DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/985,600, filed on December 18, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed December 18, 2024 has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on December 18, 2024. These drawings are approved.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 1, the abstract recites the terms “….is disclosed”, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should delete the terms, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure also is objected to because in lines 2 & 5, the abstract recites the terms “comprises”, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should replace the term “comprises” with the term –has--, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the at least one foam pad" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there has not been any mention of a plug in previous lines of the claim. The applicant is required to amend the claim in order to provide proper antecedent basis for the term “the at least one foam pad”.
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-20, and 22-24 are objected to because of the following informalities: All the cited claims contain the misspelled term “promotor”. The applicant should correct all instances of the misspelled word with the term --promoter--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Treatment of the Claims
The examiner assumes for claim 6, that the applicant intends to refer back to the “foam element” in claim 5 and as such the “foam element comprises a plurality of foamed elements” for the purpose of applying prior art for any rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hankins et al (Pat Num 3,992,569, herein referred to as Hankins). Hankins discloses a cable joint (Figs 1-6), which is relatively inexpensive to manufacture, and which requires a minimum of technical skill to install (Col 2, lines 5-10). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Hankins discloses a cable joint (10, Figs 1-3) for mutually connecting a first cable end (located at 60) and a second cable end (located at 61), wherein the cable joint (10) comprising a shell (13) defining a hollow interior space (15), into which the first cable end (located at 60) and the second cable end (located at 61) can extend in order to be mutually connected within the hollow interior space (15, Col 4, lines 55-60), wherein the hollow interior space (15) is fillable with a curable resin (74, Col 5-6, lines 59-68 & 1-13, respectively) and wherein the cable joint (10) further comprises at least one motion promoter (45) capable of being configured to allow the first and/or second cable end (located at 60 & 61, respectively) to expand and/or contract with respect to the shell (13) after curing of said resin (74, i.e. seal 45 may be made of neoprene, which is a rubber, which is flexible and is capable of allowing expansion, Col 4, lines 26-28). With respect to claim 2, Hankins discloses that the first cable end (located at 60) and the second cable end (located at 61) are electrically connected to each other by a connector (63) insulated using a body (64, Col 55-63). With respect to claim 3, Hankins discloses the at least one motion promoter (45) is capable of providing an expansion space for the first and/or second cable end (located at 60 & 61, respectively, i.e. seal 45 may be made of neoprene, which is a rubber, which is flexible and is capable of allowing expansion, Col 4, lines 26-28). With respect to claim 4, Hankins discloses that the at least one motion promoter (45) comprises at least one compressible medium (i.e. neoprene), capable of providing the expansion space by compressibility of said at least one compressible medium (i.e. seal 45 may be made of neoprene, which is a rubber, which is flexible and is capable of allowing expansion, Col 4, lines 26-28). With respect to claim 7, Hankins discloses that the at least one first of the at least one motion promoter (45), is arranged near a longitudinal end (located at 40) of the shell (13) of the cable joint (10). With respect to claim 8, Hankins discloses that the at least one first motion promoter (45) is disposed against a wall (35) of the shell (13, Col 4, lines 19-28). With respect to claim 9, Hankins discloses that the at least one first motion promoter (45) is pre-arranged in the shell (13, Col 4, lines 48-54). With respect to claim 10, Hankins discloses that the cable joint (10) further comprising a seal (75) separate from the at least one motion promoter (45, Col 5, lines 34-40). With respect to claim 11, Hankins discloses that the curable resin (74), wherein the hollow interior space (15) being filled with the curable resin (74), wherein the resin (74) may include the at least one motion promoter (45). With respect to claim 12, Hankins discloses that the at least one motion promoter (45) in the resin comprises a plurality of compressible elements (left and right 45). With respect to claim 13, Hankins discloses that the at least one motion promoter (45) in the resin (74) may also comprise gas bubbles (Col 6, lines 15-18). With respect to claim 14, Hankins discloses that the at least one motion promoter (left and right 45) comprises at least one second motion promoter (left or right 45). With respect to claim 15, Hankins discloses that the at least one second motion promoter (left or right 45) is arranged centrally between longitudinal ends of the shell (13) of the cable joint (10, i.e. both members are located between both ends of the shell 13, Fig 3). With respect to claim 18, Hankins discloses that the at least one motion promoter (45) comprises a coating (75) on an inside of the shell (13) defining the hollow interior space (located at 16). With respect to claim 19, Hankins discloses a resin (75), preferably curable (Cols 5-6, lines 59-68 & 1-8, respectively), for filling a cable joint (10), wherein the resin (75) includes at least one motion promoter. With respect to claim 20, Hankins discloses that the at least one motion promoter (left and right 45) comprises a plurality of compressible elements (left and right 45, made of neoprene, Col 4, lines 18-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6, 16-17, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hankins (Pat Num 3,992,569) in view of De Buyst (Pub Num 2001/0011599). Hankins discloses a cable joint (Figs 1-6), which is relatively inexpensive to manufacture, and which requires a minimum of technical skill to install (Col 2, lines 5-10), as applied to claim 1 above. Specifically, with respect to 5-6, Hankins discloses that the at least one motion promoter comprises a plurality of motion promoters, which are shaped to collectively form an annular shape for the first and/or second cable end to pass through. Specifically, with respect to claims 16 & 23, Hankins discloses that the at least one first and second motion promoter (left or right 45) that are hollow and allow a first and second cable (60 & 62) to pass therethrough (Fig 3). With respect to claim 17, Hankins discloses that an external cross sectional dimension of the at least one second motion promoter (left or right 45) is smaller than an internal cross sectional dimension of the hollow interior space (15) of the shell (13, Col 4, lines 19-28, Fig 1, i.e. the member 45 has to be slightly smaller to fit within the two shells). With respect to claim 24, Hankins discloses that an external cross sectional dimension of the at least one second motion promoter (left or right 45) is smaller than an internal cross sectional dimension of the hollow interior space (15) of the shell (13, Col 4, lines 19-28, Fig 1, i.e. the member 45 has to be slightly smaller to fit within the two shells), wherein the cable joint (10) comprises a first cable end (located at 60) and the second cable end (located at 61), wherein the at least second motion promoter (left or right 45) corresponds to the external cross sectional dimension of the first cable end (located at 60) and the second cable end (located at 61, Col 4, lines 48-54).
However, Hankins doesn’t necessarily disclose the at least one motion promoter comprising at least one foam element (claim 5), wherein the at least one foam element comprises a plurality foam elements (claim 6), nor the at least one second motion promoter is substantially longitudinal and hollow (claim 16), nor the wherein the first cable end and the second cable end are electrically connected to each other by a connector insulated using a body which is a cold-shrink body, and said connector is electrically shielded by said same cold-shrink body (claim 21), nor the at least one motion promoter in the resin comprises a plurality of compressible foam elements (claim 22), nor the at least one second motion promoter is substantially longitudinal (claim 23).
De Buyst teaches a cable joint (Figs 1-7) that protects cables containing a plurality of cables (Col 1, lines 8-11), which is easy and quick to install (Paragraph 10), while also impact resistant at both ends of the joint (Paragraph 11). Specifically, with respect to claims 5-6 & 22, De Buyst teaches a cable joint (Fig 1) for mutually connecting a first cable end (located at left 1) and a second cable end (located at right 1), wherein the cable joint (Fig 1) comprising a shell (11) defining a hollow interior space (located at 2), into which the first cable end (located at left 1) and the second cable end (located at right 1) can extend in order to be mutually connected within the hollow interior space (located at 2), wherein the ends (located at 4) is fillable with a curable resin (10, Paragraph 30) and wherein the cable joint (Fig 1) further comprises at least one motion promoter (left and right 12) capable of being configured to allow the first and/or second cable end (located at left 1 & right 1, respectively) to expand and/or contract with respect to the shell (11, i.e. seals left and right seals may be made of foam barriers, which is flexible and is capable of allowing expansion, Paragraph 35) and comprising a plurality of foam elements (left and right 12, Paragraph 35). With respect to claims 16 & 23, De Buyst teaches that the at least one motion promoter (left and right 12) are substantially longitudinal and hollow, wherein the at least one motion promoter (left and right 12) allows a first and second cable (left 1 & right 1) to pass therethrough (Fig 1). With respect to claim 21, De Buyst teaches that the first cable end (located at left 1) and the second cable end (located at right 1) are electrically connected to each other by a connector (2), which is insulated using a body (3 & 4) which are cold-shrink bodies (Paragraph 26), and wherein the connector (2) is electrically shielded by said same cold-shrink bodies (3 & 4, Paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the cable joint of Hankins to comprise the plurality of at least one motion promoters being formed of foam and the body being a cold shrinkable configuration as taught by De Buyst because De Buyst teaches that such a configuration provides a cable joint (Figs 1-7) that protects cables containing a plurality of cables (Col 1, lines 8-11), which is easy and quick to install (Paragraph 10), while also impact resistant at both ends of the joint (Paragraph 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
September 15, 2026