DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-11, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 2011/0249791.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an X-ray diagnostic apparatus (fig. 8), comprising: an X-ray tube (16); an X-ray detector panel (12) detecting X-rays irradiated from the X-ray tube and transmitted through an object (14); processing circuitry (72) configured to select one or more lighting fields from a plurality of lighting fields for AEC (Automatic Exposure Control) (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058), or to set one or more lighting fields for AEC (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058); and a lighting field projector (40) visibly projecting information indicating one or more areas corresponding to the one or more lighting fields onto the object using visible light (94; para. 0106-0109).
Wang fails to teach the AEC being provided in the X-ray detector panel. However, the fact that the parts are integral is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected result (MPEP 2144). Also, making the parts integral would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because reducing number of parts would decrease the cost of the device and reduce the manufacturing cost and process.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches a user interface accepting input of an imaging protocol (figs. 5A-5D; 24; para. 0007 a technician operating a control of an imaging apparatus implies an imaging protocol), an imaging region of the object (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095), and a region of interest of the object (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095), wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select the one or more lighting fields from the plurality of lighting fields provided in advance (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058), based on at least one of the inputted imaging protocol, the imaging region, and the region of interest (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to select the one or more lighting fields from the plurality of lighting fields provided in advance (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058), based on a specification by a user (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches wherein the lighting field projector includes a plurality of light sources (para. 0106; at least the Micro Projector from AAXA Technologies uses a combination of LED and laser sources) to project the information indicating the one or more areas corresponding to the one or more lighting fields (fig 8; para. 0108), the light sources being provided in a number corresponding at least to a number of the lighting fields (para. 0107; LED devices contain many numbers of light sources and have at least a number corresponding to a number of lighting fields), and the lighting field projector includes a projection control circuit that is configured to switch a lighting state of each of the plurality of the light sources such that information indicating one or more areas corresponding to the one or more lighting fields selected or set by the processing circuitry is projected onto the object (fig. 8 para. 0106-0110).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches wherein the lighting field projector includes the plurality of the light sources (para. 0106-0107), and the number of the light sources is greater than the number of the lighting fields fields (para. 0107; LED devices contain many numbers of light sources and have at least a number corresponding to being greater than a number of lighting fields).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the lighting field projector includes a shutter that shields a light path of the each of the plurality of the light sources (para. 0106; projectors implies a shutter); and the projection control circuit of the lighting field projector is further configured to switch an open/close state of the shutter of the each of the plurality of light sources such that the information indicating the one or more areas corresponding to the one or more lighting field areas selected or set by the processing circuitry is projected onto the object and information indicating an area corresponding to other lighting field is not projected onto the object (fig. 8; only the lighting fields 96 are projected and other areas in the field-of-view of the projector are not projected).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches: a display displaying an X-ray image of the object acquired using the X-rays irradiated from the X-ray tube (para. 0007); and a user interface accepting a specification of the one or more lighting fields for a region of interest in the X-ray image displayed on the display (fig. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095), wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to set one or more lighting fields for the AEC based on the one or more lighting fields specified by the user interface (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a control method of an X-ray diagnostic apparatus (fig. 8), the X- ray diagnostic apparatus at least including an X-ray tube (16) and an X-ray detector panel (12) to detect X-rays irradiated from the X-ray tube and transmitted through an object (14), comprising: selecting one or more lighting fields from a plurality of lighting fields for AEC (Automatic Exposure Control) (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058), or setting one or more lighting fields for AEC (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058); and visibly projecting information indicating one or more areas corresponding to the one or more lighting fields onto the object using visible light (94; para. 0106-0109).
Wang fails to teach the AEC being provided in the X-ray detector panel. However, the fact that the parts are integral is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected result (MPEP 2144). Also, making the parts integral would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made because reducing number of parts would decrease the cost of the device and reduce the manufacturing cost and process.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches, wherein: the X-ray diagnostic apparatus includes a user interface to accept input of an imaging protocol(figs. 5A-5D; 24; para. 0007 a technician operating a control of an imaging apparatus implies an imaging protocol), an imaging region of the object (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095), and a region of interest of the object (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095), and the setting step includes selecting step to select the one or more lighting fields from the plurality of lighting fields provided in advance, (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058), based on at least one of the inputted imaging protocol, the imaging region, and the region of interest (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches wherein the setting step includes selecting step to select the one or more lighting fields from the plurality of lighting fields provided in advance (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058), based on a specification by a user (figs. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches wherein: the X-ray diagnostic apparatus includes a display displaying an X-ray image of the object acquired using the X-rays irradiated from the X-ray tube (para. 0007); and a user interface accepting a specification of the one or more lighting fields for a region of interest in the X- ray image displayed on the display (fig. 5A-5D; para. 0084-0095); and the setting step includes setting step to set one or more lighting fields for the AEC based on the one or more lighting fields specified by the user interface (figs. 2A-2F; para. 0021-0026, 0054-0058).
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884