DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s Preliminary Amendment received on 04/01/2026 has been considered. It is noted that claims 1-18 and 20 have been cancelled. Claim 19 has been amended. New claims 21-39 has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 and 21-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokokawa (US 2019/0102927).
Regarding claims 19, 28, and 36: Yokokawa discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining orientation information from an orientation sensor of a video game controller (see paragraphs [0060], showing controller device 104 may include any of various motion/orientation/inertial sensors); determining that a posture of a user is likely imbalanced based at least on the orientation information that was obtained from the orientation sensor of the video game controller (see claim 1 of Yokokawa showing a controller device, controller input that identifies a pose of a user's hand, including identifying postures of a plurality of fingers of the user's hand; determining a degree of similarity of the controller input to a predefined target input, wherein determining the degree of similarity includes determining deviations of values of the controller input, that identify the postures of the plurality of fingers); and adjusting a weight distribution of the video game controller based at least on determining that the posture of the user is likely imbalanced (see claim 1 of Yokokawa showing postures of fingers of the virtual hand corresponding to the plurality of fingers of the user's hand are adjusted to conform to predefined finger postures, and wherein when the degree of similarity does not exceed the predefined threshold).
Regarding claims 21, 29, and 37: Yokokawa discloses providing, for output, a posture adjustment to the user (see claim 1 of Yokokawa showing postures of fingers of the virtual hand corresponding to the plurality of fingers of the user's hand are adjusted to conform to predefined finger postures, and wherein when the degree of similarity does not exceed the predefined threshold).
Regarding claims 22, 30, and 38: Yokokawa discloses determining that the orientation information indicates that the video game controller is rotated (see paragraphs [0060] and [0166], showing controller device 104 may include any of various motion/orientation/inertial sensors, including by way of example without limitation, one or more accelerometers, magnetometers, and gyroscopes. Wherein the gyroscopes help in detecting fast rotations).
Regarding claims 23, 31, and 39: Yokokawa discloses determining that the orientation information indicates that the video game controller is rotated about a longitudinal axis of the video game controller (see paragraphs [0060], [0142], and [0166], showing controller device 104 may include any of various motion/orientation/inertial sensors, including by way of example without limitation, one or more accelerometers, magnetometers, and gyroscopes. Wherein the gyroscopes help in detecting fast rotations).
Regarding claims 24 and 32: Yokokawa discloses determining that the orientation information indicates that the video game controller is rotated about a transverse axis of the video game controller (see paragraphs [0060], [0142], and [0166], showing controller device 104 may include any of various motion/orientation/inertial sensors, including by way of example without limitation, one or more accelerometers, magnetometers, and gyroscopes. Wherein the gyroscopes help in detecting fast rotations).
Regarding claims 25 and 33: Yokokawa discloses wherein adjusting the weight distribution of the video game controller comprises: causing a moveable weight that is associated with the video game controller to move (see paragraphs [0117] and [0118], showing the weighting factors can be configured/adjusted to enable certain ones of the sensed input values to exert greater or lesser influence relative to other ones of the sensed input values).
Regarding claims 26 and 34: Yokokawa discloses wherein adjusting the weight distribution of the video game controller comprises: causing a moveable weight that is associated with the video game controller to change a center of gravity of the video game controller (see paragraph [0163], showing an accelerometer is a device for measuring acceleration and gravity induced reaction forces. Single and multiple axis models are available to detect magnitude and direction of the acceleration in different directions. The accelerometer is used to sense inclination, vibration, and shock. In one implementation, three accelerometers 1512 are used to provide the direction of gravity).
Regarding claims 27 and 35: Yokokawa discloses wherein adjusting the weight distribution of the video game controller comprises: causing a spinning motor that is associated with the video game controller to spin (see paragraphs [0117] and [0118], showing the weighting factors can be configured/adjusted to enable certain ones of the sensed input values to exert greater or lesser influence relative to other ones of the sensed input values).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tillery discloses system for using athletic activity as software input via a motion sensor with adaptability to multiple sensor positions; Webster et al discloses systems and methods for intelligent fitness solutions; Brick discloses advanced video controller system.
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715