Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended their application as follows:
Amended: 1, 4-5, 9 and 16
Cancelled: None
Added: None
Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al. (US 2017/0322410 A1, hereinafter “Watson”) in view of Lamb et al. (US 2014/0006026 A1, hereinafter “Lamb”).
As to claim 1, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses a head-mounted display device, comprising:
a display assembly (142) including:
a window (Para. 0079); and
a light source configured to produce content displayed at the window (Para. 0033, light source of LCD display);
a securement band (112) defining a closed loop (Para. 0081), the closed loop including:
a first connection point (Fig. 10 element B; left);
a second connection point (right B) opposite the first connection point (Para. 0087); and
a third connection point (Fig. 14A element 208) disposed between the first connection point and the second connection point (Para. 0091);
a first connection arm (left 146) coupling the display assembly to the first connection point (Para. 0087);
a second connection arm (right 146) coupling the display assembly to the second connection point (Para. 0087);
a third connection arm (204) coupling the display assembly to the third connection point (208),
wherein the third connection arm:
is positioned between the securement band (112) and the display assembly (142); and
extends perpendicularly away from the securement band (112) and a wearer (Fig. 9; Para. 0086, there is a clear gap between the display screen and the user head).
Watson does not disclose an electronic component disposed in at least one of the first connection arm, the second connection arm, or the third connection arm.
However, Lamb (Fig. 2B) teaches an electronic component (236, 239, 238; Para. 0041) disposed in at least one of the first connection arm, the second connection arm, or the third connection arm (202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Lamb to include an electronic component on the arms in the device disclosed by Watson. The motivation would have been to include sensors or processing units (Lamb; Para. 0041).
As to claim 2, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein a first portion (108d) of the securement band including the third connection point (204) is more rigid than a second portion (112) of the securement band adjacent the first portion (Para. 0091, it appears that 108d is thicker than 112. Furthermore, 108d is necessarily thicker to adjust the motor 206 on the band).
As to claim 3, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein a position of the window is adjustable relative to the securement band via at least one of the first connection arm, the second connection arm, or the third connection arm (Para. 0091).
As to claim 4, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein the display assembly (142) is cantilevered from the securement band (112) via the first connection arm (146).
As to claim 5, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 4, wherein the display assembly (142) is cantilevered from the securement band (112) via the second connection arm (right 146).
As to claim 6, Watson (Fig. 4) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein a tension of the securement band is adjustable (Para. 0081).
As to claim 7, Watson (Fig. 14A) The head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein:
the closed loop includes a first material (112); and
at least one of the first connection point, the second connection point, or the third connection point includes a second material (108d) more rigid than the first material (Para. 0091, it appears that 108d is thicker than 112. Furthermore, 108d is necessarily thicker to adjust the motor 206 on the band).
As to claim 8, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, further including a light seal (274) extending from the securement band (Para. 0096).
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson in view of Guo et al. (US 2018/0003986 A1, hereinafter “Guo”).
As to claim 16, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device, comprising:
a display assembly (142) including a frame (frame of display 142) and a display coupled to the frame (Para. 0084);
a securement band (112) configured secure the display assembly to a head (user head);
a first side connector (left 146) adjustably coupling the display assembly (142) to the securement band (112);
a second side connector (right 146) opposite the first side connector (left 146), the second side connector adjustably coupling the display assembly to the securement band (112); and
a front connector (204) adjustably coupling the display assembly (142) to the securement band (112, 108d)
wherein the front connector:
is positioned between the frame (142) and the securement band (112); and
extends perpendicularly from the securement band (112) and the head (Fig. 9; Para. 0086, there is a clear gap between the display screen and the user head), wherein the first side connector and the second side connector are each rotatable relative to the securement band (Fig. 16; Para. 0094).
Watson does not disclose wherein the first side connector and the second side connector are each translatable relative to the securement band.
However, Guo (Fig. 1) teaches wherein the first side connector (21) and the second side connector are each translatable relative to the securement band (1; Para. 0022-0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Guo to provide length adjustment in the device disclosed by Watson. The motivation would have been to meet people’s requirement on wearing comfort (Guo; Para. 0023).
As to claim 17, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device of claim 16, wherein the first side connector (left 146) and the second side connector (right 146) are each translatable in a first direction (Fig. 15 element B) relative to the securement band (Para. 0094).
As to claim 18, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device of claim 17, wherein the front connector (204) is translatable in a second direction (C) substantially perpendicular to the first direction relative (Fig. 15 element B) to the securement band (112, B and C appear to be substantially perpendicular to each other).
As to claim 19, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device of claim 16, wherein the first side connector (146) and the second side connector are each configured to support a greater portion of a weight of the display assembly than the front connector (204; Para. 0101, furthermore the left and right 146 would inherently support greater weight than 204).
As to claim 20, Watson (Fig. 15) discloses the electronic display device of claim 16, wherein the first side connector (left 146) and the second side connector (right 146) are rotatable (B) and translatable (Fig. 23A-23C) relative to the securement band (Para. 0102).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not disclose the limitations “the front connector is translatable in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction” when combined with other limitations of claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Hu et al. (US 2019/0369659 A1) discloses three support arms (Fig. 1).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625