Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended their application as follows:
Amended: 1, 9 and 16
Cancelled: None
Added: None
Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a(1) as being anticipated by Watson et al. (US 2017/0322410 A1, hereinafter “Watson”).
As to claim 1, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses t head-mounted display device, comprising:
a display assembly (142) including:
a window (Para. 0079); and
a light source configured to produce content displayed at the window (Para. 0033, light source of LCD display);
a securement band (112) defining a closed loop (Para. 0081), the closed loop including:
a first connection point (Fig. 10 element B; left);
a second connection point (right B) opposite the first connection point (Para. 0087); and
a third connection point (Fig. 14A element 208) disposed between the first connection point and the second connection point (Para. 0091);
a first connection arm (left 146) coupling the display assembly to the first connection point (Para. 0087);
a second connection arm (right 146) coupling the display assembly to the second connection point (Para. 0087); and
a third connection arm (204) coupling the display assembly to the third connection point (208),
wherein the third connection arm:
is positioned between the securement band (112) and the display assembly (142); and
extends perpendicularly away from the securement band (112) and a wearer (Fig. 9; Para. 0086, there is a clear gap between the display screen and the user head).
As to claim 2, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein a first portion (108d) of the securement band including the third connection point (204) is more rigid than a second portion (112) of the securement band adjacent the first portion (Para. 0091, it appears that 108d is thicker than 112. Furthermore, 108d is necessarily thicker to adjust the motor 206 on the band).
As to claim 3, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein a position of the window is adjustable relative to the securement band via at least one of the first connection arm, the second connection arm, or the third connection arm (Para. 0091).
As to claim 4, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein the display (142) is cantilevered from the securement band (112) via the first connection arm (146).
As to claim 5, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 4, wherein the display (142) is cantilevered from the securement band (112) via the second connection arm (right 146).
As to claim 6, Watson (Fig. 4) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein a tension of the securement band is adjustable (Para. 0081).
As to claim 7, Watson (Fig. 14A) The head-mounted display device of claim 1, wherein:
the closed loop includes a first material (112); and
at least one of the first connection point, the second connection point, or the third connection point includes a second material (108d) more rigid than the first material (Para. 0091, it appears that 108d is thicker than 112. Furthermore, 108d is necessarily thicker to adjust the motor 206 on the band).
As to claim 8, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the head-mounted display device of claim 1, further including a light seal (274) extending from the securement band (Para. 0096).
As to claim 9, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses a securement band for a head-mounted display device (100), comprising:
a loop (112);
a first side connector (right 146) adjustably coupled to the loop (112) and extending to a display (142);
a second side connector (left 146) adjustably coupled to the loop and extending to the display (142); and
a front connector (204) adjustably coupled to the loop (112, 108d) and extending to the display (142);
wherein:
the second side connector (left 146) is disposed opposite the first side connector (right 146); and
the front connector (204) is disposed between the first side connector (right 146) and the second side connector (left 146); and
the front connector (204) is configured to extend perpendicularly away from the loop toward the display (Fig. 9; Para. 0086, there is a clear gap between the display screen and the user head).
As to claim 10, Watson (Fig. 4) discloses the securement band of claim 9, wherein the loop comprises a continuous loop (112, 108; Para. 0081).
As to claim 12, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the securement band of claim 9, wherein the loop comprises an electronic component (206; para. 0080, 0091).
As to claim 13, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the securement band of claim 9, wherein at least one of the first side connector or the second side connector (146) cantilevers the display from the loop (112; Fig. 9).
As to claim 14, Watson (Fig. 9, 14A) discloses the securement band of claim 9, wherein an adjustment of the front connector (204) changes an angle of the display relative to the loop (C; para. 0086, 0092).
As to claim 15, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the securement band of claim 9, wherein at least one of the first side connector, the second side connector, or the front connector (204) comprises an electronic component (206; Para. 0080, 0091).
As to claim 16, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device, comprising:
a display assembly (142) including a frame (frame of display 142) and a display coupled to the frame (Para. 0084);
a securement band (112) configured secure the display assembly to a head (user head);
a first side connector (left 146) adjustably coupling the display assembly (142) to the securement band (112);
a second side connector (right 146) opposite the first side connector (left 146), the second side connector adjustably coupling the display assembly to the securement band (112); and
a front connector (204) adjustably coupling the display assembly (142) to the securement band (112, 108d)
wherein the front connector:
is positioned between the frame (142) and the securement band (112); and
extends perpendicularly from the securement band (112) and the head (Fig. 9; Para. 0086, there is a clear gap between the display screen and the user head).
As to claim 17, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device of claim 16, wherein the first side connector (left 146) and the second side connector (right 146) are each translatable in a first direction (Fig. 15 element B) relative to the securement band (Para. 0094).
As to claim 18, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device of claim 17, wherein the front connector (204) is translatable in a second direction (C) substantially perpendicular to the first direction relative (Fig. 15 element B) to the securement band (112, B and C appear to be substantially perpendicular to each other).
As to claim 19, Watson (Fig. 14A) discloses the electronic display device of claim 16, wherein the first side connector (146) and the second side connector are each configured to support a greater portion of a weight of the display assembly than the front connector (204; Para. 0101, furthermore the left and right 146 would inherently support greater weight than 204).
As to claim 20, Watson (Fig. 15) discloses the electronic display device of claim 16, wherein the first side connector (left 146) and the second side connector (right 146) are rotatable (B) and translatable (Fig. 23A-23C) relative to the securement band (Para. 0102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2019/0227329 A1, hereinafter “Han”).
As to claim 11, Watson does not disclose the securement band of claim 9, wherein the loop comprises: a first portion; and
a second portion more elastic than the first portion.
However, Han (Fig. 7) teaches wherein the loop comprises: a first portion (170); and
a second portion (190) more elastic than the first portion (Fig. 8; Para. 0107-0110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Chi to use elastic member in the device disclosed by Watson. The motivation would have been to allow movement of the connection points (Chi; Para. 0105).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant‘s disclosure.
Hu et al. (US 2019/0369659 A1) discloses three support arms (Fig. 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BIPIN GYAWALI
Examiner
Art Unit 2625
/BIPIN GYAWALI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2625