Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Tissue Retraction Device Species A and Tissue Engagement Member Species A, drawn to claims 1-20 in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 9, 11-13, 15, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and upon overcoming the double patenting rejection.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the coupling assembly further comprises a coupler body and a connection member, the coupler body is coupled to the elongatable member, the connection member is coupled to the first tissue engagement member, and the connection member and the coupler body are rotatable with respect to each other.
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the coupling assembly further comprises a coupler body and a connection member, the connection member comprises a post member, and the post member is rotatable about a longitudinal axis of the post member and with respect to the coupler body.
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the first tissue engagement member has a first end and a second end, the elongatable member is coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member and extends longitudinally therefrom, and the elongatable member and the tissue engagement member are rotatable about a longitudinally extending post coupled between the elongatable member and the tissue engagement member.
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the coupling assembly comprises a coupler body and a connection member, the coupler body is coupled to the elongatable tether, the connection member comprises a post member extending through the coupler body, and an attachment member coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member.
The most pertinent prior art fails to teach or disclose wherein the elongatable tether and the first tissue engagement member are longitudinally rotatable with respect to each other about a longitudinally extending post coupled between the elongatable tether and the first tissue engagement member.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,208,219. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and granted patent disclose a tissue retraction device extending along a longitudinal axis. The device comprises a first tissue engagement member having a first end configured to engage tissue, and a second end. The device includes a coupling assembly, and a tether coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member via the coupling assembly. The first tissue engagement member is rotatably coupled to the tether to rotate about a longitudinal axis of the tissue retraction device; the coupling assembly comprises a coupler body and a connection member, the tether is coupled to the coupler body, and the connection member is coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites “via a coupling assembly coupling the first tissue engagement member and the elongatable member.” It is unclear if the coupling assembly is the same coupling assembly as claimed in claim 17. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0237768 to Heftman.
As to Claim 1, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device (650, Fig. 7b) extending along a longitudinal axis (along 655, Fig. 7b) and comprising an elongatable member (including 655 and 656, [0187]). The device comprises a first tissue engagement member (537), coupled to the elongatable member (including 655, 656, [0188-0190]) to be rotatable about the longitudinal axis of the tissue retraction device and with respect to the elongatable member (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
As to Claim 2, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the elongatable member is elongatable to be in tension to apply a retraction force (including 655 and 656, [0187], deployed configuration described in [0189]).
As to Claim 3, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the first tissue engagement (537) member and the elongatable member (655, 656) are rotatable with respect to each other about the longitudinal axis of the tissue retraction device via a coupling assembly (657, rotation described in 0192]).
As to Claim 8, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device (650, Fig. 7b) extending along a longitudinal axis (along 655, Fig. 7b) and comprising a first tissue engagement member (537) having a first end configured to engage tissue (“lateral” from 655, Fig. 7B, [0179]), and a second end (towards 655, “medially,” Fig. 7B), a coupling assembly (657), and an elongatable member (655, 656) coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member via the coupling assembly [0192] wherein the first tissue engagement member (537) is rotatably coupled to the elongatable member to rotate about a longitudinal axis of the tissue retraction device (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 10, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0237768 to Heftman in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0124962 to Gordin et al.
As to Claims 6 and 14, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the first tissue engagement member (537) has a second end extending in a direction away from the first end (towards 655, “medially,” Fig. 7B), and the elongatable member (655, 656) is rotatably coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member (at 657, rotation described in 0192]).
As to Claim 17, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device (650, Fig. 7b) including a first tissue engagement (537) member having a first end (“lateral” from 655, Fig. 7B, [0179]) and a second end extending in a direction away from the first end (towards 655, “medially,” Fig. 7B). An elongatable member (including 655 and 656, [0187]) is rotatably coupled to the second end of the first tissue engagement member (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]), and a coupling assembly (657) comprising a connection member and a coupler body (see Fig. 7b, below), wherein the connection member is coupled to the first tissue engagement member (537, 538) and the coupler body is coupled to the elongatable member (655, 656, seen in Fig. 7b, [0192]).
As to Claim 19, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the first tissue engagement (537) member and the elongatable member (655, 656) are rotatable with respect to each other about a longitudinal axis of the tissue retraction device (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
As to Claim 20, Heftman discloses a tissue retraction device wherein the first tissue engagement member (537) and the elongatable member (655, 656) are longitudinally rotatable with respect to each other via a coupling assembly (657) coupling the first tissue engagement member and the elongatable member (rotation about longitudinal axis described in 0192]).
As to Claims 6, 10, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20, Heftman discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the elongatable member is an elastic member/tether, wherein the first tissue engagement member has a first end movable between a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein the first end includes first and second members extending therefrom and movable with respect to each other to move the first tissue engagement member between a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein the coupling assembly comprises a coupler body and a connection member, the first tissue engagement member includes first and second jaw members biased by a spring, and the connection member is coupled to the spring.
Gordin discloses a tissue retraction device (100) including first (101) and second (102) tissue engagement members. The first and second tissue engagement members are coupled to an elastic member/tether (103, seen in Fig. 17, [0144, 0146]). A first end (at 1011) of the tissue engagement member is movable between a first configuration and a second configuration (opening and closing described in [0105]). A first end (near ref. 2001, Fig. 2B) can include first and second members (2005, 2006) extending therefrom and movable with respect to each other to move the first tissue engagement member between a first configuration and a second configuration [0116-0118]. The first tissue engagement member (Fig. 2B0 can include first and second jaw members (2005, 2006) biased by a spring (2003, Fig. 2B, [0116-0120], and the connection member (A) is coupled to the spring (Fig. 2B, [0120]) in order to allow for ease of connection with the target tissue [0116-0120], while providing rotational mobility of the device [0074].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the tissue retraction device of Heftman with the elastic tether member and first and second moveable members modifications of Gordin in order to allow for ease of connection with the target tissue, while providing rotational mobility of the device.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775