DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 and 15-28 are still present for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-7 and 15-28) in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 5-18, 20, 22-25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US2016/0283111) in view of Fu et al. (US 2024/0086317).
With respect claim 1, Guo et al. teaches receiving a plurality of read commands each associated with accessing a respective plane of a memory device (see paragraph 17; read operations may arrive from the host device accessing a target die and target plane);
determining whether a quantity of planes associated with the plurality of read commands satisfies a threshold based at least in part on receiving the plurality of read commands (see Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 18-19; it is determined if there are 2 or more matching read requests that are directed to the same target die but to different planes on the target die (i.e., threshold satisfied)); and
outputting a multi-plane read command to the memory device based at least in part on the quantity of planes satisfying the threshold (see paragraphs 18-20; if at operation 430 there are matches, then control passes to operation 435 and the controller 142 combines matching read requests to form a combined read request (i.e., multi-plane read request)), wherein the multi-plane read command comprises a logical command that comprises the plurality of read commands (see paragraph 19; at operation 430 the controller 142 will combine the three read requests directed to die 15 and execute the read requests concurrently (operation 440)).
Guo et al. does not teach wherein the multi-plane read command comprises a logical command that comprises the plurality of read commands and a plurality of data transfer commands corresponding to a plurality of planes.
However, Fu et al. teaches wherein because there may be multiple pages in a block, a read operation may include multiple batches of multi-plane cache read commands and data transfer commands (see paragraph 25)… Cache Read Data Transfer Phase 304 may comprise many rounds of data reading from storage array and data transferring. Each round may comprise one subsequent batch of multi-plane cache read commands followed by a set of data transfer commands (see paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Guo et al. to include the above mentioned to efficiently retrieve valid data units from these identified blocks (see Fu, paragraph 17).
With respect claim 2, Guo et al. teaches receiving a second plurality of read commands (see paragraph 17; read operations may arrive from the host device accessing a target die and target plane);
determining that a second quantity of planes associated with the second plurality of read commands fails to satisfy the threshold (see Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 18-19; it is determined if there are no matching read requests that are directed to the same target die but to different planes on the target die (i.e., threshold not satisfied));
generating a plurality of single-plane read commands based at least in part on the second quantity of planes failing to satisfy the threshold (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner (i.e., single-plane read request)); and
outputting the plurality of single-plane read commands (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner).
With respect claim 3, Guo et al. teaches wherein each single-plane read command of the plurality of single-plane read commands comprises a respective read command of the plurality of read commands (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner (i.e., single-plane read request)).
Guo et al. does not teach wherein single-plane read commands comprises a respective read command of the plurality of read commands and a data transfer command for the respective plane.
However, Fu et al. teaches Cache Read Data Transfer Phase 304 may comprise many rounds of data reading from storage array and data transferring (see paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Guo et al. to include the above mentioned to efficiently retrieve valid data units from these identified blocks (see Fu, paragraph 17).
With respect claim 4, Guo et al. teaches wherein the threshold is based at least in part on a quantity of memory dies of the memory system (see paragraph 14; the memory 150 comprises a number M dies, each of which is divided into four planes. Also, in paragraphs 18-20; it is determined if there are 2 or more matching read requests that are directed to a same one target die but to different planes (i.e., request must be directed to 2 or more planes of a same die)).
With respect claim 6, Guo et al. teaches wherein storing the plurality of read commands comprises: storing a respective read command of the plurality of read commands in a respective logical unit queue of the one or more logical unit queues based at least in part on a memory die index of the respective read command, a plane index of the respective read command, a command type of the respective read command, or any combination thereof (see paragraph 16-17; controller 142 places the read operation in read queue…the respective read requests in the read queue may each have a die and a plane on the die associated with them) .
With respect claim 15, Guo et al. teaches receive a plurality of read commands each associated with accessing a respective plane of a memory device (see paragraph 17; read operations may arrive from the host device accessing a target die and target plane);
determine whether a quantity of planes associated with the plurality of read commands satisfies a threshold based at least in part on receiving the plurality of read commands (see Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 18-19; it is determined if there are 2 or more matching read requests that are directed to the same target die but to different planes on the target die (i.e., threshold satisfied)); and
output a multi-plane read command to the memory device based at least in part on the quantity of planes satisfying the threshold (see paragraphs 18-20; if at operation 430 there are matches, then control passes to operation 435 and the controller 142 combines matching read requests to form a combined read request (i.e., multi-plane read request)), wherein the multi-plane read command comprises a logical command that comprises the plurality of read commands (see paragraph 19; at operation 430 the controller 142 will combine the three read requests directed to die 15 and execute the read requests concurrently (operation 440)).
Guo et al. does not teach wherein the multi-plane read command comprises a logical command that comprises the plurality of read commands and a plurality of data transfer commands corresponding to a plurality of planes.
However, Fu et al. teaches wherein because there may be multiple pages in a block, a read operation may include multiple batches of multi-plane cache read commands and data transfer commands (see paragraph 25)… Cache Read Data Transfer Phase 304 may comprise many rounds of data reading from storage array and data transferring. Each round may comprise one subsequent batch of multi-plane cache read commands followed by a set of data transfer commands (see paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Guo et al. to include the above mentioned to efficiently retrieve valid data units from these identified blocks (see Fu, paragraph 17).
With respect claim 16, Guo et al. teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to: receive a second plurality of read commands (see paragraph 17; read operations may arrive from the host device accessing a target die and target plane);
determine that a second quantity of planes associated with the second plurality of read commands fails to satisfy the threshold (see Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 18-19; it is determined if there are no matching read requests that are directed to the same target die but to different planes on the target die (i.e., threshold not satisfied));
generate a plurality of single-plane read commands based at least in part on the second quantity of planes failing to satisfy the threshold (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner (i.e., single-plane read request)); and
output the plurality of single-plane read commands (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner).
With respect claim 17, Guo et al. teaches wherein each single-plane read command of the plurality of single-plane read commands comprises a respective read command of the plurality of read commands (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner (i.e., single-plane read request)) .
Guo et al. does not teach wherein single-plane read commands comprises a respective read command of the plurality of read commands and a data transfer command for the respective plane.
However, Fu et al. teaches Cache Read Data Transfer Phase 304 may comprise many rounds of data reading from storage array and data transferring (see paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medium taught by Guo et al. to include the above mentioned to efficiently retrieve valid data units from these identified blocks (see Fu, paragraph 17).
With respect claim 18, Guo et al. teaches wherein the threshold is based at least in part on a quantity of memory dies of a memory system (see paragraph 14; the memory 150 comprises a number M dies, each of which is divided into four planes. Also, in paragraphs 18-20; it is determined if there are 2 or more matching read requests that are directed to a same one target die but to different planes (i.e., request must be directed to 2 or more planes of a same die)).
With respect claim 20, Guo et al. teaches store a respective read command of the plurality of read commands in a respective logical unit queue of the one or more logical unit queues based at least in part on a memory die index of the respective read command, a plane index of the respective read command, a command type of the respective read command, or any combination thereof (see paragraph 16-17; controller 142 places the read operation in read queue…the respective read requests in the read queue may each have a die and a plane on the die associated with them).
With respect claim 22, Guo et al. teaches one or more memory devices (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 12; one or more memory devices 140); and
processing circuitry coupled with the one or more memory devices (see Fig. 1 and paragraph 11; CPU package and processor 110 coupled to memory devices) and configured to cause the memory system to:
receive a plurality of read commands each associated with accessing a respective plane of a memory device (see paragraph 17; read operations may arrive from the host device accessing a target die and target plane);
determine whether a quantity of planes associated with the plurality of read commands satisfies a threshold based at least in part on receiving the plurality of read commands (see Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 18-19; it is determined if there are 2 or more matching read requests that are directed to the same target die but to different planes on the target die (i.e., threshold satisfied)); and
output a multi-plane read command to the memory device based at least in part on the quantity of planes satisfying the threshold (see paragraphs 18-20; if at operation 430 there are matches, then control passes to operation 435 and the controller 142 combines matching read requests to form a combined read request (i.e., multi-plane read request)), wherein the multi-plane read command comprises a logical command that comprises the plurality of read commands (see paragraph 19; at operation 430 the controller 142 will combine the three read requests directed to die 15 and execute the read requests concurrently (operation 440)).
Guo et al. does not teach wherein the multi-plane read command comprises a logical command that comprises the plurality of read commands and a plurality of data transfer commands corresponding to a plurality of planes.
However, Fu et al. teaches wherein because there may be multiple pages in a block, a read operation may include multiple batches of multi-plane cache read commands and data transfer commands (see paragraph 25)… Cache Read Data Transfer Phase 304 may comprise many rounds of data reading from storage array and data transferring. Each round may comprise one subsequent batch of multi-plane cache read commands followed by a set of data transfer commands (see paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Guo et al. to include the above mentioned to efficiently retrieve valid data units from these identified blocks (see Fu, paragraph 17).
With respect claim 23, Guo et al. teaches receive a second plurality of read commands (see paragraph 17; read operations may arrive from the host device accessing a target die and target plane);
determine that a second quantity of planes associated with the second plurality of read commands fails to satisfy the threshold (see Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 18-19; it is determined if there are no matching read requests that are directed to the same target die but to different planes on the target die (i.e., threshold not satisfied));
generate a plurality of single-plane read commands based at least in part on the second quantity of planes failing to satisfy the threshold (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner (i.e., single-plane read request)); and
output the plurality of single-plane read commands (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner).
With respect claim 24, Guo et al. teaches wherein each single-plane read command of the plurality of single-plane read commands comprises a respective read command of the plurality of read commands (see paragraph 18; if, at operation 430 there are no matches then control passes to operation 440 and the controller 142 executes read operations in accordance with normal operations, e.g., the read operations may be executed in a first-in, first-out (FIFO) manner (i.e., single-plane read request)).
Guo et al. does not teach wherein single-plane read commands comprises a respective read command of the plurality of read commands and a data transfer command for the respective plane.
However, Fu et al. teaches Cache Read Data Transfer Phase 304 may comprise many rounds of data reading from storage array and data transferring (see paragraph 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Guo et al. to include the above mentioned to efficiently retrieve valid data units from these identified blocks (see Fu, paragraph 17).
With respect claim 25, Guo et al. teaches wherein the threshold is based at least in part on a quantity of memory dies of the memory system (see paragraph 14; the memory 150 comprises a number M dies, each of which is divided into four planes. Also, in paragraphs 18-20; it is determined if there are 2 or more matching read requests that are directed to a same one target die but to different planes (i.e., request must be directed to 2 or more planes of a same die)).
With respect claim 27, Guo et al. teaches wherein storing the plurality of read commands comprises the processing circuitry configured to cause the memory system to: store a respective read command of the plurality of read commands in a respective logical unit queue of the one or more logical unit queues based at least in part on a memory die index of the respective read command, a plane index of the respective read command, a command type of the respective read command, or any combination thereof (see paragraph 16-17; controller 142 places the read operation in read queue…the respective read requests in the read queue may each have a die and a plane on the die associated with them).
Claim(s) 7, 21 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US2016/0283111) and Fu et al. (US 2024/0086317) as applied to claims 1, 15 and 22 above, and further in view of Cariello (US2024/0054971).
With respect claim 7, Guo et al. and Fu et al. do not teach wherein one or more read commands of the plurality of read commands are associated with accessing a sub-portion of a page of a plane.
However, Cariello et al. teaches wherein if a first portion of data was stored with the multi-plane write operation, then the first portion of data may be read via a multi-plane read operation (see paragraphs 13 and 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Guo et al. and Fu et al. to include the above mentioned to benefit the memory system may from an increase in reading efficiency while using a multi-plane read operation (see Cariello, paragraph 69).
With respect claim 21, Guo et al and Fu et al. do not teach wherein one or more read commands of the plurality of read commands are associated with accessing a sub-portion of a page of a plane.
However, Cariello et al. teaches wherein if a first portion of data was stored with the multi-plane write operation, then the first portion of data may be read via a multi-plane read operation (see paragraphs 13 and 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Guo et al. and Fu et al. to include the above mentioned to benefit the memory medium may from an increase in reading efficiency while using a multi-plane read operation (see Cariello, paragraph 69).
With respect claim 28, Guo et al. and Fu et al. do not teach wherein one or more read commands of the plurality of read commands are associated with accessing a sub-portion of a page of a plane.
However, Cariello et al. teaches wherein if a first portion of data was stored with the multi-plane write operation, then the first portion of data may be read via a multi-plane read operation (see paragraphs 13 and 38).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Guo et al. and Fu et al. to include the above mentioned to benefit the memory system may from an increase in reading efficiency while using a multi-plane read operation (see Cariello, paragraph 69).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 19 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Guo et al. (US2016/0283111) teaches wherein read operations received in controller 142 may be placed in a read queue 310 (see paragraph 15); and wherein the controller 142 scans the read queue 310 for read requests that are directed to the same target die but to different planes on the target die (see paragraph 18).
However, Guo et al. does not teach wherein determining whether the quantity of planes satisfies the threshold is based at least in part on determining the quantity of logical unit queues as recited in claims 5, 19 and 26.
Sankaranarayanan (US11,868,655) teaches processing logic can insert the memory access command into a queue associated with the plane (see column 12, lines 26-29).
However, Sankaranarayanan does not teach wherein determining whether the quantity of planes satisfies the threshold is based at least in part on determining the quantity of logical unit queues as recited in claims 5, 19 and 26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative argues, in pages 8-9, that Guo et al. does no teach determining whether a quantity of planes associated with the plurality of read commands satisfies a threshold based at least in part on receiving the plurality of read commands as cited in claims 1, 15 and 22. Applicant’s representative argues that a determination of whether read requests target a same die is not the same as a determination of "whether a quantity of planes associated with the plurality of read commands satisfies a threshold," as claimed.
In response: The examiner disagrees. Guo et al. teaches searching a read queue to determine if there are a “matching” read requests that are directed to the same target die but to a number of different planes (i.e., quantity planes associated with the plurality of read commands) on the target die (see Figs. 3-4 and paragraphs 18-19). An interpretation of the claim limitation “a quantity of planes associated with the plurality of read commands satisfies a threshold” may be wherein the threshold satisfied by the Guo reference is the 2 or more different planes on the same die that are targeted by the matching read requests found in the read queue.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fisher et al. (US2023/0063564) teaches multi-plane switching of non-volatile memory).
Rho (US11,645,008) teaches memory system and operating method for controlling multi-plane read operation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARACELIS RUIZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139