DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “wherein any the screen material” in line 11, which should be replaced with --wherein any of the screen material-- or similar.
Claim 1 recites “nearest the interior-facing” in line 15, which should be replaced with --nearest an interior-facing--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holevas (U.S. Patent No. 6,470,947) in view of Nagare (U.S. Patent No. 7,398,807).
Regarding claim 1, Holevas discloses a method for operating a screen assembly (screen assembly 50 shown in Figure 4 including the screen mesh 52, side tabs 220, and channel 210) disposed within a fenestration assembly (the fenestration assembly is shown generally in Figures 1 and 4; the method of operating the screen assembly is disclosed in at least column 3, lines 13-37), the screen assembly including screen material (52) attached to a roller assembly (51), edges of the screen material disposed within first slots (210) of the fenestration assembly [FIG. 4], the edges including a raised feature (200) and the first slots each including a screen edge retaining feature (the inwardly extending projections delimiting the opening 220 of the channel 210 define a screen edge retaining feature), the method comprising: opening a sash (22) within the fenestration assembly (column 3, lines 13-15), the sash coupled to an end of the screen assembly to extend the screen material from the roller assembly [FIG. 2], the raised features engaging the screen edge retaining features to retain the screen edges within the first slots [FIG. 4]; and closing the sash within the fenestration to retract the screen material around the roller assembly (column 3, lines 15-17). Holevas does not disclose returning the screen material to the first slots through rethreading slots, a chamfered portion, or a transition portion.
Nonetheless, Nagare discloses a method for operating a screen assembly, wherein any screen material (1) pulled out of respective first slots (9a, 17b) returns to the first slots through rethreading slots (rethreading slots defined by guide body 17; the return of the screen material into the slots is described in at least column 9, line 29-column 10, line 33) at an interior-facing surface of the assembly adjacent to a respective roller assembly (3) [FIG. 6], the first slots each including a chamfered portion (17d) at an end of the first slot adjacent to the roller assembly [FIGS. 7A-9], the chamfered portion being on a surface of the first slot nearest the interior-facing surface of the assembly [FIG. 7B], and a transition portion (17a) between the chamfered portion and a remainder of the first slot [FIG. 9].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and screen assembly of Holevas to include the rethreading slot configuration and return step taught by Nagare, in order to allow for automatic resetting of the screen should it become dislodged by wind or other forces, so as to prevent the need for disassembly or repair to engage the screen with the side guides.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holevas (U.S. Patent No. 6,470,947) in view of Casey (U.S. Patent No. 9,493,984).
Regarding claim 2, Holevas discloses a method for operating a screen assembly (screen assembly 50 shown in Figure 4 including the screen mesh 52, side tabs 220, and channel 210) disposed within a fenestration assembly (the fenestration assembly is shown generally in Figures 1 and 4; the method of operating the screen assembly is disclosed in at least column 3, lines 13-37), the screen assembly including screen material (52) attached to a roller assembly (51), edges of the screen material disposed within slots (210) of the fenestration assembly [FIG. 4], the edges including a raised feature (200) and the slots each including a screen edge retaining feature (the inwardly extending projections delimiting the opening 220 of the channel 210 define a screen edge retaining feature), the method comprising: opening a sash (22) within the fenestration assembly (column 3, lines 13-15), the sash coupled to an end of the screen assembly to extend the screen material from the roller assembly [FIG. 2], the raised features engaging the screen edge retaining features to retain the screen edges within the first slots [FIG. 4] and closing the sash within the fenestration to retract the screen material around the roller assembly (column 3, lines 15-17). Holevas does not disclose bumps protecting the screen material from abrasion.
Nonetheless, Casey discloses a method for operating a screen assembly including a bump (34, 42) extending into a slot at an end of a screen edge retaining feature [FIG. 5], wherein the bumps protect the screen material (14) from abrasion against the ends of the screen edge retention features [FIGS. 5-7] (column 4, lines 11-35; column 10, lines 23-36).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and screen assembly of Holevas to include the bump taught by Casey, in order to reduce friction and rubbing between the screen material and the slots, so as to prevent marring or other damage on the screen.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634