. 1
Shaikh further discloses what appears to be a pre-sealing element {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} surrounding the outer ring {17 (left side, Fig. 1)} of the wheel bearing {8} to form a sealing labyrinth {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} and includes a sealing projection {A (Annotated Fig. 1)}; and a labyrinth gap {gap underneath 17} formed by a recess in the outer ring {17} and configured to receive the pre-sealing element {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} is delimited radially between the outer ring {17} inwardly and the wheel hub {13} outwardly, wherein the recess {gap underneath 17 (Fig. 1)} is formed on a side of the outer ring {17} facing the wheel carrier {bottom portion under 12 and 13 (as modified above by Schaaf)}, and the sealing projection {A} extends into the labyrinth gap {gap underneath 17 (Annotated Fig. 1)}.
However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose the unlabeled element is a pre-sealing element that surrounds the outer ring of the wheel bearing in a circumferential direction to form a sealing labyrinth and includes a sealing projection, wherein a labyrinth gap formed by a recess in the outer ring and configured to receive the pre-sealing element is delimited radially between the outer ring inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly, wherein the recess is formed on a side of the outer ring facing the wheel carrier, and the sealing projection extends into the labyrinth gap.
Bowen teaches a pre-sealing element {105 (106+107+115, Fig. 4)} surrounds the outer ring {41 (Fig. 2)} of the wheel bearing {45: “Bearings 45 are shown positioned between the shaft 40 and the housing 41” (Col. 3, lines 62-64)} in a circumferential direction {Figs. 1, 4} to form a sealing labyrinth {116: “The rock shield member 107 may include an inner cylindrical portion 112 which is held to the wear sleeve 106 by a lip 113. A generally radially extending portion 114 leads to an outer axial portion 115 that provides a close fitting dirt labyrinth 116 around the housing” (Col. 4, lines 38-42)} and includes a sealing projection {107, 114, 115, 117 (Fig. 4)}, wherein a labyrinth gap {116} formed by a recess in the outer ring {41} and configured to receive the pre-sealing element {105} is delimited radially between the outer ring {41} inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly, and the sealing projection {107, 114, 115, 117} extends into the labyrinth gap {116 (Fig. 4)}.
Schaaf teaches {Fig. 1} a labyrinth gap {gap housing 25} formed by a recess in a wheel-bearing outer ring {21 (recess is formed in the right portion of 21)} and configured to receive the pre sealing element {25: “wheel bearing seals 24 and 25” [0060]} is delimited radially between the outer ring {21} inwardly {to the right of 21} and the wheel carrier {30} outwardly {to the left of 30}, wherein the recess {gap housing 25} is formed on a side of the outer ring {21 (right side)} facing the wheel carrier {30}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel carrier arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh and Schaaf, such that the pre-sealing element surrounds the outer ring of the wheel bearing in a circumferential direction to form a sealing labyrinth, wherein a labyrinth gap for receiving the pre-sealing element is delimited radially between the outer ring inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly, wherein the recess is formed on a side of the outer ring facing the wheel carrier, and the sealing projection extends into the labyrinth gap, as taught by Bowen and Schaaf, in order to provide “an improved unitized seal” {Bowen: Col. 4, line 22}, and in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” {Schaaf: [0011]}.
Regarding claim 2, Shaikh discloses the torque transmission element {12} is a joint element {“joint bell 12” [0026]} of an angularly movable joint {it is clear that the “joint bell” is an element (“bell” element) of an angularly movable “joint”}.
Regarding claim 3, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the first sealing part {15} rests on the inner ring {16} of the wheel bearing {8} and extends to the side of the outer ring {17} facing away from the inner ring {16 (Fig. 1)} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} extends from the first sealing part {15} and interacts with the torque transmission element {12} in a form-fitting manner {Figs. 1-2: “the snap-in element 7 is positively connected to the joint bell 12 [0026]; “The sealing element 3 has a circumferential sealing lip 14 which rests against the joint bell 12” [0027]}.
Regarding claim 4, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the first sealing part {15} consists of a first material {associated with seal carrier 2: “a metallic, flexible material, for example any metal. A particularly preferred material is a non-ferromagnetic (austenitic) steel sheet” [0009]; and/or associated with seal 3: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} consists of a second material {associated with seal carrier 2: “a metallic, flexible material, for example any metal. A particularly preferred material is a non-ferromagnetic (austenitic) steel sheet” [0009]; and/or associated with seal 3: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]}, wherein the first material and the second material are identical or different from one another.
Regarding claim 5, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the first sealing part {15} is materially connected to the second sealing part {7+10+14}, or that the first sealing part {15} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} are designed in one piece and from the same material {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 6, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the second sealing part {7+10+14} is elastic {via member 14, because 14 is a part of sealing element 3 (“sealing element 3 has a circumferential sealing lip 14” [0027]); and sealing element 3 is elastic: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]}, so that an end {14 (Fig. 2)} of the second sealing part {7+10+14} facing the torque transmission element {12} can be elastically deflected relative to the first sealing part {15 (Figs. 1-2)}.
Regarding claim 8, Shaikh in view of Schaaf and Bowen discloses all the aspects of claim 1. However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose the wheel carrier has a wheel-carrier recess in which the wheel bearing, the wheel hub and the torque transmission element are each arranged at least in regions and in that internal dimensions of the wheel-carrier recess in the radial direction with respect to the wheel hub axis of rotation decrease from the wheel bearing in the direction of the torque transmission element.
Schaaf teaches the wheel carrier {30} has a recess in which the wheel bearing {20}, the wheel hub {10} and the torque transmission element {40} are each arranged at least in regions {Fig. 1} and in that internal dimensions of the recess in the radial direction with respect to the wheel hub axis of rotation {A} decrease from the wheel bearing {20} in the direction of the torque transmission element {40 (42): Fig. 1 shows that the recess decreases in the direction from left (wheel bearing 20 side) to right (torque transmission element 40+42 side)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel carrier arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh, Schaaf and Bowen, such that the wheel carrier has a recess in which the wheel bearing, the wheel hub and the torque transmission element are each arranged at least in regions and in that internal dimensions of the recess in the radial direction with respect to the wheel hub axis of rotation decrease from the wheel bearing in the direction of the torque transmission element, as taught by Schaaf, in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” [0011].
Regarding claim 9, Shaikh discloses for form-fitting interaction {via 7 and 14 (Figs. 1-2)} of the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} with the torque transmission element {12}, the torque transmission element {12} has a sealing gap {Fig. 1} in which the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} engages {via 7: “a snap-in element 7 formed on the seal carrier 2, which axially fixes the wheel bearing seal 1 in a form-fitting manner relative to the spur gearing 5 of a wheel bearing unit 11” [0022]; “snap-in element 7 is positively connected to the joint bell 12” [0026]} in a sealing manner {Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 10, Shaikh in view of Schaaf and Bowen discloses all the aspects of claim 8. However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose the wheel-carrier recess is designed with an insertion bevel on a side facing the wheel bearing in the axial direction and on a side facing away from the torque transmission element.
Schaaf teaches the recess is designed with an insertion bevel {31: “a radially inwardly directed projection 31” [0088]} on a side facing the wheel bearing {20} in the axial direction and on a side facing away from the torque transmission element {40 (side of 31 opposite of wall 32 in Fig. 1)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel carrier arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh, Schaaf and Bowen, such that the wheel-carrier recess is designed with an insertion bevel on a side facing the wheel bearing in the axial direction and on a side facing away from the torque transmission element, as taught by Schaaf, in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” [0011].
Regarding claim 11, Shaikh in view of Schaaf and Bowen discloses all the aspects of claim 1. However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose the pre-sealing element together with the wheel carrier delimits a pre-sealing space into which a water drainage bore opens.
Schaaf teaches the pre-sealing element {50} together with the wheel carrier {30} delimits a pre-sealing space {73 (Fig. 5)} into which a water drainage bore {73: “such that incoming water can be drained away under centrifugal force. The annular gap 73 preferably has a gap width of 1 to 3 mm” [0118]; “In the present case, this deflected flow is directed into the sealing gap in order to make the penetration of water and dirt more difficult and to drain away water and dirt which may have entered to the outside” [0102]} opens.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel carrier arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh, Schaaf and Bowen, such that the pre-sealing element together with the wheel carrier delimits a pre-sealing space into which a water drainage bore opens, as taught by Schaaf, in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” [0011].
Regarding claim 12, Shaikh discloses an arrangement {Fig. 1} for a motor vehicle, comprising: a wheel bearing {8} configured to mount a wheel hub {13: “wheel hub 13 is rotatably mounted via a rolling bearing arrangement 8” [0023]} about a wheel hub axis of rotation {19 (Figs. 1, 3)}, wherein the wheel hub {13} has a first gear {5 (13 side): gear connection 5 denotes the gear connection between members 12 and 13 (Fig. 1)} which is configured to engage a second gear {5 (12 side): “the wheel hub 13 and the joint bell 12 connected to a drive shaft are connected to one another in a rotationally fixed manner by means of a spur gear 5” [0023]} of a torque transmission element {12: “wheel hub 13 of a motor vehicle which can be driven via a joint bell 12” [0023]}; a sealing {9} configured to interact with a pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)}, wherein the sealing {9} is arranged between an inner ring {16} of the wheel bearing {8} and an outer ring {17} of the wheel bearing {8}, and the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} is configured to form-fittingly engage {via 7 (Fig. 1)} with the torque transmission element {12} in order to fix the torque transmission element {12} in the axial direction with respect to the wheel hub axis of rotation {19} relative to the wheel bearing {8: “the snap-in element 7 is positively connected to the joint bell 12 [0026]}; and a pulse generator {6: “an encoder 6 for the sensory detection of a rotational speed” [0022]} is embedded in a fastening material {2+3 (Figs. 1-2)} and attached to the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3): “The wheel bearing seal 1 further comprises an encoder 6 for the sensory detection of a rotational speed” [0022]}.
Shaikh further discloses what appears to be a wheel carrier {unlabeled member underneath 12 and 13, and contacting both 12 and 13 in Fig. 1; “wheel carrier” [0004]}. However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose a wheel carrier and a wheel bearing configured to mount a wheel hub on the wheel carrier.
Schaaf teaches a wheel carrier {30} and a wheel bearing {20} configured to mount a wheel hub {10} on the wheel carrier {30: “a wheel bearing, via which the wheel hub is mounted rotatably on the wheel carrier” [0035]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh, to include a wheel carrier, such that the arrangement is a wheel carrier arrangement, and such that the wheel bearing is configured to mount the wheel hub on the wheel carrier, as taught by Schaaf, in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” [0011].
Shaikh: Annotated Fig. 1
Shaikh further discloses what appears to be a pre-sealing element {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} surrounding the outer ring {17 (left side, Fig. 1)} of the wheel bearing {8} to form a sealing labyrinth {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} and includes a sealing projection {A (Annotated Fig. 1)}; and a labyrinth gap {gap underneath 17} formed by a recess in the outer ring {17} and configured to receive the pre-sealing element {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} is delimited radially between the outer ring {17} inwardly and the wheel hub {13} outwardly, wherein the recess {gap underneath 17 (Fig. 1)} is formed on a side of the outer ring {17} facing the wheel carrier {bottom portion under 12 and 13 (as modified above by Schaaf)}, and the sealing projection {A} extends into the labyrinth gap {gap underneath 17 (Annotated Fig. 1)}.
However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose the unlabeled element is a pre-sealing element that surrounds the outer ring of the wheel bearing in a circumferential direction to form a sealing labyrinth and includes a sealing projection, wherein a labyrinth gap formed by a recess in the outer ring and configured to receive the pre-sealing element is delimited radially between the outer ring inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly, wherein the recess is formed on a side of the outer ring facing the wheel carrier, and the sealing projection extends into the labyrinth gap.
Bowen teaches a pre-sealing element {105 (106+107+115, Fig. 4)} surrounds the outer ring {41 (Fig. 2)} of the wheel bearing {45: “Bearings 45 are shown positioned between the shaft 40 and the housing 41” (Col. 3, lines 62-64)} in a circumferential direction {Figs. 1, 4} to form a sealing labyrinth {116: “The rock shield member 107 may include an inner cylindrical portion 112 which is held to the wear sleeve 106 by a lip 113. A generally radially extending portion 114 leads to an outer axial portion 115 that provides a close fitting dirt labyrinth 116 around the housing” (Col. 4, lines 38-42)} and includes a sealing projection {107, 114, 115, 117 (Fig. 4)}, wherein a labyrinth gap {116} formed by a recess in the outer ring {41} and configured to receive the pre-sealing element {105} is delimited radially between the outer ring {41} inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly, and the sealing projection {107, 114, 115, 117} extends into the labyrinth gap {116 (Fig. 4)}.
Schaaf teaches {Fig. 1} a labyrinth gap {gap housing 25} formed by a recess in a wheel-bearing outer ring {21 (recess is formed in the right portion of 21)} and configured to receive the pre sealing element {25: “wheel bearing seals 24 and 25” [0060]} is delimited radially between the outer ring {21} inwardly {to the right of 21} and the wheel carrier {30} outwardly {to the left of 30}, wherein the recess {gap housing 25} is formed on a side of the outer ring {21 (right side)} facing the wheel carrier {30}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel carrier arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh and Schaaf, such that the pre-sealing element surrounds the outer ring of the wheel bearing in a circumferential direction to form a sealing labyrinth, wherein a labyrinth gap for receiving the pre-sealing element is delimited radially between the outer ring inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly, wherein the recess is formed on a side of the outer ring facing the wheel carrier, and the sealing projection extends into the labyrinth gap, as taught by Bowen and Schaaf, in order to provide “an improved unitized seal” {Bowen: Col. 4, line 22}, and in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” {Schaaf: [0011]}.
Regarding claim 13, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the first sealing part {15} rests on the inner ring {16} of the wheel bearing {8} and extends to the side of the outer ring {17} facing away from the inner ring {16 (Fig. 1)} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} extends from the first sealing part {15} and interacts with the torque transmission element {12} in a form-fitting manner {Figs. 1-2: “the snap-in element 7 is positively connected to the joint bell 12 [0026]; “The sealing element 3 has a circumferential sealing lip 14 which rests against the joint bell 12” [0027]}.
Regarding claim 14, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the first sealing part {15} consists of a first material {associated with seal carrier 2: “a metallic, flexible material, for example any metal. A particularly preferred material is a non-ferromagnetic (austenitic) steel sheet” [0009]; and/or associated with seal 3: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} consists of a second material {associated with seal carrier 2: “a metallic, flexible material, for example any metal. A particularly preferred material is a non-ferromagnetic (austenitic) steel sheet” [0009]; and/or associated with seal 3: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]}, wherein the first material and the second material are identical or different from one another.
Regarding claim 15, Shaikh discloses the first sealing part {15} consists of a first material {associated with seal carrier 2: “a metallic, flexible material, for example any metal. A particularly preferred material is a non-ferromagnetic (austenitic) steel sheet” [0009]; and/or associated with seal 3: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} consists of a second material {associated with seal carrier 2: “a metallic, flexible material, for example any metal. A particularly preferred material is a non-ferromagnetic (austenitic) steel sheet” [0009]; and/or associated with seal 3: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]}, wherein the first material and the second material are identical or different from one another.
Regarding claim 16, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the first sealing part {15} is materially connected to the second sealing part {7+10+14}, or the first sealing part {15} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} are designed in one piece and from the same material {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 17, Shaikh discloses the first sealing part {15} is materially connected to the second sealing part {7+10+14}, or the first sealing part {15} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} are designed in one piece and from the same material {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 18, Shaikh discloses the first sealing part {15} is materially connected to the second sealing part {7+10+14}, or the first sealing part {15} and the second sealing part {7+10+14} are designed in one piece and from the same material {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 19, Shaikh discloses the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} has a first sealing part {15} and a second sealing part {7+10+14}, wherein the second sealing part {7+10+14} is elastic {via member 14, because 14 is a part of sealing element 3 (“sealing element 3 has a circumferential sealing lip 14” [0027]); and sealing element 3 is elastic: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]}, so that an end {14 (Fig. 2)} of the second sealing part {7+10+14} facing the torque transmission element {12} can be elastically deflected relative to the first sealing part {15 (Figs. 1-2)}.
Regarding claim 20, Shaikh discloses the second sealing part {7+10+14} is elastic {via member 14, because 14 is a part of sealing element 3 (“sealing element 3 has a circumferential sealing lip 14” [0027]); and sealing element 3 is elastic: “An elastic sealing element can in particular be formed from an elastomer, polyurethane or a thermoplastic material” [0010]}, so that an end {14 (Fig. 2)} of the second sealing part {7+10+14} facing the torque transmission element {12} can be elastically deflected relative to the first sealing part {15 (Figs. 1-2)}.
Regarding claim 21, Shaikh discloses an arrangement {Fig. 1} for a motor vehicle, comprising: a wheel bearing {8} configured to mount a wheel hub {13: “wheel hub 13 is rotatably mounted via a rolling bearing arrangement 8” [0023]} about a wheel hub axis of rotation {19 (Figs. 1, 3)}, wherein the wheel hub {13} has a first gear {5 (13 side): gear connection 5 denotes the gear connection between members 12 and 13 (Fig. 1)} which is configured to engage a second gear {5 (12 side): “the wheel hub 13 and the joint bell 12 connected to a drive shaft are connected to one another in a rotationally fixed manner by means of a spur gear 5” [0023]} of a torque transmission element {12: “wheel hub 13 of a motor vehicle which can be driven via a joint bell 12” [0023]}; a sealing {9} configured to interact with a pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)}, wherein the sealing {9} is arranged between an inner ring {16} of the wheel bearing {8} and an outer ring {17} of the wheel bearing {8}, and the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3)} is configured to form-fittingly engage {via 7 (Fig. 1)} with the torque transmission element {12} in order to fix the torque transmission element {12} in the axial direction with respect to the wheel hub axis of rotation {19} relative to the wheel bearing {8: “the snap-in element 7 is positively connected to the joint bell 12 [0026]}; and a pulse generator {6: “an encoder 6 for the sensory detection of a rotational speed” [0022]} is embedded in a fastening material {2+3 (Figs. 1-2)} and attached to the pre-sealing element {1 (2+3): “The wheel bearing seal 1 further comprises an encoder 6 for the sensory detection of a rotational speed” [0022]}.
Shaikh further discloses what appears to be a wheel carrier {unlabeled member underneath 12 and 13, and contacting both 12 and 13 in Fig. 1; “wheel carrier” [0004]}. However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose a wheel carrier and a wheel bearing configured to mount a wheel hub on the wheel carrier.
Schaaf teaches a wheel carrier {30} and a wheel bearing {20} configured to mount a wheel hub {10} on the wheel carrier {30: “a wheel bearing, via which the wheel hub is mounted rotatably on the wheel carrier” [0035]}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh, to include a wheel carrier, such that the arrangement is a wheel carrier arrangement, and such that the wheel bearing is configured to mount the wheel hub on the wheel carrier, as taught by Schaaf, in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” [0011].
Shaikh: Annotated Fig. 1
Shaikh further discloses what appears to be a pre-sealing element {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} surrounding the outer ring {17 (left side, Fig. 1)} of the wheel bearing {8} to form a sealing labyrinth {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)}; and a labyrinth gap {gap underneath 17} formed by a recess in the outer ring {17} and configured to receive the pre-sealing element {1 (Annotated Fig. 1)} is delimited radially between the outer ring {17} inwardly and the wheel hub {13} outwardly.
However, Shaikh does not explicitly disclose that the unlabeled element is a pre-sealing element that surrounds the outer ring of the wheel bearing in a circumferential direction to form a sealing labyrinth, wherein a labyrinth gap formed by a recess in the outer ring and configured to receive the pre-sealing element is delimited radially between the outer ring inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly; or that the sealing is non-rotatably connected to the outer ring and the pre-sealing element is non-rotatably connected to the inner ring.
Bowen teaches a pre-sealing element {105 (106+107+115, Fig. 4)} surrounds the outer ring {41 (Fig. 2)} of the wheel bearing {45: “Bearings 45 are shown positioned between the shaft 40 and the housing 41” (Col. 3, lines 62-64)} in a circumferential direction {Figs. 1, 4} to form a sealing labyrinth {116: “The rock shield member 107 may include an inner cylindrical portion 112 which is held to the wear sleeve 106 by a lip 113. A generally radially extending portion 114 leads to an outer axial portion 115 that provides a close fitting dirt labyrinth 116 around the housing” (Col. 4, lines 38-42)}, wherein a labyrinth gap {116} formed by a recess in the outer ring {41} and configured to receive the pre-sealing element {105} is delimited radially between the outer ring {41} inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly.
Schaaf teaches {Fig. 1} a labyrinth gap {gap housing 25} formed by a recess in a wheel-bearing outer ring {21 (recess is formed in the right portion of 21)} and configured to receive the pre sealing element {25 (lower portion): “wheel bearing seals 24 and 25” [0060]} is delimited radially between the outer ring {21} inwardly {to the right of 21} and the wheel carrier {30} outwardly {to the left of 30}; and that the sealing {25 (upper portion)} is non-rotatably connected to the outer ring {21} and the pre-sealing element {25 (lower portion)} is non-rotatably connected to the inner ring {29 (Fig. 1)}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel carrier arrangement, as disclosed by Shaikh and Schaaf, such that the pre-sealing element surrounds the outer ring of the wheel bearing in a circumferential direction to form a sealing labyrinth, wherein a labyrinth gap for receiving the pre-sealing element is delimited radially between the outer ring inwardly and the wheel carrier outwardly; and that the sealing is non-rotatably connected to the outer ring and the pre-sealing element is non-rotatably connected to the inner ring, as taught by Bowen and Schaaf, in order to provide “an improved unitized seal” {Bowen: Col. 4, line 22}, and in order “to further improve the effectiveness of a contact-free wheel bearing pre-seal in order to enable the actual wheel bearing seal to be realized more simply and with less friction” {Schaaf: [0011]}.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614