DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-15 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-15 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On page 7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the amended limitations clearly recite a practical application of mapping buttons of an existing input device of an electronic device and an external input device and display button mapping information on a display.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 03/23/2026, the rejection relied upon “mental process” being performed by an electronic device of generic computer components then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim still recites an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.04(d)).
On pages 8-12 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Shin, Edwards, and Urbanus does not teach the amended limitations. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references including prior art being used in the current rejection (see below for detail) under new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 101
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites the method steps of pairing the electronic device with an external input device, obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device, obtaining button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing, based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, mapping buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, displaying an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device.
The limitations of pairing the electronic device with an external input device, obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device, obtaining button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing, based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, mapping buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, displaying an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, pairing the electronic device with an external input device, obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device, obtaining button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing, based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, mapping buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, displaying an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually receive and display information of the external input device and the existing input device.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin Doo Il (Shin – KR 10-2018-0111397) in view of Edwards (Edwards – US 2010/0223549 A1), Urbanus et al. (Urbanus – US 2010/0223549 A1) and Lim et al. (Lim – US 2019/0116334 A1). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of KR 10-2018-0111397 publication by computer.
As to claim 1, Shin discloses an electronic device comprising:
a display (Shin: [0007]-[0008] and FIG. 1 the touch screen 120);
a memory configured to store at least one instruction; and a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10):
obtain, information about the external input device (Shin: FIG. 1 the mobile terminal 10) from the external input device (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0010], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], FIG. 1 the external input device 110 and FIG. 5-10: the keyboard can be broadly divided into groups 111 and 112 and normal keys 113 that can be used as direction keys. Each of the key buttons on the keyboard has a unique key value, and when a key is pressed, a unique key value is continuously generated and transmitted to the connected device),
obtain button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard).
Shin does not explicitly disclose a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction:
pair the electronic device with an external input device,
obtain, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device;
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, map buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, and
control the display to display an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device.
However, it has been known in the art of remote control to implement a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain, information about the external input device from the external input device;
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, map buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, and
control the display to display an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, as suggested by Edwards, which discloses
a processor (Edwards: FIG. 1 the processor 110) configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain, information about the external input device from the external input device (Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method);
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, map buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device (Edwards: [0022], [0025], FIG. 1 the informational message 134: The informational message presented when a function key is selected by cursor 126 explains the current appearance, operation and function of the reconfigured image 302 for the second remote control), and
control the display to display an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device (Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Shin and Edwards, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the virtual controller of Shin to include a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain, information about the external input device from the external input device;
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, map buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, and
control the display to display an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, as suggested by Edwards. The motivation for this is to selectively mapping control functions of a remote control into a universal remote control.
The combination of Shin and Edwards does not explicitly disclose a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain, while pairing the electronic device with an external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device.
However, it has been known in the art of remote control to implement a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain, while pairing the electronic device with an external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device, as suggested by Urbanus, which discloses a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain, while pairing the electronic device with an external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device (Urbanus: Abstract, column 10 lines 10-30, column 11 lines 1-15, column 16 lines 39-column 17 lines 33, and FIG. 7-10: First, for the given primary application-to-secondary application pairing, the system application may determine, based on the mapping, which buttons of remote control 204 are enabled and which are disabled. In some embodiments, the mapping maintained by the table includes grouping the buttons that are enabled into a set. In one embodiment, the video game system 110, following a determination of whether a button is enabled/disabled, may process the received signal, and, if the button is enabled, output and route a command to the appropriate application without further action. If the button is disabled, the video game system 110 may determine not to output a command and accordingly take no further action. In other embodiments, however, beyond routing a command to the appropriate application if the button is enabled (or not routing if the button is disabled), the video game system 110 may transmit one or more signals back to the remote control 204, which may further cause the remote control 170 to perform one or more operations according to whether a particular button is enabled or disabled).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Shin, Edwards, and Urbanus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the virtual controller of Shin and Edwards, to include a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain, while pairing the electronic device with an external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device, as suggested by Urbanus. The motivation for this is to selectively receive available functions of a remote control for mapping commands controls.
The combination of Shin, Edwards, and Urbanus does not explicitly disclose a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: pair the electronic device with an external input device.
However, it has been known in the art of communication between electronic devices to implement a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: pair the electronic device with an external input device, as suggested by Lim, which discloses a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: pair the electronic device with an external input device (Lim: Abstract, [0011], [0045]-0047], [0049]-[0053], [0115]-[0117], [0131]-0134], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-10: The processor may be further configured to: receive, from the display apparatus via the communicator, identification information of a second source device connected to the display apparatus, pairing connection information corresponding to the second source device and a second control code set corresponding to the second source device; store the identification information of the second source device, the pairing connection information corresponding to the second source device and the second control code set in the storage; and perform pairing, via the communicator, with the second source device based on the identification information of the second source device and the pairing connection information corresponding to the second source device).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the virtual controller of Shin, Edwards, and Urbanus, to include a processor configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: pair the electronic device with an external input device, as suggested by Lim. The motivation for this is to facilitate data communication between electronic devices.
As to claim 2, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: map the buttons of the external input device and the buttons of the existing input device by comparing the button information of the external input device with the button information of the existing input device (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
As to claim 3, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the electronic device of claim 2, wherein
the information about the external input device includes at least one of a device name and a device type of the external input device (Edwards: [0019], [0025], and FIG. 1 the database 114: The multimedia processor end user device includes but is not limited to a processor 110, memory in form of a computer readable medium 112 and a data base 114 including but not limited to data structures embedded in the computer medium. The first remote control device is identified by the multimedia processor end user device via camera 139 and image recognition software running in processor 110. In a particular illustrative embodiment, the image recognition software identifies the image of the first remote control device and looks up specifications for the first remote control in the data base 114), and,
to obtain the button information of the external input device, the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: obtain the button information of the external input device by searching a pre-built database using at least one of the device name and the device type of the external input device or through a web search (Edwards: [0019], [0025], and FIG. 1 the database 114: The multimedia processor end user device includes but is not limited to a processor 110, memory in form of a computer readable medium 112 and a data base 114 including but not limited to data structures embedded in the computer medium. The first remote control device is identified by the multimedia processor end user device via camera 139 and image recognition software running in processor 110. In a particular illustrative embodiment, the image recognition software identifies the image of the first remote control device and looks up specifications for the first remote control in the data base 114).
As to claim 4, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the button information of the external input device includes information about at least one of a layout of the buttons of the external input device, functions of buttons, button operation methods, number of buttons, and signals corresponding to buttons (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method), and,
to map the buttons of the external input device and the buttons of the existing input device, the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: map buttons that perform a same function or buttons having a same operation method among the buttons of the external input device and the buttons of the existing input device (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
As to claim 5, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the electronic device of claim 4, wherein, to map the buttons of the external input device and the buttons of the existing input device, the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: map a plurality of operation methods for the buttons of the external input device to the buttons of the existing input device, based on a number of the buttons of the external input device being smaller than a number of the buttons of the existing input device (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: Specifically, the mobile terminal receives the general key value, the direction key value, or the joystick coordinate value received from the external input device, and displays the distinguishable specific image or text mapped to the general key value or the direction key value in a specific area of the mobile terminal screen The virtual identification area is automatically generated. Then, when an input such as a general key or a direction key mapped by the keyboard is generated, a touch or a view movement control event is arbitrarily generated at a coordinate within the mapped virtual identification area and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
As to claim 6, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 4 further comprising the electronic device of claim 4, wherein, to control the display to display the image corresponding to the external input device, the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: generate the image corresponding to the external input device using an image of the external input device and the layout of the buttons of the external input device (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: Specifically, the mobile terminal receives the general key value, the direction key value, or the joystick coordinate value received from the external input device, and displays the distinguishable specific image or text mapped to the general key value or the direction key value in a specific area of the mobile terminal screen The virtual identification area is automatically generated. Then, when an input such as a general key or a direction key mapped by the keyboard is generated, a touch or a view movement control event is arbitrarily generated at a coordinate within the mapped virtual identification area and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
As to claim 7, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction:
receive, based on a button selected from buttons of the external input device while the image corresponding to the external input device is displayed, a signal corresponding to the selected button from the external input device (Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method), and
the displayed button mapping information includes a guide message to explain a function of the selected button on the image corresponding to the external input device based on the received signal (Edwards: [0022], [0025], FIG. 1 the informational message 134: The informational message presented when a function key is selected by cursor 126 explains the current appearance, operation and function of the reconfigured image 302 for the second remote control).
As to claim 8, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction:
control the display to display an image of the existing input device along with the image corresponding to the external input device (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: Specifically, the mobile terminal receives the general key value, the direction key value, or the joystick coordinate value received from the external input device, and displays the distinguishable specific image or text mapped to the general key value or the direction key value in a specific area of the mobile terminal screen The virtual identification area is automatically generated. Then, when an input such as a general key or a direction key mapped by the keyboard is generated, a touch or a view movement control event is arbitrarily generated at a coordinate within the mapped virtual identification area and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method), and
control the display to display the button mapping information by connecting mapped buttons among buttons included in the image corresponding to the external input device and buttons included in the image of the existing input device (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: Specifically, the mobile terminal receives the general key value, the direction key value, or the joystick coordinate value received from the external input device, and displays the distinguishable specific image or text mapped to the general key value or the direction key value in a specific area of the mobile terminal screen The virtual identification area is automatically generated. Then, when an input such as a general key or a direction key mapped by the keyboard is generated, a touch or a view movement control event is arbitrarily generated at a coordinate within the mapped virtual identification area (Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
As to claim 9, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the displayed button mapping information (Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method) includes a guide message to explain functions of buttons included in the image corresponding to the external input device, together with the image corresponding to the external input device (Edwards: [0022], [0025], FIG. 1 the informational message 134: The informational message presented when a function key is selected by cursor 126 explains the current appearance, operation and function of the reconfigured image 302 for the second remote control).
As to claim 10, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the electronic device of claim 1, wherein, to map the buttons of the external input device and the buttons of the existing input device, the processor is configured to, by executing the at least one instruction: map a function not provided by the existing input device to a button of the external input device based on a user input (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: Specifically, the mobile terminal receives the general key value, the direction key value, or the joystick coordinate value received from the external input device, and displays the distinguishable specific image or text mapped to the general key value or the direction key value in a specific area of the mobile terminal screen The virtual identification area is automatically generated. Then, when an input such as a general key or a direction key mapped by the keyboard is generated, a touch or a view movement control event is arbitrarily generated at a coordinate within the mapped virtual identification area and Urbanus: Abstract, column 10 lines 10-30, column 11 lines 1-15, column 16 lines 39-column 17 lines 33, and FIG. 7-10: First, for the given primary application-to-secondary application pairing, the system application may determine, based on the mapping, which buttons of remote control 204 are enabled and which are disabled. In some embodiments, the mapping maintained by the table includes grouping the buttons that are enabled into a set. In one embodiment, the video game system 110, following a determination of whether a button is enabled/disabled, may process the received signal, and, if the button is enabled, output and route a command to the appropriate application without further action. If the button is disabled, the video game system 110 may determine not to output a command and accordingly take no further action. In other embodiments, however, beyond routing a command to the appropriate application if the button is enabled (or not routing if the button is disabled), the video game system 110 may transmit one or more signals back to the remote control 204, which may further cause the remote control 170 to perform one or more operations according to whether a particular button is enabled or disabled).
As to claim 11, Shin discloses a method for controlling an electronic device, the method comprising:
by a processor of the electronic device (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10):
obtaining, information about the external input device from the external input device (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard),
Shin does not explicitly disclose by a processor of the electronic device:
pairing the electronic device with an external input device,
obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device;
obtaining button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing,
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, mapping buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device,
displaying an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device.
However, it has been known in the art of remote control to implement by a processor of the electronic device: obtaining information about the external input device from the external input device;
obtaining button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing,
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, mapping buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device,
displaying an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, as suggested by Edwards, which discloses
a by a processor of the electronic device: (Edwards: FIG. 1 the processor 110) obtaining information about the external input device from the external input device; obtaining button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing (Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method);
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, mapping buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device (Edwards: [0022], [0025], FIG. 1 the informational message 134: The informational message presented when a function key is selected by cursor 126 explains the current appearance, operation and function of the reconfigured image 302 for the second remote control), and
displaying an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device (Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Shin and Edwards, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the virtual controller of Shin to include by a processor of the electronic device: obtaining information about the external input device from the external input device;
obtaining button information of the external input device based on the information about the external input device obtained while pairing,
based on the obtained button information of the external input device and button information of an existing input device of the electronic device, mapping buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device,
displaying an image corresponding to the external input device together with button mapping information based on the mapping of buttons of the external input device and buttons of the existing input device, as suggested by Edwards. The motivation for this is to selectively mapping control functions of a remote control into a universal remote control.
The combination of Shin and Edwards does not explicitly disclose by a processor of the electronic device: obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device.
However, it has been known in the art of remote control to implement by a processor of the electronic device: obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device, as suggested by Urbanus, which discloses by a processor of the electronic device: obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device (Urbanus: Abstract, column 10 lines 10-30, column 11 lines 1-15, column 16 lines 39-column 17 lines 33, and FIG. 7-10: First, for the given primary application-to-secondary application pairing, the system application may determine, based on the mapping, which buttons of remote control 204 are enabled and which are disabled. In some embodiments, the mapping maintained by the table includes grouping the buttons that are enabled into a set. In one embodiment, the video game system 110, following a determination of whether a button is enabled/disabled, may process the received signal, and, if the button is enabled, output and route a command to the appropriate application without further action. If the button is disabled, the video game system 110 may determine not to output a command and accordingly take no further action. In other embodiments, however, beyond routing a command to the appropriate application if the button is enabled (or not routing if the button is disabled), the video game system 110 may transmit one or more signals back to the remote control 204, which may further cause the remote control 170 to perform one or more operations according to whether a particular button is enabled or disabled).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Shin, Edwards, and Urbanus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the virtual controller of Shin and Edwards, to include by a processor of the electronic device: obtaining, while pairing the electronic device with the external input device is performed, information about the external input device from the external input device, as suggested by Urbanus. The motivation for this is to selectively receive available functions of a remote control for mapping commands controls.
The combination of Shin, Edwards, and Urbanus does not explicitly disclose by a processor of the electronic device: pairing the electronic device with an external input device.
However, it has been known in the art of communication between electronic devices to implement by a processor of the electronic device: pairing the electronic device with an external input device, as suggested by Lim, which discloses by a processor of the electronic device: pairing the electronic device with an external input device (Lim: Abstract, [0011], [0045]-0047], [0049]-[0053], [0115]-[0117], [0131]-0134], FIG. 1, and FIG. 4-10: The processor may be further configured to: receive, from the display apparatus via the communicator, identification information of a second source device connected to the display apparatus, pairing connection information corresponding to the second source device and a second control code set corresponding to the second source device; store the identification information of the second source device, the pairing connection information corresponding to the second source device and the second control code set in the storage; and perform pairing, via the communicator, with the second source device based on the identification information of the second source device and the pairing connection information corresponding to the second source device).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the virtual controller of Shin, Edwards, and Urbanus, to include by a processor of the electronic device: pairing the electronic device with an external input device, as suggested by Lim. The motivation for this is to facilitate data communication between electronic devices.
As to claim 12, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 11 further comprising the method of claim 11, wherein
the mapping includes comparing the button information of the external input device with the button information of the existing input device (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
As to claim 13, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the method of claim 12, wherein
the information about the external input device includes at least one of a device name and a device type of the external input device (Edwards: [0019], [0025], and FIG. 1 the database 114: The multimedia processor end user device includes but is not limited to a processor 110, memory in form of a computer readable medium 112 and a data base 114 including but not limited to data structures embedded in the computer medium. The first remote control device is identified by the multimedia processor end user device via camera 139 and image recognition software running in processor 110. In a particular illustrative embodiment, the image recognition software identifies the image of the first remote control device and looks up specifications for the first remote control in the data base 114), and
the obtaining of the button information of the external input device includes obtaining the button information of the external input device by searching a pre-built database using at least one of the device name and the device type of the external input device or through a web search (Edwards: [0019], [0025], and FIG. 1 the database 114: The multimedia processor end user device includes but is not limited to a processor 110, memory in form of a computer readable medium 112 and a data base 114 including but not limited to data structures embedded in the computer medium. The first remote control device is identified by the multimedia processor end user device via camera 139 and image recognition software running in processor 110. In a particular illustrative embodiment, the image recognition software identifies the image of the first remote control device and looks up specifications for the first remote control in the data base 114).
As to claim 14, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the method of claim 12, wherein
the button information of the external input device includes information about at least one of a layout of the buttons of the external input device, functions of buttons, button operation methods, number of buttons, and signals corresponding to buttons (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method), and
the mapping includes mapping buttons that perform a same function or buttons having a same operation method among the buttons of the external input device and the buttons of the existing input device (Shin: [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: When the control mapping menu is opened and the left trigger is again selected, the virtual identification areas mapped with the control mapping screen disappear from the screen. When a user manipulates the direction key or the general key of the keyboard, the terminal connected to the keyboard internally generates an associated touch or view movement event in the virtual identification area coordinates or area previously mapped with the keyboard and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
As to claim 15, Shin, Edwards, Urbanus, and Lim disclose the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the method of claim 14, wherein the mapping includes mapping a plurality of operation methods for the buttons of the external input device to the buttons of the existing input device, based on a number of the buttons of the external input device being smaller than a number of the buttons of the existing input device (Shin: [0006]-[0008], [0013]-[0019], [0025]-[0027], [0035]-[0037], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 5-10: Specifically, the mobile terminal receives the general key value, the direction key value, or the joystick coordinate value received from the external input device, and displays the distinguishable specific image or text mapped to the general key value or the direction key value in a specific area of the mobile terminal screen The virtual identification area is automatically generated. Then, when an input such as a general key or a direction key mapped by the keyboard is generated, a touch or a view movement control event is arbitrarily generated at a coordinate within the mapped virtual identification area and Edwards: [0008]-[0011], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-5: A method is disclosed for controlling an electronic device, the method including but not limited to electronically identifying a first remote control device for a first electronic device at a multimedia processor end user device; accessing specification data for the first remote control device for determining functions available on the first remote control device; displaying an image of a second remote control on the display for the multimedia processor end user device; mapping a set of remote control functions available on the first remote control device to a set of function keys on the second remote control display; and highlighting a function key on the image of the second remote control to which a function performed by a selected function key on the first remote control is mapped. A system and computer program product are disclosed for performing the method).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Zhang et al., US 2017/0075328 A1, discloses method for controlling device.
Chen et al., US 2016/0110213 A1, discloses virtual machine monitoring method and system thereof.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685