DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 1/20/25, the requirements 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) are met.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited on a Form PTO 1449 have been considered.
Specification
The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “motor is installed on an internal top wall of each white ink bottle”, “a rotating shaft of the stirring paddle is connected to an output end of the motor”, and “each of the ink bottles is provided with a built-in silicone tube”, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuno (U.S. 2020/0307238 A1) in view of Kawakita et al. (U.S. 2023/0182474 A1).
Kuno discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, a DTF (§0024) continuous ink supply device with a built-in stirring function, comprising ink bottles (30, §0031 and Figs. 2-7) including white ink bottles (§§0024, 0030-0031), each ink bottle is provided with a stirring paddle (41, §0031 and Figs. 2-7), a motor (44, §0031 and Figs. 2-7) is installed on an internal top wall of each white ink bottle, a rotating shaft (40, §0031 and Figs. 2-7) of the stirring paddle is connected to an output end of the motor.
Kuno does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, a box body and a box cover, the box body and the box cover are installed and connected in a detachable up-and-down structure, the ink bottles being installed in the box body, the ink bottles being arranged in six groups, wherein two of the groups are white ink bottles.
Kawakita et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, a box body (30, §0046 and Fig. 2) and a box cover (35, §§0046-0052 and Fig. 2), the box body and the box cover are installed and connected in a detachable up-and-down structure (2, §0039 and Fig. 2), the ink bottles being installed in the box body (Fig. 2), the ink bottles being arranged in six groups (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teachings of Kawakita et al. to the device of Kuno to manage an ink supply to multiple printers from the same accessible installation.
Kawakita et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, wherein two of the groups are white ink bottles. However, Kawakita et al. teach the ink bottle capacity optimization depending on the expected use (§0066 and Fig. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the optimization of Kawakita et al. to the device of Kuno to enable flexible use of the device. Please note that in the case of CMYK printing with no pretreatment and white background, the expected use of white ink would be higher than that of color inks; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use two white ink bottles to avoid having to make a non-standard bottle for white ink.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuno (U.S. 2020/0307238 A1) in view of Kawakita et al. (U.S. 2023/0182474 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishizawa et al. (U.S. 2012/0013687 A1) and Belongia et al. (U.S. 2007/0023449 A1).
Kuno and Kawakita et al., in combination, disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, all limitations of Claim 1 (from which this Claim depends).
Kuno discloses the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, each of the ink bottles is provided with a built-in tube (53, 54, §0031 and Figs. 2-7).
Kuno and Kawakita et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, wherein ink tube joints are arranged on a rear side wall of the box body, and the built-in tube being a silicone tube.
Kuno and Kawakita et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, wherein ink tube joints are arranged on a rear side wall of the box body, and the built-in tube being a silicone tube.
Ishizawa et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, wherein ink tube joints are arranged on a rear side wall of the box body (best seen in Figs. 1A-B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the arrangement of Kawakita et al. to the device of Kuno to manage the tubing connected to the joints, to avoid damage.
Ishizawa et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, the built-in tube being a silicone tube.
Belongia et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 2, the built-in tube being a silicone tube (§0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the silicone tube of Kawakita et al. to the device of Kuno to ensure adequate chemical resistance to ink.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please note, however, the objection to Drawings above: to be allowable, the amended Claims will have to include only the features shown in the Drawings. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claims 3-5 is the inclusion of the limitations of an ink supply device including wherein the box cover is provided with a power indicator light and a stirring indicator light, and the box cover is provided with a power button. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER D SHENDEROV/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853