DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations” in claims 1, 10, 19, and 20.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 10, 17, 19, and 20 (and all dependent claims thereof) are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 8, 10, 17, 19, and 20, the recited “vertically upper than” should be corrected to “vertically above”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakisaka et al. US 20190243280 in view of Kubota et al. JP 02153378 and further in view of Sato JP 2009128743.
Regarding claim 1, Wakisaka et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearing member (1) (FIG. 2);
a developing unit (4) (FIG. 2) including a developer bearing member (44) (FIG. 2) configured to bear developer that contains toner and a carrier for developing an electrostatic latent image formed on the image bearing member [0004], a developing container (41) (FIG. 2) configured to accommodate the developer that is supplied to the developer bearing member, a conveyance screw (46/47) (FIG. 2) configured to convey the developer accommodated in the developing container, a developer discharge portion (48) (FIG. 3) configured to discharge part of the developer accommodated in the developing container, a first magnetic permeability sensor (45) (FIG. 3) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container [0049];
a driving unit (40) (FIG. 3) configured to rotatably drive the conveyance screw [0040];
a developer replenishment unit (8) (FIG. 3) configured to replenish the developer to the developing container;
a controller (110) (FIG. 1), and
wherein the controller is configured to execute first control to control the developer replenishment unit to replenish the developer to the developing container based on an output value of the first magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw [0061].
Wakisaka et al. does not explicitly disclose a second magnetic permeability sensor including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion, or wherein the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit based on an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw.
Kubota et al. discloses a first magnetic permeability sensor (9b/9c) (FIG. 1) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, and a second magnetic permeability sensor (9a) (FIG. 1) including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container (abstract), wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion (FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Wakisaka et al. to include a plurality of magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Kubota et al. in order to detect the flow rate of developer at multiple positions within the developer container (page 7 of attached English machine translation) (Kubota et al.).
Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. teaches detecting the flow rate of developer based on output values of the first and second magnetic permeability sensors, but does not explicitly teach a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit based on an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw.
Sato discloses a magnetic permeability sensor (6) (FIG. 1), a vibration unit (8) (FIG. 1) configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit (1) (FIG. 1), and a controller (9), wherein the controller is configured to execute control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit based on an output value of the magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw (5) (FIG. 1) ([0012] and [0016] of attached English machine translation) (Sato).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. to include the vibration unit and control to perform a vibration operation based on output values of the magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Sato in order to prevent developer accumulation and ensure accurate toner concentration detection [0012] (Sato).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses wherein the toner concentration and fluidity changes based on number of prints and usage time [0015 and 0017]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. and Sato to include wherein the controller is configured to execute third control to control the vibration unit to perform the vibration operation every time images are formed on a predetermined number of recording materials in order to prevent developer accumulation and ensure accurate toner concentration detection [0012] (Sato).
Regarding claim 10, Wakisaka et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearing member (1) (FIG. 2);
a developing unit (4) (FIG. 2) including a developer bearing member (44) (FIG. 2) configured to bear developer that contains toner and a carrier for developing an electrostatic latent image formed on the image bearing member [0004], a developing container (41) (FIG. 2) configured to accommodate the developer that is supplied to the developer bearing member, a conveyance screw (46/47) (FIG. 2) configured to convey the developer accommodated in the developing container, a developer discharge portion (48) (FIG. 3) configured to discharge part of the developer accommodated in the developing container, a first magnetic permeability sensor (45) (FIG. 3) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container [0049];
a driving unit (40) (FIG. 3) configured to rotatably drive the conveyance screw [0040];
a developer replenishment unit (8) (FIG. 3) configured to replenish the developer to the developing container;
a controller (110) (FIG. 1), and
wherein the controller is configured to execute first control to control the developer replenishment unit to replenish the developer to the developing container based on an output value of the first magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw [0061].
Wakisaka et al. does not explicitly disclose a second magnetic permeability sensor including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion, or wherein, in a case where an absolute value of a difference between a maximum output value and a minimum output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is smaller than a predetermined value, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the absolute value of the difference between the maximum output value and the minimum output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or more than the predetermined value, the controller is configured not to execute the second control.
Kubota et al. discloses a first magnetic permeability sensor (9b/9c) (FIG. 1) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, and a second magnetic permeability sensor (9a) (FIG. 1) including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container (abstract), wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion (FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Wakisaka et al. to include a plurality of magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Kubota et al. in order to detect the flow rate of developer at multiple positions within the developer container (page 7 of attached English machine translation) (Kubota et al.).
Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. teaches detecting the flow rate of developer based on output values of the first and second magnetic permeability sensors, but does not explicitly teach a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein, in a case where the absolute value of the difference between the maximum output value and the minimum output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or more than the predetermined value, the controller is configured not to execute the second control.
Sato discloses a magnetic permeability sensor (6) (FIG. 1), a vibration unit (8) (FIG. 1) configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit (1) (FIG. 1), and a controller (9), wherein the controller is configured to execute control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit based on an output value of the magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw (5) (FIG. 1) ([0012] and [0016] of attached English machine translation) (Sato).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. to include the vibration unit and control to perform a vibration operation based on output values of the magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Sato in order to prevent developer accumulation and ensure accurate toner concentration detection [0012] (Sato).
When making such a modification, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that wherein, in a case where an absolute value of a difference between a maximum output value and a minimum output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is smaller than a predetermined value, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the absolute value of the difference between the maximum output value and the minimum output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or more than the predetermined value, the controller is configured not to execute the second control in order to prevent developer stagnation and unnecessary vibration since Kubota et al. discloses that as the fluidity of the developer decreases, the difference between the maximum output value and the minimum output value of the magnetic permeability sensors that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time becomes small (pages 5-7 of attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Sato discloses wherein the toner concentration and fluidity changes based on number of prints and usage time [0015 and 0017]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. and Sato to include wherein the controller is configured to execute third control to control the vibration unit to perform the vibration operation every time images are formed on a predetermined number of recording materials in order to prevent developer accumulation and ensure accurate toner concentration detection [0012] (Sato).
Regarding claim 19, Wakisaka et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearing member (1) (FIG. 2);
a developing unit (4) (FIG. 2) including a developer bearing member (44) (FIG. 2) configured to bear developer that contains toner and a carrier for developing an electrostatic latent image formed on the image bearing member [0004], a developing container (41) (FIG. 2) configured to accommodate the developer that is supplied to the developer bearing member, a conveyance screw (46/47) (FIG. 2) configured to convey the developer accommodated in the developing container, a developer discharge portion (48) (FIG. 3) configured to discharge part of the developer accommodated in the developing container, a first magnetic permeability sensor (45) (FIG. 3) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container [0049];
a driving unit (40) (FIG. 3) configured to rotatably drive the conveyance screw [0040];
a developer replenishment unit (8) (FIG. 3) configured to replenish the developer to the developing container;
a controller (110) (FIG. 1), and
wherein the controller is configured to execute first control to control the developer replenishment unit to replenish the developer to the developing container based on an output value of the first magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw [0061].
Wakisaka et al. does not explicitly disclose a second magnetic permeability sensor including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion, or wherein, in a case where an integral value of an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is larger than a predetermined integral value, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the integral value of the output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or less than the predetermined integral value, the controller is configured not to execute the second control.
Kubota et al. discloses a first magnetic permeability sensor (9b/9c) (FIG. 1) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, and a second magnetic permeability sensor (9a) (FIG. 1) including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container (abstract), wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion (FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Wakisaka et al. to include a plurality of magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Kubota et al. in order to detect the flow rate of developer at multiple positions within the developer container (page 7 of attached English machine translation) (Kubota et al.).
Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. teaches detecting the flow rate of developer based on output values of the first and second magnetic permeability sensors, but does not explicitly teach a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein, in a case where an integral value of an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is larger than a predetermined integral value, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the integral value of the output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or less than the predetermined integral value, the controller is configured not to execute the second control.
Sato discloses a magnetic permeability sensor (6) (FIG. 1), a vibration unit (8) (FIG. 1) configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit (1) (FIG. 1), and a controller (9), wherein the controller is configured to execute control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit based on an output value of the magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw (5) (FIG. 1) ([0012] and [0016] of attached English machine translation) (Sato).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. to include the vibration unit and control to perform a vibration operation based on output values of the magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Sato in order to prevent developer accumulation and ensure accurate toner concentration detection [0012] (Sato).
When making such a modification, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that wherein, in a case where an integral value of an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is larger than a predetermined integral value, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the integral value of the output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or less than the predetermined integral value, the controller is configured not to execute the second control in order to prevent developer stagnation and unnecessary vibration since Kubota et al. discloses that as the fluidity of the developer decreases, the integral value of the magnetic permeability sensors that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time increases (pages 5-7 of attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 20, Wakisaka et al. discloses:
An image forming apparatus comprising:
an image bearing member (1) (FIG. 2);
a developing unit (4) (FIG. 2) including a developer bearing member (44) (FIG. 2) configured to bear developer that contains toner and a carrier for developing an electrostatic latent image formed on the image bearing member [0004], a developing container (41) (FIG. 2) configured to accommodate the developer that is supplied to the developer bearing member, a conveyance screw (46/47) (FIG. 2) configured to convey the developer accommodated in the developing container, a developer discharge portion (48) (FIG. 3) configured to discharge part of the developer accommodated in the developing container, a first magnetic permeability sensor (45) (FIG. 3) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container [0049];
a driving unit (40) (FIG. 3) configured to rotatably drive the conveyance screw [0040];
a developer replenishment unit (8) (FIG. 3) configured to replenish the developer to the developing container;
a controller (110) (FIG. 1), and
wherein the controller is configured to execute first control to control the developer replenishment unit to replenish the developer to the developing container based on an output value of the first magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw [0061].
Wakisaka et al. does not explicitly disclose a second magnetic permeability sensor including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion, or wherein, in a case where a standard deviation of an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is smaller than a predetermined standard deviation, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the standard deviation of the output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or more than the predetermined standard deviation, the controller is configured not to execute the second control.
Kubota et al. discloses a first magnetic permeability sensor (9b/9c) (FIG. 1) including a first detection portion configured to detect magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container, and a second magnetic permeability sensor (9a) (FIG. 1) including a second detection portion configured to detect the magnetic permeability of the developer accommodated in the developer container (abstract), wherein the second detection portion is located vertically upper than the first detection portion (FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus as disclosed by Wakisaka et al. to include a plurality of magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Kubota et al. in order to detect the flow rate of developer at multiple positions within the developer container (page 7 of attached English machine translation) (Kubota et al.).
Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. teaches detecting the flow rate of developer based on output values of the first and second magnetic permeability sensors, but does not explicitly teach a vibration unit configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit, wherein, in a case where a standard deviation of an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is smaller than a predetermined standard deviation, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the standard deviation of the output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or more than the predetermined standard deviation, the controller is configured not to execute the second control.
Sato discloses a magnetic permeability sensor (6) (FIG. 1), a vibration unit (8) (FIG. 1) configured to apply vibrations to the developing unit (1) (FIG. 1), and a controller (9), wherein the controller is configured to execute control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit based on an output value of the magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw (5) (FIG. 1) ([0012] and [0016] of attached English machine translation) (Sato).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. to include the vibration unit and control to perform a vibration operation based on output values of the magnetic permeability sensors as disclosed by Sato in order to prevent developer accumulation and ensure accurate toner concentration detection [0012] (Sato).
When making such a modification, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that wherein, in a case where a standard deviation of an output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for a predetermined time, is smaller than a predetermined standard deviation, the controller is configured to execute second control to control the vibration unit to perform a vibration operation to apply the vibrations to the developing unit, and wherein, in a case where the standard deviation of the output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is equal to or more than the predetermined standard deviation, the controller is configured not to execute the second control in order to prevent developer stagnation and unnecessary vibration since Kubota et al. discloses that as the fluidity of the developer decreases, the standard deviation of an output value of the magnetic permeability sensors that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time decreases (pages 5-7 of attached English machine translation).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakisaka et al. US 20190243280, Kubota et al. JP 02153378, Sato JP 2009128743, and Kobayashi et al. US 20210364968.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. and Sato teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10 as set forth above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the vibration unit is located vertically upper than the second detection portion.
Kobayashi et al. discloses a larger external vibration unit (300) (FIG. 3) located vertically above the developing container (200) (FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to further modify the apparatus as taught by Wakisaka et al. in view of Kubota et al. and Sato to include the larger external vibration unit located vertically above the developing container in order to vibrate a larger portion of the developing unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9, 11-15, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2-6, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the recited “wherein, after execution of the vibration operation, based on the output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that is generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw, during a non-developing operation in which the developing operation is not performed, the controller is configured to execute third control to control the driving unit to rotatably drive the conveyance screw under a second rotational condition which is different from the first rotational condition” along with the remaining claim limitations.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the recited “wherein the first detection portion and the second detection portion are arranged within a range of a distance corresponding to four pitches of a blade of the conveyance screw in a developer conveyance direction in which the conveyance screw conveys the developer” along with the remaining claim limitations.
Regarding claims 11-15, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the recited “wherein, after execution of the vibration operation, in a case where the absolute value of the difference between the maximum output value and the minimum output value of the second magnetic permeability sensor that are generated while the driving unit rotatably drives the conveyance screw for the predetermined time, is smaller than the predetermined value, during a non-developing operation of not performing the developing operation, the controller is configured to execute third control to control the driving unit to rotatably drive the conveyance screw under a second rotational condition which is different from the first rotational condition” along with the remaining claim limitations.
Conclusion
/THOMAS S GIAMPAOLO II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852