Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lars Berschield et al. “Jerk-limited Real-Time Trajectory Generation with Arbitrary Target States” – Pages 1-9, 23 June 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Berscheid et al. teach, A method for regulating the movement of a drive axle of a drive (see the title “trajectory generation” on page 1), wherein: the movement of the drive axle is regulated in specified regulation time steps by the specification of a movement setpoint value of the movement (see paragraph 4, page 6, right column, where the “control cycle” of the robot is disclosed), due to which a movement phase of the movement of the drive axle results in each regulation time step (see figure 1), a target movement phase in the form of a target position, target velocity, and target acceleration is specified for the movement of the drive axle and the target movement phase is set starting from a starting movement phase in the form of a starting position, starting velocity (see abstract, where the target state is a state defined by position, velocity and acceleration), and starting acceleration by a movement profile while adhering to specified movement limits, in each regulation time step (see column 6, paragraph 4 “output the next state”), the movement setpoint value is obtained from the movement profile, the movement profile comprises a starting movement profile and a target movement profile (see abstract, where “initial state” corresponds to starting movement profile and “time-optimal trajectory or an arbitrary target state: corresponds to a target movement profile), the starting movement profile starts at the starting movement phase and merges into the target movement profile, which starts in an initial movement phase (see “first acceleration trapezium, figure 1) and ends in the target movement phase (see negative acceleration trapezium, figure 1)the target movement profile is ascertained using an acceleration profile over a plurality of regulation time steps (see “acceleration’, figure 1), an acceleration change in each regulation time step corresponds at most to a specified maximum jerk (see “jerk constraints” to “jerk max”, page 2, right column), so that the acceleration profile of the target movement profile is present as a step function in which the acceleration profile is a chronologically discrete sequence of acceleration values at the regulation time steps (rising and falling of acceleration can be seen as a step function, figure 1), the step function is created while adhering to the specified movement limits (see “satisfying the velocity, acceleration, jerk constraints”, page 2, paragraph 4), so that the area below the step function corresponds to a velocity change between the initial velocity of the initial movement phase and the target velocity of the target movement phase, a target distance is ascertained using the ascertained target movement profile, which is covered using the target movement profile (see paragraph 3, page 2, right column), and a time is ascertained on the basis of the target distance, at which the ascertained target movement profile will be started to reach the target position of the target movement phase (see “brake ore-trajectory” which defines the point in time for the start of the “trajectory”, on page 3, left column).
Regarding claim 2, Berscheid et al. teach, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the acceleration in the acceleration profile is reduced or increased starting from the initial acceleration in a first acceleration section in a plurality of regulation time steps by at most the specified maximum jerk and then the acceleration is increased or reduced in a second acceleration section in a plurality of regulation time steps by at most the specified maximum jerk until the target acceleration is reached (see t1, t3, t5, t7, figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Berscheid et al. teach, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the acceleration is reduced or increased starting from the initial acceleration in a first acceleration section in a plurality of regulation time steps by at most the specified maximum jerk until a specified minimum acceleration (see figure 1, t2, t6) or maximum acceleration is reached, then the acceleration is kept at the minimum acceleration or maximum acceleration in a third acceleration section for a number of regulation time steps and then the acceleration is increased or reduced in a second acceleration section in a plurality of regulation time steps by at most the specified maximum jerk until the target acceleration is reached.
Regarding claim 4, Berscheid et al. teach, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein: an acceleration change in a respective regulation time step of the acceleration profile corresponds to the specified maximum jerk if the specified movement limits permit, so that the area below the step function, except for a residual error, corresponds to the velocity change between the initial velocity of the initial movement phase and the target velocity of the target movement phase (see paragraph 4, page 5, left column where “the duration can be adapted infinitesimally by changing the jerk”), the acceleration change in at least one regulation time step of the acceleration profile is changed by a jerk value, and the jerk value is ascertained in order to compensate for the residual error resulting from the step function between the area below the step function and the velocity change.
Regarding claim 5, Berscheid et al. teach, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein: a position error resulting from the step function between the target position and a position resulting from the target movement profile is compensated for by changing, in the acceleration profile, the acceleration change at a plurality of regulation time steps in order to lengthen or shorten the target distance by the position error, and the area below the acceleration profile remains unchanged (see paragraph 4, page 5, left column where “the duration can be adapted infinitesimally by changing the jerk”).
Regarding claim 6, Berscheid et al. teach, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein, in each regulation time step of the starting movement profile: the current movement phase is used as the initial movement phase and the target movement profile; the target distance are ascertained using this initial movement phase; and the target movement profile is initiated in the next regulation time step if the difference between the target position and the initial position is less than the target distance (see page 2, where the target profile is disclosed in which the target state is achieved, wherein it is inherently disclosed that the target state would be initiated till the difference isn’t achieved).
Regarding claim 7, Berscheid et al. teach, the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein, in each regulation time step of the starting movement profile, the movement phase of the next regulation time step following the current regulation time step is used as the initial movement phase; and the target movement profile and the target distance are ascertained using this initial movement phase and the target movement profile is initiated in the current regulation time step if the difference between the target position and the initial position is less than the target distance (see page 2, where the target profile is disclosed in which the target state is achieved, wherein it is inherently disclosed that the target state would be initiated till the difference isn’t achieved)..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2837